Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Season 7 Episode 2 "Stormborn" - "Book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

It has ventured into "standard tv fare" abit with Sam finding a cure after sneaking into the library a la Harry Potter. Some of the dialog is very clumsy too but they're steaming ahead at a rate of knots so it's to be expected, especially with the reduced episodes per season.

Loving Euron though, he came in there like a wrecking ball!
    That 3rd Sand Snake won't die, they've given her the most character, her mother is another thing though, she's properly done for, she'll probably drag a few down with her though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

razorblunt wrote:
    It has ventured into "standard tv fare" abit with Sam finding a cure after sneaking into the library a la Harry Potter. Some of the dialog is very clumsy too but they're steaming ahead at a rate of knots so it's to be expected, especially with the reduced episodes per season.

It's been downhill since they caught up with the books.
    razorblunt wrote:
    Loving Euron though, he came in there like a wrecking ball!

And I can never unsee the image of Euron in the Miley Cyrus video, thanks a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Did Euron know they were coming or just chance upon them? I'm assuming the Greyjoys were going Dragonstone --> Kings landing and Euron was going Kings Landing -> Dragonstone, was it a chance meeting half way or did he know they were coming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

rawn wrote: »
    Did Euron know they were coming or just chance upon them? I'm assuming the Greyjoys were going Dragonstone --> Kings landing and Euron was going Kings Landing -> Dragonstone, was it a chance meeting half way or did he know they were coming?

Yara, Theon and Ellaria were going to Dorne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

How come the Dornish ones weren't on their own ships that brought them to Dragonstone? How come the Unsullied weren't with them? They'd be sailing in the same direction as far as Dorne anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Yara, Theon and Ellaria were going to Dorne.

No Daeny told them to attack Kings Landing while the Dothraki/Unsullied took Casterly Rock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

No Daeny told them to attack Kings Landing while the Dothraki/Unsullied took Casterly Rock

Did they already stop in Dorne to pick up the sand snakes? Was the Dornish army there?

Wonder if Euron is going to die a bubbly poisoned death in the next episode.

There were going to march with the Dornish army, from Dorne,, combine with the Tyrrell army from Highgarden and blockade King's Landing was my understanding. The whole point was to not attack the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Dany was happy enough to let the dragons loose in Meereen.
    Nobody has fought dragons before. I doubt the iron fleet's weapons are geared for AA. Sure it seems like half the people still don't even believe she has any dragons.

If they're doing nothing else, some escort duty might be in order.

Do they have any fleet left now? Maybe the dragons can ferry her army across, 3 by 3?

Euron's Iron fleet is a resource, but it's rather strongly countered by fire-breathing dragons.

Dany seems to suffer from a lack of tactical thinking in general. Maybe they don't want to murder a whole town or take too many untoward risks with just 3 dragons, but surely hitting their docks, ships at anchor and other strategic and weakly defended resources would make sense.
    I'm sure she would've read her histories and there's plenty of examples of the Targaryens getting creative with their dragons in the history books and novellas.

I hope George comes up with a better explanation why the nuclear weapons of the ASOIAF world are just being left to hang around when they could be winning the war.
    Or that Dany goes ape**** next week, pulls the finger out and starts burning some folks.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Gbear wrote: »
    Or that Dany goes ape**** next week, pulls the finger out and starts burning some folks.

I think thats going to happen. In season 2 /ACOK we had 5 male leaders and they all ruined themselves one way or another and are all now dead.

In season 7 we have the war of the 5 queens (cersi, sansa, danny, asha/yara and yer wan from dorne). I base this on olyenna telling Danerys that the men of westeros are sheep and not to listen to them. She is the female varys. I aslo fully expect the five queens to die, mostly by the end of this season.

In re: nymeria, could it be that she physically recongised Arya but Aryas training went too far into making her "no one" and so she has lost the mental link?

Jon Snow dropping everything to run to Danerys is completely out of character.

Eurons american accent is really odd.

Overall, it seems like they are belting through it very quickly - not in the intricate slow build way that made the first seasons good. If you were to sit down and watch season 1 or 2 again and then the first two episodes of season 7, youd see how dramatically they have changed the pace. Kinda like they want to close off so many things at once.

