Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Open Championship 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Whats he doing with a 2 iron in the bag?

Phil Mickelson has 2x 3 irons. 1 normal and 1 bent to a 1 iron :eek:

Long iron keeping it lower than an equivalent wood I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

already +2 mcilroy 3 holes in he shouldn't have gotten married in mayo, the priest in cong must have put a curse on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

Takes an iron for safety and misses the fairway then doesn't get up and down from what looked a straight forward position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

With the crazy weather coming - these low scores will have a bigger impact on the event on day 1 than normal.

Serious gap starting on day 1.

Day's shoes are fairly outrageous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭blackcard

Jaysus lads .

Should we hold off a little on the Rory assumptions.

He has hit 4 full shots . 2 perfect and people going all Freudian
    I would love Rory to play well. However, he has played a number of poor shots and a couple of dreadful shots so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Strokeplay is a different animal lads. He'll settle yet.

Another drop for Rory. Just hope he doesn't let this round slip away now. Opening holes are the hardest it seems so still some chances for birdie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Jayop wrote: »
    Phil Mickelson has 2x 3 irons. 1 normal and 1 bent to a 1 iron :eek:

Long iron keeping it lower than an equivalent wood I guess.

heard on newstalk lastnight that he also has replaced the driver this week with a second 3 wood..

Butch is right about that"idiot needing escorting off the property".

allybhoy wrote: »
    heard on newstalk lastnight that he also has replaced the driver this week with a second 3 wood..

Eh? So He's not carrying a Driver at all?

Jayop wrote:
    Eh? So He's not carrying a Driver at all?

Nope. Didnt when he won the Open either AFAIR. carries a 3 Frankenwood, whatever that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Maybe it's time for Rory to get back practicing with the washing machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Jaysus lads .

He has hit 4 full shots . 2 perfect and people going all Freudian on him.

His body language says everything. As uninvolved as I've ever seen him. He looks likes someone on a Friday afternoon who has already missed the cut but has a few holes left to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

Butch is right about that"idiot needing escorting off the property".

Who.... Phil Mickelson??!!

Some mong who shouted" get in the hole".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

Or get rid of the wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Bogey No. 4 for McIlroy. Missed from 3ft.

I would prefer if he practiced with golf clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Trusty old Matt Kuchar

blackcard wrote: »

When he was a child he used to practise chipping the ball into the washing machine at home.

I know, I wasn't being serious but the way he is playing at the moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

When your lucks out its out

I know, I wasn't being serious but the way he is playing at the moment...

What home appliance or utensil would be good for practising putting?

I suppose the hoover would be very receptive

In fairness to Rory, he hasn't thrown in the towel but up against it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭luvthegame

Watched 12/13/14 and he is hitting it very well now. Superb tee shot on 14 there, not many getting it on line there.

luvthegame wrote: »
    Watched 12/13/14 and he is hitting it very well now. Superb tee shot on 14 there, not many getting it on line there.

Needs to finish with 2 birdies in the par 5's to stand any chance of getting a decent weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Jaysus lads .

He has hit 4 full shots . 2 perfect and people going all Freudian on him.

Freudian?

Sorry Paul Casey but you are a bit of a twat

Jayop wrote: »
    Needs to finish with 2 birdies in the par 5's to stand any chance of getting a decent weekend.

That's one of them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

2 shot penalty coming for Rahm. Think he caused the ball to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Sounds like Spieth has gotten the luck of the draw.

Forecast terrible for the morning but due to clear by 3 when he'll be back out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Not sure about that forecast... looks like it will be wet and windy all day from what I've read. Hopefully so... love to see them suffer :D

Looks like rain all day? Winds will be strong until late afternoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Peak wind in the am (22mph at 1300hrs) and chilly start to the day 12-14oc
    Some showers in morning, but Peak (70%) rain is in the evening (1800hrs onwards), possible hail and electrical discharging at 1700hrs.

Also, 75% humidity average, waning crescent moon, L2 air pollution and UV index of 3-4 for Southport.

(Bring a hat).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

Days trousers are a joke,and justin Thomas with the tie, no. Just no. Apart from that great first day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

AnneFrank wrote: »
    Days trousers are a joke,and justin Thomas with the tie, no. Just no. Apart from that great first day

I liked Justin Thomas.

Jason Day turning up in tracksuit bottoms and runners are unbecoming. With the obsession in making golf a "younger sport", nothing will be said to him by the people who run the sport but he most certainly won't be turning up at Augusta dressed like that. They would be ballsy enough to turn him away at the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I liked Justin Thomas.

Jason Day turning up in tracksuit bottoms and runners are unbecoming. With the obsession in making golf a "younger sport", nothing will be said to him by the people who run the sport but he most certainly won't be turning up at Augusta dressed like that. They would be ballsy enough to turn him away at the door.

I thought Day look class myself.Looked like he was going to burst into a bout of break dancing at any moment.

Golf seems to be overly fussy in general just look at that nonsense from the LPGA this week regarding it's dress code, he's not doing any harm to anybody and did he look any worse than Payne Stewart did years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I liked Rory's chinos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

yes i liked the chinos too, and i would have preferred Thomas's outfit without the tie but it's still golf attire,
    but days skinny tracksuits bottoms are just wrong, and disrespectful to golf imo, just like his shot time.
    Really don't understand how he gets away with it.Anyone have a guess at what the leading score will be after today ?
    I'll be surprised if anyone is under par

Dry, wind at 20mph and gusting harder than that. Flagsticks bending.
    Level Par this morning will be a great achievement.

Wind really affecting the putts and freaking the players out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Paul Casey standing still over a 3foot putt for 20 seconds. Never gonna sink it if you stand that long over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Sergio with an eagle on 5 after driving it through the green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Joost Luiten quietly plugging away. Bogey free for the tournament so far. . . -3 total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Anyone know if the Open website will be showing live coverage again today?

Watched it all day yesterday (https://www.theopen.com/LiveCoverage) but it's only showing a small highlight clip today, no live coverage:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Garcia injures himself after attacking a bush with his club after a bad shot :pac:

http://www.skysports.com/golf/news/14866/10955753/the-open-jon-rahm-in-royal-birkdale-rules-controversy

Jon Rahm is saying on the one hand that it was the referees decision and on the other that it was only his own explanation used as evidence.

I'll just be honest and say I don't like the guy. If there is any doubt it should be a penalty. If Lee Westwood saw it and said it I reckon there was something up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,128 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

http://www.skysports.com/golf/news/14866/10955753/the-open-jon-rahm-in-royal-birkdale-rules-controversy

Jon Rahm is saying on the one hand that it was the referees decision and on the other that it was only his own explanation used as evidence.

I'll just be honest and say I don't like the guy. If there is any doubt it should be a penalty. If Lee Westwood saw it and said it I reckon there was something up with it.
    To be fair, the question wasn't about whether it was a loose impediment or not, it was about whether it improved his lie and stroke path.

Westwood just said it wasn't a loose impediment. Rahm said it didn't improve his lie. So there's no real conflict there.