Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 4) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,839 ✭✭✭SteM

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    I agree,but he is still a youngfella,in my eyes,alot of growing up still to come.So what if he explodes,from time to time.WE ALL DID THE SAME,stones at glass houses,etc

We didn't all do the same. Just because you identify with him because you acted like a prick at that age too, don't tar everyone with the same brush. Getting wasted and storming an mma ring that has an injured fighter in it isn't normal behavior or the actions of a lad letting off a bit of steam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

And how people would love that.

Taking joy in someone elses misery and downfall.

Its pathetic.

Its worst than conor jumping in a ring.

Only the bitter jealous people will pray for his downfall, I was merely making an observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

SteM wrote: »
    We didn't all do the same. Just because you identify with him because you acted like a prick at that age too, don't tar everyone with the same brush. Getting wasted and storming an mma ring that has an injured fighter in it isn't normal behavior or the actions of a lad letting off a bit of steam.

He's probably our only world champion,apart from Katie,we should embrace his achievements.Do you think the Americans blasted Tyson,like you do to conor,when he was their hero.?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

He's probably our only world champion,apart from Katie,we should embrace his achievements.Do you think the Americans blasted Tyson,like you do to conor,when he was their hero.?

The vast majority did embrace his achievements.

Since his achievements, he's been dodging fights, acting the prick and just being a scumbag basically. Should we just ignore these because he's Conor McGregor?

No, he should be held accountable, like everyone else who decides to act like a scumbag.

Stop saying we should ignore this, it's quite sad that you give him pass after pass.

You mentioned Katie, you never see her at anything like this. She lives her life like any normal person should. Why can't Conor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I agree.What he did Friday was stupid,BUT we all make mistakes.

How can slapping a person in the face, who was just trying to do his job, at 29 years of age be construed as a mistake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Your nationality doesn't excuse you acting the dickhead, nor does it mean that everyone of the same nationality has to have to respect for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

Faugheen wrote:
    You mentioned Katie, you never see her at anything like this. She lives her life like any normal person should. Why can't Conor?

To be fair she is a long way from the amount that of money McGregor has.

And at the end of the day money is power.

And you know what they say power corrupts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Honestly,fair play to you.

I've done plenty of stupid things, not saying I've been perfect, just nothing like you described or what he's been acting like.

He's nearly 30, I might expect some yobbo 18 year old to act like he is, not a fella hitting his 30's with a young child at home.

Like I said earlier, he makes it hard to be a fan these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭LastLagoon

I embraced his achievements when he won the 145 title.he started becoming a bit unbearable not long after this but still cheered on the 155 title win,there was plenty of sneering and begrudgery around a t the time I had seen him as someone who put his head down grafted and achieved an improbable dream.it was inspiring but it seems the fame and money has gone completely to his head.no doubt its difficult and has broken many a man who has gone from nothing to global megastar that quick but it’s not a reason to excuse utter geebaggery
    I honestly think he has backed himself into a corner after the Mayweather fight,almost any mma fight is a step down in terms of money and attention. It’s pretty clear at this stage he has little interest in putting together a solid legacy in terms of defending any title multiple times against the best,which excludes him from any talk of all time greats tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

OK lads,I'm out,back to the running forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭EoineyM

I am not condoning what he did,I am saying,He's young,rich,and when I was he's age,I did,much worse.If you think that was an attack or bully to a stranger,than so be it.I probably would have reacted the same when I was 29.just saying.

"If it was an attack or bully..." - how can you even question that. The fact that you did "much worse" doesn't condone what McGregor did Friday night. Mark Goddard and the other staff were doing their job. They did not deserve to be attacked by a coked up fighter and his goons. Of all McGregors achievements, possibly his greatest has been his ability to hide his true character throughout his rise. No doubt he will be on with Tubridy again soon playing the cheeky rogue card. The last few weeks have shown what he is really about. I'm not sure why JK is getting brought into it. He is in a tricky position. You see marcello garcia booting dillon danis out of his gym for his behaviour. Could JK discipline McGregor even if he wanted to? doubt it. McGregor does not seem the type to listen and a fallout could be very damaging for SBG.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

It's like a cult the hatred towards a national champion.

The backlash he is receiving at the moment is due to his actions. When someone is being a prick and a bully, most people react very negatively to it. Myself included. Just like when you hear someone being rude to bar staff or waitresses. Most decent folk hate to see and hear that stuff.

The fact that people such as yourself are trying to downplay his actions and brush them off is disgraceful. I'm the least liberal and PC guy in the world but I despise bullys and people who look down on people they deem to be "less" than themselves. Thats exactly what McGregor did in this instance, and if the stories are to be believed, he's been doing this stuff off camera for quite a while.

Before this there was absolutely no hatred towards McGregor on my part, as I've said before I've been to America multiple times to support him. I was interviewed by Ariel Helwani in Vegas and made an eejit out of myself, totally fanboying out over McGregor.

