Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Jobstown Defendants Not Guilty - The Role of the Gardai and the Judicial Process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,244 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Expecting people to pay for services they use isn't treating them like dirt. Some of us already pay eg upkeep of septic tanks and group water schemes.

Seriously, it doesn't really matter what you and I think about water charges. It is about what they thought of them, and they protested them.
    I believe they had every right to protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭For Reals

blanch152 wrote: »
    If the poster was talking about peaceful assembly, that might be relevant....

.....but they were talking about protests, picket lines, blocking roads etc. Again, please show me where those actions are legal.

Sorry, you are off point. It was put that;
    markodaly wrote: »
    ..these people have justified law breaking, and protesting the homes of politicians and their kids schools.

I asked what laws did the defendants in this case break or justify breaking?
    You won't answer and I'm hit with the reverse? It's a derailment, but non-the-less:
    Freedom of assembly
    You have a right to assemble or meet peacefully and without weapons. This right is limited by legislation to protect public order and morality. The law prevents or controls meetings that are calculated or designed to cause a riot or breach of the peace.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/government_in_ireland/irish_constitution_1/constitution_fundamental_rights.html

Now a lot of this kind of thing goes back to the discretion of the Garda involved to decide what's protest and what isn't. I've no intention of going down this particular rabbit hole. Suffice it to say, it seems the only ones deemed worthy of charging were innocent of all charges.
    However, this brings us nicely to:
    The right to fair procedures
    The courts, and all other bodies or persons making decisions that affect you, must treat you fairly. There are two essential rules of fair procedure.

•The person making the decision that affects you should not be biased or appear to be biased.

I would suggest, IMO, the Garda indeed appeared to be bias against the defendants, as borne out by the false/incorrect statements as shown by video evidence. It is important that we investigate to clear up any such notions.
    Also, as previously pointed out and as the Judge herself put it;
    "The casual and languid approach of the interviews is inexplicable on the face of an arrest that was pre-planned and carried out at 7.30am with great precision," she said."
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0629/886505-jobstown/

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,821 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Seriously, it doesn't really matter what you and I think about water charges. It is about what they thought of them, and they protested them.
    I believe they had every right to protest.

Do you believe that anyone has every right to protest anything at all, as long as it's a sincerely-held belief?

Would it be OK for pro-life activists to hold a semi-violent demonstration that trapped a TD in a car?

Would it be OK for people outraged at the idea of an Irish language act to hold a semi-violent demonstration that trapped an MLA in a car?

I have no problem with the right to protest, but if you can't see the difference between "down with this sort of thing" and throwing water balloons at people...

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Do you believe that anyone has every right to protest anything at all, as long as it's a sincerely-held belief?

Would it be OK for pro-life activists to hold a semi-violent demonstration that trapped a TD in a car?

Would it be OK for people outraged at the idea of an Irish language act to hold a semi-violent demonstration that trapped an MLA in a car?

I have no problem with the right to protest, but if you can't see the difference between "down with this sort of thing" and throwing water balloons at people...

I do believe in the right to protest and I believe that it is legitimate to use blockade to make your point too although not strictly legal. As many, many groups from students to pensioners (roundly applauded by society btw) to farmer to taxi drivers have done. Blockaded traffic.
    Nobody was 'trapped' here. One of the witnessed even said in testimony that Burton and her assistant could at any time have left the car (and did several times).
    The prosecution didn't challenge him on that.

I don't believe in violence at protests, either by protesters or over zealous gardai and security people. (all of which has happened)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Hang on a second.

Weren't they protesting against the idea of paying for water?

You're going to claim with a straight face that the idea of paying for water has no place in a civilised society?!

We are well and truly through the looking glass here.

I recall Labour being vehemently against the concept a few years previous.

(I think that's why they chose to picket Joan)

1WHJQk.jpg

More recently?

0SaqHG.png

The only people deemed charge worthy were judged innocent of all charges.
    Which brings us back to the role of the Garda. Would a better public service not have been for them to arrest anyone else, anyone, some here seem to be alleging to have been "semi-violent", rather than going for the mystery box prize of people of a higher profile sitting behind a car?

For Reals wrote: »
    Would a better public service not have been for them to arrest anyone else, anyone, some here seem to be alleging to have been "semi-violent", rather than going for the mystery box prize of people of a higher profile sitting behind a car?