Sam at the citadel is really bad. Poor tv effect of cutting from chamberpot to food and the fighting against the hierachy of the citadel is boring frankly. Sam is too well established a character now and theyve little time so it all seems very redundant. The opposite to the sudden closing of other plot lines, this seems to be trying to do a bit too much and very slowly.

We need to see the white walkers actually attacking because now its shaping up to be "big civil war in westeros but winners easily swat back undead hordes by working together" type story which isnt really balanced. More like a song of fire and an ice cube.

Eurons american accent is really odd.

He Danish?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

He Danish?

The actor yes but he puts on a weird Daniel Day Lewis in Gangs of New York type accent. And he looks like hes just come off stage at a Queens of the Stone Age gig wearing a leather jacket biker beard and a rock n roll swagger.

Speaking of bad accents, littlefinger seems to have stopped putting on an accent and now its just aidan gillen saying the lines. Id love to think that each accent is littlefinger playing a part, but still!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,153 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Enjoyed that episode. Lots of "Yay" moments:
    • Couple of sand snakes bought it. Always a good thing
    • Nymeria. You knew it was coming the instant her horse started moving but nice all the same. I always imagined her pack as being in the hundreds though.
    • Hot Pie. (I tell ya, that kid from Stranger Things got BIG :) )
    • Varys. When reading the books I always thought that: That he didn't give a sh*t who was on the throne so long as it was the right person to fight the walkers (Of course the last chapter of ADWD changed that a bit)
    • Jim Broadbent (Again)
    • Missander (Or however you spell it). Good God.
    • Was cool to see so many characters at the start: Dany, Tyrion, Lady Tyrell, Varys, even the sandsnakes/greyjoys. It was like The Anenge-eros

Not so "Yay"
    • Euron's still hanging around and his entrance was comically OTT
    • Rocket Fireballs. At one stage I thought it was Dany coming to the rescue.
    • Just, y'know.... please end sand snakes & boring vikings.
    • Dragon Crossbow.
    • Westeros Instant Messaging is getting even MORE instant. Silly at this stage.
    • Littlefinger getting more and more mustache-twirling. I always read him as being almost like Varys: He wants the best person on the throne but only so he can profit/influence. (Maybe that's just my memory of the books though)

Speaking of bad accents, littlefinger seems to have stopped putting on an accent and now its just aidan gillen saying the lines. Id love to think that each accent is littlefinger playing a part, but still!

I love Littlefinger.

He has dozens of reaction shots showing no reaction. Each time something happens I wonder if it's part of his plan.

Was the message from Dragonstone part of the plan?
    Is Jon hating him all part of the plan? :eek::eek:
    [*]Littlefinger getting more and more mustache-twirling. I always read him as being almost like Varys: He wants the best person on the throne but only so he can profit/influence. (Maybe that's just my memory of the books though)
    [/LIST]

"He would see this country burn if he could be king of the ashes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Ellaria and Tiene aren't hostages lads, they poisoned Myrcella and the next episode is called The Queen's Justice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Enjoyed that episode. Lots of "Yay" moments:
    • Couple of sand snakes bought it. Always a good thing
    • Nymeria. You knew it was coming the instant her horse started moving but nice all the same. I always imagined her pack as being in the hundreds though.
    • Hot Pie. (I tell ya, that kid from Stranger Things got BIG :) )
    • Varys. When reading the books I always thought that: That he didn't give a sh*t who was on the throne so long as it was the right person to fight the walkers (Of course the last chapter of ADWD changed that a bit)
    • Jim Broadbent (Again)
    • Missander (Or however you spell it). Good God.
    • Was cool to see so many characters at the start: Dany, Tyrion, Lady Tyrell, Varys, even the sandsnakes/greyjoys. It was like The Anenge-eros

Not so "Yay"
    • Euron's still hanging around and his entrance was comically OTT
    • Rocket Fireballs. At one stage I thought it was Dany coming to the rescue.
    • Just, y'know.... please end sand snakes & boring vikings.
    • Dragon Crossbow.
    • Westeros Instant Messaging is getting even MORE instant. Silly at this stage.
    • Littlefinger getting more and more mustache-twirling. I always read him as being almost like Varys: He wants the best person on the throne but only so he can profit/influence. (Maybe that's just my memory of the books though)

This regarding ravens? I see this complaint a lot around the internet.

