Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobs with IRFU, FAI etc

Options
  • 20-06-2017 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭

Hi,

I'm interested in working in the sports industry. Would anybody know where one would go to find jobs within National Governing Bodies?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭C3PO

siobhan08 wrote: »
    Hi,

I'm interested in working in the sports industry. Would anybody know where one would go to find jobs within National Governing Bodies?

To the National Governing Bodies?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

Do you work with local teams already? I'm not an expert in this area but I imagine the national people have worked their way up from similar jobs in local teams (maybe in unpaid positions initially). Did you speak to anyone in the post you are aiming for?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

What kind of job are you looking for? Accountant, admin, marketing, management, HR, tech support etc. etc. etc.?
    The sports governing bodies need the same type of staff as any other company. They also advertise open positions the same as any other company.

Like any other job these days, the easiest way to get a job is by networking - knowing someone who knows someone, or as suggested, working for a grass-roots level club or county board first. However if you don't have the qualification, skills or experience that they need then it's unlikely to work out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭siobhan08

C3PO wrote: »
    To the National Governing Bodies?