Probably. I haven't commented on the court case, but I take exception to the idea that it was a peaceful protest, and I really take exception to the idea, albeit expressed second-hand, that paying for services doesn't happen in a civilised country.

If throwing things at government ministers is the hallmark of a civilised country, but paying for services is not, it's getting hard to have an intelligent conversation.

Probably. I haven't commented on the court case, but I take exception to the idea that it was a peaceful protest, and I really take exception to the idea, albeit expressed second-hand, that paying for services doesn't happen in a civilised country.

If throwing things at government ministers is the hallmark of a civilised country, but paying for services is not, it's getting hard to have an intelligent conversation.

I think we're all agreed the issue wasn't paying or not paying, (as we already payed and still do), it was the manner and issue of a charge people disagreed on.

I'm against any violence, even lower scale, such as water balloons, if not carried out by consenting children playing in the Sun.
    If we're not talking about this case, is it protests in general? Like the one were members of the Garda allegedly took off their badges and beat students till bloody on Dame Street?

I think we're all agreed the issue wasn't paying or not paying, (as we already payed and still do), it was the manner and issue of a charge people disagreed on.
    No, we're not agreed on that. I understand that "can't pay, won't pay" was somehow spun into "the issue wasn't paying or not paying", but it was transparently about not wanting to be charged for a service.
    If we're not talking about this case, is it protests in general?
    I'm not sure where you're trying to drag me in this conversation, but I'm not really interested in playing along. I said I wasn't commenting on the court case; not that I wasn't commenting on the protest that led to it.

It was a number of objects (3 was it?) that were thrown...therefore not 'everyone' was throwing stuff.
    I really think people need to calm down here at look at the issues mentioned in the thread title.

It was a number of objects (3 was it?) that were thrown...therefore not 'everyone' was throwing stuff.
    That would be an utterly fascinating rebuttal, if only anyone had claimed that 'everyone' (complete with quotes) was throwing stuff.
    I really think people need to calm down here at look at the issues mentioned in the thread title.
    Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't realise it was an echo chamber you wanted. Carry on.

That would be an utterly fascinating rebuttal, if only anyone had claimed that 'everyone' (complete with quotes) was throwing stuff.
    Well, are you trying to make everyone to blame for the fact the protest wasn't peaceful? If trouble breaks out at a football match, are all the people there responsible? We all know it there was trouble.
    Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't realise it was an echo chamber you wanted. Carry on.

The thread title: Jobstown Defendants Not Guilty - The Role of the Gardai and the Judicial Process

If that is about the rights and wrongs of Water Charges then fire away.

No, we're not agreed on that. I understand that "can't pay, won't pay" was somehow spun into "the issue wasn't paying or not paying", but it was transparently about not wanting to be charged for a service.

We disagree there. The numerous people I know who protested did so regarding being already hard squeezed by a government creating a gimmick to bleed the collective stone a little more.
    I'm not sure where you're trying to drag me in this conversation, but I'm not really interested in playing along. I said I wasn't commenting on the court case; not that I wasn't commenting on the protest that led to it.

I requested clarification. I misunderstood, fair enough so.
    The Garda didn't play a blinder by anyone's politics, and there certainly was politics involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

That would be an utterly fascinating rebuttal, if only anyone had claimed that 'everyone' (complete with quotes) was throwing stuff. Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't realise it was an echo chamber you wanted. Carry on.

It's about diminishing what happened and allowing the protestors to take no responsibility for their actions.

I think spending two years taking 6 men to court on charges that were dubious from the get go would have to be construed as sensationalising what happened. Especially when it was patently obvious to anyone from video and voice recordings that there was no 'false imprisonment'.

You may want a society where we just proceed directly to jail and throw away the key but the rest of us want a society were there is a clear and transparent separation of powers.

There was no responsibility to take, as per the Judge. You could always mount a protest.

I think spending two years taking 6 men to court on charges that were dubious from the get go would have to be construed as sensationalising what happened. Especially when it was patently obvious to anyone from video and voice recordings that there was no 'false imprisonment'.

You may want a society where we just proceed directly to jail and throw away the key but the rest of us want a society were there is a clear and transparent separation of powers.

I agree the guards should have brought public disorder charges against and the whole thing would have been dealt with a hell of alot quicker.

As for you second paragraph. Stop making assumptions about me. You've done it before.

There was no responsibility to take, as per the Judge. You could always mount a protest.

That's fine if you want to believe that. Doesn't match the reality.

