Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hurling Banter Page and Buff Egan Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Slipperydodger

If anybody hasn't seen it, it might interest ye. A youtube version of Buff Egan's crazy rant about Rory's Stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

All ye say about him none of us have a discussion page about us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Buff has a few screws loose somewhere. Seriously unhinged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Rasputin11

PeterCasey wrote: »

Having a thread about yourself on boards is something to be hugely proud of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Rasputin11 wrote: »

In fairness it does say an awful lot about his popularity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭PeterCasey

Rasputin11 wrote: »

I wouldn't no but it shows how much people are talking about him didn't even no he existed until the weekend seems to like himself.

If anybody hasn't seen it, it might interest ye. A youtube version of Buff Egan's crazy rant about Rory's Stories. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHLBIlqZWik&t=4s

Absolutely insane rant from Buff. That boy is headed for a breakdown if he is seriously upset over this sh1te. Repeated himself constantly and on about 'his rivals'??. :confused:
    Sounds likes his nose was out of joint that he was never on Radio Kerry. No harm in the chap but a pure and utter eejit

He made a good point about the use of 'sporting legend' referring to Rory and the Johnnies. Bit of a stupid term for lads who are basically on the periphery of the GAA doing a sketch here and there. I like the Johnnies (Call me bias :D) but Rory's Stories is as funny as gonorrhea.

This is a decent interview with him. Makes a few good points tbh.

He should just set up a youtube and post some match previews match reviews vlogs etc.
    If he even got a fraction of the views he gets on snapchat on it he would certainly be able to monetise it and at minimum pay his petrol expenses. I also believe that if somebody started selling t-shirts with his phrases on them for €10 they would sell just for the novelty of them. Somebody with a following of over 100,000 should be able to make money. He just needs a bit of guidance as he's a little stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

He should just set up a youtube and post some match previews match reviews vlogs etc.
    If he even got a fraction of the views he gets on snapchat on it he would certainly be able to monetise it and at minimum pay his petrol expenses. I also believe that if somebody started selling t-shirts with his phrases on them for €10 they would sell just for the novelty of them. Somebody with a following of over 100,000 should be able to make money. He just needs a bit of guidance as he's a little stupid.
    It's amazing that in one paragraph that probably took about a minute to write you came up with two perfectly simple ways to monetize his success, and yet he himself spends endless time craunchauling about not making any money from his endeavours and the best he can come up with is some vague cribbing that someone, somewhere, should be putting their have in their pocket and just giving him money. I mean, has he nobody around him with even an ounce of cop on who could make a suggestion as simple as setting up a YouTube channel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

PeterCasey wrote: »

Well given the low opinion a lot of people here seem to have of him (his lack of intelligence, in particular) I'm not entirely sure if having your own discussion page is anything to be proud of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Absolutely insane rant from Buff. That boy is headed for a breakdown if he is seriously upset over this sh1te. Repeated himself constantly and on about 'his rivals'??. :confused:
    Sounds likes his nose was out of joint that he was never on Radio Kerry. No harm in the chap but a pure and utter eejit

He made a good point about the use of 'sporting legend' referring to Rory and the Johnnies. Bit of a stupid term for lads who are basically on the periphery of the GAA doing a sketch here and there. I like the Johnnies (Call me bias :D) but Rory's Stories is as funny as gonorrhea.

Not sure about the bolded part to be honest, plenty of slightly disturbing snaps, posts and tweets about young girls that are at best inappropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭celt262

danganabu wrote: »
    Not sure about the bolded part to be honest, plenty of slightly disturbing snaps, posts and tweets about young girls that are at best inappropriate.

Any examples of these I have been following him since September and dont recall anything disturbing.

celt262 wrote: »
    Any examples of these I have been following him since September and dont recall anything disturbing.

To be honest I deleted and blocked him on all social media, he was always puting up snaps of girls with the phrase 'tantalizing' on them and when I say girls I mean girls and he was constantly using the phrase 'I'm buff, I'm the stuff and the girls can't get enough'' there are plenty of other examples of inappropriate comments and snaps etc. I'm sure others have examples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭Glebee

danganabu wrote: »
    To be honest I deleted and blocked him on all social media, he was always puting up snaps of girls with the phrase 'tantalizing' on them and when I say girls I mean girls and he was constantly using the phrase 'I'm buff, I'm the stuff and the girls can't get enough'' there are plenty of other examples of inappropriate comments and snaps etc. I'm sure others have examples.

