Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread - 2017/2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,706 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

astradave wrote: »
    Abromovich took over in July 2003 ;)

Have a read back ....
    The Chelsea roll of honor was given from 98 until the oil money ...

I then said they had only won 8 trophies up to 98 .......
    try keep up...

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Liverpool
    greenspurs wrote: »
    Have a read back ....
    The Chelsea roll of honor was given from 98 until the oil money ...

I then said they had only won 8 trophies up to 98 .......
    try keep up...

Read back yourself, I said 91, which was the last time Spurs won the FA cup

Try to keep up

It's an adverb.

"An adverb is a word that modifies (describes) a verb (he sings loudly), an adjective (very tall), another adverb (ended too quickly), or even a whole sentence "

Well done .

Any sign of those goalposts ? Or are you deflecting ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,080 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Liverpool
    "An adverb is a word that modifies (describes) a verb (he sings loudly), an adjective (very tall), another adverb (ended too quickly), or even a whole sentence "

Well done .

Any sign of those goalposts ? Or are you deflecting ?

You asked for an explanation of again, I provided one, though it seems you were able to Google the answer yourself, which is very impressive. I'll leave your colourful imagination to work out the rest.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

You asked for an explanation of again, I provided one, though it seems you were able to Google the answer yourself, which is very impressive. I'll leave your colourful imagination to work out the rest.

More deflecting ... :rolleyes:

Anyway thanks for the contribution....... however ....

" ooohhhh when the Spurs ......... "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,378 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Liverpool
    More deflecting ... :rolleyes:

Anyway thanks for the contribution....... however ....

" ooohhhh when the Spurs ......... "

I think if Spurs actually win something you might die of exhaustion from celebrating.

astradave wrote: »
    Read back yourself, I said 91, which was the last time Spurs won the FA cup

Try to keep up

chelsea
    27 trophies.
    16 since abramovic took over.
    11 before.

Spurs
    23 trophies. (+ 3 shared ??)

Keep on spending......

TitianGerm wrote: »
    I think if Spurs actually win something you might die of exhaustion from celebrating.

I might .......
    Shur its been so long ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

chelsea
    27 titles.
    16 since abramovic took over.
    11 before.

Spurs
    23 titles. (+ 3 shared ??)

Keep on spending......
    Severely stretching the term title there. The title is generally seen as the league. The charity shield is most definitely not the title

Looking at the list of league winners doesn't do spurs any favours , a third the amount of titles as Chelsea........and Sunderland. 1 less than Huddersfield.

Severely stretching the term title there. The title is generally seen as the league. The charity shield is most definitely not the title

Looking at the list of league winners doesn't do spurs any favours , a third the amount of titles as Chelsea........and Sunderland. 1 less than Huddersfield.

Did you just decide that only League titles count ? :rolleyes:

I fixed the post above for you.

Chelsea - 27 TROPHIES
    Tottenham - 23 TROPHIES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Liverpool
    There is a fair amount of trophies won by Chelsea and Spurs that nobody would give a toss about now, well, I'd hope nobody would.

For Spurs

Sheriff of London Charity Shield - 1
    Anglo-Italian League Cup - 1
    FA Community Shield - 7

For Chelsea

Full Members' Cup - 2
    FA Community Shield - 4

I'd only count the main three domestic trophies of holding any weight in a dick measuring contest. So take 9 off Spurs and 6 off Chelsea.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Liverpool
    FitzShane wrote: »
    Rooney off to the MLS, where the pace will suit him better.

Bad signing by Everton. He should have gone straight to America by right.

Rooney was done a few years ago. He kept getting picked on reputation and then shoehorning him into a deeper position to try accomadate him. Its a shame for him as I think he has a genuine love of playing football unlike a lot of others but he just doesn't have the legs for it at the top level anymore.

Liverpool
    Rooney was done a few years ago. He kept getting picked on reputation and then shoehorning him into a deeper position to try accomadate him. Its a shame for him as I think he has a genuine love of playing football unlike a lot of others but he just doesn't have the legs for it at the top level anymore.

I dont think his physique and or lifestyle has helped his longevity at all.

Look at Ronaldo, hes going to slow down physically yes but he still has the fitness and work ethic and drive of a 21 year old.

GavRedKing wrote: »
    There is a fair amount of trophies won by Chelsea and Spurs that nobody would give a toss about now, well, I'd hope nobody would.

For Spurs

Sheriff of London Charity Shield - 1
    Anglo-Italian League Cup - 1
    FA Community Shield - 7

For Chelsea

Full Members' Cup - 2
    FA Community Shield - 4

I'd only count the main three domestic trophies of holding any weight in a dick measuring contest. So take 9 off Spurs and 6 off Chelsea.