I agree the guards should have brought public disorder charges against and the whole thing would have been dealt with a hell of alot quicker.

As for you second paragraph. Stop making assumptions about me. You've done it before.

They should have taken charges against those responsible for public order offences, but they didn't and some of us want to know why that was and why 6 men found themselves in front of a highly publicised trial that was used as a political stick.

Well, are you trying to make everyone to blame for the fact the protest wasn't peaceful?
    No, I'm not trying to do that. Why are you trying to impute motives to my posts?
    We disagree there. The numerous people I know who protested did so regarding being already hard squeezed by a government creating a gimmick to bleed the collective stone a little more.
    Yeah, that's more of the "paying twice" bolloxology. I've yet to have anyone explain to me exactly how they figure that they'd be paying for water through their taxes as well as through their bills.

Francie's right, though: this thread isn't about the rights and wrongs of people upset about the idea of paying for services.

Yes the gaurds absolutely should have, but they didn't.

Hence this thread.

They viewed Murphy as a bigger fish to fry, unfortunately for them. Murphy didn't do anything illegal, and, as with every single other thing the state did that even slightly touched water charges, and the subsequent protests, they got it wrong.

Epically wrong.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

If my wife acted like Joan Burton and her government, I'd accept it as par for the course, (also I'd leave her and probably join the protest).

Yeah, she did things like keep social welfare levels from being cut, increased minimum wage and advocated, insofar as is possible as the minority centre left party in a centre right government and prevented any futher cuts to unionised workers.

I can see why she is public enemy no. 1 in socialists eyes.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

I think we're all agreed the issue wasn't paying or not paying, (as we already payed and still do), it was the manner and issue of a charge people disagreed on

As in people who have lived their whole lives without being asked to pay for anything and are net recipients of money from the state are upset at the manner in which hard working middle class professionals were no longer going to pay for their water through "general taxation" (read - income tax).

Or the manner in which those odious hard working farmers in rural Leitrim who have to pay for their own water supply and build their own septic tanks were unwilling to pay for the massive amount of water wasted by people who live in the cities?

Or the manner in which the EU requires us to have water charges?

Or the manner in which water conservation is a worthy aspiration?

As in people who have lived their whole lives without being asked to pay for anything other than food and drink out of their social welfare are upset at the manner in which hard working middle class professionals were no longer going to pay for their water throu

All the people of Jobstown don't work or pay their taxes?
    Or are you claiming that only lifelong welfare recipients were on the protest?

Not sure what you are saying here.

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Bishopsback

He didn't mention jobstown in particular.
    Its a common theme across the state.
    Its a common theme even among taxpayers, somewhere ingrained in people they think that if a bill doesent come through the door they don't have to pay, its being drip fed to them by people who are profiting on the ignorance of the illusion that's created in the belief that the state are magically funding it!

All the people of Jobstown werent there. Most of them have jobs during the day. The nature of the protests is a demand that someone else should pay for their water service. Usually people who believe "someone else should pay" do so because theyve lived their entire lives in that system.

This was in direct response to another poster claiming that this wasnt about having to pay for water, it was the manner of the payment. Which I think is window dressing to be honest.

I notice you didnt grapple with the morality of why a person in a rural area with no public water mains should have to pay through general taxation for someone elses water!

Indeed, I think you know full well the point Im trying to make. The protest was no more than one group of people saying they want everyone else to pay for their services.

All the people of Jobstown werent there. Most of them have jobs during the day. The nature of the protests is a demand that someone else should pay for their water service. Usually people who believe "someone else should pay" do so because theyve lived their entire lives in that system.

This was in direct response to another poster claiming that this wasnt about having to pay for water, it was the manner of the payment. Which I think is window dressing to be honest.

I notice you didnt grapple with the morality of why a person in a rural area with no public water mains should have to pay through general taxation for someone elses water!

Indeed, I think you know full well the point Im trying to make. The protest was no more than one group of people saying they want everyone else to pay for their services.

That's a bit of a red herring tbh.

Those people are entitled to grants / annual subsidies from the state, funded via tax payers cash (the greater urban LPT v rural LPT) being an excellent example here.
    Rural Water Programme

Under the department's Rural Water Programme, the Exchequer funds improvements to group water scheme and group sewerage scheme infrastructure so schemes can provide a water supply that meets water quality requirements. Some of the day-to-day costs of group water schemes are also subsidised. Administered by local authorities, the programme also helps to provide new group sewerage schemes and improve private individual water supplies where no alternative supply is available.

