Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 29 Oct 2017 - *** NOTE: no number transfer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭S.L.F.

walshb wrote: »
    Compared to emphasize a point. That’s all. And in this instance a very valid use.

“If” we cannot produce males that can best any female performance ever then we are in trouble... it’s that simple..

Why would you set the standard of males against women's best?

Absolutely ridiculous is what your argument is...lt's embarrassing really.

Set the standard of males against males and don't be so foolish.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

S.L.F. wrote: »

It’s not sinking in, is it..it was just used to show how weak the time was..

Ok, compare male vs. male. It is a very slow time...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,581 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Maybe if GOH hadn't of ran Berlin there wouldn't be an issue.
    He obviously wasn't taking the National championship seriously or he would have all his eggs in the Dublin basket.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

healy1835 wrote: »
    Are you saying that if there was a 100m National Championship where as the case was yesterday, and we'll be generous here, the 3 fastest guys weren't there, the winner's time would be faster than Florence Griffith Joyner's WR?

100m is piss poor in Ireland. So are many events. But they are acknowledged as so. The marathon strangely is not.

I'll admit I was wrong to say you wouldn't see any events on the track won slower than women's WR. There are the odd ones occasionally.

S.L.F. wrote: »

2:18 to 2:02. Light years.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Utter nonsense. So a -3.0 headwind in a 100m or 200m has less impact that wind in a marathon. Give me a break!

As for 400m wind can cost you a full second. That's huge.

You were talking 400m and not 100m or 200m.
    Yes it can cost you a full second but could cost alot more percentage wise in a marathon.

100m is piss poor in Ireland. So are many events. But they are acknowledged as so. The marathon strangely is not.

I'll admit I was wrong to say you wouldn't see any events on the track won slower than women's WR. There are the odd ones occasionally.

Yes, but still the Irish record and top performances are well clear and clear of 10.49..

You were talking 400m and not 100m or 200m.
    Yes it can cost you a full second but could cost alot more percentage wise in a marathon.

Wouldn't agree. 0.75 secs for a 45 sec runner is 2 minutes for a top marathon runner.

Anyway this topic is well off topic and I'm partly for blame for straying it off. Only mentioned IAAF tables to highlight a different point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭S.L.F.

Why not just compare past times for males or comparable marathon performances from other small countries like Ireland?

No need to be comparing best male or female in the world for a marathon that doesn't pay and isn't even televised.

Himself and Freddie performed at a level that was normal for male DCM Nationals. Nobody was surprised or taken back by the time.

There isn't any great world championship on the horizon that would draw our best in the country to compete and even if there was as far as I remember GOH time knocked some of our 'best' out of the water in regards to RIO.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

There are guys running 2:02 FFS.

There are not guys (plural) running 2:02.
    One guy (single) ran 2:02:57, just 3 seconds inside of 2:03.

2:03 is light years from 2:18 too, but when you start exaggerating (lying) you weaken your argument.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    There are not guys (plural) running 2:02.
    One guy (single) ran 2:02:57, just 3 seconds inside of 2:03.

2:03 is light years from 2:18 too, but when you start exaggerating (lying) you weaken your argument.

Fine. In that case can say Gary was just barely inside of 2:19. Point still stands.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭wowzer

Fine. In that case can say Gary was just barely inside of 2:19. Point still stands.

Jaysus you're hell bent on belittling Gary's run, while up thread you almost had a hissy fit when you felt someone was belittling you.

GOHs time for aged 43 is exceptional..

