Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The legendary Naas FCP

codrulz wrote: »
    I am over the top about using the FCP if I sit in costa I pick a window seat and constantly check, if someone comes and were able to get home, I'll unplug.

No need, all you have to do is put your number on a piece of paper on the dash, works great.
    Perhaps you should consider a PHEV or ICE or installing a SCP at your place of work if the leaf won't cover your commute?

I have work charging now, but perhaps people should think less about themselves and more about others and I wouldn't have had nearly the issues I've had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Right, so I am the son of the 'lady' all of you are bastardising through a one sided and absolutely biased recollection of events.
    I have read this forum for years and am shocked and appalled by the mob mentality in this forum. We have owned our leaf for Over two years, from new. This I am certain is longer than a lot of you on this forum.
    We seldom use Naas FCP as commute is within range and charged at home from 30% to 100% nightly. So that's the first of your outlandish claims as to why my mother charged the car at the FCP, that it's most likely she is cheap. This is not true, unlike many.
    Secondly, the car had not finished charging, arrived on 46% the car was disconnected at 84% the car fast charges to 95%. This will give you an idea of how long she was gone and how impatient the man waiting was.
    She arrived at the FCP just before the other man, unfortunate but it has happend to us as well as many others.
    So, my mother was the first to the FCP, first come first served. The car was charging for 22minutes, granted she left and 'nipped' into Tesco, but would it have been any different if she had just say in her car? No. She returned to an unplugged car that had not finished charging, and an aggressive man berating her about how he'd been there "over an hour" and that he Is tired of waiting having done it before to collect his wife from the airport, a BEV is hardly the car for him if he becomes irate if someone charges in front of him and the range of an electric car doesn't suit his needs.
    So, would any of you be happy having your car unplugged before it was finished charging? I'm certain you wouldn't. Then on top of that an aggressive and physically intimidating man berating my mother, for doing nothing wrong. Everyone has the right to use the FCP without being abused and attacked.
    Now onto the point about the security guards.
    My mother felt intimidated by the tall aggressive man that finished her charge after 20 minutes while it was still fast charging and thus went to security for assistance. The outlandish claim that they eventually sided 'against her' and that she left are unfounded. The security guards actually backed her up fully telling the aggressive man that she has every right to use the charger up to a period of 3 hours, of course we would never do this but it shut the aggressor up, with his "etiquette" talk we are full aware and conscious of.

In summation, the car had not finished charging, the whole event was less than 40 minutes as I know when she left and when she collected me.

We do not use the FCP to save "$$$" unlike many.

The security guard never "agreed with him" and in actuality backed my mother up fully.

We have never once used a FCP spot as an "EV parking bay" we use and move on.

So this depiction of events was rife with outright lies and was nothing more than a one sided biased attack with the author not talking about his vile aggression towards my lone mother, that was unfounded.

I am quite appalled at the mob mentality and attack on my innocent mother in this forum and this in my opinion is a sad day for the forum, you have not queried anything and taken hearsay as pure fact, gladly hopping on the name and shame bandwagon.

A stranger posts about an un-named lady who abandoned an FCP to go shopping....and that's attacking your mother....and it's mob mentality? Sorry, I disagree.
    You've read your first post in this thread haven't you?

In my opinion there was a number of snide comments people made towards my mother needlessly. Mob mentality certainly is applicable, while we uphold the expected charging etiquette, it's just that, etiquette, it's unenforceable and there are actually no rules regarding the use of FCP's. If people are seen to break this informal 'rules' a group of people 'mob' will give out about it. I am quite aware of the charging rates and I'm the newer 30kwh the leaf fast charges to 95% not 80% so it was still high in the KW's. Yes, the full charge from 45% to 95%, that took less than 25 minutes, was necessary.

If she needed the 95% and if the security guards sided with your mother, why did she leave with 84%?
    She did not "feck off shopping" she went in to buy milk, bread and newspaper, hardly "shopping".
    the man knew she had just plugged in so was obviously going to be about 20 minutes.