An annual subsidy per house is available to group schemes for the operational cost of providing domestic water:

• up to 70 euro for each house supplied from a public (Irish Water) source

• up to 140 euro for each house supplied from a private source (well, lake, borehole etc.)

• up to 220 euro for each house where water disinfection and/or treatment is provided under a Design Build Operate (DBO) contract

To improve the quality of drinking water in group water schemes and to support longer term planning, the department introduced a new, multi-annual capital funding framework in January 2016. The new structures will provide greater funding certainty for priority investment needs, which will support proper planning and sustainable development in rural areas. It will also help Ireland meet its Water Framework Directive commitments.

source

We might as well be whinging about healthy people's taxes paying for sick people's health treatments or a childless peoples taxes going towards education and child payments.

I think you are just taking part in the general assassination of those who thought the charges were worth protesting tbh.
    Protesting austerity is not unique to the unemployed and certainly wasn't here.
    It was very clear that people had had enough at the end of a long period of pay cuts and extra taxing.
    You have to take that climate into account.

I didn't grapple with the 'morality' because a mod would very quickly tell me that it was completely off topic. I don't have a problem paying for water personally but the point of the thread isn't about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Let's not pretend that these protests were simply about "paying for a service".

Protesting the monster that was Irish Water had little to do with simply "paying for a service".

There were three or four years of Irish Water threads on Boards.ie detailing why people were against this massive farce.

Tony EH wrote: »

Protesting the monster that was Irish Water had little to do with simply "paying for a service".

There were three or four years of Irish Water threads on Boards.ie detailing why people were against this massive farce.

Yet, Irish Water and charges are still here.

The viscous, feral behaviour of the majority of that mob is inexcusable.
    Justice was done. A trial of their peers found them Not Guilty of the charges. Yet, they're still not satisfied. Their thuggish behaviour cost the State multi millions, both in policing costs and the cost of the Case itself. Time for them to start doing something constructive rather than making lots of noise.

How inconvenient that people look too closely at the operation of the state and the alleged separation of powers.
    I suppose the tribunal ongoing at the minute into the operation of the same Garda force is a waste of money too?

Yeh, so what. The point of the protests still stand regardless of the bullshit posts by you or any of the other FG usual suspects. People saw through the con and weren't having it and they were completely correct to do so.

The majority? :rolleyes:

More crap.

It was the Gardai and DPP who cost the state millions and wasted everybody's time with trumped up charges and a political show trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

Yes, the defendants were found Not Guilty. However, that protest was far from being a peaceful assembly. The behaviour of the so called peaceful protesters was vile, intimidating and has no place in a civilised society.

The jury was asked by the judge on Monday to consider if the protest was peaceful and if they viewed that it was not then the judge told the jury that the defendants lost their right to protest with implications for their guilt or innocence.

The jury considered the evidence and found the defendants NOT GUILTY and by extension found the protest peaceful.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Can you point me to the relevant law that defines a protest such as the one in Jobstown lawful?

Can you point me to the relevant law that defines a protest such as the one in Jobstown unlawful?

Yeah, she did things like keep social welfare levels from being cut, increased minimum wage and advocated, insofar as is possible as the minority centre left party in a centre right government and prevented any futher cuts to unionised workers.

She cut welfare levels for many people and bleated on about protecting 'core levels'

She implemented policies that cost large numbers their jobs, their homes, their dignity.

She accused people mired in long-term unemployment of making a 'lifestyle choice'.

She forced thousands of graduates onto cheap labour schemes.

She broke her promises on water charges, child benefit, car tax and vat.

She used the opening of a food bank as a photo-op - a bloody food bank where people have to go to get charity to feed their families because of the policies she implemented.

I can see why people in Jobstown were angry.

As in people who have lived their whole lives without being asked to pay for anything and are net recipients of money from the state are upset at the manner in which hard working middle class professionals were no longer going to pay for their water through "general taxation" (read - income tax).
    The bloody scroungers - I suppose you agree with Burton that they are making a lifestyle choice.
    Or the manner in which those odious hard working farmers in rural Leitrim who have to pay for their own water supply and build their own septic tanks were unwilling to pay for the massive amount of water wasted by people who live in the cities?
    The poor farmer - maybe he should go to Brussels and participate in another full-scale riot that Simon Coveney praised as an 'effective protest'
    Or the manner in which the EU requires us to have water charges?
    Telling porkies here JS -
    Or the manner in which water conservation is a worthy aspiration?
    Isn't it an indictment of the establishment that after 95 years of FF/FG/LP rule we still have 50% of the water supply leaking through the Victorian mains network built by the Brits.

