Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it weird to hate summer

• 13-07-2017 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭

Is it weird to hate summer.

I can't wait now until August when it's autumn. The sun is too much for me o love when I wake up and it's cold, rainy and miserable outside.

I feel a sense of dread when it's a nice day. Winter is my favourite of all. I hate that in the summer my routine is broken and I'm not in college full time

Anyone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

No, Just you

Viva la summer heat!!!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

In the summertime when the weather is hot
    You can stretch right up and touch the sky
    When the weather's fine
    You got women, you got women on your mind

Love the summer! Everyone seems much happier when we've a bit of sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

"Hot. Sticky. Sucks." - Bill Hicks.

Yeah, I fcuking hate the heat and humidity.

Love a cuppa by the fire while it's lashing out. Bliss.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I love it. Anything up to 40 degrees and I'm in my element.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

I'm with you. Give me a brisk Autumn day any day. This dead heat is rank.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

gizmo81 wrote: »
    I'm with you. Give me a brisk Autumn day any day. This dead heat is rank.

what heat??? I hate the cold, I hate the summer months here, they're just so disappointing, I don't know why I ever get my hopes up. And OP, sorry to tell you but you'll have to wait till September for autumn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

News Just In - August is often the hottest month of summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

What dead heat? You call this summer? Never sunny enough for me!!

I love living in Ireland except for one thing- the climate - nine months of winter, then a short interval when we hope for sunshine and mostly don't get it.
    Open-air gig tomorrow night: ought to be balmy evening airs, cooing of doves etc, but instead need to pack brolly and mackintosh.
    Piff, call this a summer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

I can't wait now until August when it's autumn. The sun is too much for me o love when I wake up and it's cold, rainy and miserable outside.

Ehhh no thanks, we have that weather 360 days a year and it's utterly depressing. Give me dry, warm (even scorching), sunny days anytime over that bland horrible ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Remember Aliens when they went outside and it used to rain all the time? Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I feel a sense of dread when it's a nice day. Winter is my favourite of all. I hate that in the summer my routine is broken and I'm not in college full time

Anyone else

I generally love the lead up to Christmas! It's my favorite time of year. I look forward to clocks going back. Summer is fine but I prefer the later months in the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,021 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I am obviously a moany old grouch, but while I like the long days I prefer Spring, late Autumn and love the Winter. I probably need therapy of some sort!

Summer is grand if you have kids and take them out, and go abroad on holliers etc.

Those of us with no young children/babies (thank god) have to run the gauntlet of the yummy mummies everywhere. Everywhere is crowded, buses, trains, roads etc. Prices are higher to go away in Summer. I fekin hate that sort of stuff, but then again I don't have to do it either.

So late Spring and Autumn/Winter you can actually get away (outside the mid term breaks) for a song, go for walks without tripping over every fekin contraption known to man, and their yapping dogs. Think buggies the size of an aircraft carrier and the sense of entitlement that goes with it, screaming kids all indulged, you get the picture.

I hermitise mostly in the Summer, but I am lucky to have a great back garden, and a fridge full of stuff and a loaded kindle.

I consider myself very lucky.

But I do not really like the School Holiday Summer. But I can avoid it!

Yay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I much prefer autumn and winter. Never been a fan of summer tbh, although I like it more these days!
    I get v excited when I see hats and scarves in the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Day Lewin wrote: »
    What dead heat? You call this summer? Never sunny enough for me!!

I love living in Ireland except for one thing- the climate - nine months of winter, then a short interval when we hope for sunshine and mostly don't get it.
    Open-air gig tomorrow night: ought to be balmy evening airs, cooing of doves etc, but instead need to pack brolly and mackintosh.
    Piff, call this a summer?

There is a good chance you won't be able to take that brolly into longitude, I think they are one of the banned items.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Some strange people on here.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

And OP, sorry to tell you but you'll have to wait till September for autumn.
    Nope.

September = Meán Fomhár = Mid-autumn is the hint there.