She sort of did go shopping though. And I have been to that Tesco. It would be hard to take 20 minutes to get milk, bread and a paper unless your mother walk very slowly and got stuck behind a very long queue.

It also wasn't obvious she was going to be about 20 minutes. Did she communicate to the angry stranger before she went shopping?
    Probably, the point was more so that the security guards did not infact "side against her" after a few minutes but supported her.

You don't know this though. Neither do we know that the other guy was telling lies, or the truth. We can only take what was written at face value. Nobody is on trial and nobody is defamed.
    Yes I'm sure she made that point and she's right, while he was yelling at her over etiquette, she said that. It's not wrong, one may stay as long as they want while charging, obviously it's bad etiquette and we have never done that but this set of rules aren't official and are not enforceable.
    I shall again reiterate, the car had not stopped fast charging and was still charging at over 40KW. No misuse of the FCP occurred. The charge was for 22 minutes before the impatient man unplugged, don't tell me you'd accept that because you wouldn't!
    Therefore the security guards most certainly didn't claim her misuse of the FCP.

What reason does she actually have to lie to me? Seriously, if she was wrong she wouldn't have talked about it.

If I abandoned my car at an FCP without leaving a note, I would not be surprised to come back to an unplugged car. If a car pulled as I plugged in and I was leaving the car, I would communicate with the driver before leaving. It's just polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭codrulz

KCross wrote: »
    Yes, Ive read it. I don't think there is anything wrong with it at all. I made the comments based on the information at hand. What would you have me do... call the security guard to confirm events before I posted?

You are taking it far too personally. This is an anonymous forum. If I called your mother something derogatory to her face you can complain but I didn't do that.

Its good that you have given your side of the story and everyone can take that at the same face value but don't berate us for commenting on the OP. Thats what a discussion forum is about.

That's fine but I do still think you made a few assumptions and leaps of faith with regards to her attitude towards the use of FCP's in your post, granted based on the OP but I just wanted to highlight that there is 2 sides to every coin.

30 Kwh deliveries were collected in March 16 if I remember correctly due to technical issues with the head unit.

How fast does a 30 Kwh leaf charge to 95% ? I doubt that fast , it charges fast to 80% granted compared to a 24 Kwh Leaf. I stated that I would unplug a Leaf is pulling 10 Kw or less at a Charger.

mel.b wrote: »
    He states it is a 30kwh but in his first post also says they have had it over two yrs which doesn't seem correct. I thought 30kwh where very late 2015 at the earliest.

Bought our 24kwh SVE in Mid 2015, currently have a 30kwh 171 leaf.

but I just wanted to highlight that there is 2 sides to every coin.

Indeed, 2 stories, 2 version of events..........

30 Kwh deliveries were collected in March 16 if I remember correctly due to technical issues with the head unit.

How fast does a 30 Kwh leaf charge to 95% ? I doubt that fast , it charges fast to 80% granted compared to a 24 Kwh Leaf. I stated that I would unplug a Leaf is pulling 10 Kw or less at a Charger.

Around 40kw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

It does charge relatively quickly. My first charge from 7% to 93% was done in about 43minutes IIRC (in Uk) Stopped at roscrea the other day on --- and charged into the 90%s in even less time i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

CoecWfLUIAIL5Ku-750x527.jpg

goz83 wrote: »
    A stranger posts about an un-named lady who abandoned an FCP to go shopping....and that's attacking your mother....and it's mob mentality? Sorry, I disagree.

If she needed the 95% and if the security guards sided with your mother, why did she leave with 84%?

She sort of did go shopping though. And I have been to that Tesco. It would be hard to take 20 minutes to get milk, bread and a paper unless your mother walk very slowly and got stuck behind a very long queue.

It also wasn't obvious she was going to be about 20 minutes. Did she communicate to the angry stranger before she went shopping?