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    That's a bit of a red herring tbh.

Those people are entitled to grants / annual subsidies from the state, funded via tax payers cash (the greater urban LPT v rural LPT) being an excellent example here.

Yes, and there was a grant to assist people in paying their water charges. So water charges put people on a level playing field, and the water protesters objected because they were losing their special privilege of the kept men and women of Ireland.
    We might as well be whinging about healthy people's taxes paying for sick people's health treatments or a childless peoples taxes going towards education and child payments.

A more apt analogy would be pointing out that the people who pay the majority of the costs of the HSE i.e. middle income earners, don't get the benefits of a medical card such as subsidised drugs, free GP visits, free dental etc. When we have middle class people paying lots of tax for the health system, possibly also paying for VHI or private health insurance and still going to the GP a lot less than unemployed people, there is something wrong with the system. When the people who are used to paying nothing object to having to pay 50c per prescription, as opposed to the people who subsidising them having to pay full price, they say that they are the victims of austerity.

With education, most childless people will still have gone to school themselves so are paying back into a system that they directly benefitted from. But supposing someone lived on an Island with no public school. Is it right that they would have to pay towards the schooling of people on the mainland that they cannot access?

the people who pay the majority of the costs of the HSE i.e. middle income earners, don't get the benefits of a medical card such as subsidised drugs, free GP visits, free dental etc.

They do. If and when they need them and their circumstances qualify.

Yes, and there was a grant to assist people in paying their water charges. So water charges put people on a level playing field, and the water protesters objected because they were losing their special privilege of the kept men and women of Ireland.

That's another bit of a red herring, you're obviously referring to the conservation grant.

Little more than a bribe, in a vain attempt to get people to volunteer their details to Irish Water, paid out by the SWO, which eurostat called out on being the Con-job it was.

However, it's quite apt you brought that up, because obviously you didnt necessarily have to be connected to the public supply, in order to qualify for the bribe grant.

Ask ask those aforementioned people already availing of annual grants and subsidies from the tax payers to go towards their GWS/PWS Wells etc, because those that applied, got another €100 on top of that again.

Did someone mention paying twice? :)

And I believe you mentioned poor farmer's in Leitrim....

EU grants? Who's funding that do you think?

Which articles in particular are you referring to? Do people not have a right to express their opinions as to what is or is not socially acceptable? Is this a sign of things to come in the socialist paradise where any criticism of the socialists is a smear campaign but when they criticise others, often based on incorrect understanding of the law, that is fair comment?
    Numerous articles - and right-wing politicians - have claimed that the false imprisonment charges were 'over-the-top' and they should have been charged with public order offences because they would have been easier to get a conviction. It is utterly disgraceful - and they made no such claims prior to the verdict, no such claims when a teenager who was 15 at the time of the protest was found guilty in a judge only court of false imprisonment and they have made no demand that the false imprisonment charges against some of the remaining Jobstown defendants be dropped.
    Who opposes the right to legal protest? And what do you mean by "effective" protest. If people break the law in a protest, then one of three things should happen:
    1. They should respect the law and keep within it during the protest;
    2. They can campaign to repeal that law or change it so that it doesn't affect the right to protest; or
    3. If they believe in their cause so strongly, they should go before a court like Gandhi and state:
    As one of the barristers said during the trial the only form of protest acceptable to the establishment is this -

maxresdefault.jpg

Furthermore - any time a protest is successful and the establishment cannot contain or control it - they try and change the 'law' to make it more restrictive - as they are now talking about doing now (including banning the recording of gardai to prove their testimony in court is false).
    Those are the options and I haven't seen anyone suggest that legal protesting should be banned, or that we should change the laws,
    Already - changing the laws of contempt - changing the law about gardai being video recorded - plus they want to reverse the ruling by the judge in the trial that gardai have a legal responsibility to protect the right to protest.
    More importantly, however, is that the only people who I've seen criticising the legal system were the #jobstownnotguilty people, and when they didn't get the verdict that they desired i.e. the invidious and oppressive forces of the state cruelly convicting innocent martyers, they continued to criticise it in this ridiculous fashion.
    Now you are spouting nonsense

