Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So it's the 12th of July tomorrow. Will the North ever not be sectarian?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

LordSutch wrote: »
    So basically you're changing the terminology retrospectively.

Toward the end of the troubles a unionist politian came out and said the GAA in NI was a ira front

Within weeks the chairman of a very large gaa club in derry was adupted,tortured and mureserved (iirc shot 6 times)

But no. ...theres o link between unionism and loyalist atal atal :rolleyes:

Shortly later Ian Paisley shared a stage and speech with Billy Wright....but no there's no link between loyalist and unionists atal atal

Don't fcuking insult people's intelligence...with pedantic shte

timthumbni wrote: »
    So you aren't sure either. I was asking for clarity. Thanks for letting us know you don't really know either. Enlightening. Thanks.

So we're to accept you can't back up your point
    (I reed bavk)

Can't say I'm suprised tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Keep your hair on.

All I said was this > http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104080850&postcount=493

Goodnight all Z z z

A fair point. It's always been pretty much accepted that in NI loyalists referred to the more hardcore modern uvf/uda and republicans referred to Ira/inla/Rira/Cira
    Or their supporters.

Technically in the olden terms I would be a loyalist but I now would be unhappy if anyone referred me as such.

Unionism and loyalism were happy bedfellows when it came to the shenanigans at Drumcree tim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Toward the end of the troubles a unionist politian came out and said the GAA in NI was a ira front

Within weeks the chairman of a very large gaa club in derry was adupted,tortured and mureserved (iirc shot 6 times)

Shortly later Ian Paisley shared a stage and speech with Billy Wright....but no there's no link between loyalist and unionists atal atal

Apart from the fact you are obviously on an apple device of some sort. Fat fingers like me.

Firstly it wasn't paisley who shared a stage with wright. It was Mccrea.

I didn't give a feck about wright even when he was killed.

Of course there has been numerous links between unionists and loyalists terrorists. But it has been the minority.

However Sf for example openly stand by and support the openly terrorist organisation of the Ira. No minoroty argument there. How do you think that makes unionists feel???

It suits republicans to group everyone into 2 distinct groupings. I would never for example refer to sdlp supporters as republicans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Let's hope the good people of NI don't stoop to the IRAs admittitlely low standards.

Not only did Unionist terrorists stoop to the PIRA's level they were positively floors below it, deep in the basement of horror and evil.

They murdered people for nothing other than being born Catholic. Over 99% of the Glenanne Gang murders were innocent Catholics.
    So basically you're changing the terminology retrospectively.

I'm not changing any terminology, I'm saying it as it was/is. For too long people like you and Tim have tried to pretend the Unionist terrorists in the security forces were upstanding members of the community while those in the paramilitary organisations they were part of, or colluded with, were a separate type of killer. No difference.

Unionism and loyalism were happy bedfellows when it came to the shenanigans at Drumcree tim.

A nice reminder to the brave exploits of the Irish Republican Army saying as you are asking.........

Pure heroes those buoys were......

A nice reminder to the brave exploits of the Irish Republican Army saying as you are asking.........

You seem to care about those two children far more than the ones killed in the north during the troubles.

I could list many names of children killed, including being shot in the head and back, by the so-called security forces. I try to avoid it though because I don't think it's fair on thier families that I try to score political points by means of their short violently-ended lives

I'm not changing any terminology, I'm saying it as it was/is. For too long people like you and Tim have tried to pretend the Unionist terrorists in the security forces were upstanding members of the community while those in the paramilitary organisations they were part of, or colluded with, were a separate type of killer. No difference.

You're pushing it now as I've only got one eye open at this ungodly hour.

Its not me or Tim that invented the terminology of the Troubles, its just always been Republican & Loyalist terrorists in the media since the Troubles.

And now, you talk about the Unionists as terrorists (instead of Loyalists) :cool:

A subtle change no doubt, but an unfortunate one non the less, as it brings in all these decent people I speak of (in the middle ground) into the realms of Terrorism. Decent people who had no part in the Troubles/Loyalism. I might say the same thing about the good & vast majority of Nationalists who took no part in the Troubles, hence it would be very unfair to talk about the nationalist Terrorists, for by & large it was physical force Republicans who were involved in the violence, not the vast majority of Nationalists.

I say again, I didn't invent the terms, its just been that way.

Not only did Unionist terrorists stoop to the PIRA's level they were positively floors below it, deep in the basement of horror and evil.