Jaysus....
    I must go tell the clubs involved that you don't rate the TROPHIES that they won so. I'm sure they will be thankful for your contribution....

Whos moving goalposts now ?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Liverpool
    I dont think his physique and or lifestyle has helped his longevity at all.

Look at Ronaldo, hes going to slow down physically yes but he still has the fitness and work ethic and drive of a 21 year old.

You have to hand it to Ferguson he spotted the decline before everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Liverpool
    Well at least this is a bit different to the Liverpool/United p!ssing contest :pac:

We ..... have ...... arrived .... :D:pac::D

Liverpool
    Jaysus....
    I must go tell the clubs involved that you don't rate the TROPHIES that they won so. I'm sure they will be thankful for your contribution....

Whos moving goalposts now ?? :rolleyes:

Sure Arsenal might as well count the Emirates cup as part of their trophy haul, or Ireland can claim the Celtic Nations cup.

Im not moving goal posts, I'm pointing out the futility in passing off any of these (Sheriff of London Charity Shield, Anglo-Italian League Cup, Full Members' Cup) as anything other than tinpot cups that I wouldn't put on the fire place at home. :pac:

Liverpool
    You have to hand it to Ferguson he spotted the decline before everyone else.

Whats worse was Mourinho was pushing hard for Chelsea to get Rooney when he came back.

That would have been a disaster. :o

Liverpool

I'll have to give it to greenspurs, hes playing a blinder. :D

I'm still waiting to see if someone takes a nibble.

Liverpool
    Sure Arsenal might as well count the Emirates cup as part of their trophy haul, or Ireland can claim the Celtic Nations cup.

Im not moving goal posts, I'm pointing out the futility in passing off any of these (Sheriff of London Charity Shield, Anglo-Italian League Cup, Full Members' Cup) as anything other than tinpot cups that I wouldn't put on the fire place at home. :pac:

I won a Full Members Cup for the best score in a midweek golf competition in my local club about 5 years ago. I didn't know Spurs were a member there as well.

You might have made a mistake, as I didn't include those "Other Honours" in the figures I gave.....

Football League Champions: 1950/1951, 1960/1961
    The FA Cup Winners: 1900/1901, 1920/1921, 1960/1961, 1961/1962, 1966/1967, 1980/1981, 1981/1982, 1990/1991
    Football League Cup Winners: 1970/1971, 1972/1973, 1998/1999, 2007/2008
    European Cup-Winners Cup Winners: 1962/1963
    UEFA Cup Winners: 1971/1972, 1983/1984
    Football League Division Two Champions: 1919/1920, 1949/1950
    FA Charity Shield Winners: 1920/1921, 1951/1952, 1961/1962, 1962/1963, 1967/1968 (joint), 1981/1982 (joint), 1991/1992 (joint)

Do you want to count ?
    21 TROPHIES (I didn't count the shared Charity Shields)

No "Tin Pots" included

I won a Full Members Cup for the best score in a midweek golf competition in my local club about 5 years ago. I didn't know Spurs were a member there as well.

maybe you meant Chelsea, because it was them that won that honour!!!!

"he Blues secured the Full Members’ Cup in 1990 courtesy of a 1-0 victory over Middlesbrough at Wembley, Tony Dorigo scoring the only goal of the game with a brilliant free-kick."

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Liverpool
    Greenspurs has to be on the pints since last night at this rate. Incredible Stamina.

If only Spurs had that Stamina over 38 games they might eventually win a league.

Greenspurs has to be on the pints since last night at this rate. Incredible Stamina.

If only Spurs had that Stamina over 38 games they might eventually win a league.

Thanks pet ....... :pac:

Liverpool
    maybe you meant Chelsea, because it was them that won that honour!!!!

"he Blues secured the Full Members’ Cup in 1990 courtesy of a 1-0 victory over Middlesbrough at Wembley, Tony Dorigo scoring the only goal of the game with a brilliant free-kick."

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Stop ruining my joke :P

Just change it to Chelsea..... youll be grand ..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

You might have made a mistake, as I didn't include those "Other Honours" in the figures I gave.....

Football League Champions: 1950/1951, 1960/1961
    The FA Cup Winners: 1900/1901, 1920/1921, 1960/1961, 1961/1962, 1966/1967, 1980/1981, 1981/1982, 1990/1991
    Football League Cup Winners: 1970/1971, 1972/1973, 1998/1999, 2007/2008
    European Cup-Winners Cup Winners: 1962/1963
    UEFA Cup Winners: 1971/1972, 1983/1984
    Football League Division Two Champions: 1919/1920, 1949/1950
    FA Charity Shield Winners: 1920/1921, 1951/1952, 1961/1962, 1962/1963, 1967/1968 (joint), 1981/1982 (joint), 1991/1992 (joint)

Do you want to count ?
    21 TROPHIES (I didn't count the shared Charity Shields)

No "Tin Pots" included

Ah hee-or!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Man Utd
    Spurs History only started when they got the Bale money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Please do tell which team you support?