I cant recall any stuff like that, must have missed it.

Glebee wrote: »
    I cant recall any stuff like that, must have missed it.

Could be a case of me reading more into it that was actually meant, something about the guy just doesnt sit right with me to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

OK guys, lets be careful about the direction this thread may be veering towards. If anyone has a problem with the way someone is conducting their social media account, the place to highlight it is with the content provider.

I'll ask you to please refrain from commenting here about the appropriateness or otherwise of someones posts on a different platform. Thanks

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Well given the low opinion a lot of people here seem to have of him (his lack of intelligence, in particular) I'm not entirely sure if having your own discussion page is anything to be proud of.

Tbh, at times this thread reads like a bunch of jealous school girls critising every single action of a popular kid who they secretly love / want to be.

Don’t forget a small handful of posters on here with a particular opinion of a person does not mean it’s the general opinion. It’s like the latelate / liveline threads on boards, full of hate / nastiness of the show by a small group of people who strangely choose to watch / listen something they claim to not enjoy, yet the show itself is a huge ratings hit! Strange behaviour

Fair play to the lad I say, fills a void in the GAA social media sphere. I’m not going to be drawn into gossiping about the private life (such as the distasteful areas covered in this thread like his finances / nights out) of someone providing this service which is well appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 The sensation

I'm after driving all the way to Cork and had to eat a nice meal out. Going to post updates on Instagram. I can't believe I don't get a free car or sponsorship because of this. Insert inane catchphrase here

Buff Egans commentary on Eoin Murphy's incredible save from Alan Cadogan of Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Just saw Buff’s snapchat with the child who had Buff’s face on his birthday cake.

It’s clear that Buff is a bit of a hero for the child and it’s great to see Buff making the child’s day by including him in his snapchat.

Buff has his faults, but his intentions are pure and he is trying to spread a bit of positivity in the world.

Clare v Tipperary Hurling Highlights - Buff Egan

I'm after driving all the way to Cork and had to eat a nice meal out. Going to post updates on Instagram. I can't believe I don't get a free car or sponsorship because of this. Insert inane catchphrase here

I sentence them to.....DELETION!!!

DELETE DELETE DELETE DELETE!!!!! :D

I see Buff had a busy weekend at matchs, in Thurles Saturday evening and Croker on Sunday. He even made it to the victory celebrations in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Gardner

Anthony Nash is some condition on his snapchat 2 hours ago hahaha

Buff Egan had some night of it in Kanturk last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Nash wouldn’t have hit a puck out for you today ��

Gardner wrote: »
    Anthony Nash is some condition on his snapchat 2 hours ago hahaha

Was thinking that too. Kind of annoying me that snaps uploaded from camera roll and those taken in the app look exactly the same now because you can't know if that was actually the time it was taken..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Was thinking that too. Kind of annoying me that snaps uploaded from camera roll and those taken in the app look exactly the same now because you can't know if that was actually the time it was taken..

I know lads down there. It was the time alright, they’re still going tonight 😂

big_drive wrote: »
    I know lads down there. It was the time alright, they’re still going tonight 😂

Might as well sure! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭MillField

Buff has new wheels :D

Buff got around to adding me on Snapchat. He has his location freely available to everyone using the map function.. surely he realises this? When you're that popular you'd hardly want everyone to be able to find where you are..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Mod Warning

Please rein it in posters.

Evidently Buff Egan is loved by many within the hurling community but has his detractors.Nothing wrong with that but he does not deserve to be subjected to ridicule,insult and worse.A recurring theme on this thread.

This thread is close to the point of no return and risks closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

A few years back, I asked him on his FB page if he would try and make money off the amount of followers he had and he seemed against it back then. I didn't listen to all of the YT interview posted, so not sure if he answers that question.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

What is his current job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

bigpink wrote: »
    What is his current job?

