Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good Friday could soon be Great Friday

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

awec wrote: »
    You mean like the May, June and August public holidays?

Even the October one really, who really gives a feck about Halloween? The state doesn't.

October one is just a public holiday and is nothing to with Halloween.

Is always the last Monday of October, which could be any date from the 25th.

Many people seem to think it's a Halloween bank holiday though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

daheff wrote: »
    And it'll stop being an unofficial day off too. People will whinge more about that than not being able to drink in the pub for one of two days a year

Careful what you wish for people

An unofficial day off? For who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

wnolan1992 wrote: »

Why would politicians pander to the minority?

Surely if the majority want the ban to remain, there's more votes in keeping it than scrapping it?

Or does the majority not give a toss either way really, and this was done to put the stupid, repetitive argument to bed once and for all?

And just like that, traffic on Boards.ie dropped by 20%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Míshásta

Ah! Shur Gawd help us; the poor Toorishts.

Has nobody mentioned the "Tourists" argument yet. They come here wanting to enjoy the authentic Oirish Pub Experience and they have to spend the day sitting in their hotel room because they haven't done enough research on Google about our quaint religious feast days. I'm sure they'll be an explosion in the numbers visiting now that we've freed ourselves from this repressive religious ban on alcohol.

I've nothing against the new law, but the argument that we should have it changed to facilitate visitors annoyed me.

I personally am advocating a ban on anyone visiting Northern European countries because they still have restrictions on Sunday trading. Don't they realize the "Shopping Experience" is a big attraction for so many Irish ladies. Lets put pressure on to liberate those populations from the last vestiges of Christian superstition. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Ann_Landers

If tourists were the only reason given, that post might work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

topper75 wrote: »
    Bad precedent to set.

Isn't having Easter Monday off also a bit churchy?

Religious fests like St. Patrick's day and Christmas Day would have to go too if we push the senator's rationale all the way. You'd be left with just NYD, Halloween, and a few summer Mondays.

Pretty brutal sounding this church/state separation thing. Or can we cherry pick? The old Irish hypocrisy prerogative?

Replace the Easter Monday off with a Bank Holiday commemorating the Easter Rising on the 3rd Monday of April.

St. Patrick's Day can be kept and celebrated as an officiall "Independence Day" akin to 4th of July.

If businesses want to open on Christmas, let them. Most won't because of tradition and there's a Bank Holiday on New Year's anyway.

See? Problem solved keeping people's precious days off, but celebrating stuff that actually happened in our country's history as opposed to fairy tales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

seamus wrote: »
    Why?

Because it was traditionally given to allow Dublin public service workers for the long trek home to culchie land at Easter. You're around these parts long enough to know that Seamus. It's religious based. And the trek isn't a 4-5hr trek anymore. If we are going to abandon our religious traditions and people are for this it only follows that the days off should be pulled back also. No?

Yes. 100% yes.

We have a chap in our office who works Christmas day, he is a Jehovah's Witness. He is entitled to the day off, bit the man is decent and works it because he doesn't believe in Santa in his religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

myshirt wrote: »
    Because it was traditionally given to allow Dublin public service workers for the long trek home to culchie land at Easter. You're around these parts long enough to know that Seamus. It's religious based. And the trek isn't a 4-5hr trek anymore. If we are going to abandon our religious traditions and people are for this it only follows that the days off should be pulled back also. No?

Yes. 100% yes.

We have a chap in our office who works Christmas day, he is a Jehovah's Witness. He is entitled to the day off, bit the man is decent and works it because he doesn't believe in Santa in his religion.

The country has a certain amount of public holidays anyway. If it wasn't Christmas, Easter or St Patrick's day, it would be other days instead.

Suggesting that the number of days off should be reduced for people that don't observe religion is just ridiculous.

I'm sure your colleague got another day off in exchange for him working on Christmas day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

No, he didn't.

And Good Friday is not a Public Holiday.

Talking about Public Holidays though, why is it ridiculous to ask that we give back the Catholic religion driven ones if we are abandoning catholic religion in this country? Why is that ridiculous?

Look at the amount of public holidays in the states and the amount of annual leave they get, maybe 2 weeks if lucky. We have way too many days off in this country, and way too many in the Public Service. Could be 30 days annual leave plus Fat Thursday and Good Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

No, he didn't.
    He should have asked at least. I'm sure he would have got it.
    And Good Friday is not a Public Holiday.
    In Ireland that is true but in many countries it is a public holiday
    Talking about Public Holidays though, why is it ridiculous to ask that we give back the Catholic religion driven ones if we are abandoning catholic religion in this country? Why is that ridiculous?
    I'm not suggesting that it's ridiculous for non-religious people to give up Christian holidays.
    What I was saying was that people shouldn't be expected to work more days just because they are not religious.
    I'm saying they could take another day off instead.
    Look at the amount of public holidays in the states and the amount of annual leave they get, maybe 2 weeks if lucky. We have way too many days off in this country, and way too many in the Public Service. Could be 30 days annual leave plus Fat Thursday and Good Friday.
    Most states get about 10 public holidays per year including Christmas day. However the number of other days off work tend to be up to the employer which is usually 2 to 3 weeks on top of the public holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Should have left it as was. I'm not religious or an alco but will miss the good Friday party's, the panic buying and the craic of a day where you can't have something .... but you can always get it. It's quirky irishness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Good Friday will now just be normal Friday in pubs and off licenses and I bet the end result will be in fact less alcohol consumed that day from now on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Plenty of organisations do not give people the day off for Good Friday and I would expect to see the number who do dwindle future over the coming years. The pubs will be open and I don't have a problem with that but they'll be stuck in work, so they won't get to drink. My parents own a company and they always gave staff the day off. They are planning on binning that now.
    BailMeOut wrote: »
    Good Friday will now just be normal Friday in pubs and off licenses and I bet the end result will be in fact less alcohol consumed that day from now on.

