Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to Live? Galway or Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I can't tell if your a WUM or just not that bright, You asked whats the benefit of living in Athlone - I answered.

You then replied saying "Dublin, Dublin, Dublin". If you want to be narrow minded and just claim Dublin is the greatest city in the world then fire ahead.

Theres a lot more restaurants in London and far greater variety than there is in Dublin - what relevance has that to this thread? None.
    Maybe your just not that articulate but I really don't understand why an adult (presumably) feels the need to ask a question then reply to the answer as though it was a diffeent topic:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

You recommended living in Athlone above Dublin and then listed a bunch of Athlone's amenities as backup, I merely responded saying all bar one of the amenities you listed were better in Dublin.

And I suggested that the only reason you'd live in Athlone above Dublin was because it was cheaper, and if that was your main concern why not live somewhere rural?

I don't know why you're talking about London...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

FFS either one is not necessarily better then the other they just offer slightly different things and suit different people.
    Glenster wrote: »
    You recommended living in Athlone above Dublin and then listed a bunch of Athlone's amenities as backup, I merely responded saying all bar one of the amenities you listed were better in Dublin.

And I suggested that the only reason you'd live in Athlone above Dublin was because it was cheaper, and if that was your main concern why not live somewhere rural?
    No doubt there are plenty more reasons to chose Athlone and while the amenities are better I'm sure its less time consuming, cheaper and quicker to access them in Athlone. Everywhere has positives and negatives.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    FFS either one is not necessarily better then the other they just offer slightly different things and suit different people.

All I said was I do not understand what Athlone has that would make you choose it over somewhere rural or somewhere urban. and I still don't.

If someone were to say "I'm interested in X Y and Z and that's what I want from where I live and that's why I choose Athlone or Portlaise because its better there than both the country and the city." I would appreciate being educated.

No doubt there are plenty more reasons to chose Athlone and while the amenities are better I'm sure its less time consuming, cheaper and quicker to access them in Athlone. Everywhere has positives and negatives.

I do doubt and I'm not sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

OK, pros and cons for what I believe to be what OP is after;

Dublin pros
    - Better jobs market for the hubby
    - Bigger choice of eateries, bars etc
    - Near major infrastructure (roads, Dublin airport, better public transport)
    - Never have to travel far for access to services
    - Slightly better weather

Galway pros
    - Marginally less expensive (but by very little, admittedly)
    - Lower crime rate
    - Compact
    - Generally a nicer atmosphere
    - Connemara is right on your doorstep
    - Less manic than Dublin

Dublin cons
    - Marginally more expensive than Galway, hugely more expensive than Athlone
    - City centre can be rough at times
    - You don't like the noise, rush etc in Dublin

Galway cons
    - Traffic congestion can wreck your head, or not affect you much at all, depending on where you live/work
    - It really does seem to rain a lot, although you're used to that in Athlone at any rate
    - A lot of the people have notions about the place

Someone already suggested seeing about doing a commute to Dublin and just staying where you are. If you like Athlone a lot, and don't like rush, noise etc, I don't think Dublin is the place for you tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

I don't know why you're talking about London...

Can you tell me the number of the post in which I recommended Athlone above Dublin?

I've included the other post here - the one to which I was replying to. .

I do not understand this attitude.

If you like doing stuff, a city.

If you like solitude and sitting around in a big house, the countryside.

I do not understand why someone would live in a town like Athlone. What is the benefit?

Perhaps its just your articulation or that you don't actually listen to or read comments by others.
    I have not recommended Dublin, Athlone or Galway on this thread. What I have done is point out that some posters are criticising Galway with ridiculous claims.

No one has disputed Dublin has more amenities to offer, and If you couldn't stand living in Athlone or anywhere else thats your business but I'll reiterate that is shows a narrow-mindedness to just ignore the fact that some people prefer to live in smaller towns and to ignore that those towns have a great deal to offer which is why people live there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

anna080 wrote: »
    Sick of this argument! People making out that Galway is a wash out as if the rest of Ireland is the bloody Mediterranean, ffs! It rains everywhere in Ireland.

Its rains almost twice as much on the west coast as in dublin actually
    http://www.met.ie/climate/images/climate_rainfallmap.gif
    Its no figment of the imagination!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

wakka12 wrote: »
    Its rains almost twice as much on the west coast as in dublin actually
    http://www.met.ie/climate/images/climate_rainfallmap.gif
    Its no figment of the imagination!