You don't know this though. Neither do we know that the other guy was telling lies, or the truth. We can only take what was written at face value. Nobody is on trial and nobody is defamed.

If I abandoned my car at an FCP without leaving a note, I would not be surprised to come back to an unplugged car. If a car pulled as I plugged in and I was leaving the car, I would communicate with the driver before leaving. It's just polite.

Get real, I was hardly referring to the OP as mob mentality but rather the posts that ensued.
    My mum came to collect me as she was distraught. We went back and got the rest of the charge. Of course it only takes a few minutes to get a few things, there was a huge issue with the tills two managers came over and apologised. This is why it took 20 odd minutes. My mother had only planned on being in Tesco for about 5 minutes.

n97 mini wrote: »
    CoecWfLUIAIL5Ku-750x527.jpg

That's for the 24kwh

no 30 Kwh,

The 24 Kwh charges max 35 Kw from 50% and is a lot less by 80%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Yes I'm sure she made that point and she's right.

IF (note the if) the story panned out as described by the 3rd party then her charge was complete. In which case she may have been legally entitled to stay beyond that point but it would have been incredibly rude and selfish.

So if she did say that and meant it, then she is rude and selfish.

What reason does she actually have to lie to me? Seriously, if she was wrong she wouldn't have talked about it.
    Who knows. Do you ever drive the car? Maybe she thought you may have encountered the same user on another occasion and they could have said something.

That's one suggestion. Which is one more potential reason for lying that the 3rd part had.

That's for the 24kwh

It's the 30kw. Graph from here:
    33 kWh BMW i3 And 30 kWh Nissan LEAF Fast Charging Comparison

Get real, I was hardly referring to the OP as mob mentality but rather the posts that ensued.
    My mum came to collect me as she was distraught. We went back and got the rest of the charge. Of course it only takes a few minutes to get a few things, there was a huge issue with the tills two managers came over and apologised. This is why it took 20 odd minutes. My mother had only planned on being in Tesco for about 5 minutes.

2 managers? 2 Security Guards? Distraught mother collects son and returns to FCP for a few more %? The plot thickens :pac:

I believe the stranger in the OP. Not so full of holes. I'm just waiting for the part where you make a complaint to the two Garda Sergeants at the station.

2 managers? 2 Security Guards? Distraught mother collects son and returns to FCP for a few more %? The plot thickens :pac:

I believe the stranger in the OP. Not so full of holes. I'm just waiting for the part where you make a complaint to the two Garda Sergeants at the station.

Good one? She hardly took 20minutes just to get milk bread and the ft without some sort of delay.

We had to go to a black spot for CP's and I am very conservative with regards to range

Ok my bad, still 30kw is fast charging, it's ALOT faster than what a 24kwh would be charging at.

What I don't understand is how you said it was charging at 40kw when unplugged. She wasn't there when it was unplugged?

Good one? She hardly took 20minutes just to get milk bread and the ft without some sort of delay.

We had to go to a black spot for CP's and I am very conservative with regards to range

Maybe you've not gone to the shops with your mother lately, but some people tend to saunter around the place taking their time, doing nothing.......while waiting for their EV to fully charge and not having to deal with the person outside waiting because nothing was said when she plugged in. That makes more sense to me.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    IF (note the if) the story panned out as described by the 3rd party then her charge was complete. In which case she may have been legally entitled to stay beyond that point but it would have been incredibly rude and selfish.

So if she did say that and meant it, then she is rude and selfish.

Who knows. Do you ever drive the car? Maybe she thought you may have encountered the same user on another occasion and they could have said something.

That's one suggestion. Which is one more potential reason for lying that the 3rd part had.

I acknowledge the if but one point the story is dependent on is that the charge was finished, granted it had dipped below 40kw but that's still charging, rapidly. They couldn't know the car had finished?
    I do drive the car, however I was told that he arrived at the same time and rushed into the adjacent spot wanting to charge first, this is why my mother left without acknowledging him.