There is still no hatred on my end but I would struggle to cheer him on as passionately as I once did. It's very hard to like the guy these days. The fact that there's been 48hrs since the event and he hasn't even broached an apology speaks volumes. He's still probably out of his head somewhere with a load of parasites hanging on his every word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Augme wrote: »
    How many fights has he won by submission or even from kicks? I don't think it's that many.

There are plenty of people who have achieved a lot and are extremely wealthy. I'm not jealous of them. As for mistakes, I've never behaved like McGregor has and most people haven't either. I mean, it's not exactly difficult not to behave like that. You make it sound as if it's some amazing achievement to do that.
    He's a world champion,he behaves like a prat at times.SO what.Get over it,and be grateful we have the best of the best,coming from our Shore's

This sort of embarrassing wankery appears to be prevalent in the Irish psyche. "He's a twat, but he's an Irish twat, so don't call him a twat, otherwise you're just a begrudger. There's no other possible explanation for him being a twat than your shameful lack of patriotism"

I couldn't give two flying ****s about McGregor's lifestyle or what he gets up too. Personally, I think far too many are talking about him going off the rails or having a meltdown on too little evidence. There was one particularly shameful mention to the effect of he should be ashamed of himself as a father when really, none of us have the first clue how his parenting is.

His antics on Friday, however, were disgraceful. They were disrespectful, arrogant, entitled, dangerous and, at times, illegal. He prevented a badly injured fighter from receiving medical attention. He needs punished, one that matters.

OK lads,I'm out,back to the running forum.

I think Conor has been active on that forum since he won his featherweight/lightweight belt :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I think Conor has been active on that forum since he won his featherweight/lightweight belt :pac::pac::pac:

Ye prick, I've had manflu all weekend and laughing at that I'm after going into a fit of coughing and getting snot on me keyboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Ye prick, I've had manflu all weekend and laughing at that I'm after going into a fit of coughing and getting snot on me keyboard

Took me a while to get it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

stephenl15 wrote: »
    Took me a while to get it :D

The Colombian flu 😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Autecher

https://www.mmafighting.com/2017/11/12/16640014/john-redmond-says-conor-mcgregor-overshadowed-his-bellator-bout-influenced-stoppage-vs-charlie-ward
    John Redmond saying Goddard was going to let the fight continue but he was overruled by the commission because of Conor's antics. Also Steve Mazzuli is on the MMA Hour tomorrow so we'll find out if Conor is even elligible for any punishment then I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Faugheen wrote: »

Why can't Conor be more like Katie? Cause he's not her, he's a bit of a dickhead, she on other hand seems to be anything but volitile. Why is this news to some people. Fair enough, sometimes he's a laugh, and does some good turns for people, bit we've always know Conor had that side to him.

Also, the more I see that slap the more I think it understandable that he threw it.

He was on top of the cage resting on one leg, and at the very second McGregor stretches out his arms to point at someone inside the cage, that Bellator clown (with both hands) lifts and shoves McGrgeor's leg over the other side of the cage causing him to fall... he then grabs the cage on the way down and immediately throws the slap. Here it is in slow-mo were McGregor falling is more clearly seen:

I think had he just slapped an official who had done nothing, I'd understand the reaction, but you can't expect to almost hurt a fighter by pushing them off a cage and them not to react to that.

Not saying he was right to throw it, just that I'm not at all surprised that he did.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I can kinda see where you're coming from but equally he's not a fighter at that event, he's a fan and the security didn't treat him like one. the push by security wasn't enough to knock him off the cage but enough to make him think.

If a randomer did what he did they would have been dealt with far far more harshly.

He shouldn't be up on the cage in the first place, no matter already been kicked out of it.

Also at 0.55 what's the story with that little gesture:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I can kinda see where you're coming from but equally he's not a fighter at that event, he's a fan and the security didn't treat him like one. the push by security wasn't enough to knock him off the cage but enough to make him think.

If a randomer did what he did they would have been dealt with far far more harshly.

He shouldn't be up on the cage in the first place, no matter already been kicked out of it.

Also at 0.55 what's the story with that little gesture:rolleyes:

Still not grounds to push him, if he fell backwards on his back it could have been a bad enough fall. If anything your man should have pulled him into the cage and then let security take him out.

What he did was still idiotic. I often wonder about fighters, NFL players, wrestlers etc and how they tend to get involved in things like this often enough. Taking bangs to head frequently can do funny things to people, lack of impulse control is a big symptom for CTE.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Lukker- wrote: »
    Still not grounds to push him, if he fell backwards on his back it could have been a bad enough fall. If anything your man should have pulled him into the cage and then let security take him out.

What he did was still idiotic. I often wonder about fighters, NFL players, wrestlers etc and how they tend to get involved in things like this often enough. Taking bangs to head frequently can do funny things to people, lack of impulse control is a big symptom for CTE.

i didn't think it was a big enough push to make him fall but it has to be said he shouldn't have been up on the cage in the first place.