Galway city average is 1200mm and Dublin 800mm according to that map. Rainfall doesn't tell the whole story anyway. Miami has 1600mm of rain on average, Denver has as many hours of sunshine as miami..not pointing out many of those hours are in subzero temperatures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Galway city average is 1200mm and Dublin 800mm according to that map. Rainfall doesn't tell the whole story anyway. Miami has 1600mm of rain on average, Denver has as many hours of sunshine as miami..not pointing out many of those hours are in subzero temperatures

Miami and denver are different climates, one is tropical and the other is continental
    Dublin and galway are same climate and not far from one another both at coastal areas, so suffice to say that higher rainfall in one place in ireland over another simply means just more rainy/cloudier/windier &****tier weather overall

I do not understand this attitude.

If you like doing stuff, a city.

If you like solitude and sitting around in a big house, the countryside.

I do not understand why someone would live in a town like Athlone. What is the benefit?

I'm presuming you live in Dublin.

I don't expect you to understand what would make someone want to live in a town like Athlone, but plenty of people do, myself included. I've lived in quite a few places, including cities that make Dublin look like a village, and I'm happy to live in a town like Athlone. The benefits, of which there are quite a few, include less pollution, less traffic, less crime and more money in your pocket by virtue of lower living costs. Most of the things that make cities attractive to live in are available here, albeit on a smaller scale.

An alpha city it certainly ain't but 22,000 of us seem quite happy to live here :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

Daisy78 wrote: »
    I meant Galway city beaches. But you knew that. Apart from Salthill, what other beaches do you know of?

No, your post wasn't clear at all actually.

Well, let's see, there's Ballyloughane. Sandy but quite small. Silverstrand, ditto. The views of the Burren are the best thing about the beaches. The worst thing going for Galway beaches is that they are in quite shabby surroundings. Salthill promenade feels very tired. When I went there a few years ago for the first time in years, I was amazed that people praise it so much.

Not all the Dublin beaches are in stunning surroundings but most of them are. One thing that gets overlooked about Dublin city is that it has a beautiful crescent bay and high vantage points throughout the city from which to view that as well as beaches along it. A train ride from the most northerly point of DART to the most southerly is a damn fine thing. Some of that is in Wicklow, yes, but not all the scenic parts are in Wicklow alone. And the Wicklow part, amazing. Imagine having a train line as dramatic as the Bray Head one on your doorstep?

I'm presuming you live in Dublin.

I don't expect you to understand what would make someone want to live in a town like Athlone, but plenty of people do, myself included. I've lived in quite a few places, including cities that make Dublin look like a village, and I'm happy to live in a town like Athlone. The benefits, of which there are quite a few, include less pollution, less traffic, less crime and more money in your pocket by virtue of lower living costs. Most of the things that make cities attractive to live in are available here, albeit on a smaller scale.

An alpha city it certainly ain't but 22,000 of us seem quite happy to live here :)

I appreciate that. And I'm certainly not obsessed with Dublin, I've lived in New York, Dublin and Frankfurt. I personally clearly prefer cities to rural areas.

I understand that you might value fresh air, lower costs etc.

My only point was that all of those things are even better in somewhere even more rural than Athlone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Daledge wrote: »
    ...This is a joke right?

No. Rents in Galway city are insane.
    Cork/Limerick/Waterford cities all alot cheaper to rent in. Plus all 3 are safer I think.

Perhaps its just your articulation or that you don't actually listen to or read comments by others.
    I have not recommended Dublin, Athlone or Galway on this thread. What I have done is point out that some posters are criticising Galway with ridiculous claims.

No one has disputed Dublin has more amenities to offer, and If you couldn't stand living in Athlone or anywhere else thats your business but I'll reiterate that is shows a narrow-mindedness to just ignore the fact that some people prefer to live in smaller towns and to ignore that those towns have a great deal to offer which is why people live there.

Maybe you don't understand what benefit means.

It means what is good about Athlone in comparison to somewhere else you might live.

So for example restaurants in Athlone isn't a benefit, because restaurants are better (I think) in Dublin. Although I'm sure they are nice in Athlone.

I'm not criticising Athlone, I just don't understand what makes it a nice place to live in comparison to Dublin (If you like that sort of thing) or somewhere Rural (If you like that sort of thing).

There's no point in getting personal about me being narrow-minded or inarticulate. Or to talk about other people criticising Galway, I didn't criticise anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

It means what is good about Athlone in comparison to somewhere else you might live.

So for example restaurants in Athlone isn't a benefit, because restaurants are better (I think) in Dublin. Although I'm sure they are nice in Athlone.

I'm not criticising Athlone, I just don't understand what makes it a nice place to live in comparison to Dublin (If you like that sort of thing) or somewhere Rural (If you like that sort of thing).

There's no point in getting personal about me being narrow-minded or inarticulate. Or to talk about other people criticising Galway, I didn't criticise anywhere.