I'd love to know what the people complaining consider an acceptable amount of time for a bird to be in transit. 3-4 episodes?

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Disposable1

Well that's kind of the point of all that wandering around Essos. Conquering is easy (once you have the firepower ;)), ruling is difficult. So it's logical that she's learned those lessons and would be wary of charging in, all dragons blazing.

Well the ointment is called a 'treatment', which one would assume prevents the greyscale from coming back once it's cut off. After all, the stuff seems to spread through the bloodstream, otherwise cutting off the visible manifestation would just be a painful way of passing the time.

No, Daenerys’ purpose in Essos is to gather an army/support with the end goal of returning to Westeros and taking her “birthright”. The fact that she stayed in Essos so long is a stalling tactic. This is the point I am making. Daenerys could not return to Westeros sooner for thematic reasons but more importantly for me, because the rules of narrative structure. Daenerys simply could not travel to Westeros until the final act, which we are in now. So, GRRM and the show runners had to give her something to do until it is narratively suitable for her to travel to Westeros, like the specific example I used in my original post, having her wandering the desert for an entire season/book. This is the point I am making. I would also like to point out that Daenerys has had opportunity to return home previously, for example when the royal families of Slavers’ Bay offered her the use of their ships to carry her to Westeros. As you say “conquering is easy when you have the firepower”, she has had this for quite some time. At this point Daenerys had more than an adequate force to take Westeros, more than enough resources and three dragons. Her primary motivation is to retake that which was taken from her, her “birthright”, the Iron Throne. This is her sole purpose for existing, it’s her narrative drive. She could have done it then and there, yet she didn’t. This is because ASOIAF is not just Daenerys’ story. She gives the excuse of learning how to rule, but the real reason is because it did not fit in to the narrative structure. So, they stalled her in Meereen. The vast majority of Daenerys’ storyline is stalling until the narrative is ready for her return to Westeros.

I am not claiming to be an expert but because of my background I can often see the mechanisms at work in a piece of writing or in a film. It seems you can not. This is not a criticism of you and is not meant to be cutting in any way. However, you do say “well, that’s the point of wandering all around Essos conquering is easy, ruling is hard.” This is where I fundamentally disagree with you. Can you please explain to me what Daenerys learns by wandering through the desert for a full season/book? How does this advance her character? In fairness, the show handles this thread better by having her arrive in Qarth sooner, and once there giving her more conflict, for example the multiple betrayals (her loyal handmaiden) and having her dragons stolen which I do not believe happens in the books. This does nothing for Daenerys other than give her something to do as other character narratives unfold. It is a stalling tactic. It is also tough to read, I would nearly prefer to wander the desert myself than sit through that again. I am not saying that Daenerys does not progress as a character or does not make progress towards her goal over the course of six seasons, she does, at specific points which are timed to the overarching narrative. The point I am making is that most of her story is stalling, or just giving her something to do until it is the correct time with regards narrative structure.

The immense scale of ASOIAF necessarily means that different characters/narratives progress at different speeds. There is also an overarching narrative. A Game of Thrones is also somewhat unique in that there will be a double climax, this complicates things somewhat. The first climax, and the one we have focused far more attention to, will see somebody sit on the Iron Throne. The second will be the war with the white walkers. This narrative is mainly a subplot as it only concerned the characters at the wall, the vast majority of characters are unaware of it, but paradoxically it is far more important to the characters. What this means is that narratives progress at different rates. So, some of the primary characters necessarily must be given something to do (or stalled) as narratives elsewhere progress. This is more true of characters who are not in Westeros, and is especially true of Daenerys. The vast majority of Daenerys’ storyline is stalling. This is not only true of Daenerys but it is especially true of her, lets just take the example of Tyrion once he leaves Westeros. Now I cannot remember exactly but once in Pentos he lives with a rich merchant, winds up a slave, falls in with sell swords, works as some sort of clown, has another little person lady fall in love with him, starts travelling with Aerys II Targaryen and is kidnapped by Jorah. Most of these storylines are unnecessary and are just giving him something to do.

Now, the specific example I used in my original post to illustrate my point is having Daenerys lost in the desert, however, you mention Essos. My argument is that the majority of Daenerys’ storyline so far has been a stall tactic, not all of it, but most. I think you were talking/meant Daenerys’ time in Slavers’ Bay and particularly Meereen. I also think that the fact that she remains there and so most of what happens there is also a stalling tactic. However, there may be an argument for your point here so let’s take a closer look.

