Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 4) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Can't believe how bad that was.

Conor went from phenomenally good last night to embarrassingly bad tonight.

This made me way less interested in the fight.

Conor was beloved when he came out and seemed to be trying to be disliked, seemed to try and play the villain. Why? Floyd was going to be in that role and nobody came across likeable up there.

This just came across like self-indulgent dross. Very disappointed.

London will have to be really memorable to make up for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

That was f**king embarrissing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

They should cancel London asap.

This is a joke fight, which has been said all along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

McG must have found Jones's stash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭tinpib

I think/hope they will start on time in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Gamebred wrote: »
    They should cancel London asap.

They should do a normal ufc style presser if anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

They should do a normal ufc style presser if anything.

Unfortunatly boxing is run by old men in suits who are out of touch with modern day media. Expect the same **** again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Look what Conor did last night when he was outshone a small bit on Tuesday.

He's gonna do something crazy tomorrow night. Well..... he has to after that.

Last meeting before the weigh-ins too (other than potentially interviews perhaps).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Waste of time that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

jbt123 wrote: »

Youre posts are so boring. Everything that you post is pathetic, truly utterly embarrassingly sad and desperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

I've gone from maybe getting a few lads around to split the ppv, to maybe staying up and watching a stream of it. What a horrible bunch of cvnts!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Conor's birthday tomorrow, I can only imagine the gift Floyd will have up his sleeve at the London presser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Maybe I'm a fool, but the mood seems to have changed from two guys laughing hand in hand to the bank, to some kind of strange nasty semi racial genuine hate between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

martyos121 wrote: »
    Conor's birthday tomorrow, I can only imagine the gift Floyd will have up his sleeve at the London presser.

Haha be hard to top the shower of dollars. Pretty demeaning..

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

Youre posts are so boring. Everything that you post is pathetic, truly utterly embarrassingly sad and desperate.

I think you are mistaking my posts for McGregors shtick......

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

That probably did more harm than good for everyone involved, maybe Mayweather comes out OK.

Still won't affect the buys in my view, will all be forgotten about in a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I can't understand all the thrash before the 2 fighters hit the stage, what's the point, there's no ads to make money in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭tinpib

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    Maybe I'm a fool, but the mood seems to have changed from two guys laughing hand in hand to the bank, to some kind of strange nasty semi racial genuine hate between them.

No I don't think so. Wouldn't be surprised if McGregor was encouraged to play it up by Mayweather. There is the story of Ali asking some opponent to call him a n-word in the press to stir up interest and the guy refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

jonon9 wrote: »
    Sucking the public dry. That was just dire.

Not for one minute would I assume he can *make* Conor do anything but a little word in his ear from John would be wonderful.

The last time he messed up this bad was El Chapo and even then he didn't really mess up too much.

Tonight he hit all sorts of bad heights - the racist stuff, the polar bear stuff, trying to get the crowd to hate him (why??), the weird rap references...

The whole point the crowd was on his side is Conor is *somewhat* charismatic and likeable (family man, child, loyal) contrasted to Floyd's villain (domestic abuse, strippers etc).

Dana White was fuming and he didn't hide it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Django99 wrote: »
    That probably did more harm than good for everyone involved, maybe Mayweather comes out OK.

Still won't affect the buys in my view, will all be forgotten about in a month.

Yep, was pretty bad. But London could be good. And even if London is ****e, there's a few weeks of slickly produced all access and embedded etc

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Here is the real low down on McGregor.

Roll on the fight.

At least post something from a reputable newspaper if you are gonna come in trolling. As for your other post keep it civil and dont be losing the run of yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Were you talking about his posts or that press conference. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Axwell wrote: »
    At least post something from a reputable newspaper if you are gonna come in trolling. As for your other post keep it civil and dont be losing the run of yourself.

Hold on, the Daily News is one of the biggest newspapers in the US. If that's not reputable then what is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Surprised Mayweather with his multiple criminal records is allowed in to the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 livelife

Every 2 seconds Mayweather - Yeah!!

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

I'm struggling to find anything to say to reply to this. I mean....emmmmm.....what the f**k..? Your dead serious too, I know well you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

tinpib wrote: »
    No I don't think so. Wouldn't be surprised if McGregor was encouraged to play it up by Mayweather. There is the story of Ali asking some opponent to call him a n-word in the press to stir up interest and the guy refused.

There's playing up to it and there's saying you're half black from the waist down, calling yourself blanco and a polar bear. Just capital B bad

It was horrendous but people have short memories.

Yeah I agree, people will just remember McGregor saying he's half black... and Mayweather throwing money on him.

As for this negatively affecting PPV, not a chance.........

Last night they looked like best mates, now there looks like there could be real beef..... people don't want to see friends fight, so why would that change anything. If anything the possibility that they now don't like each other will sell even more ppvs.

Also, most people don't watch pressers and so all they'll see are some photos and maybe a few clips.

Lots to look forward to, we're over six weeks out still... bit premature to be calling doomsday on it.

Hold on, the Daily News is one of the biggest newspapers in the US. If that's not reputable then what is?

Its a tabloid and about the 10th biggest in the US..hardly consider the 'real deal' on McGregor.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,657 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I haven't watch one presser live. They sound terrible, with the boxing dinoasaurs, "hip for the kids" musical acts and general nonsense.
    By the time I get home there's highlights of the main bits from the lads. That's good enough.