Furthermore - many people outside the #JobstownNotGuilty campaign have raised serious questions about the conduct of the gardai in the investigation and on the witness stand - including 50 academics who signed a letter calling for a public inquiry yesterday.
    Most people accept the jury's verdict. That doesn't mean that they can't have opinions on issues of public importance such as the right to peaceful protest, the right not to be intimidated, the right to go about your business unmolested etc. And no matter how much you want it to be, the verdict that the specific defendants are not guilty of all wrongdoing does not mean that the protest as a whole was peaceful.
    In fact - as a result of the judges directions to the jury - the not guilty verdict actually means that the jury considered the protest peaceful.
    In response to Paul Murphy TD raising an issue in the Dail that there should be a public inquiry into why the prosecution was brought. When you look at it in context, what else was he supposed to say? So it's not a smear campaign, it's an honest answer as to why he doesn't think a public inquiry should be held, much like people on here have been trying to explain to you.

Do you have any problem with Enda Kenny claiming that Burton was 'effectively kidnapped', Alex White calling for charges of false imprisonemnt to be brought against protesters, Leo Varadkar falsely accusing Paul Murphy of 'organised and orchestrated... thuggery' or the false allegations by David Begg that Karen O'Connell was 'badly beaten and kicked' on the protest?

Do you have any problem with the vicious smear campaign against Paul Murphy, other Solidarity elected representatives and protesters in Jobstown in the national media?

Do you have any problem with the fact that the Gardai made zero effort to find evidence that could prove the innocence as well as the guilt of the accused?

Do you have any problem with the Gardai dropping an investigation into the injury to a protester by a Garda?

Do you have any problem with the fact that the defendants were arrested in dawn raids by teams of armed Gardai, placed in handcuffs in front of children and hauled off like hardened criminals?

Do you have any problem with a 71 year old man being threatened in Garda custody with been thrown into prison for the rest of his life?

Do you have any problem with a superintendent illegally signing off on the extension of custody for a Jobstown defendant on spurious grounds that resulted in the charges against Ken Purcell being thrown out of court?

Do you have any problem with the fact that a Gardai claimed that he saw Paul Murphy directing and instructing people where to stand and what to do whenJoan Burton left the church when video proved that Paul Murphy didn't do these things and the Garda was situated in a position where he couldn't possibly see Paul Murphy and then when he was confronted with the video evidence he replied 'I stand over my statement'?

Do you have any problem with the fact that two Gardai claimed that Mick Murphy threatened Joan Burton and when video evidence was produced that proved Mick Murphy did no such thing and they were asked to withdraw their allegation they replied 'no comment"?

Do you have any problem with the fact that Garda witnesses repeatedly claimed that there was no agreement with Paul Murphy to withdraw the POU and bring the protest to an end and then the (now retired) officer in charge of the POU on the day confirmed that an agreement was in fact made, naming the Gardai involved, resulting in the officer in command on the ground being recalled to the witness box and admitting this time around under cross-examination that an agreement did actually happen?

Do you have any problem with the fact that three senior Gardai up to the rank of superintendent all claimed that Paul Murphy said to the crowd 'will we keep her here all night' using exactly the same phrase, the same terminology, yet video evidence proved that Paul Murphy never uttered those words and the judge told the jury that they had to consider if these Gardai had 'an agenda against Paul Murphy'?

Do you have any problem with the fact that Gardai wrote their sworn statements months after the protest while viewing video evidence in the company of the Garda charged with reviewing the video evidence?

Do you have any problem with Garda witnesses changing their testimony from the trial last year of a teenage boy to the trial of the seven men acquitted last week?

I could go on - but, if you have such a concern about what happened on the day of the Jobstown protest to Joan Burton I would argue that you should have a similar or greater concern about what happened subsequently - after all Joan Burton may have been subjected to abuse and delayed for a couple of hours - these defendants faced life imprisonment if convicted as a result of the Garda investigation and testimony in court.
    It's not so serious an issue that it requires a public inquiry. Paul Murphy has a legal redress which is to go to the Garda Ombudsman or take any civil case he feels is necessary. I'm not sure you can say he dismissed it out of hand either. Paul Murphy raised it in the Dail and the Taoiseach refused it in the Dail. I'm not sure what else he could have done.
    GSOC is a toothless tiger with gardai investigating garda - large numbers of complaints have been submitted to GSOC about garda policing of anti-water charges protest and nothing has been done about any of them.