Daenerys is like Winston Churchill, she is a very good war time ruler, but she is not a good peace time ruler. Meereen shows us this. She is a conqueror, multiple characters say this very thing to her many times. But more than anything else Meereen is simply to give Daenerys something to do until the rules of narrative structure allow her to progress to what she actually ought be doing and to fulfil her goal. Meereen gives Daenerys somewhere to be plausibly trapped. What is happening right now in the books? She is literally trapped in Meereen because the city is under siege. But more importantly for your argument, she is learning little to nothing while she is there, except how to rule poorly.

First of all, she is rigid, she cannot adapt. In some circles of political theory this is seen as the most important aspect of a leader. Politics is not about laying plans years in advance like a game of chess but rather dealing with the uppity b-word that is fate or ill fortune. It is about turning these events to your favour. There are instances of Daenerys doing this prior to Meereen, for example her marriage to Khal Drogo and more significantly his subsequent death (which she used to hatch her dragon eggs). However, once she gains power, Daenerys is a moral absolutist and does not compromise. For example, she is against slavery, so conquers Yunkai and Astapor. Then she just trots off and leaves them to their own devices. She does not establish a power structure or institutions of support. What happens? They are quickly retaken by the Masters in another bloody coup and the people are punished. They are worse off now than when she arrived.

She does not compromise or adapt as a leader, she simply follows her strict morality which leads her down a tunnel of bad choices with worse outcomes. For example in season five she turns down a peace offer that would free the Yunkai slaves and stop the conflict in her own city, Meereen, between her forces and the Masters of Meereen. She turns this offer down because of her moral absolutism. She will not reopen the fighting pits. This is despite evidence from free slaves who tell her they want to fight in the pits. This continues the slaughter in her streets and things are even worse for the slaves now that they are free.

The slaves do not have work. They are starving. She opens group houses for them, the conditions there are terrible, especially for elderly slaves. The young slaves rob from them and beat them. As I said previously, Daenerys is a war time leader, this is the only time she shows adaptability or thinking on her feet, for example her taking leadership of the Dothraki or her acquisition of the Unsullied in Astapor, however there are far more examples of her not being malleable or adaptable in peace time. So, in this aspect of leadership, what many political theorists say is the most important, she is a poor leader. But, most importantly with regards your argument she does not improve this while at Meereen or Essos in general. So, in her time in Essos she learns nothing about being a good leader.

In any given society there are different interest groups. In a good society, under a good leader, each interest group would discourse freely and interalia. If this does not happen it inevitably leads to violence. Now, lets take Meereen. There is not discourse with the old Meereenese families, the Masters. Daenerys grants audience to a representative but never takes their concerns about culture or the economy seriously. This directly leads to violence, for example The Sons of the Harpy. However she does not just disregard the Masters, she also does not listen to the majority of the people. To illustrate this take the example of the former slave that executes a Son of the Harpy. The attending crowd clearly vote to spare his life however Daenerys beheads him in front of them. The people petition her for better housing, she ignores them. So, this important aspect of Daenerys’ leadership is poor and there is no evidence to show that she learned anything, or improved it in her time in Meereen.

Daenerys is not interested in ruling Meereen. She spends here entire time in Meereen talking about how she is going to go home and conquer Westeros. She frees thousands of people and does not set up any supports. There is actually some fascinating literature about this subject, when the black slaves were freed in America, particularly an essay by W.E.B. Dubois but I can’t get in to it here. She does an extremely poor job of ruling in Meereen. Her time there is mired by the suffering of the people, war, starvation, pestilence ect,. A good leader ought to pursue the common good of the state while also seeking personal glory. Daenerys only does the second part. The goal of leadership is political stability. Tell me, is Astapor politically stable? Is Yunkai? What about Meereen? The answer to these questions is emphatically “no”. So, Daenerys learns nothing about being a good queen in Essos. I’ll repeat what I said earlier, Daenerys is a great leader in times of war, but when it comes to day to day leadership she is not good, furthermore she did not learn anything from her time in Meereen. She is a conqueror, this is said to her many times by many people for example in Season 6 Episode 06 “Blood of My Blood”:
    Daario Naharis: “You weren’t made to sit on a chair in a palace.”
    Daenerys: “What was I made for?
    Daario Naharis: “You’re a conqueror Daenerys Stormborn”.

