Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leeds United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2020/2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Zaph wrote: »
    It's not just money, it's a chance to play at the highest level, which he did for several seasons at Norwich. If a player lacks ambition you'd have to question why they became professional footballers in the first place. Howson saw an opportunity to pit himself against the best every week and, in the process hopefully improve his own game. He's not going to do that in a team languishing mid-table in the Championship with an owner that doesn't really give a sh*te what happens on the pitch as long as he can make some money out of the club. And that's before things got really mad under Cellino.

I do see your point. Just really liked him and was gutted he left. With the benefit of hindsight, I'd say he wished he'd stayed. Would be the leader of this team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

It's regularly chanted. Youtube it. City and Liverpool fans were even chanting it when they played in the Champions League a few years back

I've been to Leeds fixtures against those clubs, and those clubs against others and have never heard it. Plenty of anti-Leeds chants at different clubs when we play but never when we're not one of the competing teams. Fans chant anti Man Utd, Chelsea, Spurs and West Ham stuff even when they're not involved.

And crucially Leeds players don't get booed when playing for England. Not the case with those from MU, Pool and Chelsea.

It ain't cool to hark back to fans mindset from the late 60s and 1970s when we were hated (enviously I believe as newcomer upstarts) and extrapolate that to the modern stadia. Doesn't work.

It was sung by Bradford City fans years ago in a pre-season friendly at Ferrycarrig Park v Wexford Youths. ��

Eleven miles from Leeds, and utterly overshadowed by both the city and the team. They've nothing else to sing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭event

I thought this chap stopped posting?

Back again with another user ID its seems. And we were doing so well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    Eleven miles from Leeds, and utterly overshadowed by both the city and the team. They've nothing else to sing about.

Sad thing is some Youths supporters joined in and I know they support other Premier League clubs.

I do see your point. Just really liked him and was gutted he left. With the benefit of hindsight, I'd say he wished he'd stayed. Would be the leader of this team

The leader of this team? Hes 33 in May. He wouldn't get near this team ffs

I've been to Leeds fixtures against those clubs, and those clubs against others and have never heard it. Plenty of anti-Leeds chants at different clubs when we play but never when we're not one of the competing teams. Fans chant anti Man Utd, Chelsea, Spurs and West Ham stuff even when they're not involved.

And crucially Leeds players don't get booed when playing for England. Not the case with those from MU, Pool and Chelsea.

It ain't cool to hark back to fans mindset from the late 60s and 1970s when we were hated (enviously I believe as newcomer upstarts) and extrapolate that to the modern stadia. Doesn't work.

I've heard it, and there's plenty of examples on youtube. Infact, City playing Liverpool in the Champions League, both sets of fans were singing it together. Speaking of international matches, I've heard of Leed's fans being segregated from other English fans at times.

The mindset isn't from the 60's and 70's. Leeds then had a dirty team and fan culture, they still have the latter. But that's not what drives the hate, many clubs have bad fans. It's the Yorkshire identity, and in many ways Leed's have become the team that embodies "the north" of England. So if your not from Yorkshire and from the south, Leed's fans tend to go out of their way to stick it to everyone, with a superiority complex....the hardest, the toughest, from the north.

Don't take my word for it. I'm sure if you look up most arrests every year, most banned fans, most trouble on railways, most incidents inside and outside the stadiums, Leed's will be top or close every year. I love the club, I just think it will be a shame if the goodwill towards Leed's will be gone once fans come back. Because I have a feeling they'll make a point of sticking it to everyone, authority, sky sports, others fans etc. Ffs, they were smashing up cars at their own promotion celebration

event wrote: »
    I thought this chap stopped posting?

Back again with another user ID its seems. And we were doing so well

Who me? I've only ever had one ID on this, which is this profile. So no idea what your talking about

I've heard it, and there's plenty of examples on youtube. Infact, City playing Liverpool in the Champions League, both sets of fans were singing it together. Speaking of international matches, I've heard of Leed's fans being segregated from other English fans at times.