And actually Paul Murphy is not considering taking a civil case - he is considering making a criminal complaint. The reason it hasn't happened yet is because Varadkar and the government would hide behind legalities to refuse to address the need for a public inquiry.
    Yes but it's still illegal:
    the defendants were found NOT GUILTY.

I was responding to a direct question pertaining to protest.
    As with charging people twice for water, (three if you count motor tax) and Labour sitting on it's hands while Reilly handed out clinics and FG cranked up the crony machine to 'look after our own', that's for another thread.

As someone who attended marches with Joan while a member of the Labour party, I was disappointed. You should try see beyond absolutes. You can be disappointed with Labour, (seemingly too busy pushing FG around and blocking FG enacting their manifesto :)) and not be a Stalinist.

To get back on thread topic, it seems nobody is very happy with the performance of the Garda. It's odd, although reasons may vary, that people aren't concerned enough to want the authorities to look into it officially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,346 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

For Reals wrote:
    To get back on thread topic, it seems nobody is very happy with the performance of the Garda. It's odd, although reasons may vary, that people aren't concerned enough to want the authorities to look into it officially.

I think most people recognize that it wasn't exactly a peaceful protest so it's not as if those charged did nothing wrong.

She cut welfare levels for many people and bleated on about protecting 'core levels'

If Labour were not part of the 2011 coalition, the core levels would most likely have been cut. I think our current levels are unsustainable, but that aside, it is difficult to see how socialists think Burton is so evil for stopping any further cuts, which is about as good as could be expected from a minority coalition partner.
    She implemented policies that cost large numbers their jobs, their homes, their dignity.

Under the Labour/FG government 2011-2016 unemployment went from over 14% to around 8%.
    She accused people mired in long-term unemployment of making a 'lifestyle choice'.

Are they not? I mean, I don't blame someone for making a rational choice whereby they look at the welfare rates and they look at the likely wages they would get and decide that they would be worse off if they worked. That is a perfectly rational choice and no one blames them for doing so. But we should change the system so that a person is never disincentivised to work.
    She forced thousands of graduates onto cheap labour schemes.

Yes, jobbridge was a fiasco with very limited success and a lot that could be criticised about it. There were specific, non-socialist worker party, protests about jobbridge:

http://trinitynews.ie/meet-the-dublin-activists-picketing-jobbridge-businesses/

But to retrospectively suggest that the jobstown protest was about jobbridge is ridiculous. It was about water charges.
    She broke her promises on water charges, child benefit, car tax and vat.

This whole thing about how minority government parties are supposed to set the agenda and get criticised if they don't is nonsense. Maybe SF and all are right to say that they will only enter a government as the major party, because left wing voters and other left wing groups immediately turn on any left wing party that tries to do what they think is best.
    She used the opening of a food bank as a photo-op - a bloody food bank where people have to go to get charity to feed their families because of the policies she implemented.

Yeah you're right. Right up until Joan Burton got into power, there were no hungry or impoverised people, and the only way to ensure that no one is seen to be in need of charity is to never give any state money to charity. Seriously, if you can object to a food bank you can object to anything.
    I can see why people in Jobstown were angry.

The food bank wasn't even in Jobstown. It was in the City Centre. So why were they so worked up about it?

The bloody scroungers - I suppose you agree with Burton that they are making a lifestyle choice.

Yes, demanding that someone else pays for a service you get is a lifestyle choice. As in, I choose not to pay for this but also choose to still receive it.
    Isn't it an indictment of the establishment that after 95 years of FF/FG/LP rule we still have 50% of the water supply leaking through the Victorian mains network built by the Brits.

And the solution is that if we don't pay for it, it will magically get better?

It wouldn't have gotten "better" under Irish Water either. Unless, of course, they were to massively up their bills. ;)

Too many pockets to fill in the quango.

Numerous articles - and right-wing politicians - have claimed that the false imprisonment charges were 'over-the-top' and they should have been charged with public order offences because they would have been easier to get a conviction. It is utterly disgraceful - and they made no such claims prior to the verdict, no such claims when a teenager who was 15 at the time of the protest was found guilty in a judge only court of false imprisonment and they have made no demand that the false imprisonment charges against some of the remaining Jobstown defendants be dropped.

