Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread - 2017/2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Liverpool
    Izquierdo seems a bit on the greedy side.

He's making a lot of good things happen when he makes that run into the box but if you're making the defence dissolve like that then you really need to be able to tee someone up.
    If you're going to take the shot on, you can't miss that badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

That’s a red imo. Not even given as a foul.

Ref looks timid and intimated by the players. Some very soft cards previously.

Arsenal should be down to 9 really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Liverpool
    Esse85 wrote: »
    How the hell was that not at least a yellow card, shocking from the ref.

Because nothing malicious actually happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,496 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

astradave wrote: »
    That challenge gets worse every time I see it.. totally reckless and dangerous. Straight red
    Would you get a life. Nothing in that.

Ah yeah a full force shoulder to the face, "nothing in that". A very much deserved yellow, reckless at a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

adox wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,302 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

When you consider what Stephens was issued a yellow for the Ref should at least try and be consistent.

Mushy wrote: »
    Ah yeah a full force shoulder to the face, "nothing in that". A very much deserved yellow, reckless at a minimum.
    Rubbish. He went for the ball. It's a man's game.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Am I alone here in thinking the ref was right there.

Collision was accidental and Schelotto came out of it the worst.

Not every incident in the sport is a foul or warrants a card.

Do people want football to turn into basketball?

Of course not and you are being a bit condescending saying not very incident is a foul. No one is saying that.

On the replay it looks like he sees the player and puts the shoulder o into his head. A foul imo and thought it was a red, or a yellow on a very good day.

Smiley face all you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Liverpool
    Would you get a life. Nothing in that.

I have a life thanks very much. Now to do with the challenge. He look took his eyes of the ball, led with his shoulder into a players head..

Care to explain how there is nothing in that?

He didn't get the ball though. If going in with that force you need to make sure you get it right, which he didn't.

As I said, reckless moreso than malicious, so deserving of a yellow.

Talk about an exaggeration.

I have a life thanks very much. Now to do with the challenge. He look took his eyes of the ball, led with his shoulder into a players head..

Care to explain how there is nothing in that?
    The ref got it spot on for a change.
    Netball forum
    >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

He went for the ball with his shoulder?

RoboKlopp wrote: »

Talk about an exaggeration.

Stellar.

Ref correct.

Stellar.

I presume you've changed your mind then when the replays were shown :cool:

Not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

Because nothing malicious actually happened.

Reckless and dangerous play.

So much so that the Brighton player couldn't continue.
    Not every foul needs to be malicious to warrant a yellow/red card.

Liverpool
    Of course not and you are being a bit condescending saying not very incident is a foul. No one is saying that.

On the replay it looks like he sees the player and puts the shoulder o into his head. A foul imo and thought it was a red, or a yellow on a very good day.

I'm not being condescending at all. Just look at match threads, every time there's a foul, people are screaming for a card and people don't seem to realise that the free kick is the appropriate punishment.

https://twitter.com/Argsenal/status/970313432443641856

There's the incident. Accidental collision in my opinion.

Ref correct.

You’re embarrassing yourself.

Not at all.

Thankfully the ref has some sense.

No way it was a red.

Liverpool
    The ref got it spot on for a change.
    Netball forum
    >

So you can’t explain how there is nothing in it?

I don’t care where the netball forum is but thanks again for pointing that out.

The “it’s a mans game” excuse does not take away from the fact that he could have left a player with a very serious head injury by leading with the shoulder.. the replay shows he looks at where the man is.. it’s reckless and a dangerous challenge and by the rules that’s a red card. You would be lucky to get a yellow for that on most days

I'm not being condescending at all. Just look at match threads, every time there's a foul, people are screaming for a card and people don't seem to realise that the free kick is the appropriate punishment.

Ok well I take it back then and fair enough if you are talk8mg about match threads in general.

From the replay I saw it looked a definite foul and a red.

Opinions eh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Man Utd
    jeez if ye think that was a red id say half of ye sh!t yerselfs if ye watched a game a rugby haha

Liverpool

So to follow your logic, every accidental injury is due to reckless play?

You do realise you accept some risks when you play a contact sport?

But it wasn't. It was a clash of two players at close quarters.
    The weaker man was injured.