The mindset isn't from the 60's and 70's. Leeds then had a dirty team and fan culture, they still have the latter. But that's not what drives the hate, many clubs have bad fans. It's the Yorkshire identity, and in many ways Leed's have become the team that embodies "the north" of England. So if your not from Yorkshire and from the south, Leed's fans tend to go out of their way to stick it to everyone, with a superiority complex....the hardest, the toughest, from the north.

Don't take my word for it. I'm sure if you look up most arrests every year, most banned fans, most trouble on railways, most incidents inside and outside the stadiums, Leed's will be top or close every year. I love the club, I just think it will be a shame if the goodwill towards Leed's will be gone once fans come back. Because I have a feeling they'll make a point of sticking it to everyone, authority, sky sports, others fans etc. Ffs, they were smashing up cars at their own promotion celebration

Nope I won't. Random guesses with no stats. Plenty of bad historical behaviour from the fans, possibly more to come though hopefully not. But it's an odd thing to focus on the day after the club have just beaten the third-placed team in the league and moved to within four points of European places.

Anyway, I'll not engage any more, it ain't good for the soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭adaminho

Stop talking through your Hoop! Yes we we sing we all hate Leeds scum!
    There are clubs like Millwall worse than us and don't Utd have a worse racial arrest record than us? Also didn't the fans pay for the car they damaged? (They danced on it it not thrashed it)

Nope I won't. Random guesses with no stats. Plenty of bad historical behaviour from the fans, possibly more to come though hopefully not. But it's an odd thing to focus on the day after the club have just beaten the third-placed team in the league and moved to within four points of European places.

Anyway, I'll not engage any more, it ain't good for the soul.

First search: https://www.thetelegraphandargus.co.uk/news/18746261.leeds-united-highest-number-fans-arrested-last-season-new-figures-show/#:~:text=24th%20September%202020-,Leeds%20United%20had%20highest%20number%20of,last%20season%2C%20new%20figures%20show&text=LEEDS%20United%20topped%20the%20list,)%20and%20Bolton%20(45).

Heres another: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/leeds-united/11503477/Leeds-United-supporters-named-as-worst-offending-football-fans-when-travelling-on-trains.html

2 second search. Get the impression alot of people here don't actually get to Elland Road much. Because if you do, how anyone can argue that Leed's haven't the worst reputation in English football is beyond me. Millwall would give Leed's a run for their money in fairness, but even they aren't quite as bad

adaminho wrote: »
    Stop talking through your Hoop! Yes we we sing we all hate Leeds scum!
    There are clubs like Millwall worse than us and don't Utd have a worse racial arrest record than us? Also didn't the fans pay for the car they damaged? (They danced on it it not thrashed it)

You do realise when Leeds and Millwall were in the Championship together, it was the most heavily policed game in England? With Millwall away support only allowed to travel to Leeds in small numbers under police escort for their own protection? With police pointing to Leeds fans as the main instigators or trouble in both Leeds and London ties?

I'll leave the topic there so. Surprised with the amount of people picking me up on this, thought it was common knowledge how despised we are. Was just making the point there was finally a bit of good will towards Leeds in the British press for once, and hoped that wouldn't be ruined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭xlogo

I'll leave the topic there so.

Thanks!

xlogo wrote: »
    Thanks!

Fair enough, didn't mean to annoy anyone. But what I will say, isn't that what makes the atmosphere in Elland Road special? The "us against the world" dynamic? Brings the Leed's fans together? Because it is extremely hostile when there's a full house, a level above anything else in England

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Jimmy Two Times

Millwall would give Leed's a run for their money in fairness, but even they aren't quite as bad

Can't agree with this at all.

Season ticket holder here,went to over 20 games home and away last season and but for lockdown would have been more. Great atmosphere in and around the city now that things are going well.

Opposing fans all sing the Leeds Scum song but at this point it is a bit of a parody and a bit of fun. Leeds fans respond with " We are the Leeds Scum " to take the p*ss.

Mixed with Preston, Boro and Hull fans at the away games last year with no hassle. Bit of messing inside the ground and the usual young lads trying to be hard with the gestures and stuff.