He's a farmer I think. Sometimes posts snaps of himself out in the field with his sheep. Like a shepherd, minding his stock. Only instead of a crook to lean on he carries a hurl. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭CK22

I know this page hasn’t been active in a few months, but just wondering what people thought about Buffs rants about getting tickets to the All Ireland.

I cant understand how he did not get a ticket. maybe he wanted one for nothing, dont know. I turned down at least 3 and lads were tell me that there were tickets starting to appear the day before the match. fair play to him for going to all those game though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Ah bless,has he not been given a journalistic accreditation yet..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Ah bless,has he not been given a journalistic accreditation yet..
    He wasn't looking for a journalistic accreditation, he was just looking for a bog standard ticket. He hasn't really made a big deal about it, I feel a year ago he probably would have lost the head but he took this on the chin. It's a joke that he wasn't sorted out with a ticket. Half the crowd on Sunday won't have been to a game all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I'm sure when he says he couldn't get a ticket he means he couldn't get a free ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

He really has no time for that Rory fella

I'm sure when he says he couldn't get a ticket he means he couldn't get a free ticket.

So you reckon he got freebies for the two semi finals that he travelled upto?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

dulux99 wrote: »
    So you reckon he got freebies for the two semi finals that he travelled upto?
    Without question. Also a recent issue with a train ticket.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

dulux99 wrote: »
    He wasn't looking for a journalistic accreditation, he was just looking for a bog standard ticket. He hasn't really made a big deal about it, I feel a year ago he probably would have lost the head but he took this on the chin. It's a joke that he wasn't sorted out with a ticket. Half the crowd on Sunday won't have been to a game all year.

I dont follow buff on twitter nor do I have snapchat, but he has retweeted a multiple amount of people going on about how he didnt get a ticket and the baldy fella did. Having a quick look on his twitter page, and its full of self loathing and retweets of how he didnt get a ticket and how he is such a great hurling follower. He didnt take it on the chin at all, just let everyone else do the moaning for him.

His club won a county title at the weekend and I havent seen one mention of that on his timeline. seemingly preferring to go see Fr Teds house than actually watching his own club in a county final. He is a massive hurling follower when it suits. For most people club comes first. It doesnt seem to figure anywhere at all for Buff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,215 ✭✭✭letowski

There is absolutely no doubt with his hundred thousand followers, if he just put 1 post up online saying he is in need of a ticket.. he would have got one. Must be he didnt want to pay for the ticket and following expenses.

bruschi wrote: »
    His club won a county title at the weekend and I havent seen one mention of that on his timeline. seemingly preferring to go see Fr Teds house than actually watching his own club in a county final. He is a massive hurling follower when it suits. For most people club comes first. It doesnt seem to figure anywhere at all for Buff.

He fell out with his club years ago.

He's a massive hurling supporter, and gives the game great exposure. Simply ridiculous to say otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭kala85

Don't think that is true to be fair.

He deserves a ticket full stop. He has been to the games all summer. He has been to games that rte didn't even bother to televise or cover on the radio.

In terms of advertising the fact that he didn't have a ticket, he is between a rock and hard place. He retweeted a post from someone who said buff hadn't a ticket but didn't make a post himself to say so.

I expected him to turn up at the match and send a snap chat on the morning of the match but I couldnt believe he didn't get one.

He deserved a ticket and I felt genuinely sorry for him. It just shows he is like a lot of ordinary supporters around the country who didn't get a ticket but the tickets wound up going to people who hadn't been to a game all year.

At this stage, he should be given a press pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭kala85

Without question. Also a recent issue with a train ticket.

How do you know he is supposedly getting free tickets..

He fell out with his club years ago.

He's a massive hurling supporter, and gives the game great exposure. Simply ridiculous to say otherwise.

This, end of story. His entire shtick is aimed at young kids who wind up following hurling as a result of following him. You see him at the games and he is a genuine celeb amongst kids. What he's doing is great for the sport. Times are changing, social media personalities like him are what's going to appeal to young people kids and get them interested in the game.

For those saying he gets the tickets for free - you're just stating things as fact without any evidence at all. If you do have evidence then I'll hold my hands up but I've not seen a single thing to prove that he gets tickets for free.