I think there are only three reasons why someone would CHOOSE to live in Athlone;
    1. Large amount of relations in that area.
    2. Work opportunities.
    3. Cheap housing.

Overall it comes across as a "nothingy" kind of place. Good roads out of it though...

Again your not responding to the statments/questions on here. And to paraphrase your own analogy : Restaurants in Athlone ARE a benefit because restaurants are far better there than in say Athenry or Tuam or Tullamore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭buzzinfly83

Cork/Limerick/Waterford cities all alot cheaper to rent in. Plus all 3 are safer I think.

I doubt Waterford is safer than Galway. Two murders in the last couple of months.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

If you like Rain, has to be Galway. If you like Junkies has to be Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

Is knacker dwarf still knocking about Galway. I'd put him on the pro side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

All three are safer??? Please expand on that, I'm very interested to see what stats or data you're basing that on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Is knacker dwarf still knocking about Galway. I'd put him on the pro side.

Yes he is still here. A hallmark of the city, people come from far and wide to see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Galway is too wet, rains all the time.

Again your not responding to the statments/questions on here. And to paraphrase your own analogy : Restaurants in Athlone ARE a benefit because restaurants are far better there than in say Athenry or Tuam or Tullamore.

I don't know what you're on about mate.

If your point is that Athlone has nicer things than Athenry, I'll take your word for it, but make the point that Dublin has nicer things than both.

So live in Dublin if you like those things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Both have benefits obviously but I'm at a loss as to how people say renting in Galway is almost as expensive in Dublin? Unless you're trying to compare more upmarket city centre properties in Galway with further out, average suburbs in Dublin....because otherwise that point is entirely untrue.

From the actual OP it sounds like Galway suits far better, but it depends on how easily the husband can find a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'd like to second that. People who are claiming Galway is nearly as expensive as Dublin are talking absolute waffle. Of course, rent rates are going up all the time but they are still way, way cheaper than Dublin. The cost of living is cheaper in Galway across the board, not saying it's cheap in and of itself, but Dublin is dearer and to say different is nonsense.

Also some people seem to be under the impression that Galway is riddled with crime. I'd imagine that it's actually safer and quieter than places of roughly comparable size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

All three are safer??? Please expand on that, I'm very interested to see what stats or data you're basing that on.

All of the stats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

All of the stats.

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

All of the stats.

That was my thinking alright. All in all a point well made really.

I appreciate that. And I'm certainly not obsessed with Dublin, I've lived in New York, Dublin and Frankfurt. I personally clearly prefer cities to rural areas.

I understand that you might value fresh air, lower costs etc.

My only point was that all of those things are even better in somewhere even more rural than Athlone.

That's a fair point. I don't think the OP is looking to live up the side of a mountain either, though. I suppose what I'm getting at is that somewhere like Athlone would be what I'd consider to be a happy medium. You get many of the conveniences of urban living without the trappings of city life.

That makes sense, the convenience of a city (almost) without the hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Galway. Both are probably over rated though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Nether of them Dublin & Galway are `over rated. and there is lot better parts of Ireland like Cork & Limerick & Kerry.

Yes, but Limerick and Cork aren't the prettiest. Depends what you want I suppose.

You're right about Kerry. I'd pick that over any of the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Moomintroll99

We moved to Galway for work from another country a year ago and have been super happy here.

Nowhere's perfect, yes it rains, yes traffic, yes housing is an issue, but I reckon our rent money goes a lot further here than in Dublin - 1300 a month for a 3 bed house in a nice safe area, walking distance to the centre of town & the beach - don't reckon that would be possible in Dublin but correct me if I'm wrong. It's true jobs are more limited here than Dublin but depends on your sector.

Our kids love their school, there are friendly people, low crime, beautiful places like Connemara within a short drive. There's plenty of fun stuff to do with all the festivals and music, we haven't felt short of things going on.

We've lived in London, Amsterdam, Sydney and on most measures, for us Galway wins.

Nowhere's perfect, yes it rains, yes traffic, yes housing is an issue, but I reckon our rent money goes a lot further here than in Dublin - 1300 a month for a 3 bed house in a nice safe area, walking distance to the centre of town & the beach - don't reckon that would be possible in Dublin but correct me if I'm wrong. It's true jobs are more limited here than Dublin but depends on your sector.

wow, that's a good price. Lack of decent accommodation and over priced crap accommodation, really really crap accommodation in Dublin will drive me out of here before the year is out. I'm sick of having to live like a student. Dublin isn't worth it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭zweton

We moved to Galway for work from another country a year ago and have been super happy here.