What I don't understand is how you said it was charging at 40kw when unplugged. She wasn't there when it was unplugged?

Yes but I know how quickly it charges at the percentage the car was on when unplugged.

Maybe you've not gone to the shops with your mother lately, but some people tend to saunter around the place taking their time, doing nothing.......while waiting for their EV to fully charge and not having to deal with the person outside waiting because nothing was said when she plugged in. That makes more sense to me.

I understand what you're saying and I acknowledge that one may lie to protect ones mother on an online forum, however I am not of that ilk. If she doesn't intend on sitting in the car she would go into costa coffee and buy a tea and wait as opposed to wondering mindlessly around a shop.

The most likely scenario is:

Woman pulls into FCP parking space.

Seconds later a man pulls into adjacent spot and woman rushes to connect first.

Man is rightly left second place. First come, first served.

Woman leaves to get shopping and says nothing about expected time, or charge required.

Woman is gone for more than 20 minutes and charge has slowed.

Man unplugs womans car to charge his own. He has no idea how long she will be.

Woman in the mean time is taking her time shopping, because she knows she needs "95%" and she needs not return to car until she has "95%".

Woman returns after "22" minutes and is angry about being unplugged.

Man argues about etiquette.

Woman runs off to get security.

Security eventually agree with logic of man.

Woman is upset. Goes to collect son and tells a version of the story.

Son returns to FCP with mother and charge the rest of battery.

The rest is on here. Can't be far from the truth.

Yes but I know how quickly it charges at the percentage the car was on when unplugged.

Unless it was witnessed at "over 40kw" then you can't say in this case it was still charging at "over 40kw". I'm not looking to pick holes in your story, because like you I wasn't there.

Yes but whenever I have charged at FCP with a 30kwh it would be around 40kw at 80%

You weren't there in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭stesaurus

gizmo555 wrote: »

When my Outlander is charging at a fast charger, it charges fast ...

Sorry but no it's not. Maybe for a few mins it charges at a decent rate but 80% in 30 mins is what 7-8kWh? That's not what a fast charger should be used for. Other cars would pull double that at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,405 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I too read the same account as DrPhilG did, from a foreigner (UK national) who has no stake in either party so I tend to believe him (also from his many other posts
    that I have read and that I have found balanced and neutral). Here's part of his post, make of it what you will:

"So driving up to the charge point i could see two identical Leaf’s in the two bays at it. I could see one was plugged in with no-one in the car and the other had a guy sitting in it, waiting i presumed. So i parked in a normal bay an went over to ask the guy how long he though he’d need to charge. He hadn’t seen i was in an electric car and presumed i was asking how long it would take to charge a Leaf. He explained it depends on charger and how low battery is and then asked why i wanted to know at which point i explained that it was because i needed to charge my car and just wondered how long he’d be. At this point he started going on about how he was waiting for the woman with the other Leaf to return as her car was fully charged an had been for a while. He said he’d arrived at the bays at the same time as her and she saw him drive in right beside her but she’d just plugged in an buggered off shopping. He had presumed she would come back when it was done but she hadn’t. So i went in to get shopping and thought that when I came back if the other Leaf owner wasn’t back i’d just try to drive the rest of the way to my friends. On coming out of the shopping centre i saw the guy unplugging the other Leaf but still no sign of the owner. Anyway, he plugs his in and starts charging at which point the owner of other one turns up an starts complaining that he’s unplugged her car…so he explains that she should not be leaving her car unattended plugged in to charger blocking the bay. She says that it’s an electric bay and she can park there as long as she wants while car is plugged in…he’s having none of it and says that this may be true of a slow charger but not a rapid like this one. So she storms off leaving her car still in the bay……At this point i decide that i’ll go back in to tesco to get some ice to put in my cool bag as this may take a while and i want to get come beer to take home with me….So i nip back in to shops after taking a picture of the offending vehicle. I thought i might be able to find shopping centre manager to get them to hail her to come and shift it. No sign of anyone….until i come out and find the woman, flanked by two security guys all having an argument with the big guy. So he starts explaining to them that her car was full charged and she wasn’t there and that folk should not be using the spaces as ev parking bays….and after 5-10 minutes of this circular argument the security guys agree with him and she gets in her car and goes…so i move a bay over and unlock my charge port door at which point the big guy stops his charge and lets me plug straight in as he’s been arguing with her so long he’d got enough charge to get home."