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2803|echancrure|2:49:20|2:48:59|2:58:12|
    9558|diego_b|3:43:41|3:39:30|3:54:53
    |robinph|2:49:44|2:49:59|2:58:03
    |ISOP|4:18:55|4:15:00|
    3868|hot buttered scones|3:21:45|3:09:59|
    4514|davedanon|3:14:18|3:09:59|DNF
    6501|Lazare|n/a|3:58:xx|3:58:08|
    3241|Johnny_Fontane|3:36:18|3:24:59|
    1678|withcheeseplease|2:59:58|2:59:57|2:58:35
    |Damo 2k9|n/a|3:59:59|
    |DC.|2:56:02|2:44:00| 2:42:29 |
    |Dexter50|4:14:19|4:10:00|
    4591|Wubble Wubble|3:49:01|3:29:59|
    7703|RedRunner|3:52:30|4:15:00|4:13:05
    |apjb82|3:35:15|3:10:00|3:12:33
    |CCR|2:59:52|3:29:59|
    |Peckham|2:58:27|3:44:59|
    |Krusty_Clown|2:30:01|2:34:59|2:38:09
    |Derco|4:16:04|4:12:59|
    |Spirogyra|3:59:02|3:39:59
    10404|Unthought Known|4:16:44|3:44:59|3:41:41
    3790|HibernianRunner|3:28:22|3:24:00|
    |Slow_Runner|3:42:26|3:33:xx|
    |Fiftyplus|3:29:45|3:29:44|
    1371|Murph_D|3:28:28|3:19:59|3:22:11
    |ThePiedPiper|2:49:00|3:19:59|
    3364|TFBubendorfer|2:55:07|3:15:00|3:10:20
    |jaggiebunnet|3:32:39|3:24:59|
    |Jakey Rolling|3:27:15|3:29:59|
    |Eric the Eagle|3:26:25|3:19:59|
    |El Caballo|3:15:29|3:11:29|
    2634|Trampas|3:18:41|3:20:01|3:26:20
    |boykev|4:00:56|3:29:30|
    1942|MisterDrak|3:07:24|3:14:00|
    |ciarraiabu1977|2:57:45|2:57:40
    1322|Singer|3:32:04|3:14:15|3:14:11
    |Doeshedare|n/a|3:39:59|
    2855|Martyboy48|3:18:00|3:30|
    |Brusna|n/a|3:27:59|
    |Hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1805|JohnDozer|3:59:13|3:39:59|3:40:14
    20545|Jack Bracken|N/A|5:30:00|5:38:12
    3247 |Quickfeet |3:17:30 |3:15:00|3:18:21

So, I was found out in the marathon yesterday! I always knew that just 4-5 weeks of training and still trying to run a relatively aggressive time was a risk, and so it came to pass. I made it to half way bang on schedule, but knew from around the 10k mark that I was in a for bruising couple of hours. Legs felt empty and energy levels were low from early in the race, so this is obviously where the months of consistent training and long runs I didn't get to do, pay dividends. My slowest marathon for a couple of years, but still pretty pleased with the outcome, as the main goal was the national championships, with sub 2:35 and running a Dublin PB being secondary goals. I had thoughts of quitting from early in the race but just bottled it up, put the head down and pushed through to the finish line (in my worst ever positive split (1:17:49/1:20:20)).

In the cold light of day, I'd have been better off aiming for something like 2:38 and I might have run a negative split and potentially run a good bit faster, but the minutes on the clock are largely irrelevant in this case (took the M45 title), and battling through a tough mental battle may pay off more in the long run (pun intended). And so 2017 comes to an end with more of a whimper than a bang, but I feel like I'm in good shape (physically and mentally) to start thinking about that sub 2:30 attempt in Rotterdam. But those are thoughts for next week. My greatest challenge lies ahead of me - taking a 7 day break from running. Wish me luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

So, I was found out in the marathon yesterday! I always knew that just 4-5 weeks of training and still trying to run a relatively aggressive time was a risk, and so it came to pass. I made it to half way bang on schedule, but knew from around the 10k mark that I was in a for bruising couple of hours. Legs felt empty and energy levels were low from early in the race, so this is obviously where the months of consistent training and long runs I didn't get to do, pay dividends. My slowest marathon for a couple of years, but still pretty pleased with the outcome, as the main goal was the national championships, with sub 2:35 and running a Dublin PB being secondary goals. I had thoughts of quitting from early in the race but just bottled it up, put the head down and pushed through to the finish line (in my worst ever positive split (1:17:49/1:20:20)).