The change does not relate to off-licenses. It's pubs only from what I read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

The first Good Friday that the pubs are open will probably be an occasion for some to go on the lash - for the novelty of it - but after that, there won't be any special appeal. Besides, most people I know can't physically or financially afford to go beering three nights in a row. The friday night is always the quietest night of any b.h. ime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Fuaranach wrote: »
    I look forward to all the fúckwits who want to remove anything connected with the Christian tradition on this island having to work seven days per week, every week -never talking a day off it it's part of a Christian tradition.

You'll hear the same people whinging about the lack of holidays at that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭vegetables

I look forward to all the fúckwits who want to remove anything connected with the Christian tradition on this island having to work seven days per week, every week -never talking a day off it it's part of a Christian tradition. And then purge every word from their language which has even a hint of that tradition. And Christian first names, and surnames deriving from that tradition- be careful there. Indeed a promise that they'd never use a word which is etymologically associated with the Christian tradition would be both consistent with their idiotic ideology and good for the eardrums of the rest of us.

Dosey shower of benighted, historically detached self-flagelatting reactionary mob-following cúnts - who would have been side-by-side with the Roman Church and the Blueshirts burning socialists like Jimmy Gralton out of Leitrim had they lived there in the 1930s.

There are very, very, very few radicals in Irish society in any generation - and being an atheist in 2017 is about as conservative a position today as being a Roman Catholic was in 1933. Radical me arse. Nothing but fashion followers of our time.

+1'd for crankiness.

kids these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I look forward to all the fúckwits who want to remove anything connected with the Christian tradition on this island having to work seven days per week, every week -never talking a day off it it's part of a Christian tradition. And then purge every word from their language which has even a hint of that tradition. And Christian first names, and surnames deriving from that tradition- be careful there. Indeed a promise that they'd never use a word which is etymologically associated with the Christian tradition would be both consistent with their idiotic ideology and good for the eardrums of the rest of us.

Dosey shower of benighted, historically detached self-flagelatting reactionary mob-following cúnts - who would have been side-by-side with the Roman Church and the Blueshirts burning socialists like Jimmy Gralton out of Leitrim had they lived there in the 1930s.

There are very, very, very few radicals in Irish society in any generation - and being an atheist in 2017 is about as conservative a position today as being a Roman Catholic was in 1933. Radical me arse. Nothing but fashion followers of our time.

*The following is posted with the knowledge that the above post is, most likely, someone looking for angry responses, but there's just so much wrong here that it demands debunking*

What in the name of christ are you scuttering on about?

The 5-day work week may have been brought about due to religion, but it has transcended that meaning throughout the years. It's not mandated in law that companies give employees Saturday and Sunday off for religious purposes, it's just part of workers rights to have time off.

Removing words from the language? No reasonable person suggests this. In fact, it's usually pissed off religious people who get angsty when non-religious people use phrases like "What in the christ is Fuaranach on about?" or "Jaysus, Fuaranach seems like a barrel of laughs, let's invite him to all our parties".

Your surname and forename rant is equally as nonsensical.

Your last two paragraphs are the incomprehensible ravings of a lunatic.

The difference removing specific laws which only exist because of religion (closure of pubs on Good Friday, ban on same sex marriage, prayers before Dail sessions, publicly funded schools adhering to a particular ethos (and note, I did not say remove religious education from public schools, or removing schools of particular ethos), etc), is that these laws force people who do not ascribe to a particular religion to live by that religion's teachings.

If a Christian truly believes that consuming alcohol on Good Friday is wrong, they are perfectly capable of making the choice to not drink on that day. If, on the other hand, you're not religious and you'd like to enjoy a pint or two with your friends after work on a Friday evening, you can do so. The only difference is that the Christian belief isn't being forced upon others.

It never fails to amuse me that Christians get so angry about the "evil atheists!" trying to scrub remnants of Christian culture out, when realistically:
    a) Pretty much every non-religious person is of the "Hey, you do you as long as you're not forcing your beliefs on others."
    and
    b) How many indigenous cultures has Christianity been responsible for stamping out over the years through colonialism and conversion?

It's a pity to see this go, I'm as fond of the drink as anyone but not drinking on food Friday is hardly an issue and I was happy to do as it's part of being Catholic.

It was something different about the day that the pubs where closed too, made it feel a little different when in around town etc (I always get the day off).

The American attitude to time off is disgraceful, you need holiday and days off and lots of them. Many countries have more than we have and are looking at reducing working hours and moving to 4 day weeks as it's better for productivity. Even where some people only get 20 days and the bank holidays, that just not enough as I get a good bit more and don't think I even get enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,533 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It's a pity to see this go, I'm as fond of the drink as anyone but not drinking on food Friday is hardly an issue and I was happy to do as it's part of being Catholic.

Next year you'll be dragged off the street into a pub, a funnel and tube pushed down your throat and tied down underneath a flowing beer tap.

Beerboarding. It's all part of their devious godless plans. Fact.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

How so?

It's one of those things... Once you start peeling back these ideals the day just becomes just another day and them it's suddenly a normal day.... Everybody works on a normal day