Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - Capital Punishment

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I would be in agreement :D - I was thinking that the Gardai may have a traffic plan which they want to condense into a 3-4 hour slot and their hand might be forced.

Gardai resources will be required later for Saturday Fight Night live in Temple Bar

Yeah, the, the Guards are not gonna sign off on one of those health and safety cert thingamagiggys, for two big games, with the same kick off/throw in times and the same approximate end time. That would be traffic and logistical chaos for them. For once, it's ok to bend the knee to dem filty fordin sports Bonnie. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Well its been confirmed, Cunningham has left.

Doubt there'll be too many lads shedding a tear!!

I'm not mad into the stick fighting, but be interesting to see who comes in, and will the players that left (the soft lads) come back to the panel.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,348 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Rumours of Derek McGrath taking over

Really thought Davy was going too sit out 2017 and then take the Dublin job in 2018 but not too be

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Slattsy wrote: »
    Well its been confirmed, Cunningham has left.

giphy.gif

A native has the best chance of reuniting the camp.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,758 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

PTH2009 wrote: »

Really thought Davy was going too sit out 2017 and then take the Dublin job in 2018 but not too be

I would prefer a former u21 Dublin manager then another 'foreign manager' and rebuild from scratch.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,066 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

If he gets the Blaas to an AISF which he should... he'll be going nowhere.

Who's top of the native pile?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,993 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Stoner wrote: »
    GCs statement in.
    Set us back years IMO, I don't care what anyone else thinks about it either, lost players that had won U21 football back to football again, no going back.

He has single handily set us back at least 10 years. Not only has he driven a wedge through the team but had us playing absolutely puke hurling.

Wish him all the best in whatever he does next but delighted to see the back of him.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Good luck and good riddance. Don't want to appear ungracious. You want these things to come to a somewhat natural and good natured end, like Dalo's did. But facts are facts. The man set us back years. Don't want to get bogged down with Dub vs "foreigner" debates. It's irrelevant imo . Dalo was an import and he lived & breathed Dublin hurling in the best possible way, during his tenure. If he stayed too loyal to some older hands and didn't blood enough young lads, fair enough. That is a valid criticism of his stint here. But other much better and more successful managers than him, have made the same mistake, so it's hard to hold it against him too much.

Anyway, I just want GC's successor to be a good man manager, who knows how to deal with, relate to and communicate with the modern day player. The DCB just can't over look all that stuff again, in favour of getting in another big name, for no other reason that he is from a traditional county. It is just too important. I don't really care if we get an import or a native, as long as the candiate will be a unifying and positive force.

PS Worked a 16 hr day yesterday, so am a bit behind everything. But I presume Leeroys black card was our fault again? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ProudDUB wrote:
    PS Worked a 16 hr day yesterday, so am a bit behind everthing. But I presume Leeroys black card our fault again?

Correct he was marking a lad studying dermotology in UCC, lad got past him, he pulled him back by accident, the guy made a meal of it and got him the black card.

That's what I thought. It's never, ever his own fault is it? :P

Did Mossy Quinn do a job on him on Off The Boil, Alan Brogan in the Indo, Ciaran Whelan on RTE? Paul Curran in de Heddild?

Or did all four put the boot in?

Bit early in the year for that, 'innit? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

If the ref had been consistent following the Cork player's black card, both Cillian O'Connor and Aidan O'Shea would also have followed Keegan to the sideline.
    Keegan did a blatant trip right in ref's line of view. He was been held back himself just seconds before, but out of direct view. Unlucky but deserved.

washman3 wrote:
    If the ref had been consistent following the Cork player's black card, both Cillian O'Connor and Aidan O'Shea would also have followed Keegan to the sideline. Keegan did a blatant trip right in ref's line of view. He was been held back himself just seconds before, but out of direct view. Unlucky but deserved.

Yep most black cards are deserved, and most are unlucky because similar unpunished incidents occur in the same games most of the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

McGrath would not be a good move. Can't see him moving anyway.

Dublin CB have been obsessed for years with bringing in a big name. Next year is going to be pretty basic. Some chap who knows nothing about Dublin hurling coming up twice a week for training, and for matches is not what Dublin needs now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Mattie Kenny or Joe Fortune would be best if they want to go with some local knowledge. The only good thing you could say about Cunningham is that he did bring some young talent ini, though part of that was of course because of some of the older players not wanting to play. Hopefully we can get some of those back and together with the new recruits we might be able to build a good team again.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Talent is there. Just a complete mismatch on both sides. As you say, in fairness to Cunningham he took a gamble this year and brought in younger fellas who will benefit from the experience. Problem now for whoever comes in will be to blend that with presumably lads who will decide to make themselves available again.

Not sure my sympathies lie with the latter rather than Rushie and others who gave their all for the jersey in pretty much desperate situation. Some people failed to see the wood for the trees.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭Justin10

• Registered Users Posts: 18,758 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Antrim?

Let's be honest they must have put a gun to his head :rolleyes:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Antrim?

