Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leeds United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2020/2021

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Nah, not after yesterdays display. MB comprehensively dispelled any suggestion that he gained any unfair advantage from the episode and also clearly pointed out that what he did has not broken any rules. The EFL have absolutely nothing on which to punish him other than to try and portray it as poor form. I suspect he might get a fine and a reprimand and that will be the end of it.
    He really made a laughing stock out of all those getting hysterical about it - although I saw on the BBC news this morning that they were still smirking at the "obsessive Bielsa and how his spying has given him such detailed information on all oppositions", completely omitting the fact that pretty much all this information came from video analysis, not "spying"! Some media outlets clearly want to stick to their narrative rather than the facts!

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

It's amazing how Lampard's standards go up and down isn't it? Man watching his training session through a fence - very bad. Team mate calling an opponent "a fucking black cunt" - bit of a grey area.

Must be difficult for him to keep up with exactly what is and isn't ok.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

New keeper in, Kiko Casilla confirmed on a four and a half year deal. Wouldn't have had a chance of signing a player like him if Bielsa wasn't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Zaph wrote: »
    New keeper in, Kiko Casilla confirmed on a four and a half year deal. Wouldn't have had a chance of signing a player like him if Bielsa wasn't there.

In other news Leeds Utd have announced the signing of a new spy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭board_stiff

Zaph wrote: »
    Glad that's finally over the line. It had begun to drag on a bit.

It's probably too late for him to start against Stoke but I assume he will jump ahead of BPF going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,170 ✭✭✭chicorytip

This is either trolling or beyond moronic. Why iam even responding to such idiocy is my fault but such dramatic and sweeping statements based on sky sport and tabloid headlines only feed into the tripe the media are feeding you. Firstly as stated, he hasn’t broken any rules just some morale code of conduct that everyone seems to care about all of a sudden. Secondly, perspective, let’s just say he did break a rule, would any of your punishments fit the so called crime, nope, nonsense. To assume the advantage gained from watching training is so much greater that how much Leeds perform in every aspect is a bewildering way to think, it doesn’t make sense. Try and use logic and common sense and not buy into what your being force fed Why would Leeds sack one of the most transforming people the club has had over some trivial crap Shouldn’t people be more outraged at the financial FairPlay rules broken by the like of Man CIty ??? Are there not bigger problems in soccer ?

If he were working in any other form of industry and engaging in such - let's call it unethical - behaviour in order to gain some commercial advantage over a competitor and doing so unbeknownst to his own employers, he would be gone. Allardyce was sacked by England on the basis of certain comments he made which gave an impression that he may have accepted illegal payments from agents in the past but without a single shred of evidence to confirm that he had actually done so. This kind of "spying" stuff is redolent of Argentina 1978 and military juntas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

chicorytip wrote: »
    If he were working in any other form of industry and engaging in such - let's call it unethical - behaviour in order to gain some commercial advantage over a competitor and doing so unbeknownst to his own employers, he would be gone. Allardyce was sacked by England on the basis of certain comments he made which gave an impression that he may have accepted illegal payments from agents in the past but without a single shred of evidence to confirm that he had actually done so. This kind of "spying" stuff is redolent of Argentina 1978 and military juntas.

Yeah if they were looking to gain a commercial advantage I'd almost agree with you. But he wasn't looking for a commercial advantage.

What Allardyce did shouldn't have any bearing as what he admitted to was illegal, this isnt.

Blowing hot air, mountain out of a molehill stuff this is

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭Trend Setter in Training

What a crock of......

When did you join Boards Frank?

Underrated comment right here!

Everyone loves talking about LUFC - we're not famous any more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

You have to laugh at the outrage from Lampard, Collymore and Keown.

It's like 20 years ago, when foreign managers came in with fancy ideas like "lads, no more binge drinking".