In the cold light of day, I'd have been better off aiming for something like 2:38 and I might have run a negative split and potentially run a good bit faster, but the minutes on the clock are largely irrelevant in this case (took the M45 title), and battling through a tough mental battle may pay off more in the long run (pun intended). And so 2017 comes to an end with more of a whimper than a bang, but I feel like I'm in good shape (physically and mentally) to start thinking about that sub 2:30 attempt in Rotterdam. But those are thoughts for next week. My greatest challenge lies ahead of me - taking a 7 day break from running. Wish me luck!

Congrats on the title

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭noelearly

Meh Pretty average.....

Amazing doing that time with a poor lead up. Must fill you with great comfidence going forward.thinking about Rotterdam myself next year, never been but heard good things.

wowzer wrote: »
    Jaysus you're hell bent on belittling Gary's run, while up thread you almost had a hissy fit when you felt someone was belittling you.

Gary was phenomenal. Such an impressive achievement at his age, and so soon after Berlin. Never said otherwise. Just don't feel it's a national championship winning worthy time. That's my opinion.

Pointless anyway, as he didn't win.

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Saint Sonner

Did anyone see the deer incident in the park - just behind 4 hour pacers. nearly mowed a couple kids down - can't understand how it didn't hit someone or maybe it did?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭ooter

Did anyone see the deer incident in the park - just behind 4 hour pacers. nearly mowed a couple kids down - can't understand how it didn't hit someone or maybe it did?

Someone on here mentioned it a few pages back, sounded nasty.

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

|Jakey Rolling|3:27:15|3:29:59|4:01:53

A bit of an off day for me - wasn't right from the off but stuck to my A plan until it was too late. Blew up at half way and struggled home. Painful!

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Saint Sonner

crazyderk wrote: »

When we first got into the Phoenix Park 6km in, we were running down a laneway by the back of the zoo to get onto the main road and a deer/stag came running down the lane in a panic. He tried to jump one of the runners but only got 3/4 of the way up. Hit the runner, the runner went down and the stag got turned around so started heading back towards the runners!!!!! I’m seriously surprised no one got seriously hurt the stag had massive antlers!
    I was there for that it came past me and i had view of it heading toward the bottlekneck. A woman and 3 small kids where standing and  never even saw it coming and leaped over the kids and just missed her - It was a miracle no one was seriously injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

Aaah I was up near the 4 hour pacers through Phoenix Park. I heard a loud thud and a few gasps behind me. A couple of people turned around to look back at what happened but I didn't. Must have been that deer incident.

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Raven Runner

https://twitter.com/KieranKelly1988/status/924774782524149765
    Saw this post on twitter which makes a fair point If rules were rules Gary O'Hanlon would have his medal taken off him and Sergiu would be moved up to Silver and Stephen Scullion would be going home with Bronze

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Where can the national championship results be viewed?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭HibernianRunner

3790|HibernianRunner|3:28:22|3:24:00|3:30:14

Was feeling really good up until the 37km mark then the legs started cramping and had to slow right down, felt like I was crawling along. Extremely tough last few miles even had to stop briefly which was a 1st for me on northumberland rd. but got going again to finish. Happy enough with time considering.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

3790|HibernianRunner|3:28:22|3:24:00|3:30:14
    2855|Martyboy48|3:18:00|3:30|3:25:05

• Registered Users Posts: 19,517 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

sideswipe wrote: »
    Athletics Ireland website. [Competition] [Results]. Link
    Team results are up there now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Athletics Ireland website. [Competition] [Results]. Link
    Team results are up there now.

Wouldn't take those teams as bible just yet. have a feeling they are just pulled from top eligible results as opposed to team declarations

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Maybe if GOH hadn't of ran Berlin there wouldn't be an issue.
    He obviously wasn't taking the National championship seriously or he would have all his eggs in the Dublin basket.

I guess dedicating your life, your time and your body to a single race is no longer considered to taking DCM 'seriously'.

If you knew anything about the sport you'd know Gary poured everything into the race. Who says you cannot race twice over the distance in a short time frame? It's just a distance, nothing more.

Gary came 2nd. It's a non-story. Well done Freddy, well deserved.

Social Media - a race to the bottom, full of hyperbole and faux outrage.