Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Road to London....... Build up to World Championships mod notes #342 and #653

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,600 ✭✭✭✭walshb

That 5,000m!

Is that a question?

Yes, the 5000 in Athens. Super race and Bekele not up top EL Gs level that day.

Mo is just a jammy bastid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

walshb wrote: »
    Is that a question?

Yes, the 5000 in Athens. Super race and Bekele not up top EL Gs level that day.

Mo is just a jammy bastid!

If it was a question, it would have had an inquisitive tone and a question mark.

It was merely an exclamation after you brought it up, as if to convey a sense of "my god, what a ****ing race that was."

If it was a question, it would have had an inquisitive tone and a question mark.

It was merely an exclamation after you brought it up, as if to convey a sense of "my god, what a ****ing race that was."

I thought that, but just wanted to be sure.....

Better race was the 2003 world 5000 final. Again, EL G got the better of Bekele and came so so close to winning. A very young Kipchoge spoiling it.

I thought that, but just wanted to be sure.....

Better race was the 2003 world 5000 final. Again, EL G got the better of Bekele and came so so close to winning. A very young Kipchoge spoiling it.

Yeah I usually think of the two of them together two but can't beat El G getting his double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Going in heat 17 of 17 in the media 800m race. Gillick down in heat 6. Could see an Irish 1-2-3. This as good as it's going to get for us at London 2017.

Having a pre race pint here. Hoping this is the secret.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Going in heat 17 of 17 in the media 800m race. Gillick down in heat 6. Could see an Irish 1-2-3. This as good as it's going to get for us at London 2017.

Having a pre race pint here. Hoping this is the secret.

Give us a shout when you're home.....I am expecting sub 2...

Gillick? Sub 1.55.

Give us a shout when you're home.....I am expecting sub 2...

Gillick? Sub 1.55.

Sub 2 for 700m maybe...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

RuMan wrote: »
    If my aunt had balls....

Half the job of an elite athlete is staying fit and peaking for major championships. Mo does it consistently as (until now) has Bolt. That's what makes them great champions.

Some injuries aren't avoidable. Bekele always peaked for major championships aswell. This isn't a case of if's and but's, Bekele is easily the greatest distant runner of his generation and arguably of all time. You can only beat what's in front of you from Mo's point of view, but that doesn't mean you can't point out that circumstance has made him fortunate.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Sub 2 for 700m maybe...

Join in on the second lap and go for sub 60....

Some injuries aren't avoidable. Bekele always peaked for major championships aswell. This isn't a case of if's and but's, Bekele is easily the greatest distant runner of his generation and arguably of all time. You can only beat what's in front of you from Mo's point of view, but that doesn't mean you can't point out that circumstance has made him fortunate.

But who is to say that Mo could not run a sub 12 40 if he was being pushed to by the likes of Bekele...

Mo is actually a faster miler and two miler than Bekele. Mo has/had the leg speed. With the right people pushing him and asking of him to go faster over 5 and 10 then really he is, or would have been every bit as capable of those Bekele times...

Although very close in age they competed in "different eras" as regards when they peaked and had success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

Eurosport coverage is great, but Rob Walker...Jaysus.

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

I have to agree with this. I think the Farah era has been a week one for the 5k and 10k. He is only 31st on the 5k all time list and 16th on the all time 10k and the majority of the times ahead of him were run pre his medal winning years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

IS WVN a complete no hoper now?? gone out to 3/1 from long odds on

also who wins the womens 400 hurdle tonight?

akelly02 wrote: »

He's not a no hoper at all but he looked absolutely exhausted last night.

Looking at the semis he should not medal. He looked very ordinary...

His best over 200 is a recent time and is a very good time. Certainly medal capable when you factor in that there's no Bolt or Blake at their best. No Gatlin either.

This final will barely break 20. So, unless he was holding back then I can't see him medal.

If that was him holding back you would have to call it a risky semi final run.

On a separate note/observation, he just doesn't look like a 200 meter runner/winner....

Amazing to think he has sub 44/20 and 10 times over the three distances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

Looking at the semis he should not medal. He looked very ordinary...

His best over 200 is a recent time and is a very good time. Certainly medal capable when you factor in that there's no Bolt or Blake at their best. No Gatlin either.

This final will barely break 20. So, unless he was holding back then I can't see him medal.

If that was him holding back you would have to call it a risky semi final run.

On a separate note/observation, he just doesn't look like a 200 meter runner/winner....

Amazing to think he has sub 44/20 and 10 times over the three distances.

He looked so poor. Looks like richards from T+T has a great chance so

Makwala will win it. It's written in the stars.

TJ final at 2020 hrs. Could be a WR on for Christian Taylor?

Possible but unlikely imo.

Nice evening with 2 metres behind him and hits the board right.........you never know.

Is it possible that the Track has "slowed down" a little and the athletes are not getting the return on impact that they did previously? Sprint times have been very average across the board.

Suzuki in the 5k looks to have a good engine :)

Cathal first 1:54:54, Feidhlim 2nd in 1:57, Gillick 5th, 2:01. Yours truly 25th 2:25.03, around 150-160 runners. Great craic as always.

Some final lap in that 5,000m heat. Huddle really went to pieces over the last 150m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,051 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Poor Huddle,sounds like she's through as fast loser though, great finish.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,051 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

darced wrote: »
    Interesting heats of the women 800m, there seemed to be a person of dubious sex in each heat. What the hell is going on?

My wife did say something along those lines too. I don't think the IAAF have resolved this issue to anyone's satisfaction yet, or anywhere near.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Well I'm pretty sure they're women they just have high testosterone levels making them rather manly. No rules against it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Interesting perspective I read elsewhere on why the women's 800m seems to contain a lot of inter-gender/high T athletes.

The suggestion that, as their all from developing countries which may not have access to specialised sprint coaches, the 800m athletes in question can use their raw power to dominate the event.

Although a complex issue which may never be solved satisfactorily, I do feel a lot of sympathy for those women with normal hormone levels.

The question is, what is normal? If they set a limit, is an athlete with a testosterone level less than the limit at an "unfair" disadvantage to one whose level is right at the limit?

Ross Tucker covered this best during last year's Olympics in my book. The sport has decided that the appropriate dividing line for clarification is on the basis of gender. That should be the end of it.