Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Road to London....... Build up to World Championships mod notes #342 and #653

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Interesting perspective I read elsewhere on why the women's 800m seems to contain a lot of inter-gender/high T athletes.

The suggestion that, as their all from developing countries which may not have access to specialised sprint coaches, the 800m athletes in question can use their raw power to dominate the event.

Although a complex issue which may never be solved satisfactorily, I do feel a lot of sympathy for those women with normal hormone levels.

I feel a lot of sympathy for women who have their genders and hormone levels publicly discussed at every major athletics meet.

I know what you're saying about having sympathy for female athletes with testosterone levels within the accepted range - it must feel like some high-testosterone women are impossible to beat - but these women aren't cheating or doping and they're running within the rules as they exist now. Also, it's not as if high testosterone on its own lets them decimate the field - Duttee Chand, the Indian intersex sprinter is WAY slower than Caster Semenya, so obviously talent and training come in to it too.

I know it's a complex issue, but I just feel so much sympathy for women who a) maybe didn't even know they had this condition until they were tested in competition and b) don't get much praise for their hard work and talent because everyone feels their genetics make it easy for them.

Good on Laura Muir for refusing to be drawn on the issue in her post-1,500m interview.

Also, I don't think we can tell just by looking at runners that they are intersex or have androgen insensitivity or high testosterone - I think there are always outliers in sport who may look very muscular / very thin / very tall / very small and that doesn't necessarily mean they have any kind of condition.

Didn't mean to hone in on that one issue! Am really enjoying the World Champs, some great performances.

Chivito, is there any video of the media race online? Sounds like Ireland did well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Kurt.Godel

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Cathal first 1:54:54, Feidhlim 2nd in 1:57, Gillick 5th, 2:01. Yours truly 25th 2:25.03, around 150-160 runners. Great craic as always.

Well done on 25th best in the world Chivito, no-one can ever take that from you ;) Its a pleasure reading your reporting from the Champs, straight up the best reports I've read. Keep up the good work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

Is the triple jump over?? If so who won??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

akelly02 wrote: »
    Is the triple jump over?? If so who won??

Only round 2 so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

It's a very good triple jump too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭akelly02

Taylor really not impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Anti-climatic Triple jump final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,600 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Like I thought...slow time..blanket finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

Winner in a Turkish vest, wearing the Azeri flag - taking the mick there.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

This nonsense of separating them to the 1-1000th of a second...both should be given silver...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Nice to see a different country winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Disappointing 200 final. The crowd didn't get win from WVN or the sentimental favorite Makwala

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

walshb wrote: »
    But who is to say that Mo could not run a sub 12 40 if he was being pushed to by the likes of Bekele...

Mo is actually a faster miler and two miler than Bekele. Mo has/had the leg speed. With the right people pushing him and asking of him to go faster over 5 and 10 then really he is, or would have been every bit as capable of those Bekele times...

Although very close in age they competed in "different eras" as regards when they peaked and had success.

And who is to say Bekele could not run quicker if he was ever really pushed? Bekele always had another gear or two in him if he really needed it, but was always so far ahead/comfortable it was never necessary.

Mo may be a faster miler, but that isn't much good if he isn't a faster miler at the tail end of a 10k+ race. I've seen Bekele kick from over 500 meters out, no athlete past or present could stay with that. Just a pity distance running is a fairly poor standard at the moment

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Van Niekirk started falling apart about 20m from the line. Shame for him but a kick in the balls for Makwala after everything that's happened.

And so much for the IAAF wanting to crown their new superstar. They should make a point of pushing several athletes instead of trying to find one to replace Bolt.

Brits have had a lot of 4ths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Good to see Richards is well pleased enough, gold was there for the taking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Great Britain having a poor championships to date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

Athletics will have to come to terms with the fact that WVN is no Usain Bolt. I great 400m runner, but not the duel start many had thought he would be.

Very emotional WVN, Phil Jones is a nice fella in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,532 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Both WVN and Makwala will be kicking themselves after that. Reminds me of Kim Collins winning the 100 in Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Athletics will have to come to terms with the fact that WVN is no Usain Bolt. I great 400m runner, but not the duel start many had thought he would be.

Far harder to do the 400/200 than then 100/200.

Forgetting the double and what's harder the guy doesn't have that Bolt magic. That charisma and personality...

I'll only ever tune in to see if he can go sub 43...

200? Can't see him ever becoming a great at 200..

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭Braken

When Johnson did the double in Atlanta in 96 the 200/400 was structured to suit him,the heats didn't overlap,also Johnsons training program was specific to 200/400. While VanNekerk and Makwala was for 400
    and hoping their talent would bring them through in the 200...Ramil Guliyev broke 10 seconds for the 100m earlier in the season to become the 2nd white man to do so,he was brining some form to the championship...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

Johnson also had an extra round in both events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Kurt.Godel wrote: »
    Well done on 25th best in the world Chivito, no-one can ever take that from you ;) Its a pleasure reading your reporting from the Champs, straight up the best reports I've read. Keep up the good work!

Official results have me at 26th.

Cheers. Good few more to come, though one or two will be held back for publication as a leadup to Diamond League etc.

Great Britain having a poor championships to date.

I was thinking the same thing....No real names or starts or bankers....

Braken wrote: »
    When Johnson did the double in Atlanta in 96 the 200/400 was structured to suit him,the heats didn't overlap,also Johnsons training program was specific to 200/400. While VanNekerk and Makwala was for 400
    and hoping their talent would bring them through in the 200...Ramil Guliyev broke 10 seconds for the 100m earlier in the season to become the 2nd white man to do so,he was brining some form to the championship...

Guliyev first white male winner of a 100/200 major title (world or Olympic) since the Greek cheat kenteris in Sydney 2000? He actually ran the exact same time of 20:09

Edit kenteris also won in the wc in 2001

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

The irony of Seb Coes stance on nationality transfers only to see IAAF goldenboy and Bolts heir apparent being beaten by a transfer for Turkey s first gold (and him wearing his home nation flag with pride )

Fair play to Guliyev great to see junior phenoms make it to the top of the world stage

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The irony of Seb Coes stance on nationality transfers only to see IAAF goldenboy and Bolts heir apparent being beaten by a transfer for Turkey s first gold (and him wearing his home nation flag with pride )

Fair play to Guliyev great to see junior phenoms make it to the top of the world stage

Was wondering if the flag may cause him problems though.
    A British skiier had trouble in the winter Olympics years ago after dieing his hair in the design of the Scottish flag (them being a non-Olympic nation) and nearly got kicked out. He then had other issues with a Vicks nasal spray but that's a different story.
    The Russian Authorised Neutral Athlete who came second in some event looked a bit deflated at the end of his as it was probably drummed into them that whatever they do they can't run around the track with a Russian flag at the end or he'd get kicked out so he wasn't quite sure what to do for a celebration. Crossed the line and looked all "Yay, I've won a medal" but then a moment later sloped off.

Maybe the worlds are not quite as strict on it, but think he'd have problems in the Olympics carrying around the wrong flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

Just watched the 200 there, thought rvn done great consider his semi final and having won the 400 already, I imagine he'll go for the double again after that.