No way it was a red.

Continue with the passive aggressive. I think it was a red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Liverpool
    He doesn't just run into him. It's not a simple collision.
    He leaps off his right foot when there's no cause to and he did it intentionally.

You could argue he's protecting himself but he's doing so by making sure he goes shoulder first into another player in total disregard for his safety.

I wasn't sure at all in real time or with the benefit of a few replays but the more I see it the more nailed on a red it is.

Not at all.

No way it was a red.

It was a yellow. It would have just happened to have been his second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Liverpool

That's a red. He's thrown himself into the Brighton lad.

Continue with the passive aggressive. I think it was a red.

Not at all. You are wrong and are being called out on it. Nothing wrong with that. Not just by me by the way.

If it's a red as you say, he'll be punished after the game.

I don’t think I’ve seen a more one sided refereeing performance in terms of how he’s dealing with fouls. Brighton are far too nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Imagine swapping Dortmund and probably Champions League football next season for this crap....

Liverpool
    Ok well I take it back then and fair enough if you are talk8mg about match threads in general.

From the replay I saw it looked a definite foul and a red.

Opinions eh..

Yes but also if people were to continue with the screaming for cards then there would be no tackling in the game whatsoever.

Still think the ref got the decision absolutely right. Players didn't object too much to the decision and TV commentary not making a big deal out of it.
    Just something that can happen in the game and sometimes people get injured.

Liverpool
    TitianGerm wrote: »
    That's a red. He's thrown himself into the Brighton lad.

That angle really doesn’t show the extent of it.. here it is from the angles on the opposite side, the second one you can see him watching where The Brighton lad is..

https://streamja.com/5y2

Imagine swapping Dortmund and probably Champions League football next season for this crap....

Dortmund are only 1 point from 5th atm, so they might be in the same comp as Arsenal next season yet.

Liverpool
    pudzey101 wrote: »
    jeez if ye think that was a red id say half of ye sh!t yerselfs if ye watched a game a rugby haha

Leading with the shoulder in rugby is also a red card offence, or a yellow at the very minimum

I don’t think I’ve seen a more one sided refereeing performance in terms of how he’s dealing with fouls. Brighton are far too nice.
    Embarrassing yourself.

Not at all. You are wrong and are being called out on it. Nothing wrong with that. Not just by me by the way.

If it's a red as you say, he'll be punished after the game.

Ah Jaysus I’m being called out on it? There’s as many agree with me as disagree.

I think you are wrong and have explained why I thought it was a red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Man Utd
    Leading with the shoulder in rugby is also a red card offence, or a yellow at the very minimum

okay kolasinac to get a 40 game ban and 90 million fine so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

If Brighton had any pace up front they would have managed to get a third.

Fairly common when you have big teams against smaller ones but it has been very obvious today.

This isn't rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Yes but also if people were to continue with the screaming for cards then there would be no tackling in the game whatsoever.
    What; like Wilshere last sunday?

Ah Jaysus I’m being called out on it? There’s as many agree with me as disagree.

I think you are wrong and have explained why I thought it was a red.

We'll agree to disagree :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

Normally a collision like that would result in a clash of heads because both men would be equally going for the ball. Kolasinac made little or no attempt to win that ball and instead turned his body slightly and led with his shoulder. He knew what he was at. Deserved a yellow

Liverpool
    Berserker wrote: »
    If Brighton had any pace up front they would have managed to get a third.

Fairly common when you have big teams against smaller ones but it has been very obvious today.

This isn't rugby.

Maybe have a look at the post I was replying to? I never said it was rugby

Brighton defending well. Don't think we;ll score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Liverpool
    pudzey101 wrote: »
    okay kolasinac to get a 40 game ban and 90 million fine so

If one of the Brighton players did that to Ozil you'd be calling for him to be sent off.

Liverpool
    blueser wrote: »
    What; like Wilshere last sunday?

As in Wilshere didn't tackle anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

This could be a massive three points for Brighton. Could be the difference between relegation and survival at the end of the season. Would put them on 34 points. Would still need another win or two but I think they'll get them. Thought Arsenal would turn this around with the way they started this half, if i'm honest. That collision broke the flow of the game.