Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - Capital Punishment

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Fann Linn wrote:
    Been off the boil the last number of games. Really hoped he'd grab one of his chances by the scruff but just seems to keep running into cul de sacs.
    He's trying the old tricks but they are not working now.

Very strange about Brogan.

Bar O'Sullivan starting and no Cooper it's the team I thought would start, not that it will mean much.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Thought O'Gara showed well last week. If I was in his boots, I would feel very disappointed.

Perhaps its just not the sort of game you would want him coming in to.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭Gael85

I don't believe in picking players just to be nice but Brogan has worked very hard to get back and looked well up for it in last game. O Gara took his goal well they both deserve spot on bench and I hope it's changed.

To be honest I haven't been impressed by Kevin at all this season he looks to be well off the pace.

BB has only named in squad of 26 4/5 times in last 2 years. O'Gara hasn't started a game since 2017 AI final. Agree on Kevin Mc but as said offers something different.

McMenamon's shooting was desperate in Omagh, but he was on a lot of ball, made some good assists, and most vitally against a team that has by far the best turnover stat against Dublin, Kevin Mac is hard man to dispossess. That will be vital quality tomorrow,

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Exactly. I fully trust Jim to pick the 26 men he feels are most worthy to represent us. Nothing personal. We are here to win the All Ireland for Dublin and doesn't bother me who misses out.

I agree completely on Jim Gavin not doing sentimental selections and rightly so, but I feel Brogan has shown serious commitment and hunger getting back from that cruciate injury when he was flying and looked a leaner sharper version again last week.

I’m feeling all the emotional sentiment Gavin shouldn’t be feeling when I see these trojans nearing the exit after the decade of glory they’ve given us, Brogan, McManamon, O’Gara, Andrews etc. Ruthless is required unfortunately!

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭conor05

I agree completely on Jim Gavin not doing sentimental selections and rightly so, but I feel Brogan has shown serious commitment and hunger getting back from that cruciate injury when he was flying and looked a leaner sharper version again last week.

I’m feeling all the emotional sentiment Gavin shouldn’t be feeling when I see these trojans nearing the exit after the decade of glory they’ve given us, Brogan, McManamon, O’Gara, Andrews etc. Ruthless is required unfortunately!

And to be fair to Jim, it is himself and his selectors that are seeing Brogan, O’Gara etc week after week in the training matches so they would see who is performing.

I think if Brogan was performing better than any of the forwards in the 26, he would be in.

I would imagine even though Jim is ruthless, he is fair in his selections.

conor05 wrote: »
    I’d say Connolly will see the last 5-10 minutes tomorrow.

Gavin knows he might need him in the final v Kerry/Tyrone

Will try win tomorrow first and worry about a potential final after but agree on Connolly getting 5-10 minutes.

Cooper will start ahead of O’Sullivan

The only thing here, he's done this before left Brennan in gooch for the first half switched a younger O'Sullivan onto him in the second half.

Then he left O'Sullivan on Clifford for ages before moving Cooper onto him.

I think Cooper will finish the game.

Looks like Lowdnes is the new Daly now too.

Surprised with Brogan, think it's a bluff move, Brogan will be in ahead of Bugler.

It will keep Mayo thinking, Brogan carried a bit of clout with the Mayo lads.

But you'd never know with Gavin.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Cooper will start ahead of O’Sullivan

I think Gavin rightly has a lot of faith in O'Sullivan. Be surprised if he leaves him out. Mikey Fitz or MDM making way is far more likely imo.

We'll see anyway. Every player in the 26 can do a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Dont see the point in second guessing the named team. Nothing any of us can do about it. As usual there will be a couple of late changes but i wont lose a minutes sleep over it. The only thing that matters is we beat these Mayo men and leave ourselves with one final hurdle to go down in GAA folklore for eternity. Goodnight city slickers. Rest well and lets all be in the finest fettle and drive our men on tomorrow as best we can.

Stoner wrote: »
    The only thing here, he's done this before left Brennan in gooch for the first half switched a younger O'Sullivan onto him in the second half.

Then he left O'Sullivan on Clifford for ages before moving Cooper onto him.

I think Cooper will finish the game.

Looks like Lowdnes is the new Daly now too.

Surprised with Brogan, think it's a bluff move, Brogan will be in ahead of Bugler.

It will keep Mayo thinking, Brogan carried a bit of clout with the Mayo lads.