The whole thing has shown up what poor standards there are in commentators and "journalists". The lazy, arrogant opinions and suggestions would put me off watching anything they are on. I barely watch more than the actual 90 mins of any game unless it's Leeds playing and even with highlights like MotD I'd fast forward through the bits between matches. Feel there's nothing to learn or new insight from any pundits. Only ones worth a listen are Neville and Carragher on MNF and sometimes their guests. Surely there are ex-players or managers out there that would do better all round. They might not scrub up as well in their suit but the sh1te you hear from Jenas/Murphy/Andrews et al just puts me right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

Changes on the way for home ticket purchases from the Bolton game until the end of the season, might make it easier for some of you considering trips but put off by tickets!
    Demand for tickets at home matches has been significant this season and after tickets for our game with Norwich City sold out to Members & Season Ticket Holders in less than two hours, the club have decided to make amendments to the sales pattern, in line with point 8 of our Membership terms and conditions detailed below:

8. Membership does not guarantee home tickets. Members have a priority booking period for home games. For high profile home fixtures, tickets may be sold in the following order of priority; Platinum and Gold Members followed by Silver Members. The number of tickets available to purchase may be restricted.

From the Bolton Wanderers match onwards, tickets will go on sale to Platinum Members, Gold Members & Season Ticket Holders on a first come first served basis, then to Silver Members (subject to availability). If any tickets remain, tickets will then be released for general sale.

In order to try and give more fans the opportunity to purchase tickets, the maximum number of tickets available to purchase will be reduced from nine to four.

This means that Members can purchase four tickets and Season Ticket Holders will be able to purchase an extra three tickets in addition to their Season Ticket.

Ticket sale dates will be announced in due course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

This kind of "spying" stuff is redolent of Argentina 1978 and military juntas.

Comparing a man standing on a public road to a regime that killed 30,000 seems a little extreme. With a sense of perspective like that it is difficult to take anything you say seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭purple hands

Actually, quite the opposite, as one commentator on Talksport noted this morning.

In every other business, every other line of work, you are expected to know what your competitors and rivals are at. In fact, it is demanded by shareholders, you have an obligation to them to ensure that you stay ahead of the competition. All that is expected is that you do not break the law.

I have highlighted the very obvious issue where the Allardyce analogy falls down. Do you not appreciate the huge difference between what is legal and illegal?

The line about the Argentinians and juntas is ugly. Especially as Bielsa's brother was tortured and exiled to Spain in that time. No good jokes about the Belgrano?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Well played, I actually thought you were serious for a while, military juntas... that made me laugh for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

A real idiot, because his employee is on the EFL board so if a serious sanction is handed down no doubt Leeds would argue that it was prejudiced from the off.

Bossing possession as usual but struggling to create anything of note. Plus a couple of silly yellow cards.

The type of scrappy game you'd expect promotion candidates to win though...

Ffs awful goal to concede, Klich asleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Ffs awful goal to concede, Klich asleep

And Pontus has walked now:mad:.

Goes from bad to worse, Pontus sent off.

Ah, so it's one of those sort of games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Alioski not functioning at all.

Did pontus even make contact for the second yellow? Looked like he just feckin slipped

Stoke don't win for 6 and then Leeds come to town..

https://twitter.com/Michael_TSB/status/1086663992939085827

What can you do when you get decisions like that? The contact, if any, was accidental and miniscule and did not impact the Stoke player whatsoever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭adaminho

https://twitter.com/Michael_TSB/status/1086663992939085827

What can you do when you get decisions like that? The contact, if any, was accidental and miniscule and did not impact the Stoke player whatsoever

The fix is in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,023 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

We were hard done by today. But even before the sending off, we were chasing the game yet again. We have to be more proactive in games.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Berardi limps off in the under 23s match. :mad: We are just having no luck lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

We were hard done by today. But even before the sending off, we were chasing the game yet again. We have to be more proactive in games.

We still though seem to have a large majority of the possession in each game, and I did read a stat recently where we have had the most shots of any Club in the league this season to date. Does it not suggest, particularly given Bamford's absence, that we need reinforcements up front?