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

@Mad_Lad - it is NOT ok to unplug a car that is charging. Please stop doing that.

My ads on adverts.ie:

@unkel have you a link to the original post on the UK forum?

unkel wrote: »
    @Mad_Lad - it is NOT ok to unplug a car that is charging. Please stop doing that.

I only do it when I have to when the car charging is at 10 Kw or below. Sue me ! :D

@unkel have you a link to the original post on the UK forum?

Sure. Browse down to #47

Linky

My ads on adverts.ie:

I only do it when I have to when the car charging is at 10 Kw or below.

Not ok, dude. Morally wrong. You don't "have to", that's bull. Unless it's an emergency of course.

My ads on adverts.ie:

I only do it when I have to when the car charging is at 10 Kw or below. Sue me ! :D

I don't charge any more than I need to. I rarely use public CPs and rarely have to charge to the point where I'm drawing less than 10kw, but I'd be pretty bummed if someone unplugged me before I'd charged to where I needed.

I can understand your sentiment but you don't know people's requirements without talking to them.

Having said that I have been held up at FCPs by people who live locally and are just getting their daily 1 hour charge. Woman in Longford I'm looking at you! Maybe we need to start a database...

I don't use public charge points much myself.

If I'm at Naas and the car is charging pulling 10 Kw or less from the charger and they're not at the car I know they're taking the piss, I'll unplug them get my 10 mins and plug them back in. Big deal......

I could, "not" plug them back in , I bet they'd be non the wiser anyway lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

unkel wrote: »
    Sure. Browse down to #47

Linky

@unkel that was a ****ty thing to do.

You didn't find the post on that forum, you found it on a UK Ioniq users forum. But I told you privately where I saw it so you have linked there rather than reveal your own "source".

Now mammy's boy has registered on Avforums and is trolling the guy over there.

Ha ha was going to go to bed but staying up now ! :D

Cracking open another Beer , lucky I'm on hols !

I'm on hols !

It's nice to know that our charging EV's are safe for a while from your disconnecting hands.

Ah I rarely use them since I got work charging. But hey, how many that disconnect actually reconnect and restart charging ? ;)

Yeah that's a lot more convenient than waiting at clogged FCP's. Probably very few haha, I was stuck for over an hour and a half recently in Naas! The guy was at the car, said he'd be back in a second and never came back! His car fully charged, I then unplugged charged and after I was finished plugged into another leaf waiting! I should've just done a MadLad on it!

U mean plugged him back in ? :D

I could count on one hand the amount of times I unplugged someone but hey, it had to be done for just 10 mins of charging. If someone want's to disappear while charging and be 85% + and I plug them back in and start charging then most likely they'll be non the wiser so what's the harm ? I could have not plugged them back in.

I'm done being the nice guy, now I'm still nice, but not so nice, I won't wait up to an hour for someone to come back to the car.

U mean plugged him back in ? :D

I could count on one hand the amount of times I unplugged someone but hey, it had to be done for just 10 mins of charging. If someone want's to disappear while charging and be 85% + and I plug them back in and start charging then most likely they'll be non the wiser so what's the harm ?

Sure, that's what I meant ;) yeah if it truly is abandoned and drawing like 5kw it would be stupid to wait.

No I mean 10 Kw and under is unacceptable if you ask me. fair is fair. someone doesn't show up then tuff, and If I unplug someone I'm not touching their property, and the ESB have clear charging etiquette on their site.

