Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2017/18 UEFA Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Hat trick for Kurzuwa...the PSG full back. They have to be favourites for the champions league for me

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

United a very hard game to watch, a couple of penalties and a defletion off the keeper.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Jaysus I wouln't even consider roma top 4 in italy. I would have juve, lazio napoli and inter ahead of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Jaysus I wouln't even consider roma top 4 in italy. I would have juve, lazio napoli and inter ahead of them.

No way. They were only four points off the title last season. Juve and Napoli a cut above this year but would definitely have them as next strongest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Great performance from Roma, shakes up the group nicely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

dfx- wrote: »
    United a very hard game to watch, a couple of penalties and a defletion off the keeper.

Very poor quality. I can't see them going far. Didn't look hot at the back either.
    Lukaku for all his goals looks limited.

I think the Champions League needs to go back to a smaller tournament. These early round games are pretty poor.

Chelsea beaten well tonight. Looks like Conte will get the boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

PSG averaging over 4 goals a game and none conceded is outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,296 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Very good performance from Celtic, poor defending for the 1st goal and an excellent equaliser. The 2nd from Bayern was a great header

https://streamable.com/zswd0

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Rekop dog wrote: »
    No way. They were only four points off the title last season. Juve and Napoli a cut above this year but would definitely have them as next strongest.

They sold Salah and Rudiger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Very poor quality. I can't see them going far. Didn't look hot at the back either.
    Lukaku for all his goals looks limited.

I think the Champions League needs to go back to a smaller tournament. These early round games are pretty poor.

Chelsea beaten well tonight. Looks like Conte will get the boot.

Foot half on the gas for United and it was all it ever needed to be. Made a few mistakes, still won the game handy 2-0, top of the group, 12 points from 4 games, 10 scored, 1 conceded. very poor altogether and we'll do well to get much further. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Rekop dog wrote: »
    PSG averaging over 4 goals a game and none conceded is outrageous.

Goal difference of +17 which is amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

They sold Salah and Rudiger.

They still have a monstrous midfield. De Rossi, Radja and Strootman. That's up there with the best PL teams. Dzeko scored over 40 goals last season. Roma have the best defense in Serie A also this season, 5 goals in 10 games let in.

And Rudiger was there worst defender :(

Salah was a loss, but El Shaw slotting in nicely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

There is over-rated and there is Strootman.
    Not a shadow of himself after his knee injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

inforfun wrote: »

Yap have to agree.

It's very sad to see.

inforfun wrote: »

I agree partly, he's extremely poor for NL, but he seems to work quite well still in that Roma midfield, because he gets so much support from De Rossi and Radja.

For NL, he is played in a 2 man setup with Gigi and he doesn't have the legs to do so. I think he reads the game very well, right time right place type player.

I know he is rated in Italy but even before he got injured, he never really convinced me in the Dutch team.

A midfield of Wijnaldum, Sneijder and Strootman against France was a tactical blunder not seen since Leeroy Jenkins.
    There is also every so often a bit of a short cut in his brain so he gets sent off. Like against France.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

inforfun wrote:
    There is over-rated and there is Strootman. Not a shadow of himself after his knee injuries.

Considering those 3 very serious injuries I still think he's a good player, even though he's not the player he could have been.
    One thing I will say about Roma. I can't imagine many of the top sides in Europe who lost players to injury (Schick, Manolas) & sales (Salah, Rudiger, Paredes) putting in a performance like that. I certainly didn't see it coming especially from Roma.
    Hope Napoli can start where they left off at the Ethihad. They are hard to predict though. Want to see how City perform under pressure.

There is something seriously wrong though at Roma.
    12 ACL's since 2014. Karsdorp the latest last week

ERG89 wrote: »
    Considering those 3 very serious injuries I still think he's a good player, even though he's not the player he could have been.
    One thing I will say about Roma. I can't imagine many of the top sides in Europe who lost players to injury (Schick, Manolas) & sales (Salah, Rudiger, Paredes) putting in a performance like that. I certainly didn't see it coming especially from Roma.
    Hope Napoli can start where they left off at the Ethihad. They are hard to predict though. Want to see how City perform under pressure.

Napoli seem to prioritize the league. They left Allan out vs City. When came on he changed the game. He’s integral to their play style imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

For anyone with eir sport, besiktas Monaco is on now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Kane is fit, dodgy looking spurs midfield.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,713 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Sound ahead of the picture on rte for anyone else?

100% in time on the RTE player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Thought it was just me.

Wow Spurs are playing some great stuff here.

Lovely goal from Napoli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Alli scores for Spurs.

Deserved goal for spurs, one up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Lovely goal from Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Harry Kane,take a bow son

Dele alli he scores when likes

Cracker from Spurs. 2 great passes and a tap in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭omega man

Offside surely

Should've been called for offside. Good goal though

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Trippier offside for Spurs' goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,296 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Just seen the Spurs goal, should have been offside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Spurs goal should have been offside but how many did Real get that were offside last season

Mushy wrote: »

I'll take it sure were due a little luck against real after getting hammered in our Peter crouch days

Spurs need to regroup quick.

davycc wrote: »
    Mushy wrote: »

I'll take it sure were due a little luck against real after getting hammered in our Peter crouch days

Yeah can't see Spurs fans complaining one bit. Spurs have been the better team in the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Lovely stuff

Some fresh air from Sissoko

Ah spurs. Should be 2

Seen them given.

Some fresh air from Sissoko

Feck sake we should be 2 up and cruising

Even bentner would have scored that

Madrid fairly love a flying right back don't they./

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Was a great tackle, no peno.

Good half, I like this Turkish ref, lets the game flow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Rezident

Madrid are some divers, Casemiro should be ashamed of himself.

Kiith wrote: »
    Was a great tackle, no peno.

I was on about the handball from Ramos before that. The tackle was perfect.