Quazzie wrote: »
    Spurs History only started when they got the Bale money

Are you serious , or is that just a weak troll attempt ? :confused:

If serious, please do explain ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Never mind him, they have nothing to shout about at the moment so will take digs at the superior rivals to keep themselves entertained.

fyfe79 wrote: »
    Ah hee-or!

So they don't count now either ?
    Football snobbery is alive and kicking so ....

Ohh and by the way, Chelsea also have 2 Div2 championships also ..... :rolleyes:

Liverpool
    KingdomYid wrote: »
    Please do tell which team you support?

None of the big ones anyway so there's no bias :)

arsenal or Chelsea then .......

:D:D:pac::D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I'll have to give it to greenspurs, hes playing a blinder. :D

I'm still waiting to see if someone takes a nibble.

Must have got the day off school to celebrate spurs finishing above Chelsea

Man Utd

Well in your own words, this is the level of player you had before you got the Bale money.
    FFS , we had the likes of Bunjecevic, Justin edinbugh , gudni bergsson , Acimovic Tarricco , Ronnie Rosenthal playing for us !! :D

Wouldn't have beaten the Chelsea ladies team !! :rolleyes::D
    Spurs were lucky to not have been in liquidation then, it was a really bad time!

Well in your own words, this is the level of player you had before you got the Bale money.

No. They were during the 90s ! :confused::confused::confused:
    Bale was sold in 2013 ! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

This has been a brilliant change from the usual bickering I must say.

Man Utd
    No. They were during the 90s ! :confused::confused::confused:
    Bale was sold in 2013 ! :eek:

Same shïte different day. At least in the 90s ye lot were winning things.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Man City

As a fellow Spurs fan, I hope greenspurs has his tongue firmly in his cheek.

The Bale money was spunked on rubbish - Capoue, Chiriches, Paulinho, Soldado and Chadli. Only Lamela and Eriksen were value for money.

Our upward trajectory started with Levy appointing Jol and changing the club structure the previous summer. Pochettino has taken it to another level.

Because he’s been so consistent, his achievements are now becoming undervalued. What he did this season is remarkable given that he’s managing on a smaller budget, played no home games and has had to manage a situation where one player is refusing to sign a contract and another is running his mouth to the press. You can bet he’s managing much more behind closed doors (which is not to say the players are wrong by the way but it’s tough to manage).

People here are right though - we’ve actually won f**k all and it could all unravel very quickly unless Levy loosens the purse strings and gets some names on contracts.

But for all the no-trophy talk, for me football is about winning games and hopefully trophies follow. I enjoyed little of Juande Ramos’ reign because despite winning the league cup, we were muck in the league under him. Similar for George Graham.

However, Pochettino has won loads of games and done it playing great football. I’ve gone into most weekends expecting a win and have usually got it over the last three years. That’s had me feeling 10 foot tall on a Monday and in good form for the week. My little boy supports Spurs now because most weeks I can say “Spurs won” and “Harry Kane scored”. All that means more to me than a FA Cup or League Cup (as much as I’d like one of those too).

Like many Spurs fans, I was getting disillusioned when Sherwood went. Pochettino regenerated my love for the club and, however stupid it sounds, made my life a bit better over the last 3 years. The record books won’t remember that but I will regardless of what happens from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

So they don't count now either ?
    Football snobbery is alive and kicking so ....

Ohh and by the way, Chelsea also have 2 Div2 championships also ..... :rolleyes:

Yes they count in a clubs roll of honours, but when it comes to a "who's the biggest club" argument like the one in this thread, I think the general consensus would be that only major honours are considered. Tier 2 league titles don't have much relevance here - is it a bigger achievement for club A to win that while club B is comfortably mid-table in the tier 1 league?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Carvahal sacked today - he does seam a bit full of hot air - starts well and then fades - 10 games or something with no win no goals - similar thing at Wednesday - seamed more interested in telling jokes than doing his job - likeable character (in small doses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Arsenal
    Jesus this is painful to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

niallo27 wrote: »
    Jesus this is painful to watch.

Turn it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Arsenal
    Turn it off.

ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Liverpool
    I'm only watching to see Mourinho rip apart Shaw in the post-match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Liverpool
    Satisfactory result. Second place wrapped up which is the highest position United have managed since Fergie retired. Represents solid progress from last season's dismal finish.

Also means Jose can rest as many as he wants for the final day of the season with one eye on the FA Cup final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Liverpool
    No idea how Noble stayed on there. Horrible little scrote of a player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sh'itball football from both sides.