So, what does this tell us? Daenerys makes decisions based on moral absolutism which often leads to rash decisions and her “doing the right thing” does not take in to account what the people actually want nor did she learn how to establish institutional structures to support her subjects. This is fairly important because now she is in Westeros with a hundred thousand fighting men, many of whom are ravaging, savage Dothraki. When the war is finished what is she going to do with them? How is she going to feed and house that many soldiers once the war is over? These men have no cultural knowledge of Westeros, they don’t speak the language and have no other skill set other than fighting (Unsullied). They are career soldiers. What is Daenerys’ plan? Evidence suggests that she does not have one, because she learned nothing from her time in Meereen.

These last few paragraphs clearly show that your argument, such that it is, holds absolutely no water what so ever. However, I do not want this to detract from my main argument that quite a lot of Daenerys’ storyline has been just stalling.

The political section of this post is based mainly on the series, but if you look at the Meereen section of the book there are even more of these stalling tactics, at the moment she trapped there because of a siege. Can not get more stalled than that. As I have said previously, what I refer to as “stalling tactics” or giving characters something to do until there time comes with regards to narrative structure is necessary, especially in a narrative as large as this one. Daenerys’ storyline is mainly a series of stalling tactics until it is the right time in the overarching narrative for her to arrive, which is the last act. But, if you still don’t believe me I’ll return to the example I used in my original post, she wanders the desert for significant period of time.

It is not just series that have an overarching structure but seasons too (and episodes, scenes and films). This is the reason Daenerys has not went straight on the attack, not as you say “So it's logical that she's learned those lessons and would be wary of charging in, all dragons blazing,” because I have clearly shown that she has not learned anything, in fact I have shown that it is when she is the warrior queen, it is when she is adaptable in battle that she has her greatest successes. I have given you examples of this, and I can give you more if you like. She had plenty of time to plan her conquering of Westoros en route to Westeros. She could have landed and gone straight on the attack, caught a good few people unawares, gather the support of more houses, most armies in Westeros would give up or give in as soon as they saw her dragons. Instead her hundred thousand soldiers are sitting a beach twiddling there thumbs. This is because of the rules of narrative structure, the battle that will see her sit on the Iron Throne must come as and at a climax. This will be episode six or seven. Until then what we will see is Daenerys stalling, being given things to do that really don’t matter all that much, until it is time for the showdown. There will be a few minor skirmishes, but the big battle will not occur until episode six, maybe seven. Generally in GOT episode seven sets up the next season, so something will happen with the White Walkers, perhaps they’ll breach the wall at Eastwatch-By-The-Sea, where Tormund is heading with the wildlings per Jon’s request.

As for what I said about regarding Sam, Jorah and the Grey Scale, my argument there was based on Sam saying that the ointment was “for the wound not the disease.” I rewatched that seen just before I wrote this, and he doesn’t say that the ointment is for the wound. He just mentions the ointment. So, I was mistaken there, and I am glad and satisfied with that because if all you had to do with grey scale was cut it off that would be a cop out.

While I am at it I just want to take a moment to gloat. Last week I argued that Arya did not know her kin had retaken the north. Others argued against me but this episode proved me right.

Finally and most importantly I want to reiterate that this post is in no way an attack on you. I have a serious issue when it comes to online communication. I tend to come across as aggressive, or catty or churlish. I absolutely do not intend this post to be anything other than pleasant towards you. If anything I’m thankful for your comments because it got me to think more deeply about mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Same. Was just about regretting defending the last episode but they pulled it back towards the end.

The thing that bothers me about Daenerys' storyline is that it's one big stall tactic. This is especially the case in the book where he has her lost in the desert for ages for example. Now she finally has her army in Westeros and we're offered some excuse why she's not using it. "We can't have foreign hordes laying siege".

Same with the grayscale, it's portrayed as some incurable, highly contagious pestilence, but all you do to cure it is cut off the infected areas. Cop out. I know there are concoctions and salves on the trolley nut Sam says they're for the wounds not the disease.