They murdered people for nothing other than being born Catholic. Over 99% of the Glenanne Gang murders were innocent Catholics.

But didn't the terrorists in the Ira murder more than all the other so called players in the troubles put together?? It's weird for a so called minority community to do this is it not?? By your argument I should start referring to those in the Ira as nationalist terrorists. Thankfully I'm not influenced by republican excusing types on an Internet forum. ......

Pure heroes those buoys were......

I was asking about Drumcree tim.

Decent people who had no part in the Troubles/Loyalism.

They were Unionists, not Unionist terrorists. There were plenty of Republicans who weren't Republican terrorists - like those in the SDLP for example. 'Nationalists' is simply a word describing people belonging to the Irish nation who may or may not be in favour of a United Ireland (probably a majority not in favour currently)

Its not me or Tim that invented the terminology of the Troubles, its just always been Republican & Loyalist terrorists in the media since the Troubles.

And now, you talk about the Unionists as terrorists (instead of Loyalists) :cool:

A subtle change no doubt, but an unfortunate one non the less, as it brings in all these decent people I speak of (in the middle ground) into the realms of Terrorism. Decent people who had no part in the Troubles/Loyalism. I might say the same thing about the good & vast majority of Nationalists who took no part in the Troubles, hence it would be very unfair to talk about the nationalist Terrorists, for by & large it was physical force Republicans who were involved in the violence, not the vast majority of Nationalists.

Are you not just splitting hairs there?

I was asking about Drumcree tim.

I refer you my post on number 507. If you don't read all the posts then I'm not responsible thanks.

You are on about a minority tim when referring to links between Unionists and Loyalists but what Trimble and Paisley marching triumphantly down the Garvaghy Road? A minority? Who are you kidding? Trimble was the leader of mainstream Unionism at the time. Widespread Loyalist inspired disorder helped him to take that walk in the first place. The British security apparatus capitulated to it.

Let me tell you the agenda here. The Ira and their cheerleaders on here want you to think that everyone was like them. Trying to bomb and shoot unionists into a so called UI failed miserably but sure don't the loyalists do the same?
    Their supporters here want people on here who supported the uvf etc to give them a bit of justification for the Ira bombing children/dog fanciers etc Problem is they haven't found any unionists who support the uvf etc and I doubt they ever will. They are sickened by this.

The same half dozen posters have been at it for years. The words boxers, Celtic and crying into spring to mind to be honest......

But didn't the terrorists in the Ira murder more than all the other so called players in the troubles put together??

I don't believe the Loughgall Ambush PIRA men were murdered no more than I think the Paras at Warrenpoint were murdered. They were killed, assassinated, whatever, belligerents - they were gun-carrying players in the conflict.

422343.png

Definition of Belligerent.

Anyway, we're going off-topic here so g'night gents.

I don't believe the Loughgall Ambush PIRA men were murdered no more than I think the Paras at Warrenpoint were murdered. They were killed, assassinated, whatever, belligerents - they were gun-carrying players in the conflict.

422343.png

I think the big difference is that the army fellas on the bus weren't on their way to murder anyone whilst the work van in loughgall was full of republicans on their way to both bomb and shoot to death for that matter innocent people that happened to be police.

Sure Irish republicans still blow the legs off police recently nowadays. The fact they were catholic Gaelic players was beyond these Irish republicans.... ironic surely....

422343.png

Anyway, we're going off-topic here so g'night gents.

And thanks for pointing out that btw. Having lived in Norn Iron all my life you have really opened my eyes there.......

I think the big difference is that the army fellas on the bus weren't on their way to murder anyone...

Oh c'mon Tim, they were BA terrorists, their division murdered people on Bloody Sunday and murdered people in Ballymurphy and not one of them was brought to justice or even condemned for it by Unionists. They were fully aware they weren't coming to Ireland for cucumber sandwiches and croquet.
    Sure Irish republicans still blow the legs off police recently nowadays. The fact they were catholic Gaelic players was beyond these Irish republicans.... ironic surely....

They have no support, there's a political roadmap to a UI now, the Orange statelet has been neutered, Republicans condemned it.

I'd like to think that if Unionist terrorists kicked off they'd be as roundly condemned by Unionist politicians and not thought of as counter-terrorists like Peter Robinson considered the UVF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Keep your hair on.

