Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NBA Live 18

123457»

• Registered Users Posts: 29,842 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    TURN COAT

DON'T LOOK AT ME!

tumblr_oad4b3lsVU1t7z4tyo1_400.gif

Well, after playing 2k a few days, it reminded me of how I finished a session of live having enjoyed my time compared to how I finish a session of 2k hating all the devs and contemplating how they could make such a bad game.

After about 15 career games averaging a B rating (lots of ridiculous turnovers, missed layups, usual cheese), I managed to get my guy up from a 60 to a whopping 65. That unlocked pro dribble moves. This was excellent as I had this slow motion crossover that had zero effect. Went to equip new moves and turns out I need 85 rating in dribbling, that would be about another 15k in VC. At this point I'm averaging about 700vc a game.

The neighborhood is basically useless as most things are locked until you hit 85 or they are too expensive. 2k VC for a t-shirt is ****ed up. I put up all my stats to the 85 level to check how much VC I'd need. 188k.... you can buy 200k VC for 50 euro. It's disgusting how much this game is pay to play.

I'm sure at level 85, the game would actually become fun to play between good stats, unlocking good customisation options and having access to decent moves but no way am I going to find any of that out. I can't even attempt Park because no way could my guy keep up with the 90+ people I'm surrounded by, I wouldn't even get a pass.

It's hard to even grind games as each one has multiple unskippable cutscenes containing absolute gibberish, I mean the most random conversations that 2k seem to think is funny banter, zero story, just absolute pointless chatting.

I definitely don't have the time or patience to force my way through an unenjoyable game to hoping that 1 day I actually unlock the full game and then have to pay 2k for most moves, celebrations, animations, etc. 3 games to buy 1 move is just too much.

Icing on the cake, I bought a beard for 100vc. Loaded up the game later, beard was gone. Googled it and yupp, that's been a glitch for a few months now, you'd have to keep rebuying it. Yupp, **** 2k.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Well I hate to say I told you so but I TOLD YOU SO.

Seen it in smyths yesterday for 24.99 and still would not touch it with a barge pole, the minute people pay the money you are done for they got you. TBH, the game is just made for all the mad basketball fanatics (usually black peeps) in the states that just throw money at the game.

You think that's bad.... Try creating a second player this year.

The slog is another level.

Hours of cut scenes to get through and such low levels of VC.

I guess one alternative is to play Online play now as I think you earn VC there.

Also the new board game in MyTeam is decent. It's just 5v5 indoor and much better than the 3v3 outdoor game to 21 there last year.

What's that board game? I've been thinking of just sticking with my team for a while, especially the single payer side of things until I get a competitive team so will be sucking to domination for a while. Recommend anything else to play in my team?

Wonda, I'm just glad I bought it 2nd hand so didn't have to give 2k a penny.

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    What's that board game? I've been thinking of just sticking with my team for a while, especially the single payer side of things until I get a competitive team so will be sucking to domination for a while. Recommend anything else to play in my team?

Wonda, I'm just glad I bought it 2nd hand so didn't have to give 2k a penny.

I haven't played it in months but I'm pretty sure it's the game mode where there's a player hidden on a board. You win a game you earn picks and over time you advance to better boards with higher cards.

Last year it was a 3v3 game to 21 with one of your players and two random picks.

This year it was a short 5v5 with no subs(IIRC) and just random picks for the whole team so you'll get lads playing with no PF or Centres.

1 win: 3 board picks, loss gets you one pick.

It was better than the 21 game from last year anyway.

Ah yes Packs and Playoffs I think it's called, must definitely try that as domination games can be a bit long (30 mins with 5 mins quarters, stopped clock and loading screen), one of my silver goals made me play a regular online placement game. Went to against a guy with all 90+ cards superstar roster. I held my own, scored 30 on him to his 60, but couldn't keep up with his guys. P&P seems a bit fairer airtight. Just finishing up the silver goals so I can create my Jersey, team logo and open the auction house.

Anyone on PS4 want to join my Pro-Am team Irish Feckers, just let me know :D

32687946_2181651521852603_4964425373140910080_o.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=33b0b03932c1d79134ab9acdd622550a&oe=5B7E9DD4

Officially done with career, it's actually the best 2k GAME in years but they sucked all the fun out of it, this could have been really really class if it wasn't for the greed (and cutscenes). I tried simming games to build up VC but looks like they patched it out so you don't get why from simming. I had read you could. At about 30 games, I am rated 67 and have one signature dribble move, the default runners and pants and the team t-shirt you get at the start. I can't play park because of the active 40ish players, I am one of 3 players under rating 70, I wouldn't even stand with me.