Grand Maester "Jorah, you're totes screwed babes, you'll live for ten years, but your mind has at most six months , you can go to Valeria or, and I must only subtly hint this, KILL YOURSELF."
    Sam: "Hold on there two secs....yep, done. Found the cure. It's actually fairly straightforward, and even though I have close to zero medical training, I think I can pull this off (pun intended)."

The whole point of laying siege to the city is to capture it, once captured Daenerys won't sack the city, she want's to rule it (and the 7 kingdoms). Doing so with a foreign army will make it very difficult to defend her claim and control her subjects. Bringing in a Westorosi army is a good strategy. Although the people do not like Cearsi, they would probably prefer her to a Dorthraki ruler, which is what the people will perceive Danaery's to be.

I also thought that the Arch Maester made it very clear that the remedy for greyscale is very dangerous and the creator of the cure died from greyscale. Maybe the risky procedure was banned to stop the spread of the disease in the major cities, especially the Citadel.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Aethan Dor

Well that's kind of the point of all that wandering around Essos. Conquering is easy (once you have the firepower ;)), ruling is difficult. So it's logical that she's learned those lessons and would be wary of charging in, all dragons blazing.

Well the ointment is called a 'treatment', which one would assume prevents the greyscale from coming back once it's cut off. After all, the stuff seems to spread through the bloodstream, otherwise cutting off the visible manifestation would just be a painful way of passing the time.

No, Daenerys’ purpose in Essos is to gather an army/support with the end goal of returning to Westeros and taking her “birthright”. The fact that she stayed in Essos so long is a stalling tactic........

Ah here dude, TL;DR

Got about half way then realised how much more there was and just thought, no offence intended here, you need to try learn 2 things, how not to be condescending and more importantly how to summarise effectively....

after all this is the thread for those who HAVE READ the books ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

No, Daenerys’ purpose in Essos is to gather an army/support with the end goal of returning to Westeros and taking her “birthright”. The fact that she stayed in Essos so long is a stalling tactic. This is the point I am making. Daenerys could not return to Westeros sooner for thematic reasons but more importantly for me, because the rules of narrative structure. Daenerys simply could not travel to Westeros until the final act, which we are in now. So, GRRM and the show runners had to give her something to do until it is narratively suitable for her to travel to Westeros
    Simone Howling Topographer is correct. You might use some of your knowledge of narrative structure in your posts. :rolleyes:

Here's one massive hole in your logic. Yes she could have come to Westeros earlier, but with baby dragons and no Dothraki or unsullied would have not only lost any war; she'd have no base in Dragonstone because, y'know Stannis, and because there are no slaves in Westeros to rise up against their masters, no chance of raiaing even a ragtag army. Viserys 2.0 I suspect.

Love the condescension though. :D

• Varys. When reading the books I always thought that: That he didn't give a sh*t who was on the throne so long as it was the right person to fight the walkers

Where did you get the connection between Varys and a desire to fight the Walkers/Others? Has there been any connection between them in the books?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,369 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

The acting was incredibly hammy this episode. Jon in the hall sounded like someone struggling to remember his lines or something. The character motivations are all over the place too. Retconning Varys' to be this white knight of the realm feels very tacked on.

Deaths these days mean nothing as they are being rushed and done for convenience over any kind of reason to push the narrative.

No cure for greyscale? Pull off the skin and put some cream on. Never mind that the tiniest bit of pus or blood would infect Sam.

Missandei and Grey Worm is outrageous considering what's been left out and rushed both this season so far and in the past.

A lot of other bad things but on the good side the scene with the dragon skull and the battle at the end looked really great even if the choreography was a bit lacking in the battle.

I like how Littlefinger has been an observer for the last while, thought Jon was going to tell him that he knows what happened with Ned but probably a bit early for that.

I also didn't think the passage of time could take on a more convenient role for the narrative but I've accepted that as being contradictory to what they've said as recently as the last episode :p. 1,000 miles between KL and Winterfell? Arya will be there next episode no doubt unless she runs into the brotherhood first.

Liam O wrote: »
    I also didn't think the passage of time could take on a more convenient role for the narrative but I've accepted that as being contradictory to what they've said as recently as the last episode :p. 1,000 miles between KL and Winterfell? Arya will be there next episode no doubt unless she runs into the brotherhood first.