All I said was this > http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=104080850&postcount=493

Goodnight all Z z z

Nice try LS. Delete your previous posts on loyalism next time before you post on the issue. Have conviction in your belief instead of insinuating every once and a while.

Ah ignore. The same chap claimed people were being bigoted against the orange order when it was insinuated they were sectarian. An overtly flamboyant series of posts without the conviction to state one's beliefs.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Nice try LS. Delete your previous posts on loyalism next time before you post on the issue. Have conviction in your belief instead of insinuating every once and a while.

What posts would they be Steddyeddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

We saw just how strong the so called Celtic tiger economy was a few years back. Turned out to be more of a kitten in the end. Didn't the pesky brits have to lend youse a few bob so as you could keep the lights on????

Republicans can be very right wing when it suits them..... Investment in the republic was/is down to tax breaks/dodges/incentives funded from public money to attract foreign companies. Who knows how long that will last. If that goes the republic will be a busted flush again.

You forgot about a highly skilled work force down here. Sure your First Minister is only mad to try and copy us with regards to tax policy. Let's face it though any multinational will choose the republic for a variety of reasons. Unionist politicians even giving out how our IDA is stealing all those northern jobs.

People won't invest in the North after seeing something like the 12th in action.

And people won't take your posts seriously unless you show me where I support Loyalist terrorism!

You're such a windbag/ loudmouth.

And people won't take your posts seriously unless you show me where I support Loyalist terrorism!

You're such a windbag/ loudmouth.

Back to today; Hate Sinn Fein with a passion, tolerate Fianna Fail, and accept that Fina Gael & Labour are getting this state out of a giant hole. If I lived up North I would vote UUP, Alliance, DUP".

One of many LS. Also support for Carson. Violence to defend the union. Hatred of all things Irish. Defense of all things orange.

You've gone crackers :-)

Honestly, is that the best you can do!

You've gone crackers :-)

Honestly, is that the best you can do!

Sorry LS. DUP voters who support Carson and loyalism are loyalist in my book. In relation to collusion carried out by security forces you also admore them. On any thread about racism from the Orange Order you claim that the OO are targets of bigotry. By a country mile your posts are the most loyalist here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,255 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Can you put that in more laymans terms btw? What rights are you talking about? Gay rights?????

The DUP is denying rights to the people of NI on Abortion, LGBT rights, same sex marriage and on previously agreed language issues that are available to every other person on these islands and in their spiritual homeland of Britain. This is all based on their fundamentalist religious beliefs and cultural supremacy. Despite the majorities of other parties that want them they use petitions of concern (intended for other purposes) to enforce their will.

They have completely failed to 'co-govern' in this respect and that is the reason (after years of this) the executive has finally collapsed.

This belligerence is directly traceable to the sectarian and bigoted ethos engendered by the Orange Order and is just an extension (or attempted extension) of the failed governance of the Orange state.

It has failed again. Arlene's crocodile comments (before she pocketed 1.5 billion without a trace of irony) was just one in a weary, pathetic attempt to stir up hatred again and to play to her bigoted rabble.

They trenchantly refuse to work to build the peace and end the sectarian behaviour amongst their community, and will even be seen at bonfires and marches encouraging it.

Sorry LS. DUP voters who support Carson and loyalism are loyalist in my book. In relation to collusion carried out by security forces you also admore them. On any thread about racism from the Orange Order you claim that the OO are targets of bigotry. By a country mile your posts are the most loyalist here.

Steddy yourself now Eddie.

Firstly I don't live up North, and secondly I don't support the DUP, neither do I support Loyalism, I don't even support the Orange Order!

But by all means, carry on with your crazed posts ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,255 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Steddy yourself now Eddie.

Firstly I don't live up North, and secondly I don't support the DUP, neither do I support Loyalism, I don't even support the Orange Order!

But by all means, carry on with your crazed posts ........

But guess who always turns up on these threads when the DUP, Loyalism and the OO get criticised.

I have no problem saying the IRA were wrong to engage in a campaign of terror that saw innocents dead and injured, but that conflict is over, the IRA have observed their commitments to the peace deal and are gone as 'players'.

Curiously I have never heard or seen you condemn the still existing and still active and wholly unreformed DUP, Loyalism (and Unionism when it engaged in the conflict) or the OO for their significant roles in prolonging and engendering sectarianism and bigotry.