Maybe you could say we were lucky as there's always a small minority looking for a bit of trouble but in general the atmosphere in and around Elland Road and the city has been good for the last two or three years.

Travelling Millwall fans were fine after the 3-2 game last January too but I'm sure it's different in Bermondsey. My young lad was at away games at Charlton,Huddersfield,Luton,Wednesday,Forest and Brentford and came away unscathed every time.

Yeah,there's a bit of singing,slagging and messing but once the game is over,it's on to the buses and back to Leeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭purple hands

Pickford out for Everton tomorrow, pity

Maybe we can send Casilla on emergency loan

Can't agree with this at all.

Season ticket holder here,went to over 20 games home and away last season and but for lockdown would have been more. Great atmosphere in and around the city now that things are going well.

Opposing fans all sing the Leeds Scum song but at this point it is a bit of a parody and a bit of fun. Leeds fans respond with " We are the Leeds Scum " to take the p*ss.

Mixed with Preston, Boro and Hull fans at the away games last year with no hassle. Bit of messing inside the ground and the usual young lads trying to be hard with the gestures and stuff.

Maybe you could say we were lucky as there's always a small minority looking for a bit of trouble but in general the atmosphere in and around Elland Road and the city has been good for the last two or three years.

Travelling Millwall fans were fine after the 3-2 game last January too but I'm sure it's different in Bermondsey. My young lad was at away games at Charlton,Huddersfield,Luton,Wednesday,Forest and Brentford and came away unscathed every time.

Yeah,there's a bit of singing,slagging and messing but once the game is over,it's on to the buses and back to Leeds.

Nah. Its like the 70s still. Running battles with coppers, throwing bricks at other fans. Dont be coming in here with with actual stories of going to games.

Some of us have watched YouTube videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,024 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Fair enough, didn't mean to annoy anyone. But what I will say, isn't that what makes the atmosphere in Elland Road special? The "us against the world" dynamic? Brings the Leed's fans together? Because it is extremely hostile when there's a full house, a level above anything else in England

No more hostile than any other club. Have you ever been to the "shed" end in Stamford Bridge when they were playing West Ham or Spurs? I have, and it is way more hostile and vicious. Not a place to wear an Irish jersey, that's for sure.
    It's more banter and fun with Leeds supporters at Elland Road. And I have been to Elland Road maybe 60 times (and counting) in the last 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Let’s be fair, it’s only splitting hairs when comparing clubs fans, in general there is still a section of fans in England that still behave in very anti social behavior, whether it be the stereotypical larger lout or young tracksuit wearing hooligans

event wrote: »
    Nah. Its like the 70s still. Running battles with coppers, throwing bricks at other fans. Dont be coming in here with with actual stories of going to games.

Some of us have watched YouTube videos

I've gone to plenty of games, and regularly go to see Leed's over the years. The point was a poster said this or that doesn't happen, I simply pointed he could see actual camera footage of that exact thing happening if he went on Youtube. That was it

I never said there was running battles with coppers. I pointed out Leed's still have one of the worst anti-social problems with fans to this day, and on any given year the stats, for example arrests, will show this. So you can try and misrepresent and belittle what is said all you want, doesn't change the reality of anything I said

I've gone to plenty of games, and regularly go to see Leed's over the years. The point was a poster said this or that doesn't happen, I simply pointed he could see actual camera footage of that exact thing happening if he went on Youtube. That was it

I never said there was running battles with coppers. I pointed out Leed's still have one of the worst anti-social problems with fans to this day, and on any given year the stats, for example arrests, will show this. So you can try and misrepresent and belittle what is said all you want, doesn't change the reality of anything I said

What I, and others responded to, was your point about Leeds being the most hated club. Impossible to verify, and probably untrue given the widespread dislike of Manchester United and the more moneyed clubs.

You then sent a link from some provincial newspaper showing that Leeds had 52 arrests last season. 18 of those were for fans celebrating in the city centre over three days and thus unconnected with any football matches. Otherwise you count any arrest at any time for someone wearing a Leeds shirt.

