Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow gap..WARNING

• 11-06-2017 10:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Yep...theyre at it again..The sweaty ball lycra brigade are out today in force, thousands of them...:eek:....be afraid..be very afraid..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Major event on today...

http://www.wicklow200.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

What's with the funny motorbikes they have? Are they some sort of hybrid? Is the engine in the frame ?

I'm all confused :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

D3V!L wrote: »
    What's with the funny motorbikes they have? Are they some sort of hybrid? Is the engine in the frame ?

You obviously haven't figured out how to use one.
    Try looking in the manual ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭hairyslug

D3V!L wrote: »

It took me to long to get this,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I am off out to the destination with 20 pacs of thumb tacs....then I am setting up a stall 500m down the road selling puncture repair kits.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

At least they're sticking to organised events.

It's the feckers who go around randomly in groups of 5 thinking they're in the fecking peloton in the tour de fecking Artane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

beauf wrote: »
    Major event on today...

http://www.wicklow200.ie

The motorcyclist marshals are really appreciated too.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Bushmanpm

@ Pugzilla
    Was the motorbike badly damaged?;-)
    Bloody lycranazis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

D0NNELLY wrote: »
    At least they're sticking to organised events.

It's the feckers who go around randomly in groups of 5 thinking they're in the fecking peloton in the tour de fecking Artane.

Sorta like motorcyclists so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Windy for all road users,especially up The Gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Windy for all road users,especially up The Gap.

A windy Gap is a nuisance all right....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Cyclists are without a doubt the biggest Hazard on the road.

They show absolutely no awareness to whats around them.

When there's a large bunch if them together holding up traffic people get fed up being behind them and take stupid chances to get past.

Just two of many "beautiful" incidents that I caught on the helmet cam today. (apologies for the language)

Cyclist just moves out into centre of road for no reason without looking:
    https://youtu.be/szZF-Yvrx4E

Moron runs another car off the road trying to get past a murder of cyclists
    https://youtu.be/snuj6dsRtxw

MMMM...tbh i'm not seeing a lot wrong there...tandem guys wer'nt really an issue, loads of room to pass...second one the overtaking car was the problem as far as i could see....:o

I don't get the the issue with the tandem.

The second one overtaking on a blind bend. Not much you can say about that.

Its a Sunday, in the mountains, there's a cycling event. Why someone would be in hurry I have no idea. It makes no difference to your journey time.

I don't get the the issue with the tandem.

The second one overtaking on a blind bend. Not much you can say about that.

Its a Sunday, in the mountains, there's a cycling event. Why someone would be in hurry I have no idea. It makes no difference to your journey time.

Kinda does tbh...theres only so many scones in Lynhams...;);)

Once they're scone, they're scone.

...and then :(:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

grahambo wrote: »

When there's a large bunch if them together holding up traffic people get fed up being behind them and take stupid chances to get past.

Just two of many "beautiful" incidents that I caught on the helmet cam today. (apologies for the language)

Do you generalise much?

Sounds a bit like the Harley drivers who took over Killarney last weekend.
    We won't mention those of course who spent the afternoon drinking and then went out on the various rides that were on in the area.

...oops..I mentioned them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,390 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Interesting conclusion. Cyclists are involved in about 5% of road deaths and research shows that motorists are generally at fault in motorist/cyclist collisions. Motorists are involved in 99% of road deaths, and kill four or five people each week on the roads.

But cyclists are the biggest hazard?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭Reati

Yes. Was that not clear... ? :rolleyes::D:P

Interesting conclusion. Cyclists are involved in about 5% of road deaths and research shows that motorists are generally at fault in motorist/cyclist collisions. Motorists are involved in 99% of road deaths, and kill four or five people each week on the roads.

Yawn...troll much..:p

This thread is more exciting than the Ireland game,keep it up lads.:pac::D

Yep,when they blatantly cycle through all those red lights that everyone else stops for.

Cyclists guide to the road.........RED means just ignore the big red light and GO.:rolleyes:

Ah to be a cyclist eh....:pac::pac::pac:

Ireland actually won the ball back,Im going back to the game now.

Toodles.:p:D

Sh1t..forgot about the game..Is Shay Gibbon still in goal...........:D

Nah its Packie in goal today.
    He came back out of retirement to show them young whippersnappers how to play football and save a ball.:p

Think I will switch over to the F1 Canadian GP build up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭legrand

Grow up. Former biker (15+ years), like to think I understand road conditions, awareness of others, defensive as required. Also a cyclist, keep in a much as I safely can, ride single file on most cases. Yes I over take, you know like bikers need to on occasion. Also, having done a hill walk had walk part of Wicklow Gap road with my kids only to meet a f'ing k##t on a motor bike clocking over a ton, scrambled into the ditch. But hey he's a biker and that's okay he can do no wrong. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,127 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Yep,when they blatantly cycle through all those red lights that everyone else stops for.

Cyclists guide to the road.........RED means just ignore the big red light and GO.:rolleyes:

Ah to be a cyclist eh....:pac::pac::pac:
    Are you fed up being overtaken by cyclists when you're on your burger bun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

legrand wrote: »
    Grow up. Former biker (15+ years), like to think I understand road conditions, awareness of others, defensive as required. Also a cyclist, keep in a much as I safely can, ride single file on most cases. Yes I over take, you know like bikers need to on occasion. Also, having done a hill walk had walk part of Wicklow Gap road with my kids only to meet a f'ing k##t on a motor bike clocking over a ton, scrambled into the ditch. But hey he's a biker and that's okay he can do no wrong. Right?

Youre the one gudun so. Fair play to you, keep fighting the good fight. Maybe the rest will follow your example.