You have taken me out of context so many times in this post that I have had to go back to my original reply to you. You asserted there was a "smear campaign". I asked which articles. You now give a vague answer that there was a load of commentary about the trial post factor. So basically, you are saying that only pro water protesters are allowed have a valid opinion, and anyone who disagrees is conducting a "smear campaign".
    Furthermore - any time a protest is successful and the establishment cannot contain or control it - they try and change the 'law' to make it more restrictive - as they are now talking about doing now (including banning the recording of gardai to prove their testimony in court is false).

Again, where are the links or references to specific people making specific calls. I googled "ban recording gardai" and found an article from prior to the Jobstown protest that said Gardai called for it at the AGSI meeting, which was later clarified that they weren't calling for it:

https://www.thesun.ie/news/848507/gardai-deny-they-want-on-duty-photographing-or-filming-banned-but-reveal-family-members-have-been-targeted/

When I add in "Jobstown" I get this:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/garda-body-rejects-conspiracy-accusations-in-jobstown-trial-1.3141179

GRA calling for personal recording devices for Gardai. So if anything there are calls for more recording of the Gardai.
    Already - changing the laws of contempt - changing the law about gardai being video recorded - plus they want to reverse the ruling by the judge in the trial that gardai have a legal responsibility to protect the right to protest.

Josepha Madigan has called for the Law Reform Commissions recommendation that contempt be put on a statutory footing after the trial.
    Now you are spouting nonsense

Furthermore - many people outside the #JobstownNotGuilty campaign have raised serious questions about the conduct of the gardai in the investigation and on the witness stand - including 50 academics who signed a letter calling for a public inquiry yesterday.

Who are these 50 academics? If they want to pay for it then I'm sure they can have a public inquiry.
    In fact - as a result of the judges directions to the jury - the not guilty verdict actually means that the jury considered the protest peaceful.

No, it means that the specific defendants are not guilty.
    Do you have any problem with Enda Kenny claiming that Burton was 'effectively kidnapped', Alex White calling for charges of false imprisonemnt to be brought against protesters, Leo Varadkar falsely accusing Paul Murphy of 'organised and orchestrated... thuggery' or the false allegations by David Begg that Karen O'Connell was 'badly beaten and kicked' on the protest?

Do you have any problem with the vicious smear campaign against Paul Murphy, other Solidarity elected representatives and protesters in Jobstown in the national media?

Do you have any problem with Garda witnesses changing their testimony from the trial last year of a teenage boy to the trial of the seven men acquitted last week?

I have already answered this that I don't accept your skewed version of facts that the establishment are trying to influence the trial, that there is a smear campaign, that there was a Garda conspiracy, that the trial was unfair etc. I don't accept that your narrative of what has happened is accurate so the question as to whether I have a problem with it or not doesn't arise.

If there were such things, then yes, there would be a problem, but those things do not exist so it's a hypothetical.

By contrast, I don't have a problem with the fact that politicians are entitled to express a view in public on issues of public concern, or that the media is free to condemn or praise people depending on their views, or that the Gardai conducted an investigation into this case, or that where a Judge finds that the Gardai overstepped the bounds of their powers that evidence be ruled inadmissible, or that if the Gardai made a mistake as to what exactly was said and that there is video footage to show otherwise that a jury gets to assess this and make a decision.

In fact, this last point is crucial. I believe that the Jury system is the best system of justice that we have, demonstrated by the fact that the accused were acquitted in this case. You seem to think that the fact that the Jury acquitted is some form of whitewash of the political establishment and that it justifies a further inquiry for reasons that are not at all clear.
    the defendants were found NOT GUILTY.

Again, taking me completely out of context. I was responding to another poster who was discussing the legalities of blocking a car for a limited time. The part you quoted of mine had nothing to do with the specific accused.

It wouldn't have gotten "better" under Irish Water either. Unless, of course, they were to massively up their bills. ;)

Too many pockets to fill in the quango.

Well perhaps not. There are many problems with Irish Water, which were lost in the fuzz of the "no way we won't pay" crowd. But one thing is for sure, the system wouldn't magically get better if the socialists come to power.

And it wasn't going to get better under Fine Gael either, who actually had a shot and fucked it up royally, because their ultimate game was about fleecing the punter for as much as they could get away with and hocking off the vital public service to the private market as soon as they could and had nothing to do with improving the system.

I think most people recognize that it wasn't exactly a peaceful protest so it's not as if those charged did nothing wrong.

Actually, it's exactly, legally, that anyone charged did nothing wrong.
    You should be asking why these alleged rowdy protesters weren't charged?

This is about the right to protest, political interference and how the Garda carried out their duty.