Honestly Steddy/Francie, you must be so blinkered or blind not to see my constant criticism & condemnations of Loyalist Paramilitaries. Of course I never miss a chance to have a go at people who support the IRA either, but as I've said countless times in countless posts... If I lived up North, I would have voted & supported the UUP, the Alliance Party and/or the SDLP.

All this guff & hot air about me being a Loyalist terrorist sympathiser is all in Steddyeddy's crazed head.

Bless him!

Honestly Steddy/Francie, you must be so blinkered or blind not to see my constant criticism & condemnations of Loyalist Paramilitaries. Of course I never miss a chance to have a go at people who support the IRA either, but as I've said countless times in countless posts... If I lived up North, I would have voted & supported the UUP, the Alliance Party and/or the SDLP.

And DUP as you said previously. Anyway we'll agree to disagree.

But guess who always turns up on these threads when the DUP, Loyalism and the OO get criticised.

I have no problem saying the IRA were wrong to engage in a campaign of terror that saw innocents dead and injured, but that conflict is over, the IRA have observed their commitments to the peace deal and are gone as 'players'.

Curiously I have never heard or seen you condemn the still existing and still active and wholly unreformed DUP, Loyalism (and Unionism when it engaged in the conflict) or the OO for their significant roles in prolonging and engendering sectarianism and bigotry.

Praising Carson. In a thread where the OO was criticised for housing UVF members the posters were accused of bigotry against the order. Admiring collusion with terrorists in the north. It's loyalism.

I think the 12th has fried your brain Steddy. You make all these Carsonesque/Loyalist claims about me, but you never back them up! Just some vague rubbish about an impression you have.

You're a gas man, or should I say you're full of gas.

The DUP is denying rights to the people of NI on Abortion, LGBT rights, same sex marriage and on previously agreed language issues that are available to every other person on these islands and in their spiritual homeland of Britain. This is all based on their fundamentalist religious beliefs and cultural supremacy. Despite the majorities of other parties that want them they use petitions of concern (intended for other purposes) to enforce their will.

They have completely failed to 'co-govern' in this respect and that is the reason (after years of this) the executive has finally collapsed.

This belligerence is directly traceable to the sectarian and bigoted ethos engendered by the Orange Order and is just an extension (or attempted extension) of the failed governance of the Orange state.

It has failed again. Arlene's crocodile comments (before she pocketed 1.5 billion without a trace of irony) was just one in a weary, pathetic attempt to stir up hatred again and to play to her bigoted rabble.

They trenchantly refuse to work to build the peace and end the sectarian behaviour amongst their community, and will even be seen at bonfires and marches encouraging it.

The same sex marriage issue is a red herring. Most people don't give a **** about it to be honest and hence why the dup didn't lose votes over it. I personally would be for it but I too don't give two ****s about it.

Civil partnership is practically the same thing anyway and for those calling NI a backwater on the issue then one has to remember that Frau merkel only a few weeks ago voted against it in Germany and Italy have no notion of allowing it. Sure the republic only passed it a short while ago too so I wouldn't be going around like you're the big balls just yet.

Arlene got 1.5 billion for the benefit of the whole of NI. Only a republican bigot would start crying over getting a extra whack of money for the country.

I love seeing Michelle and her sf cronies squirm on the issue. Re the executive collapsing the real reason was that sf had a crap election and weren't happy so they wanted a new one. They knew tha ex IRA leader mcguiness was about to fall off the perch and used the boiler nonsense as an excuse to collapse it. They then shot themselves in the foot (or maybe by the party involved I should say the knees) by trying to control who can be dup leader and other spurious arguments about the Irish languance. Now they are faced with direct rule again from the good old UK. Great result for SF...... or maybe not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

The difference being that SF and their brothers in the IRA have always been up to their necks in terrorism. There is no half way house with those deviants. I think sometimes they want to try to bring everyone else down to their admittitly swamp like low level.

Let's hope the good people of NI don't stoop to the IRAs admittitlely low standards.

Did you not describe yourself as a loyalist a few posts back, there was never a more lowbrow scummy band of deviants like that anywhere on these islands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

If it had been known that Celtic were going to act like a bunch of scared teenagers at a Friday the 13th get together and not take their tickets then the match could have went ahead on the 11th.

