Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread - 2017/2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Are pep and Manchester City done?

Nearly...it'll take them another few games to win the league mathematically though.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Liverpool
    City have dropped 7 pts in the last 6 games and have utd Chelsea arsenal spurs Everton in 5 of their next 7 and a few injuries. They may have been under slight pressure if a team behind them had of strung a good few wins together lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Anyone else baffled by Jose dropping Pogba and Martial today? From the little “discussion” they had at the sideline in the Spurs match, it doesn’t look like Pogba is much inclined to accept responsibility for things going wrong. Taking him off was a strong enough statement without dropping him I would have thought.

The problem for Jose now is that if the replacements do the business, which they should against a team like Huddersfield, does he leave Pogba out going forward? If not what message does that send to the replacements and Pogba himself? Yet if there was a shock result for Huddersfield those loud guffaws you will hear in the background will include Pogba. Seems like a lose lose psychologically to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

fullstop wrote: »
    Nearly...it'll take them another few games to win the league mathematically though.
    Well; utd can get to 90 points if they win all their remaining games. Therefore we need 21 more points from a possible 33 (20 ought to do it though; I can't see utd pulling back 24 goals on us in their last dozen games).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Not nice of Utd to not give the ball back after Huddersfield put it out to allow Sanchez back on his feet. I guess it's ok because, you know, Utd like REALLY want to win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

fyfe79 wrote: »
    Not nice of Utd to not give the ball back after Huddersfield put it out to allow Sanchez back on his feet. I guess it's ok because, you know, Utd like REALLY want to win this.

Don't you know the ref is being really mean to them though? Same as every match apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,169 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

fyfe79 wrote: »

Thats quite selective :pac:

Jack Stephens went 38 games without scoring for Southampton.

Now he has 3 in 3 games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Man Utd
    sanchez is some boy to lose a ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Sanchez has been awful again, if he keeps it up will Maureen throw him under the bus next week as well like he did to Pogba and Jones for this match? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Everton
    Delighted for Burnley to get something today didn't see anything of the game after the first few minutes but I have a real soft spot for them. Dyche is a class act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

sligeach wrote: »
    Sanchez has been awful again, if he keeps it up will Maureen throw him under the bus next week as well like he did to Pogba and Jones for this match? No.

Cope on to yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Jayop wrote: »
    Delighted for Burnley to get something today didn't see anything of the game after the first few minutes but I have a real soft spot for them. Dyche is a class act.

The ginger Mourinho. I'd actually love to see what he could achieve at a big club.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

A big club will never hire him though, he eats worms.

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    Cope on to yourself

He'll be dealt with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Huddersfield going in hard on Sanchez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Everton
    Lukker- wrote: »
    A big club will never hire him though, he eats worms.

Would piss all I'm a celebrity get me out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

WBA making a game of it against Liverpool B.

2-3 now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Brighton seeing off West Ham 3-1 Glenn Murray is some man for the goal.

The bottom half is just mad for it's points spread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

No harm to shake things up though I'm sure we will have many that decode it's Jose throwing people under the bus.

Well yer nothing if not predictable anyway.

• Everton

Oh dear

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Huddersfield were never looking to pick up anything today but the next few games for them they mainly play a who's who of relegation candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Mangala left with a 2v0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Arsenal
    Dont think everton fans will put up with big sam for much longer. He will be shown the door in the summer if he makes it that far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

So is the arsenal crisis over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Turtwig wrote: »
    So is the arsenal crisis over?

It's a home game, we've been grand at home throughout.

• Everton
    This could end up double figures

The Mangala effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Arsenal are a strange outfit. Hard to understand how they can be so good at home but so poor on the road.

The negative Mourinhio vibes being eroded from Mkhitaryan.

• Everton
    Lol so predictable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

That Everton lineup is odd. 7 defensive players and 3 lads stuck up front then just hope for the best?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

RoboKlopp wrote: »

That's how he deceived us. Normal service will be resumed soon enough.

1 out of 10 for your tr*****g though.

JPA wrote: »
    That Everton lineup is odd. 7 defensive players and 3 lads stuck up front then just hope for the best?

They never bothered signing a left back for some reason.

It's kinda cute how much United play a part in your Boards life.

The Allardyce effect didn't actually last that long did it?

RoboMourinho suit better reflect his favourite topic.

Either that or someone was just testing the speed of your trigger response.

( :) )

The Allardyce effect didn't actually last that long did it?

He'll be gone in the summer. Everton fans don't even want him there.

Either that or someone was just testing the speed of your trigger response.

( :) )

Ah here's the back up now, right on queue.

Good show lads.

Have Everton even had a shot on target?

Ah here's the back up now, right on queue.

Good show lads.

ooooooooohhhh.jpg

4-1!

Come back is on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

He'll be gone in the summer. Everton fans don't even want him there.

Yeah, they have 31 points. So they need three more wins to guarantee safety. They'll get them at home. He'll be off after that and Silva will take over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,978 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

And Silva will fail miserably and they'll be starting all over again.

I don't understand how fans of a team don't get behind a manager until he proves he doesn't deserve their support. Everton were in a dad place when Allardyce too over. Things have improved and surely he deserves a chance come the summer to show what he can do the following season.

5-1. Assist number three for Mkhitaryan

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

That is some level of deflection from Allardici in the post match interview. Blaming the players for everything and accepting no responsibility for what has to be one of the worst 1st half performances I've ever seen. The man is a complete and utter charlatan.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Liverpool
    jbt123 wrote: »
    That is some level of deflection from Allardici in the post match interview. Blaming the players for everything and accepting no responsibility for what has to be one of the worst 1st half performances I've ever seen. The man is a complete and utter charlatan.

Typical Sam takes all the credit when they win and none of the blame when they lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,642 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Rw:Pep not having enough players...
    Is there not a limit to who you can play in the epl, like can you only name from a squad of 25 players or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Liverpool
    Rw:Pep not having enough players... Is there not a limit to who you can play in the epl, like can you only name from a squad of 25 players or something?

Think its 25 senior players included a certain amount of homegrown players and then as many academy as you want so could easily have added a player