Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you ever forget your age when out and about?

• 04-07-2017 12:54am
    Registered Users Posts: 39

So for the (without sounding bad) middle aged of us (40ish) who don't see ourselves as such, when out and about in a social environment do you forget yourself and youe age. In this day and age a lot of us look after ourselves and enjoy the Craic with the younger generation but to what extent? I was out recently and had a great night ( single I might add) with a gang of guys and girls but when it came to leaving to go onwards I was almost cast aside. I'm not in my latter years but got home and for whatever reason looked at my hands and noticed for the first time ever the wear and tear, the signs of age. I look in the mirror and yes the signs are there but when you are young at heart, friends of a younger age how do you overcome this? What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

I feel like I'm going through the same thing and I'm only 21...

• Registered Users Posts: 39 justinmg1

I feel like I'm going through the same thing and I'm only 21...

Haha, wait till you get to my age so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I remember when I'm aged one of the big ones like 30, 40, 50 etc, anything inbetween is cloudy, if I'm ever stopped at a checkpoint and asked my age it will be all over the shop and look like it's made up on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I'm "only" 36 and tend to get on quite well with younger people; In fairness I tend to think and behave a bit younger than my actual age, being single and having no kids helps in that matter - plenty of people in my age group have settled in the school run-work-slippers-tv routine.

Where the difference shines through, however, is cultural references and memories - something that's iconic for me doesn't exist at all for someone younger; I recently had to show somebody what the Knightrider TV series was, for example :D
    I also have memories of the permanently-on-your-toes feeling during the last years of the Cold War, the post-Chernobyl fear and the first Gulf War media-fest, all stuff that happened before they were born.

As I age, I feel like the age differences "close up" anyway; When you're 15, a 20 years old is "a grown up"; When you're approaching 40, you see the merits of both the 20-something and the 70-something :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Something like this happened to me the other day, I had to actually think about my age for a second and I wasn't sure if I was 26 or 27

I'm 27 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Only every St. Stephen's night when my cousins and I go to Copper Face Jacks. We started the tradition ten years ago but I figure another two or three before they stop letting us in. I'm 29.

Valmont wrote: »
    Only every St. Stephen's night when my cousins and I go to Copper Face Jacks. We started the tradition ten years ago but I figure another two or three before they stop letting us in. I'm 29.

Unless it's a teenage night, I'm fairly sure they can't deny someone entrance for "advanced age" :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I do, until I end up chatting to anyone under the age of 25. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I was chatting with my twin brother some time ago and I said something like 'now we're 33...' and he said "errr... we're 34". The worrying part was that I had to stop and think about it ... for more than a few moments. I literally had to do some some mental arithmetic.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I'm 42 and certainly feel significantly older than 20 somethings who might go out on the lash every weekend but in truth, I did all that back in my 20s and have given up socialising in pubs and clubs, for very good reasons I won't go into here.

My social circle ranges from early 30s up to late 50s. My closest friends tend to be within a 3-4 year age range of mine, but that's to be expected as we all grew up together.

At times I do feel older but then I have two neighbours who are around 70 and they tell me I'm still a spring chicken. That's nice!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

My girlfriends housemate asked me at the weekend what age I'll be at my next birthday. I had to ask her what year it was so I could work it against the year I was born. I couldn't remember if I was going to be 33 or 34. And sadly, it's 34 :(! I still feel about 25 though :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

BDJW wrote: »
    I couldn't remember if I was going to be 33 or 34. And sadly, it's 34 :(!

Quit your humble-bragging ya pup :-) .
    When you're an aul' fecker like me you can start complaining.

I went clubbing with a mate recently. 95% of the crowd was technically young enough to be my kids. Sweet Jesus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Pictures Of Lilly

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.
    You lucky b*astard, you're my inspiration for my forties (which is along way away)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Pictures Of Lilly

justinmg1 wrote: »
    So for the (without sounding bad) middle aged of us (40ish) who don't see ourselves as such, when out and about in a social environment do you forget yourself and youe age. In this day and age a lot of us look after ourselves and enjoy the Craic with the younger generation but to what extent? I was out recently and had a great night ( single I might add) with a gang of guys and girls but when it came to leaving to go onwards I was almost cast aside. I'm not in my latter years but got home and for whatever reason looked at my hands and noticed for the first time ever the wear and tear, the signs of age. I look in the mirror and yes the signs are there but when you are young at heart, friends of a younger age how do you overcome this? What do you think?
    It's at times like this that I'm glad I look 5 years younger than what I am (an average result from the guesses of many). And I'm only 28.

My girlfriend hates it when others say that I look young, because she's trying to convince that I'm getting old and that I should settle down... or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I'm 29. I hang around with people a few years either side of my age.

I love going out so I'm usually in bars once or twice a week. It depends on the bars I go to. I used to go pretty much anywhere but after 25, I got more selective. I avoid places that play chart music and go for places that play stuff like rock, dance, soul. As such, I find the age group changes significantly. Places that play chart music tend to be for a younger crowd. Places that go for a specific sound, IME, tend to have older clientele. I'd imagine it's because as you get older, you know what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Im 22 often get told im pushing either past the 30 mark or coming up to the big 3 0. Its a b#stard like tis hard enough pull as it is but when you look ten years older than your peers. Oh and to make things worse i noticed a bald patch starting on a picture taken of me at work. Im sure theres people who see me on a night out and think jesus he mustnt get out much without the wife the way hes hoppin around

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Strange thing about age is that it seems only to happen to the physical elements of us people, I've gotten a little more mature with time but still feel as I did in my teenage years. Now the body on the other hand keeps saying "please don't do that any more"!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

40 is middle aged now ?

Jaysus ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

TomSweeney wrote: »
    40 is middle aged now ?

Jaysus ..

Yea, well life expectancy is bout 80 - so half of that

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TomSweeney wrote: »
    40 is middle aged now ?

Jaysus ..
    Always kinda was. If anything it was considered late middle age not so long ago. Certainly seen as "old" anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭The Jman

I'm 33 and work in retail so work with a lot of teenagers. I'm sadly getting to the stage where I'm closer in age to the parents of the staff rather than the people I work with. You've no idea how sad this makes me!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

So im 39 ... halfway there (hopefully - or less then halfway :) )
    I do feel my age playing sports - especially my knees.

begbysback wrote: »
    Strange thing about age is that it seems only to happen to the physical elements of us people, I've gotten a little more mature with time but still feel as I did in my teenage years. Now the body on the other hand keeps saying "please don't do that any more"!!

Depends - usually it's events that modify your "mental age" rather than time itself; Marriage, children and things like that. People get comfortable and start veering towards the "slippers & TV" phase.

Then again, I've known a few people whose "slippers&TV" phase began when they were 18 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Ye a lot I was chatting to some lad the other day in the gym, and I said to the missus , "he's a bit weird or something ,there's something not quite right " not in a bad way just seemed a bit odd,
    She replied he's 20 and is normal for a 20 year old and it was the fact that I am 35 that I found him immature when I didn't eve realise I had ,
    she was probably right