Our kids love their school, there are friendly people, low crime, beautiful places like Connemara within a short drive. There's plenty of fun stuff to do with all the festivals and music, we haven't felt short of things going on.

We've lived in London, Amsterdam, Sydney and on most measures, for us Galway wins.

what part of galway is that for 1300?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

When Galway gets the weather, there's no comparing it to any other city in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Good question, the truth is I don't want to move at all, I don't like Dublin to be honest; but my husband wants to go to Dublin for his career progression and higher salary.

Make sure you do the sums!

How much would it cost to buy a nice place in Athlone? Galway? Dublin?

Does the higher salary in Dublin cover the extra costs? Hint: no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

Galway is a great city with all the amenities, but it has the vibes and feel of a village town and is very relaxed and has a lovely warm atmosphere- so going by what you've outlined in your op I think you'll love it there.

I wouldn't say it has all the amenities compared to Dublin or bigger cities.
    It's nice, don't get me wrong, but you can run out of things to do pretty easily if you don't have a car IMO

Assuming you meant Supermacs Eyre Square. . . Yeah it is a bit like O'Connell Street is 24 hours a day .. .

You say there are far far less things to do in Galway . . Can you name ten things you can do in Dublin that you can't in Galway? Maybe start with five

1. concerts
    2. more sporting events
    3. museums/art galleries if that's your thing
    4. better public transit so easier to get about
    5. the airport

When Galway gets the weather, there's no comparing it to any other city in the world.
    The world?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Never mind Culchievile or Jackeen central, just move to Leirtrim where all buzz is going on.

Btw can you spare some change ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Dublin

Jamsiek wrote: »
    1. concerts
    2. more sporting events
    3. museums/art galleries if that's your thing
    4. better public transit so easier to get about
    5. the airport

Thats quite a pathetic reply

1. There are also concerts in Galway
    2. There are also sporting events in Galway
    3. There are gallerys in Galway
    4. There is public transport in Galway
    5. Seriously? Thats just making it easier to leave dublin as opposed to doing something in Dublin. i.e. Name something you can do in Dublin . . . ."Leave it" :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Again, read the whole thread if your going to contribute. As has been clearly acknowledged there is naturally a wider variety of events and more available in Dublin. Thats only natural with a population 20 times greater than Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Thats quite a pathetic reply

Again, read the whole thread if your going to contribute. As has been clearly acknowledged there is naturally a wider variety of events and more available in Dublin. Thats only natural with a population 20 times greater than Galway.

Who pissed in your Corrib?

It's natural for someone (not all) to want to have that wide variety of events etc if they are choosing city life. Dublin is the only city in Ireland that I would want to live in. City life has its drawbacks, Dublin has more drawbacks in general but Dublin compensates for them far more than Galway.

PARlance wrote: »

It's natural for someone (not all) to want to have that wide variety of events etc if they are choosing city life. Dublin is the only city in Ireland that I would want to live in. City life has its drawbacks, Dublin has more drawbacks in general but Dublin compensates for them far more than Galway.

And your point is? Seriously read the thread if your going to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

PARlance wrote: »

The point is that the original question was "name 10 things you can do in Dublin that you can't in Galway", so far people are naming things that you can do in Galway too, albeit on a smaller scale, naturally enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

The point is that the original question was "name 10 things you can do in Dublin that you can't in Galway", so far people are naming things that you can do in Galway too, albeit on a smaller scale, naturally enough.

bit of a pointless question though.

And really and truly - the scale does matter.

Sure Ahascragh might have had a concert last year (I don't know if it did or not) and so could be argued that both Dublin and Ahascragh have concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Good grief. Statements like this make me feel like a veritable Phileas Fogg. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

My husband is a Senior Software Engineer, wanting to move to Dublin for more job opportunities and better pay. We have been living in Athlone for a few years. I personally love Irish towns and villages, small, quiet place with friendly local people. I'm only earning the national minimum wage but I enjoy the nature, peace, and closeness of the small place. I don't like the noise and rush in Dublin, not as clean or friendly as Athlone, feeling frustrated every time when I'm in Dublin.
    ?

Live outside but close to Dublin is the answer. There's plenty of small commutable towns with that small town feel you're looking for, plus, your husband can have a well paid job.

Galway is basically a faux twee photo opportunity for gout ridden fat yanks.

Although the nightly fist fights outside Supermacs after midnight are great craic if you can't afford the latest pay-per-view Conor McGregor fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

And your point is? Seriously read the thread if your going to comment.

Reading a thread is not a prerequisite to posting. But you can continue to make yourself look foolish by telling people to do so.

The OP asked about living in Galway or Dublin... she didn't ask people to start bickering about lists.