Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 4) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

I don't know the details but Goddard has an obligation to protect the fighters - it's probably within his remit to stop people invading the cage if it happens, even if it is Conor McGregor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

No fighter bashing lads..

You serious? Fighter or not he's an idiot.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

No fighter bashing lads..

No backseat moderating thanks..

jon1981 wrote: »

We have a charter here its one of the rules..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Conor El Chapo strikes again. It's a hell of a drug.

Lads regardless of his actions can we keep the name calling and stupid comments to a minimum. We have a charter here and rules to be followed, silly behaviour may not get McGregor in trouble but it will for you so think before you post and have a bit of common sense. New posters or trolls dropping in I suggest you familiarise yourself with the charter before posting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

aswell as having a movie star like rise from nothing
    i think there is going to be a huge fall shortly - hes off the rails by the look of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Strip him of his title, fine and ban the coward

jon1981 wrote: »

no, I'm not being serious..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,269 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Some muppet. He was in number 22 last weekend on the table next to us I wasn't one bit impressed with how he was talking to the staff. Said to a manager "listen here you silly c u n t i want the whole club not just a small area". He went around to all the tables taking all the good looking women and bringing them to his area. Huge commotion and he left after about 20 mins.

I don't know the details but Goddard has an obligation to protect the fighters - it's probably within his remit to stop people invading the cage if it happens, even if it is Conor McGregor.
    Okay but shoving Conor wasn't protecting the fighter. It also wasn't removing him from the cage because he just kinda shoved him once and then went off to the other side of the cage.

It seemed more like a GTFO shove than anything productive.

Again, im just playing the devil's advocate, I think mcGregor acted like a prat. Im just wondering if Goddard had the authority to shove him like that. Security normally try to escort people out of events slow and steady rather than forceful shoves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Redmond's still on the knees being treated by medical staff when McGregor enters the ring. He's then knocked to the ground when McGregor shoves an official into him.

He couldn't care less about any other fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

If this had been Nick Diaz jumping in the ring after a Nate fight, where he had only went at a ref after the ref and went at him, and slapped the head of some ring security guy that had tried to push him off the cage, it'd be: "Nick's a legend!"

It's the fight game, not badminton.

He's not blameless of course....but total overreaction here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

thats also the final straw for me aswell
    hes not the same person anymore - its gone to his head in some style

awaits weldonhino to thank post lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

sc86 wrote: »
    aswell as having a movie star like rise from nothing
    i think there is going to be a huge fall shortly - hes off the rails by the look of it

To bad the UFC doesn't put out documentary DVDs like WWE does. I can just see "The Self-Destruction of Conor McGregor" if they did.

Conor is living proof when my Aunt [who is Irish] used to say the Irish weren't meant to have money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

If this had been Nick Diaz jumping in the ring after a Nate fight, where he had only went at a ref after the ref and went at him, and slapped the head of some ring security guy that had tried to push him off the cage, it'd be: "Nick's a legend!"

It's the fight game, not badminton.

What a shock that you're one of the ones to try and play it down.

Tell me, what aspects of "the fight game" was McGregor demonstrating tonight? It's not ****ing WWE.

Also, for the record, I think most on here would have the sense to call Nick a twat if he did similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I wouldn't say he'd fancy a knock on the door from a USADA tester tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

sc86 wrote: »
    thats also the final straw for me aswell
    hes not the same person anymore - its gone to his head in some style

awaits weldonhino to thank post lol

There you go. A badge of honour.

Lads, it's after occurring to me what he's doing..
    He's such an awesome business man like, not just a thug..
    He's becoming one of the ufc bad guys!!
    When you think about it it all makes sense..
    In like a years time he'll propose to yer wan in the octagon or something and will be redeemed in the eyes of the fans!!..hopefully no one will hit him with a chair or a 2x4..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Just disgusting the way he went after the official, like a feral animal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    To bad the UFC doesn't put out documentary DVDs like WWE does. I can just see "The Self-Destruction of Conor McGregor" if they did.

Conor is living proof when my Aunt [who is Irish] used to say the Irish weren't meant to have money.

Because of others having the typical 'Irish begrudery'?

There's plenty of rich Irish that can behave themselves, Conor is an ego maniac. Mixing that with success, obscene wealth and narcotics will give you what happened tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I wouldn't say he'd fancy a knock on the door from a USADA tester tonight.

they dont test for coke out of competiton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Tigger wrote: »
    they dont test for coke out of competiton

They should make an exception for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

What a shock that you're one of the ones to try and play it down.

And what a shock you're one of the ones exaggerating the seriousness of it all.
    Tell me, what aspects of "the fight game" was McGregor demonstrating tonight? It's not ****ing WWE.

Injecting certain aspects of WWE into how he conducts himself is in no small part what has made McGregor the ppv draw that he is.Even his strut is stolen from a wrestler.You think that's a coincidence?
    Also, for the record, I think most on here would have the sense to call Nick a twat if he did similar.

Eh, they've been in spats before where security had to get involved, Nick was handcuffed at one event... never seen any reaction like this. Nick and Nate always 'keeping it real' ya see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The video is damning. He is gone way too far this time. I would have seen his outlandish behaviour before as entertainment but assualting the fight official like that is way to far for me. Respect for him has significantly waned. Indefensible really.

He's saying that money corrupts but by all accounts McGregor was a troublemaker long before he got into the UFC. I recall he stole ticket money from JK and his mother had to intervene because he was hanging out with a 'bad crowd'. There was a drug dealer who said in an interview that McGregor went on holiday with a whole gang of criminals and this was back when he was 17 or 18.

I think it's more a case that he's always been a scummer but during his rise he was incredibly busy and focused and just didn't have time to be himself. Give him 3 or 4 fights a year and he just doesn't have time to be coked up and acting the prat. I actually think Conor has alluded to that himself when talking about his ACL layoff.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Injecting certain aspects of WWE into how he conducts himself is in no small part what has made McGregor the ppv draw that he is.Even his strut is stolen from a wrestler. You think that's a coincidence

You're brainwashed if you believe that this was all 'an act'.

Not for the first time, Conor arrives at an event off his face and instead of cheering on his teammates he has to make it all about himself.

There is no WWE here, just scumbaggery. He's not even part of this promotion for Christ's sake.