CTE is a problem but can also be a handy excuse. At his age he would have had to have taken a huge amount of head blows to have it and from watching him fight he hasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

There's some strange victim blaming going on here.

Conor illegally entered the cage while the fight was technically still in progress. Redmond himself blames Conor for the fight being stopped. He had no business in the cage at that particular moment. He then had no business trying to re-enter the cage after being ejected.

Goddard & Officials were well within their rights to try physically remove him.

Blaming them for *anything* is crazy. If you get kicked out of a nightclub and try sneak back in, you don't get to moan if the bouncer gives you a gentle push or forcefully prevents you from getting back in and you certainly don't get to punch him for it. The slow-motion is pretty clear he connected with his knuckles.

During Anderson Silva v Michael Bisping, and in similar confusion, the security official working the gate physically grabbed one of Anderson's cornermen as he entered the cage and pushed him back out. Then a UFC official (twice) grabbed Anderson's arm to gently implore him to get down off the cage because Herb had told him the fight is not over.

Refs and officials often have to put their hands on fighters and cornermen.

The following passage is from the Association of Boxing Commissions (ABC) Rules, under which all MMA take their rules from. It is the summation of the ref's responsibilities during a contest:
    "Your job is to protect the safety of the participants, and never permit yourself to be intimidated by any contestant, manager, second, trainer, any person connected with promotion or anyone else. The referee must be in charge at all times."

Marc Goddard was doing his job. The Bellator official was doing his job. Conor was completely in the wrong. Open and shut. Any other interpretation of this incident is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

if someone is on top of the fence you dont push them off, you can tell them to get down or escort them away if they climb down into the cage, but its a health and safety risk to try and force them off like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

If you get kicked out of a nightclub and try sneak back in, you don't get to moan if the bouncer gives you a gentle push or forcefully prevents you from getting back in and you certainly don't get to punch him for it..

if you try sneak back in by climbing over the back wall but the bouncer tries to push you off the wall into the street then yes you might not react kindly to that

if someone is on top of the fence you dont push them off, you can tell them to get down or escort them away if they climb down into the cage, but its a health and safety risk to try and force them off like that.

you're talking legally

morally the security guy was in the right

maybe Conor should sue them

• Registered Users Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

CatFromHue wrote: »

CTE is a problem but can also be a handy excuse. At his age he would have had to have taken a huge amount of head blows to have it and from watching him fight he hasn't.

Jordan Parsons has it and he only had 13 fights. Only suffered one TKO too. The milage those guys put in the gym could potentially be enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Goddard & Officials were well within their rights to try physically remove him.

Nobody is saying that they were not within their rights to remove him from the octagon, or preventing him from reentering it.
    Blaming them for *anything* is crazy. If you get kicked out of a nightclub and try sneak back in, you don't get to moan if the bouncer gives you a gentle push or forcefully prevents you from getting back in and you certainly don't get to punch him for it. The slow-motion is pretty clear he connected with his knuckles.

If you climbed up on a wall in an attempt to bounce into a gig at Croker (for example) and security pushed you off it, resulting in injury, you don't think they'd be liable? Damn right they would be. You don't have the right to do what you like to someone.. unless there is a serious immediate danger of course and that was far from the case here.
    During Anderson Silva v Michael Bisping, and in similar confusion, the security official working the gate physically grabbed one of Anderson's cornermen as he entered the cage and pushed him back out. Then a UFC official (twice) grabbed Anderson's arm to gently implore him to get down off the cage because Herb had told him the fight is not over.

Refs and officials often have to put their hands on fighters and cornermen.

Yes, but none of that was close to causing an injury though. Had McGregor, for whatever reason, not been able to grab the cage, he'd have kept going backwards. That's why Conor lashed out. It wasn't premeditated.
    Marc Goddard was doing his job. The Bellator official was doing his job. Conor was completely in the wrong. Open and shut. Any other interpretation of this incident is wrong.

Nobody is saying he had a 'right' to do what he did. He absolutely didn't and deserves some form of punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

if you try sneak back in by climbing over the back wall but the bouncer tries to push you off the wall into the street then yes you might not react kindly to that

Regardless of the tiny push he gave Conor to unbalance him, it doesn't justify swinging at the guy. He had already been told to get out of the cage.

I've always been fair-minded and overwhelmingly supportive when it comes to Conor, JK and SBG. I've spent more time than anyone defending and praising both of them when it's warranted but it's ludicrous to offer mitigating factors for Conor's actions and JK's silence.

"You won’t see my fighters in the paper for any negative publicity. It is my responsibility and the responsibility of other coaches to ensure that we project a positive image. That is the most obvious thing that I can do to help out the other clubs in Ireland.”

- John Kavanagh, December 13th, 2013:

http://www.punditarena.com/mma/rbarrett/exclusive-interview-john-kavanagh-straight-blast-gym/

Indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭creeper1

Ha ha. Yeah the correct procedure should be to make a written complaint to the commissioner who then in turn contact other relevant authorities and at the end of it all he may come of the fence.