Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Berlin Marathon 2017

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Waiting for the lottery registrations to be opened up for next year.

When is that...? Will enter myself

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Entry Drawing Single Runners (registration period from October, 18 until November 08, 2017)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Ryanair flight cancellations updated. Looks like those flying from Dublin and Shannon are fine, but some flights to Berlin from the UK and Italy were cancelled.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭fennor72

Entry Drawing Single Runners (registration period from October, 18 until November 08, 2017)

What are the chances of getting an entry? I'd love to run it next year. When do you find out whether you're in or not

• Registered Users Posts: 37 highlandcow

fennor72 wrote: »
    What are the chances of getting an entry? I'd love to run it next year. When do you find out whether you're in or not

I think the odds are pretty good. 1 in 3 or so??? Can't remember exactly but I think you find out before the end of November. They have a category for small groups to apply together which is good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Name|Bib No:|PB|Target|Finish Time
    chrislad|59372|04:26:27|04:14:59|
    Noelearly|17893|3:09:28|2:59:59||
    Martyboy48|30871|03:18:41|03:14:59||

Was going to put down a 3:20 target but feel a 3:15 target will answer more questions...
    It's bad when you can't recall your marathon PB and have to go back over results :(
    If I have a decent run and miss by a couple of minutes I'll take it as long as I finish uninjured....

• Registered Users Posts: 27 tommykb

martyboy48 wrote: »

Was going to put down a 3:20 target but feel a 3:15 target will answer more questions...
    It's bad when you can't recall your marathon PB and have to go back over results :(
    If I have a decent run and miss by a couple of minutes I'll take it as long as I finish uninjured....
    Hi folks, if someone could be kind enough to pop me into the table!  Best of luck to all in travel and running!!
    tommykb|51187|3:30:56|3:14:59| - tracker code [font=arial, sans-serif]94451935 because I want to remain mysterious :)[/font]

• Registered Users Posts: 27 tommykb

fennor72 wrote: »

What are the chances of getting an entry? I'd love to run it next year.  When do you find out whether you're in or not
    We both entered the lottery for the first time for the 2017 mara and we both got it.  Have tried London for years and tears and never did so it was first time lucky for us. Nov 30th was when we got the confirmation that we were in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Tommykb|51187|03:30:56|03:14:59||

Jaysus, lads, it's a sad day when an ould fella like me has to add ye to the table. Right now I'm injured so have loads of time on my hands. I'm even off work with a crocked back. Good luck to all on Sunday. I'll be following Eau Rouge with special interest.

Btw, remove the quote tags and leave the table tags to insert yourself and your times.........

• Registered Users Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭opus

chrislad wrote: »
    Ryanair flight cancellations updated. Looks like those flying from Dublin and Shannon are fine, but some flights to Berlin from the UK and Italy were cancelled.

Yes indeed was glad to see that news, not too pushed about the flight back if Ryanair want to put me up in a hotel in Berlin & pay me €400 then that's fine & dandy with me :)

Must say I'm looking forward to the whole event now, the race at the pointy end should be excellent!

Personally I'm just going to run how I feel on the day so not adding any targets to the table to put pressure on myself.

Any plans for a celebratory beverage or two afterwards? Whatsapp groups are a handy way of staying in touch to organise.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭fennor72

tommykb wrote:
    We both entered the lottery for the first time for the 2017 mara and we both got it. Have tried London for years and tears and never did so it was first time lucky for us. Nov 30th was when we got the confirmation that we were in.

Thanks. I'm also sick trying for London. So fingers crossed for Berlin next year

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭quick feet

""]Name|Bib No:|PB|Target|Finish Time
    Quickfeet|30911|03:24:01|03:17:59||

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

Healy1835|22556|3:19:07|3:04:59||

Jaysus, you'll all be pissed by the time I finish! :D

[/quote]

Just putting Quickfeet back in.....

• Registered Users Posts: 37 highlandcow

healy1835 wrote: »

Just putting Quickfeet back in.....[/quote]

Here goes...not too sure how to add to table.