Thus 34 arrests in 49 games (including cups), less than two arrests at every three games. English police are not slow to arrest fans at the slightest hint of trouble so those figures are minute, and often for drunkeness not involving any violence or threats.

And you think there's a big problem? Try going out on a Sat night in any city on these islands and arrests will be into double figures in all. I also highly recommend such socialising as an alternative to trolling.

Looks like we're up to 11th unless Southampton find their shooting boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Looks like we're up to 11th unless Southampton find their shooting boots.

A lot of boots to be shooting

Hijpo wrote: »
    A lot of boots to be shooting

I'd rather have been helped out by any other team, but I'll take it. Tenth tomorrow hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Been thinking about Bamford and England lately, this time last year I was telling a friend that he would never have a chance in hell of playing for England and he was delusional in thinking so.
    Now, I think he deserves a call up considering the form he is in, we all know he is a confidence player and a call up would boost it even further and he could kick into another gear.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭purple hands

One of the genuine ITK posters on waccoe says "Raphinha sounds promising, he should be starting" :)

Edit : just seen he mentioned Rodrigo out, no update on Bamford which is assumed to be good.

So could be Kalvin, Dallas and Klich in midfield then.

Been thinking about Bamford and England lately, this time last year I was telling a friend that he would never have a chance in hell of playing for England and he was delusional in thinking so.
    Now, I think he deserves a call up considering the form he is in, we all know he is a confidence player and a call up would boost it even further and he could kick into another gear.

Feck England. More chance of an injury or getting Covid. Let's be honest, he'll be a bench warmer for Kane. In the summer id rather he gets a break than trapse around Europe to get a few mins here and there

I have the lucky leeds top on again today lads. Only put it on at 13:00 so it might be a draw :pac:

When was the last time we did a three in a row? Was it in the Championship run in?
    I think we can take Everton, but the pattern this season is win two, lose two (give or take a couple of draws).
    Nine wins, nine losses and two draws.
    Very symmetrical season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭adaminho

Our new signing making their debut tonight.
    https://twitter.com/LUFC/status/1356980767788736514?s=09

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Looks great, should make playing Bielsa ball a lot easier.

adaminho wrote: »
    Our new signing making their debut tonight.
    https://twitter.com/LUFC/status/1356980767788736514?s=09

My missus thinks all blokes are saddoes. Were she to be aware we were all transfixed to this......

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Fully expected so see Walter White out there taking the temperature:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Meslier, Alioski, Struijk, Cooper, Ayling, Phillips, Harrison, Klich, Dallas, Raphinha, Bamford for tonight

Kalvin getting treatment in the warm up. Didnt look good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭Hijpo

Sorry now but that is absolutely inexcusable

So many slips already on that surface.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Where was Ayling? Expecting Raphinha to play right back?

That would have been contender for goal of the season from Alioski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

whiterebel wrote: »
    That would have been contender for goal of the season from Alioski

Couldn't hit it much better.

3 of them straight on Raphinha there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Be tough to come back from this

Ayling let him go there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

Can we just play away from home, just not the same team at Elland Road

We won our two games, we have to lose two now. Those is the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭blaa85

Been a while for him, bit wouldn't mind seeing Hernandez on for Klick. I cracked up when Klich didn't play a pass forward and turned back.

I still think this is retrievable. Given the pace I don't think that Everton can hack another 45 mins of it and an early goal for us will createe much jitteriness. and hey MB, get Pablo on to open them up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

I still think this is retrievable. Given the pace I don't think that Everton can hack another 45 mins of it and an early goal for us will createe much jitteriness. and hey MB, get Pablo on to open them up.

Hopefully, but I think has a real "Roberts for Bamford" after 65 mins

Great response!

Hopefully, but I think has a real "Roberts for Bamford" after 65 mins

And per my request!!!! YEEESSSS!!!

C'Mon Raphinha!!!!!

Lovely finish

We get a second and I think we'll win. They're already rattled and they'll struggle come 70/75 mins.

It'd help if lev yashin wasn't in goals for them there