For all our indifferent form recently, we are still in a great position and have in our hands a wonderful opportunity to come back in from the wilderness after fifteen long years. I know such opportunities can be undone by the fickle finger of fate, but I'd hate to be looking back on another season ending in disaster and wondering 'what if' as regards investment.

We still though seem to have a large majority of the possession in each game, and I did read a stat recently where we have had the most shots of any Club in the league this season to date. Does it not suggest, particularly given Bamford's absence, that we need reinforcements up front?

Yup I think Bielsa refers to the team's "efficiency", i.e. converting chances to goals. While we're quite high in the table (maybe top?) for chances created, our efficiency is bottom 6 or something. The lack of reinforcements is probably down to expectations that Bamford would return sooner. It's such a shame that he hasn't been around, you can just tell he's a natural finisher and no doubt our "efficiency" would be higher if he was around.

You also have less contributors from midfield too though. On the Inside Elland Road podcast, they mentioned that Klich hasn't had a shot on goal this year!

With regards to Klich, we do have to remember that he was not part of the first team at all really last season and was on his way out in the summer before things turned around for him. His early season form was brilliant (and let's be honest a big surprise to a lot of us) so it's not that surprising that he is having a dip in form lately. He could do with a rest but as things stand we don't have many options there. Hopefully Brown can compete for a place soon.

You also have less contributors from midfield too though. On the Inside Elland Road podcast, they mentioned that Klich hasn't had a shot on goal this year!

Was thinking about posting recommending podcasts on here. Don't listen to many and none before Sept/Oct last year but now I'm hooked on Talking Shutt, Inside Elland Road, LS11 and The Square Ball podcasts. Find them all great although there is a lot of repetition when the lads can only talk about what's happened each week. Luckily at Leeds we usually have plenty to discuss!!!

Letter supposedly sent to the EFL from 11 clubs is dated 2018, says Leeds United ("Leeds") as if they need to shorten down the term for the sake of a one page letter, start with 'Dear Shaun' when addressing the EFL head Shaun Harvey and ask for names of every individual who conducted any of the, ahem, scouting - a slight long shot given the recent GDPR laws. Looks like an intern wrote it!!!

https://twitter.com/deancore/status/1088125735292887040?s=19

And here we go. January collapse in full swing

Back to that familiar feeling of weekends being ruined

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

We've had all the possession as usual but have created nothing. No cutting edge at all. Rotherham deserve to be ahead.

Chasing the game again and not a shot on target in the first half. What has happened to Leeds? The annual new year collapse?

Flukey equaliser!

Rotherham looking dodgy at the back now

F*cking get in!!!

Class from Klich

Hold on to f*** now plesse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭adaminho

Who else can you reverse jinx?

Jaysus that was torture but a great three points and for all the bad performances, Derby aside, still f*cking top

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,015 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Scrappy but coming away with 3 points is all that counts

And Norwich against Sheffield United has ended in a draw so we've stretched our lead at the top to 3 points, and currently 6 ahead of third. We might have been made sweat a bit for it, but that was a good day's work.

Good second half. If we played like that for 90 minutes we would be dangerous. Like the new keeper too. A few great saves.

Didn't I say that Klich was worth sticking with! :P Great result today even if the performance might not have been, also the draw between Norwich and Sheffield Utd as well as West Brom now having a replay to add to their schedule, it's been a good day!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

Next weekend is huge!!! And I'm away so will not get to see it ...FFS those livescore updates will cause heart failure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

New keepers positioning for set pieces is gonna be a rollercoaster ride ��

Yeah he charged out rashly a couple of times, this was first class though

https://twitter.com/Prebbl/status/1089423246808756224

Instant impact from January investment!

Dallas ruled out for another 6 weeks with a new ankle injury.

Douglas is back for the U23s today though. Like a new signing for Norwich game ;)

Might find it hard to shift Alioski from LB though.