But you'd never know with Gavin.

Agree I’m thinking the same he might still be in there but as conor05 said above Gavin is looking at these lads all year our trust is in him and his backroom team.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Should philly mcmahon be in the team or is bynre a better defender?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭C__MC

Philly has been very poor this and last year
    Very loose, had a feeling Jim would reshuffle the backs

Certainly wouldn't write mc manamon or Andrews off just yet. Mayo wont have a packed defence and there will be more space.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Gael85 wrote: »
    Will try win tomorrow first and worry about a potential final after but agree on Connolly getting 5-10 minutes.

Still holding out hope Connolly starts tomorrow.

Byrne was subbed against Mayo in the first game two years ago and lost his starting position, he was supposed to be the new O'Carroll. Then he was injured. TBH he looks faster this year, a better player, he stays out of trouble too.

Philly hit the heights when he marked AOS and Gooch out of games a few years ago, lost some battles since then.

Who knows who will start we are worse giving this our wit given the inevitable changes that will happen.

corny wrote:
    We'll see anyway. Every player in the 26 can do a job.

Missing a wrecking ball on the bench if theres no O'Gara and MDMA starts.

Looks to me like a team that intends to not give them a sniff of it.

Plan for tomorrow, put it away early same as Kerry did in Killarney.

Even if Mayo do succeed in turning it into the Battle of the Somme, Gavin has the big guns to end it long before the last whistle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Always number 1

Reckon MDMA starts on the bench with McCarthy midfield, O'Sullivan at 6 and Cooper or Philly at 3.
    Would have Brogan in the 26 ahead of McManamon.

Subs could be huge tomorrow but hope it doesn't come to that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭IRE60

Reckon MDMA starts on the bench with McCarthy midfield, O'Sullivan at 6 and Cooper or Philly at 3.
    Would have Brogan in the 26 ahead of McManamon.

Subs could be huge tomorrow but hope it doesn't come to that

Ye finish with your best 15?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Finally got the giddies

COYBIB

Just watched that Achill OTB roadshow. Sean Boylan? Is it herbs he specializes in? Because he certainly sounds like he’s consuming a hefty amount of some form of herb anyway. A guy I could never warm to always a bitter little bollïx in managerial days but his contribution on this panel was a total drivel of cliches, he’s not even totally aware that Jason Doherty is actually ruled out of this game and the rest of the year. Damien Comer had to just step in and rescue the lost narrative he was rambling with. And the fcukin yellow jumper......OMG

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭catrat12

Jayus, not only do you predict I will be going home cursing Mayo, I will be like a half drowned duck going home cursing Mayo :D

You will have me scrambling for the weather forecast on Friday.

Well the weather part is going to be right

catrat12 wrote: »
    Well the weather part is going to be right

What a deep sleep. Im bloody buzzing off my nut here! No way any green and red men are knocking us of off our perch. Let them do all the spoofing, we'll play the football. Let them deal in hope while we deal in reality. We are not cut from the same cloth. We deal in winning while they specialise in excuses. There is going to be a mauling in the city today. I feel it in the air. This is war!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

I don't think I've been up earlier on a Saturday in months.

Mate is having a birthday brunch at 2. I mean the lack of consideration of my days' just something.

Thankfully the mimosas will ease me into the day and calm the nerves somewhat.

#coddle4brunch

What a deep sleep. Im bloody buzzing off my nut here! No way any green and red men are knocking us of off our perch. Let them do all the spoofing, we'll play the football. Let them deal in hope while we deal in reality. We are not cut from the same cloth. We deal in winning while they specialise in excuses. There is going to be a mauling in the city today. I feel it in the air. This is war!

The early house is a fine Irish institution ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Newborn in the house so missing the game today :-(

This weather has me a bit more worried, Mayo are great at dragging a team down, or up to their level

I don't think I've been up earlier on a Saturday in months.

Mate is having a birthday brunch at 2. I mean the lack of consideration of my days' just something.

Thankfully the mimosas will ease me into the day and calm the nerves somewhat.

#coddle4brunch

"Dad's friend with the bag of cans won't let anyone else on the bouncy castle."

Shades of Donegal 92 here.

Gael85 wrote:
    Shades of Donegal 92 here.

Almost deliberate!

Bonniedog wrote: »
    The early house is a fine Irish institution ;)

Your right, the Chancery is hopping here!