How many episodes odd it take Robert to get there in season 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Daith

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Ellaria and Tiene aren't hostages lads, they poisoned Myrcella and the next episode is called The Queen's Justice...

"You like fire and blood do you?".
    No cure for greyscale? Pull off the skin and put some cream on. Never mind that the tiniest bit of pus or blood would infect Sam.

He was wearing gloves :P Yeah, it is ridiculous though. It seems too easy.

The Arya/Nymeria scene is so bittersweet. I loved the Bran/Summer pairing. It was a classic boy and his dog with Summer protecting Bran as much as possible. There was a finality to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Daith

....... wrote: »

It's been like that since "A Feast for Crows" in the books.

The acting was incredibly hammy this episode. Jon in the hall sounded like someone struggling to remember his lines or something. The character motivations are all over the place too. Retconning Varys' to be this white knight of the realm feels very tacked on.

Deaths these days mean nothing as they are being rushed and done for convenience over any kind of reason to push the narrative.

Missandei and Grey Worm is outrageous considering what's been left out and rushed both this season so far and in the past.

A lot of other bad things but on the good side the scene with the dragon skull and the battle at the end looked really great even if the choreography was a bit lacking in the battle.

I like how Littlefinger has been an observer for the last while, thought Jon was going to tell him that he knows what happened with Ned but probably a bit early for that.

Ahem. Arya headed north after her conversation with Hot Pie. You could tell this when she left the inn; everyone was heading in one direction and she turned her horse and headed in the other. Just in case you missed that, you could see snow in the direction she was heading and no snow in the other one. ;)

A bit heavy handed I thought, but then again...

I thought it was pretty clear from the books that Varys was for the people and not the nobility. All his 'little birds' were street urchins and the like.

I like the 'just pull off the skin' bit. Jorah would like to have a word with you on that 'just' business. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,369 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Ahem. Arya headed north after her conversation with Hot Pie. You could tell this when she left the inn; everyone was heading in one direction and she turned her horse and headed in the other. Just in case you missed that, you could see snow in the direction she was heading and no snow in the other one. ;)

A bit heavy handed I thought, but then again...

I thought it was pretty clear from the books that Varys was for the people and not the nobility. All his 'little birds' were street urchins and the like.

I like the 'just pull off the skin' bit. Jorah would like to have a word with you on that 'just' business. :)

Varys is for Aegon and that was clearly the plan early in the show until they decided that they couldn't fit Aegon.

I know why Arya headed north. Just there's no travel time or indication of where she is during the wolf scene. Just north, as if it's not the biggest area in Westeros. The scene with the wolves was a bit weird too. If there were references to wolf dreams in the episodes leading up to it or something maybe but just out of the blue after 6 seasons? The rushed loose end wrap up continues.

J. Marston wrote: »
    This regarding ravens? I see this complaint a lot around the internet.

I'd love to know what the people complaining consider an acceptable amount of time for a bird to be in transit. 3-4 episodes?

Those birds can cover huge distances at speeds up to 50kmh. Easily enough to convey messages in short time spans

Daith wrote: »
    He was wearing gloves :P Yeah, it is ridiculous though. It seems too easy.

Especially since it was hinted that dragonstone had something to do with Shireen, he had just read The Big Red Book of Dragonglass for Boys and it would be great if he met up with Dany and Jon in Dragonstone, told them to dig up the lass and we then had an army ready for the north. Would take out the "I have to go to her because dragonglass" part of Jons speech, which made it undeniable that he had to bend the knee to Dany.

Plus, Ser Jorah taking a dragonglass enema for the love of his life would be a really romantic plot twist. The things we do for love!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,406 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Those birds can cover huge distances at speeds up to 50kmh. Easily enough to convey messages in short time spans

How would that compare to the air speed velocity of an unladen african swallow?

Mickeroo wrote: »
    How would that compare to the air speed velocity of an unladen african swallow?
    Travelling north or south? ;)

Varys is for Aegon and that was clearly the plan early in the show until they decided that they couldn't fit Aegon.