Sounds like this one went off the rails. Quick review anyone?

darced wrote: »

It sells when its entertaining, tonight was a car crash and probably set things backwards. They are lucky London is left at the end and Conor can probably get a good performance back on the cards at it. I doubt anyone is glad they stayed up to watch that to be fair.

I sort of called the brawl element correctly, that much was obvious from Dillon, Owen, Artem, Gerry Byrne etc the way they were posturing even at the beginning.

I don't know how they're going to rectify this mess but I suppose they either cancel London or hope to God they change the format to UFC-style and just ask them some damn questions about the fight.

Probably is jumping the gun re ppv effect but many hacks on twitter are calling this an almighty car crash.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

Mellor wrote: »
    I haven't watch one presser live. They sound terrible, with the boxing dinoasaurs, "hip for the kids" musical acts and general nonsense.
    By the time I get home there's highlights of the main bits from the lads. That's good enough.

In one word... MUCK

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

Just glad we've got London tomoro and Conor can redeem himself and this quickly gets forgotten.

I've never cringed so badly at someone whos normally so naturally cool.

He needs to say he's doing this for the battered women out there, and he's gonna KO this POS for them or something to get himself back in favour. Hope he's been holding it back for maximum impact in London.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

I've lived in New York for over 15 years. Daily News is one of the 3 daily newspapers there. It is as reputable as any other newspaper in the city unless you would like to enlighten me otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Not for one minute would I assume he can *make* Conor do anything but a little word in his ear from John would be wonderful.

The last time he messed up this bad was El Chapo and even then he didn't really mess up too much.

Tonight he hit all sorts of bad heights - the racist stuff, the polar bear stuff, trying to get the crowd to hate him (why??), the weird rap references...

The whole point the crowd was on his side is Conor is *somewhat* charismatic and likeable (family man, child, loyal) contrasted to Floyd's villain (domestic abuse, strippers etc).

Dana White was fuming and he didn't hide it.

Wonder surely you're questioning if it that isn't part of an actual narrative? I mean he could have just lost all sense and charisma overnight, but somethings up.

The audio wasnt to blame either McGregors set tonight as I think Comics call it was dreadful woulda bombed anywhere.

Mellor wrote: »

You missed nothing, it was delayed for ages. Conor came out in a fur coat and proceeded to give shout outs to rappers and claim he is half black - from the waist down and insult black women..he had very little else of interest to say. Floyd threw a load of dollar bills at him and called him a bitch. They did a fake scuffle on stage..people couldnt hear the audio and were pissed off. The end..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Surprised Mayweather with his multiple criminal records is allowed in to the UK.

When your stinking rich you can do anything.

Domestic abuse is coming up in London will bet my last penny on that.

Ok thank God Conor has calmed it down in the Q's backstage:

https://twitter.com/SInow/status/885672162463559680

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

A shocking shambles. Conor saying he was black below the waist and pelvic trusting to his "black female fans"whilst dressed as a washed up pornstar who wears sunnies to conceal the coked up eyeballs was disgusting inappropriate and embarrasing.

This foolhardly "I'll do whatever I want"attitude will be his downfall. A simpleton wouldnt act so foolishly. Maybe hes gone insane with megalomania who knows. This nonsense does damage to the fight moreso than promote it.

Mayweather embarassed him recording his incoherent rambling on polar coats and being half black.

Pure nonsense from Mcgregor least Mayweather calls it gor what it is when he thanked Dana for all the money

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

Probably is jumping the gun re ppv effect but many hacks on twitter are calling this an almighty car crash.

Can't see it killing PPVs at all - thats knee jerk, just didn't add any like Toronto will have done. Theyll be controversy with the CM comments and a the opinion pieces about him being a bit scummy will be shared a bit over the weekend. The image of Floyd making it rain will go viral mind.

But car crash it was. urgh.

............ hope to God they change the format to UFC-style and just ask them some damn questions about the fight.

Oh I agree with that 100%.

UFC format is much better....... they're boxers, not professional comedians. They need something to react off.... questions from press usual works well.

Hopefully Dana will have a word.... although not sure if they'd listen to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Its a tabloid and about the 10th biggest in the US..hardly consider the 'real deal' on McGregor.

Look, I'm having a go at you here but it's a tabloid format paper from a city with national circulation that has multiple pulitzer prize winning writers on staff and is nothing like British/Irish tabloids in content. If you think it's the NY answer to the Sun or Daily Mail you're so far off. It's more like getting the Times or Indo in to commuter friendly tabloid format. It's aimed at early morning commute reading, that's the only reason it's in tabloid size. It's a reputable, well respected news source.

Domestic abuse is coming up in London will bet my last penny on that.

Both of them have nothing else to talk about at this stage but make comments about women - domestic abuse and cheating. If they go down that route its gonna be just as much of a car crash as tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Agreed. This has been a different dynamic than what we're used to seeing in UFC with Conor. In UFC, he can play up the flashy persona and bury his opponents. By contrast, in this scenario, he's been the plucky underdog. But it's been working in Conor's favour, like the stuff he said last night about people doubting him being able to beat Aldo and proving them wrong. The fans lapped that up. He just needed to stay on that course.

Instead, tonight he tried to outdo Floyd Mayweather. He tried to play Mayweather using his old shtick. And there was no need for it.

He seems like he's been badly advised. Surely someone could have sat down with him and thought out an angle or a plan for tonight's press conference. If this was it, then he needs better advisors.