I'm doing good in games just by playing good ball but I can't hit ANY open 3's and mid's. Layups are dodgy. I can't steal or rebound. I give good passes by my teammates can't hit anything. So, not fun.

Ideally, you would of having to get this on launch with bonus VC and then spend about 40 on vc. Then I'm sure you'd have a great time with this.

Tried the packs and playoffs in my team. 1st guy quit after the first play and the 2nd match is below, such a great game. Tied up to the 4th and then made him rage quit. Such a pity this mode didn't give my team points as I just want to go auction sniping. I don't have a good enough team to do the regular season and domination is a bit of a slog so I think I'm done with my team as well. Guess I'll trade it in.

I'm glad I tried it but I wish there was a place where I could officially complain how they are charging 70 quid for a mobile pay to play model.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,046 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

2K lost me when I found out they disable the servers and your SP progress is subsequently gone. Until they make the career playable even after the servers are down, I might go back to them. Saying that, Live is definitely the inferior game in general though. Players seem more wooden, the animations are not as good, it doesn't play as smoothly, the at the basket animations ignore everything around it. Still playing it, but it's not as enjoyable as 2K16, and that game is 2 years older!

Since 2k18 was a complete disappointment, it has given me an itch to play some more bball. I have 2k16 and 17 in my library. Ye think it's worth loading them back up? Are all servers down for 16 as in no park, my team, etc? Is 17 worth giving another go?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,046 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Since 2k18 was a complete disappointment, it has given me an itch to play some more bball. I have 2k16 and 17 in my library. Ye think it's worth loading them back up? Are all servers down for 16 as in no park, my team, etc? Is 17 worth giving another go?

Servers are definitely down for 16, and going by trends, they will drop the support for 17 in January next year. And I heard 17 is not as good as 16 so...

But I understand you want to play 2K, it is definitely a better game gameplay wise, but their VC crap ruined everything.

Servers are definitely down for 16, and going by trends, they will drop the support for 17 in January next year. And I heard 17 is not as good as 16 so...

But I understand you want to play 2K, it is definitely a better game gameplay wise, but their VC crap ruined everything.

Installed 17 again and instantly having a laugh with it. My player is half way through the 2nd season and actually plays like an NBA player. Checked on YouTube and a ton of videos where people got sick of 18 and went back to 17 enjoying it more.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Does not matter if they are enjoying 17 more, they still made the mistake and bought 2K18!!!

When it worked it was good, but terrible getting shafted in Ireland just because we are in Ireland with lag and bugs etc.

Some news on NBA Live 19, it is getting a new executive producer straight from the Madden franchise. I don't have a clue about madden but I hear it's great if you're into foosball. Looks to be a big presence at E3 this year. Said they are gonna take what was good last year like The One and expand on the string single player.

https://www.polygon.com/2018/5/26/17398954/madden-nfl-19-nba-live-19-preview-e3-2018

Also, this was found, sounds like there going global. Wish I picked this up for 7 quid last month, wouldn't mind paying it again.

f8ko4p4371011.png

NBA Live 18 is on sale on US psn for 6 dollars if you have PS Plus, going back to 30 dollars later today. If anyone has a US PSN account, you can get 2 day trial of ps plus where no credit card is needed, buy it with amazon or pcgamesupply credit (10 dollars for 8 euro). I did it last night and worked perfect, looking forward to giving it another lash.

On the 2nd last court in the street league, loving it all over again. Went with a wing scorer, 6'6 SG this time with dunking and dribbling as my main stats, absolutely great laugh. Already looking forward to making a 3pt/defense specialist next.

NBA Live 19 dropping today at 7pm our time but will update the other thread with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I picked this up for about 15 quid delivered and played it for about 30 mins yesterday.

Looks brilliant and the mechanics seem on point but I've not played an NBA game on PS4 yet, I'd say my last time playing NBA game was back in PS2 days.

Mainly picked it up to keep my ticking over, along with Far Cry 3, until Red Dead 2 releases.

Liking it so far but I'm pretty woeful, truth be told, didnt help that I dove straight in without learning any controls. :o

Live 18 is on sale on PSN for 10 euro. Sale lasting 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Live 18 is on sale on PSN for 10 euro. Sale lasting 2 weeks.

Well bo**ocks, I feel robbed now. :pac:

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Well bo**ocks, I feel robbed now. :pac:

Ha, always happens man :)

Anyone do me a favour? On live 18, can you click the 'preorder love 19 with 33% discount link from the main menu. Do you get an error it can't be found or does it bring you to the store?

I'm getting an error message but it might be because my copy is from the US store. Link works fine on the US store, brings me to the game for 40 dollars (32 euro) which is an excellent price. If I do get the Irish discount working, it will be 46 euro so might just go with the US version anyway.

Still be nice to know if it's working for anyone else, sound.