I know why Arya headed north. Just there's no travel time or indication of where she is during the wolf scene. Just north, as if it's not the biggest area in Westeros. The scene with the wolves was a bit weird too. If there were references to wolf dreams in the episodes leading up to it or something maybe but just out of the blue after 6 seasons? The rushed loose end wrap up continues.
    Well I take it that she was still somewhere in the riverlands. Certainly the inn where she met Hot Pie is in that region. Somebody once did a 'how long it takes' map of Westeros covering travel by walking, horseback and ship.

We've had issues with travel time before in the series. The obvious answer is that it takes as long as it takes and the various scenes aren't linear in a 'this happened, followed immediately by this' kind of way. It'd be tiresome in the extreme if we had a travelogue in the Jaime and Brienne mould every episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

She was clearly at the Inn at the Crossroads on the Kings Road in the previous scene so she's north of that and south of Winterfell. Unless you want Arya to monologue about how many days she's been travelling and her ETA to Winterfell or perhaps and a shot of her passing a road sign saying "Winterfell - 150 km" that will have to suffice and I think most people are fine with that.

This is the furthest North Arya has been since Season 1, it takes several days to reach WF and we see she encounters her wolf, makes sense. No need for filler wolf dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Still to watch this probably won't be until tonight don't think I haven't wanted to post I have but only after watching it.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

2ndcoming wrote: »

Which Queen? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

She was clearly at the Inn at the Crossroads on the Kings Road in the previous scene so she's north of that and south of Winterfell. Unless you want Arya to monologue about how many days she's been travelling and her ETA to Winterfell or perhaps and a shot of her passing a road sign saying "Winterfell - 150 km" that will have to suffice and I think most people are fine with that.

This is the furthest North Arya has been since Season 1, it takes several days to reach WF and we see she encounters her wolf, makes sense. No need for filler wolf dreams.

that would be hilarious

Still to watch this probably won't be until tonight don't think I haven't wanted to post I have but only after watching it.

Thanks for letting us know. ;)

In fairness it has.

But why would Dany need Messendi to translate High Valyrian for her - is it not her mother tongue?

No - common tongue of Westeros is. The Targaryens left Valyria hundreds of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭sleepyholland

It's no coincidence that they decided to shoot the Sand Snakes fighting in as dark and fleeting a way as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Am i wrong in reading the wolf/Arya scene that Arya is going to follow Nymeria's lead and stick on mission, rather than rejoining her family.

The parallels between Nymeria going off without a human companion and Arya heading off without proper :D adult supervision for assassin training are strong, IMO.

And Nymeria rejected the offer to go to Arya, so maybe Arya realises heading home to her family before her mission is completed isnt the best thing to do.

I thought i saw a look of realisation on Arya's face after the Nymeria meetup.

A lot of people are complaining about it being very dark and hard to see at times. I wonder is that to do with the time of year we're watching it now. I mean it's not full dark until almost ten and the show airs at nine when it's still fairly bright.

I know I've been watching it early in the morning and have then watched it again later at night and it's a massive difference.

Pter wrote: »
    Am i wrong in reading the wolf/Arya scene that Arya is going to follow Nymeria's lead and stick on mission, rather than rejoining her family.

The parallels between Nymeria going off without a human companion and Arya heading off without proper :D adult supervision for assassin training are strong, IMO.

And Nymeria rejected the offer to go to Arya, so maybe Arya realises heading home to her family before her mission is completed isnt the best thing to do.

The look on her face relates back to series one when Ned said she'd grow up to be a lady with fine clothes and Arya said "that's not me". The same for Nymeria. Being a 'pet' direwolf is not her any more and Arya recognises that. As well as which, Nymeria now has her own 'family'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Pter wrote: »

My interpretation was that Nymeria rejected to be Arya's pet/sidekick like Ghost and Summer were. That is what is expected of a Stark Direwolf, in the same way it was expected for Ayra to be a lady of the court. When Ned tells her in season 1 she may be a lady of a castle one day, Arya replies...

"No, that's not me" Arya - Season 1

In the scene with Nymeria, Arya realises that Nymeria like her is different and because they are both different they are perfect for each other, two undomesticated survivors.

"No, that's not you" Arya - Season 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Thats a good shout - thank you for the clarification/alt theory :)

Did she not actually say it was her mother tongue when she let Kraznys know she had understood him all along?

I can't remember, did she? If so, she had plenty of time to learn by that stage. Regardless, surely at the beginning of the series, Jorah was teaching her and translating, no?