Nice payday for linfield though. Great lift for a wee NI club in the Irish league to play a huge team like the bhoyos. May be a cricket score but if the blues get the guts of a million squid out of it then happy days.
    Linfield already get millions from the IFA. Farce of a club and a set of bigoted supporters. Well done Celtic, showing them the respect they deserve. i.e. minimal

armaghlad wrote: »
    Linfield already get millions from the IFA. Farce of a club and a set of bigoted supporters. Well done Celtic, showing them the respect they deserve. i.e. minimal

Celtic acting like wee chickens as usual. No change there I suppose.

Re Linfield they are the biggest club in The Irish league. When you say bigoted supporters is that Celtic you are referring to? If so I agree with you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,190 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Linfield are the biggest club in the Irish League of course, but then again they got a bit of help to achieve that record.

red ears wrote: »
    Did you not describe yourself as a loyalist a few posts back, there was never a more lowbrow scummy band of deviants like that anywhere on these islands.

I refer you to my post 487..... to answer the first part of your post.

Further to that please look up the acts of Irish republicans and in particular the modern IRA. If you are after lowbrow and deviant you will strike oil with them....

Re Linfield they are the biggest club in The Irish league. When you say bigoted supporters is that Celtic you are referring to? If so I agree with you there.
    No that would be Linfield. Toxic support.

Celtic have some morons following them, like most big clubs do. Vast majority just love their team and go out to show it. Part of me is happy for them to show Linfield disrespect by not taking an allocation, they can afford the luxury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

By that do you mean law abiding supporters who prefer a family friendly atmosphere to watch their football. They'd simply prefer to not have to deal with marauding gangs of chavs in rangers tops hurling abuse or worse at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Why can't we all be friends?

armaghlad wrote: »
    No that would be Linfield. Toxic support.

Celtic have some morons following them, like most big clubs do. Vast majority just love their team and go out to show it. Part of me is happy for them to show Linfield disrespect by not taking an allocation, they can afford the luxury.

Don't take sides now Armaghlad. Do you really believe that the vast majority of Linfield fans aren't just out to love their team and go out to show it?

Celtic have a lot of morons following them and they are often more interested in rangers than Celtic if you ever follow their antics. Sure Celtic park was like a ghost town when rangers weren't in the same league as all their bigots couldn't be bothered to watch their so called beloved club.

Re Celtic not taking their tickets cowardice springs to mind. Even their fans weren't happy about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,391 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    Why can't we all be friends?

Because I think I'm better than you.

red ears wrote: »
    By that do you mean law abiding supporters who prefer a family friendly atmosphere to watch their football. They'd simply prefer to not have to deal with marauding gangs of chavs in rangers tops hurling abuse or worse at them.

They are playing Linfield actually. Rangers were hoofed out of the europa cup by a bunch of postmen.

Don't take sides now Armaghlad. Do you really believe that the vast majority of Linfield fans aren't just out to love their team and go out to show it?

Celtic have a lot of morons following them and they are often more interested in rangers than Celtic if you ever follow their antics. Sure Celtic park was like a ghost town when rangers weren't in the same league as all their bigots couldn't be bothered to watch their so called beloved club.

Re Celtic not taking their tickets cowardice springs to mind. Even their fans weren't happy about it.
    Well having sat in the family section at Windsor Park on more than one occasion, and listened to sectarian abuse directed at the opposition management by the home support surrounding me; or having witnessed their fans attack a Catholic owned pub in Portadown and also assault Armagh GAA fans (including an elderly gentleman) at the train station, I am quite happy to judge most Linfield fans as being scumbags. I know not all of them are, but in my experience most of them are.

Celtic are reknowned throughout Europe and beyond for their support. Obviously attendances are going to fall domestically when their biggest rivals are liquidated and playing under a different banner 3 divisions below

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Timthumbni, hopefully I don't come off as abrasive as Francie, and I think we've established myself and yourself have something in common.

Let me start by saying I'm in no way a fan of SF. I think a lot of their fiscal policies are untenable, and have a tendancy to attract less than desirable people, particularly at grass roots level.

HOWEVER.

Any time I hear of SF policies, it's clear that what they are trying to attain is for the benefit for the majority of people, regardless of creed. Any time I hear of DUP policies, it's clear that they primarily look after Unionists.

I won't cry over the money Foster got for the North, because honestly, it does need it. Northern Ireland gets less investment and less opportunities. This isn't to say we don't have problems in the Republic, we definitely do, however, we're not the ones in focus here. And the problems up North are way worse. I will wait and see how that money is designated to be used. And I expect it to be contentious. It always is.