Highlandcow|bib44400|3.14.04|3.06.59|

Bit of a stretch goal. Plan is to go out at 3.10 ish pace and see how things pan out. Travelling solo so would be up for meeting up for a pint after if others are keen. Excited now!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Highlandcow|44400|3:14:04|3:06:59||

Bit of a stretch goal. Plan is to go out at 3.10 ish pace and see how things pan out. Travelling solo so would be up for meeting up for a pint after if others are keen. Excited now!

Time to get weather watching! :D

Just putting Quickfeet back in.....

Here goes...not too sure how to add to table.

Highlandcow|bib44400|3.14.04|3.06.59|

Last time I was in Berlin, an Irish pub called the Oscar Wilde was the spot where people met up, can't honestly remember if it was good/bad :)

If people want pm me your mobile number & I'll set up a WhatsApp group, with data not costing an arm an a leg any more that's probably a good option.

opus wrote: »
    Last time I was in Berlin, an Irish pub called the Oscar Wilde was the spot where people met up, can't honestly remember if it was good/bad :)

If people want pm me your mobile number & I'll set up a WhatsApp group, with data not costing an arm an a leg any more that's probably a good option.

The Oscar Wilde is no more.......was having a look on Facebook for somewhere to watch the soccer on Saturday and came across it.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

healy1835 wrote: »
    The Oscar Wilde is no more.......was having a look on Facebook for somewhere to watch the soccer on Saturday and came across it.

The Kilkenny is a pretty decent pub, good food and plenty of tv's for the football.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭noelearly

chrislad wrote: »
    Time to get weather watching! :D

Roasting..... excuse at the ready

noelearly wrote: »
    Roasting..... excuse at the ready

I think that's an average temp. Current is 12 degrees, and past noon it rises to 17 or so. The first half should be fine, but the second half could get a bit warmer.

I've set up that WhatsApp group so send martyboy48 or myself a PM if you want your number added.

It's all getting real now :) Smooth travels to everyone on their way to Berlin.

Wonder what shoes Kipchoge will run this in? And will they have arrow-head pacer formation?

Three pacers according to LetsRun:
    Berlin will employ three pacers for the lead male group — Sammy Kitwara (58:48 half/2:04 marathon pb), Gideon Kipketer (2:05 pb, 6th in last month’s World Champs marathon), and Geoffrey Ronoh (59:45 half, 6th at 2016 Berlin Marathon). All three men are great athletes in their own right, and they’ll need to be. Jos Hermens informed us that they’ve been talking about hitting halfway in 60:50, with the plan for Kitwara, Kipketer, and Ronoh to continue as long as possible “until they die” (figuratively).

We've got five in the WhatsApp group at the minute:

martyboy48
    tommykb
    quick feet
    healy1835
    me

Think you can get a shower after finishing if I can find a bit of space will probably have a celebratory (or commiseratory!) beverage by the Brandenburger Tor.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 agapantas

Good luck with the travel everyone, can't sleep before the 5 o clock start in the morning!
    Our supporters will have tricolour flags and balloons-keep an eye out and they'll give ya a cheer!

opus wrote: »
    Three pacers according to LetsRun:

We've got five in the WhatsApp group at the minute:

martyboy48
    tommykb
    quick feet
    healy1835
    me

Think you can get a shower after finishing if I can find a bit of space will probably have a celebratory (or commiseratory!) beverage by the Brandenburger Tor.

So, that's 8 pace makers then, not 3. But you should add Kitwara, Kipketer and Ronoh to the WhatsApp group or they'll feel left out. And after a 60:50 Half ye'll all need an ould pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Best of luck to everybody running this, have a good one and enjoy endure.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭noelearly

Bloody amazing grub in this place and not the stuff dieticians recommend. I'm a pig.

Great impressions so far.

The expo was packed way to busy for me especially with my Mrs in tow.

Anybody doing the breakfast run tomorrow?