Let's be honest they must have put a gun to his head :rolleyes:

Just there on an 'advisory' role, improving skills and structures etc.
    His role is just periphery, he has done this with a few big clubs since he retired as Tipp boss. Think he has stated that he will never manage a county team again, but if he does it will only be Tipp. Can see his point.
    He is painted as a legend in the media since he won that A.I. with Tipp thus preventing the Cats of the 5 in a row. Far too cute now to blot his copybook now taking chances in management. The pundit role is far easier.

Dublin may approach Duignan. He seems to have all the answers and solutions.
    Becoming a right pain in the H##E now anyway, if he wasn't bad enough already.
    Have to agree with Davy on calling him for what he is, a bluffer.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,348 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Is Davy tied too Wexford for another few years or was it a one year deal down there ???

The Dublin hurling job is a big job in the hurling world

As ive mentioned here beford Lots of rumours down in Waterford about Derek McGrath going up too ye

A lot easier job now compared to when Anthony D left it

washman3 wrote: »
    Just there on an 'advisory' role, improving skills and structures etc.
    His role is just periphery, he has done this with a few big clubs since he retired as Tipp boss. Think he has stated that he will never manage a county team again, but if he does it will only be Tipp. Can see his point.
    He is painted as a legend in the media since he won that A.I. with Tipp thus preventing the Cats of the 5 in a row. Far too cute now to blot his copybook now taking chances in management. The pundit role is far easier.

Dublin may approach Duignan. He seems to have all the answers and solutions.
    Becoming a right pain in the H##E now anyway, if he wasn't bad enough already.
    Have to agree with Davy on calling him for what he is, a bluffer.

Duignan was going mad on Morning Ireland this morning. A crazy rant. I felt sorry. It was Kevin Keegan-esque.

What was he ranting about, the Sky deal again?

Davy and "how did he read the tweet".

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Is Davy tied too Wexford for another few years or was it a one year deal down there ???

Don't want that little bollix near Dublin, he'd be a disaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

ProudDUB wrote: »
    What was he ranting about, the Sky deal again?

Looks like a bit of a trainwreck

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭EICVD

Duignan was going mad on Morning Ireland this morning. A crazy rant. I felt sorry. It was Kevin Keegan-esque.

He needs a holiday that lad!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Some seriously embarrassing posts online (not here thankfully) over a ****ing flag.

Lads are talking about boycotting all Croke Park retail outlets for the Quarter Final. Also have a percecution complex over the perspex glass in the hill and asking why it isn't anywhere else in the ground.

Those massive flags are a right pain in the arse. Nobody who goes to a match to watch the game wants their view covered by a massive flag even pre-game. Mayo have had one at their last two games and in Limerick fans very quickly told the lads where to shove it.

I hope someone beats ye soon, so ye have something proper to complain about! The anti-Dubs conspiricy gets old real quick.

Edit: I've read the "Official Statement" on the Hill 16 Army page and it's a one off boycott not a continuous one. Apologies.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Some seriously embarrassing posts online (not here thankfully) over a ****ing flag.

Lads are talking about boycotting all Croke Park retail outlets until the flag is allowed in again. Also have a percecution complex over the perspex glass in the hill and asking why it isn't anywhere else in the ground.

Those massive flags are a right pain in the arse. Nobody who goes to a match to watch the game wants their view covered by a massive flag even pre-game. Mayo have had one at their last two games and in Limerick fans very quickly told the lads where to shove it.

I hope someone beats ye soon, so ye have something proper to complain about! The anti-Dubs conspiricy gets old real quick.

Link?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Don't know where the comments are but

Dublin GAA supporters are planning to boycott all retail outlets in Croke Park after banning of flag

Dublin will face Armagh, Down or Monaghan in their All-Ireland quarter-final next Saturday in Croke Park.

“Yesterday’s announcement that the large Dublin flag regularly seen at games would not be allowed on Hill 16 any longer was the latest in a long line of ridiculous rules and regulations for supporters who attend Hill 16 on match day.
    “Unnecessary searches even before the new safety rules came in, caps taken off bottles of minerals, flags banned and a huge perspex screen are just some of the unnecessary ‘safety measures’ we have had to contend with.
    “Yet the GAA and Croke Park have no issue leaving stairwells and fire exits blocked during games along with keeping us penned in behind the perspex screen. Where are the perspex screens for the other stands? Yesterday’s banning of the large flag has led us to finally say enough is enough.”
    Yesterday a ban was upheld on the supporters’ flag which is paraded across Hill 16 before games, with Dublin Fire Brigade saying it could cause a fire risk.

We as social media pages that represent Dublin GAA supporters are therefore calling on all Dublin GAA supporters to boycott every retail facility inside Croke Park on August 5th. We would urge you all to bring your own food and drinks and not contribute one cent to the bars, shops and every other outlet inside Croke Park.
    “We regret any loss to the franchises involved but the continued disregard for supporters has forced us to call for this action. This is the only action possible that allows us to protest while also allowing us to support our team.
    “We will continue the call for this boycott until the GAA addresses supporters concerns and may take further action in the form of boycotting games at Croke Park in the future if our pleas fall on deaf ears.”

http://www.the42.ie/dublin-gaa-supporters-boycott-croke-park-gaa-flag-hill-16-3515010-Jul2017/