Summer and winter are the best. Spring and autumn can be a bit meh; neither one nor the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I have a potentially fatal wasp allergy and suffer from hay fever so I'm not really bothered about the summer to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Anyone else

I feel like I have to pretend to like the summer when chatting with strangers. Same with sports. Such a relief when hearing that people feel the same. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Anyone else

Does Summer make you lonely? Makes me lonely, highlights my lack of social life seeing everyone going out, having Summer fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭dizzyn

I love Winter, like seriously love it. It's my favourite season. Not just because of Christmas either, I love the dark evenings, scarves, wrapping up, the cold. This probably seems bonkers but I would choose Winter over Summer any day.

dizzyn wrote: »
    I love Winter, like seriously love it. It's my favourite season. Not just because of Christmas either, I love the dark evenings, scarves, wrapping up, the cold. This probably seems bonkers but I would choose Winter over Summer any day.
    Certainly don't understand people who give out about short days, winter storms and a bit of snow.

Winter's great. But summer's still good.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭dizzyn

cdeb wrote: »
    Certainly don't understand people who give out about short days, winter storms and a bit of snow.

Winter's great. But summer's still good.

Oh yeah I do like Summer, but I adore Winter. I actually can't wait for it to roll back around:D:D Summer definitely has its perks though; different schedule, social life, gorgeous sunsets, swimming etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I like Summer. It would be nice if we got a bit more sun but it's great when you get a sunny day.

I sort of look forward to all the season's for some reason or another. Some days the weather is annoying.

I'd take a really sunny day over snow though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,877 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I find the Heat in summer as sort of like an added hassle that I don't need.

When the weather is bearable or on the weekends when I don't have to go to work, yeah, fine. Nice.

But the days I actually have to get on a roasting hot bus and then endure the heat while stuck in an office, nah, not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Summer is okay if we get one. However I must admit that I prefer the short cold nights. Why? Because Ireland in general has a longer wintery climate than it does a Summer one and I guess I just got used to it despite spending a good few years in a warm climate. But remember that even in a warm climate the sun sets earlier in winter anyway and your lifestyle changes with it.

Overall, I'm a fan of the fire up the chimney, lights on, candles and earlier nights in winter time. We are not a nation of warm, balmy nights. We do it for a few weeks abroad and that's it.

I absolutely love the dark mornings and long nights. I miss dinner by candle light and my soft warm blankets. Throwing a scarf around my neck and a hat on my head. Not having to worry about making my legs super smooth and less milk bottle. My hair behaving itself. Feet that are comfy instead of being cut in silly sandals. Ladders in barely there tights.

Winter is definitely my favourite :)

I absolutely love the dark mornings and long nights. I miss dinner by candle light and my soft warm blankets. Throwing a scarf around my neck and a hat on my head. Not having to worry about making my legs super smooth and less milk bottle. My hair behaving itself. Feet that are comfy instead of being cut in silly sandals. Ladders in barely there tights.

Winter is definitely my favourite :)

A lovely summation. Some of us have become used to and prepared for the cold, wet and dark days. I find myself investing in more quality winter wear than summer wear. I feel far more comfortable in the winter wear which during a mild winter can be combined with some of the summer gear. In general though, I love the dark at 5pm, heating on or fire lighting routine. Candles lit and an earlier wind down of the day with a movie or board game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Reading this thread just reminds me how much I absolutely hate winter. Roll on retirement in the sunny Med...
    For all you summer haters, it's over in 2 weeks according to some (lol), even though the warmest month of August is yet to come.

Just had a water pistol fight. Best thing about summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I'm not a fan (no pun intended) ......I find more comfort in trying to get and keep warm than cool, the latter being nigh on impossible in hot humid weather

and the jocks and socks need changing every day in Summer....**** sake once a week in Winter does the job, and they can just be turned inside out :D

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Syphonax

Small little midge flies everywhere hate the summer because of this

There is a good chance you won't be able to take that brolly into longitude, I think they are one of the banned items.

Iveagh Gardens!

Reading this thread just reminds me how much I absolutely hate winter. Roll on retirement in the sunny Med...
    For all you summer haters, it's over in 2 weeks according to some (lol), even though the warmest month of August is yet to come.

Just keep in mind that after the normal summer holiday in the Med, your opinion may change. Living in the sun and heat requires a lot of adapting. Can be nice though. Having done it all, I much prefer the darker, colder evenings, moany people going on about the weather and a lack of insects.

Not entirely sure what the relevant of the last part is.

Summer isn't defined by temperature in Ireland. Mainly because the temperature's crap any time of year. (Iceland is the only country in the world with a lower record hot temperature than Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,021 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Just neck the Vit D in the Winter. Be grand.