However, for those with large batteries, 40 Kwh Zoe and the likes, well, we're just going to have to assume they need the charge, though someone with a KE reg and charging at Naas I think it's likely they're there for the free leccy ! ;) But for all others and large batteries we're just going to have to grin and bear it !

DrPhilG wrote: »
    @unkel that was a ****ty thing to do.

You didn't find the post on that forum, you found it on a UK Ioniq users forum. But I told you privately where I saw it so you have linked there rather than reveal your own "source".

Man, I just googled it and came up with the link as n97mini asked me for it. And anyway, anyone could have googled it, how the hell was it a sh1tty thing for me to do. Seriously???

I haven't looked at the "son" trolling the poster now, but I can only imagine he is not doing himself any favours.

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

stesaurus wrote: »
    That's not what a fast charger should be used for.

Says who? I don't know about the one in Naas, but the the ones I'd most often use are in Castlebar, Ballinalack and Applegreen Enfield, in that order. I've never arrived to find any of these points already in use. If I wasn't using them they'd be standing idle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Says who? I don't know about the one in Naas, but the the ones I'd most often use are in Castlebar, Ballinalack and Applegreen Enfield, in that order. I've never arrived to find any of these points already in use. If I wasn't using them they'd be standing idle.

I use 2 of those three quite often, Ballinalack and Enfield. I've never ever queued at ballinalack. I did have to queue at enfield once before but that was a friday at 6pm so it was to be expected. Sent herself and the kids in for food and I waited for the charger. Younger kids are never finished eating dinner in 20-30 minutes anyway so I was in no rush.

However I'd have been more irritated to see a phev using the fast charger, because he is able to make a choice to continue his journey or not, whereas I am stranded until I can plug in, as a BEV driver.

With regards to the poster defending the woman who hogged the FCP, get real! That is one of the busiest (and most abused) FCP in the country. If I arrived and saw someone sipping single digit kW from an FCP and I only needed 10 minutes, I'm with mad lad on this one!

ELM327 wrote: »
    However I'd have been more irritated to see a phev using the fast charger, because he is able to make a choice to continue his journey or not, whereas I am stranded until I can plug in, as a BEV driver.

I take your point and if I thought it was an issue I'd leave a note on my car inviting any BEV driver to unplug my car if they needed to.

But, as I say, I've never arrived to find one of these points in use, nor in fact have I ever returned to my car to find someone waiting for me to unplug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

I take your point and if I thought it was an issue I'd leave a note on my car inviting any BEV driver to unplug my car if they needed to.

But, as I say, I've never arrived to find one of these points in use, nor in fact have I ever returned to my car to find someone waiting for me to unplug.
    So with this statement you therefore agree with the sentiment earlier on thread that BEV should have higher priority to access FCP?
    because you disagreed with someone earlier who suggested it.

PS I've never seen an outlander (I think that's the only phev with DCQC access?) using a fast charger before so I don't think it's as big an issue here as the uk.

With regards to the poster defending the woman who hogged the FCP, get real! That is one of the busiest (and most abused) FCP in the country. If I arrived and saw someone sipping single digit kW from an FCP and I only needed 10 minutes, I'm with mad lad on this one!

Get real? Why don't you read the thread before commenting I'll informed. I have blatantly said that the car was still fast charging not "sipping single digit kw from an FCP"

So with this statement you therefore agree with the sentiment earlier on thread that BEV should have higher priority to access FCP?
    because you disagreed with someone earlier who suggested it.

You're putting words in my mouth. What I disagreed with is stesaurus's notion that FCPs shouldn't be used at all by PHEVs. As I've already stated, for the FCPs I might use, it's a complete non-issue.

And, on reflection, given that at most someone might have to wait 20 minutes for me (assuming they pulled up at the FCP just as I plugged in) I wouldn't feel the need to prioritise the BEV. If you buy a BEV, having to wait occasionally for a charging point just goes with the territory.