I am (very) early retired, so I do part of the winter abroad now. But it is just longer days and maybe a bit of heat, all good, and it's cheaper than being here.

But I love getting back to the dark nights, the cool weather and all that. It's what we are used to really.

And then I feck off again when it gets too dark for me. The joys.

Best thing about summer: wild swimming. Seaside, rivers, lakes and even the canal. I love it. Can't do that for ten months of the year!

Also, gardening. Too shivery in the winter eg mid- October to early April. But this month, I'm picking home-grown raspberries for breakfast every morning. :-)

Also, daylight: the exuberance of serotonin. In winter (see above) my bones and joints ache from lack of Vitamin D and my mood slumps with SAD and basically, not enough daylight. Humans evolved in Africa, and our DNA looks back with nostalgia. Happy days of summer.

I just love summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Mid twenties or so is fine if you have the day off but in most work environments I have been in over the years any kind of warm day is the absolute pits.

For this reason I had air conditioning units installed in our offices and it is nothing short of bliss. They should be much more common in offices etc. It has made me appreciate the warm weather more.

I do like a cold winter too though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

More of an Autumn/winter gal. I do not tolerate the sun and heat very well at all.

I love crisp cool mornings, open fires and cosy blankets.

I can't stand air conditioning. Evil thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

I can't stand air conditioning. Evil thing.

Stick it to 40 degrees and you'll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

At least in the winter you can put on some extra clothing. In summer, there are only so many layers of clothing you can remove before you get banned for life from your local Tesco Express.

It was flaccid, ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

Depends on where I am. I'm not too fond of Dublin in summer. I dislike the park being so busy, people everywhere in the summer. Do the same walk the same day of the week in on a cold windy winter day and there's barely anyone around. (Maybe I need to move out to the sticks).

Town smells like ****e, piss and rotten fast food.

Moths flying around the gaff non-stop.

Having feck all summer gear to wear to work.

With that said, there's no place like the west of ireland on a sunny day, run into the Atlantic for a swim, sit outside a pub enjoying the long sunsets, getting an honest wind-sunburn tan.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭hank scorpio89

Ye can't beat a cold beer in a beer garden on a sunny day.that being said I prefer the winter in general.Halloween is my Christmas love that time of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

If you could break the week into seasons that would be class.

Spring would be a Monday and Tuesday, Winter would be Wednesday and Thursday, Summer on a Friday and Saturday and then to cap it off Autumn would be on the Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,112 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Love the summer because of the GAA championships, we also get the world cup, euros and Olympics every 2 years. Also the outdoor gigs. Not a fan of drinking outside or sitting out in the sun for hours on end

Quite a fan of winter and when it gets dark early. It's so relaxing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Ann_Landers

News Just In - August is often the hottest month of summer.

I know, right? People get their knickers in a twist in this country claiming August as an autumn month but weather-wise, it's feckin' summer. August is almost always more warm and sunny than June and sometimes more warm and sunny than July too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Ann_Landers

Day Lewin wrote: »
    Best thing about summer: wild swimming. Seaside, rivers, lakes and even the canal. I love it. Can't do that for ten months of the year!

Where did the phrase 'wild swimming' spring from? It's the current faddy term. Swimming in the sea is a run-of-the-mill thing that has always happened. Lakes too to a lesser extent. 'Wild swimming' implies something mad adventurous instead of a thing everyone has been doing since the year dot. I feel like the term is a by-product of the rise of Instagram. Are all those people in the sea off the beaches of resorts in Med wild swimmers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

If you could break the week into seasons that would be class.

Spring would be a Monday and Tuesday, Winter would be Wednesday and Thursday, Summer on a Friday and Saturday and then to cap it off Autumn would be on the Sunday.

So we go right from Spring to Winter and then right to Summer? That's quite the rollercoaster ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I hate summer too. I dislike heat and humidity but mostly it's the long days I can't stand. I love cold crisp weather and dark evenings. Roll on Halloween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

One of the 'sci-fi' newspapers reckons it will be 30-40 late July into August.
    They've even carefully selected a Getty image to slightly over-emphasis this.
    They've also thrown in a mention of a solar flare, as if it bears some direct correlation.

Screen_Shot_2017-07-14_at_03.09.39.png

Anything up to 42oC is fine and dandy.