Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Middle of the road jeep

• 20-07-2017 7:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭

Currently have an 04 RAV4, turbo giving bother so may upgrade, what is a good alternative maybe 09/10 reg. pulling a 10x5 cattle box 15/16 times a year and other handy bits, budget won't stretch to a cruiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

https://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/05-mitsubishi-pajero-sport/16098300

I had one of these for years . Could not fault it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭Grueller

I keep saying it here but an Isuzu dmax. Wouldn't get the better of one with a sledge.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

20 yr old cruiser here, no D4d issues anyway.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

blue5000 wrote: »
    20 yr old cruiser here, no D4d issues anyway.

There's something up when it's the lads with the old jeep's ( myself included) that have less complaints than the people splashing out on new ones.
    Anyone driving a new land cruiser ? Two lads I know have them this year , one lad reckons it ain't a patch on the old one except it's lighter on juice and the other boy isn't really happy with his but has no specific complaint either .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Bullocks wrote: »
    There's something up when it's the lads with the old jeep's ( myself included) that have less complaints than the people splashing out on new ones.

I hazard a guess there is more expected of a €50k+VAT machine than a 5k donedeal special!

I have a 03 Cruiser, but I bet anything an 172 would be nicer!

maidhc wrote: »
    I hazard a guess there is more expected of a €50k+VAT machine than a 5k donedeal special!

What will it be like in 2037 though? Or even 2027?

blue5000 wrote: »
    What will it be like in 2037 though? Or even 2027?

That's what I'm thinking aswell , it's a lot of money to spend to be disappointed with . I'll be driving mine into the ground .

I drive a 142 pick up for work but much prefer when I use the 04 jeep . It's not an exact comparison but the newer yoke just doesn't feel as solid or lasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭jd06

I was looking for a crew cab roughly 06,07 I need it for the kids too and cheap tax
    Any ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Who2

any chance of a few pics blue. I love those older jeeps. if i could find one of the first landcruisers i give anything for it. Drove one in Aus for a while and one of the most enjoyable machines to drive. ive an 03 hilux that im fairly fond of, nothing a phase tester and a bag of spanners cant fix on it. I drive a discovery at the weekends and while its far superior comfort wise, i just dont feel comfortable driving it, plus any jeep, you should be able to hop in and out of dirty. I couldnt be getting in and out of 60k's worth of a jeep covered in dirt and not feel bad about it.

Who2 wrote: »
    any chance of a few pics blue. I love those older jeeps. if i could find one of the first landcruisers i give anything for it. Drove one in Aus for a while and one of the most enjoyable machines to drive. ive an 03 hilux that im fairly fond of, nothing a phase tester and a bag of spanners cant fix on it. I drive a discovery at the weekends and while its far superior comfort wise, i just dont feel comfortable driving it, plus any jeep, you should be able to hop in and out of dirty. I couldnt be getting in and out of 60k's worth of a jeep covered in dirt and not feel bad about it.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=101259509 first pic there. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Who2

first i seen of those pics, it makes mine look exceptionally clean. Yours is just coming ripe now to start doing up.

Ya I know, been meaning to paint the chassis the last couple of summers, still haven't got round to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Peter90 wrote: »
    Currently have an 04 RAV4, turbo giving bother so may upgrade, what is a good alternative maybe 09/10 reg. pulling a 10x5 cattle box 15/16 times a year and other handy bits, budget won't stretch to a cruiser

Have a 2015 2 ltr Rav 4 here and it tows the 12 by 5 better than the 2.5 hilux....however if you go off road . :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

422904.jpg

My Jalopy. I bought it two years ago for slightly more than it was probably worth, but it had only 90k miles, was owned by a local man from almost new, had a history of being serviced every 3k miles and is spotless inside and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

rangler1 wrote: »
    Have a 2015 2 ltr Rav 4 here and it tows the 12 by 5 better than the 2.5 hilux....however if you go off road . :(

Would a change of tyres help that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

I've a 04 hilux 3ltr auto 5 door for over 10yrs as my daily driver I would not part with it for 20k. 170k miles, and drive it hard enough most of the time, a mix of towing 10x6 cow box and a flat bed trailer with anything up to the legal weight being towed( + or - a few kgs) outside the regular service and tyres which don't cost a lot and a handy man with an aldi spanner set could complete the service and a recent halfshaft misshap it has never failed to do what was asked of it. its a mighty all rounder. Wash it to go to a wedding or stick it in 4wd and away she goes off road def would recommend one as a long term owner. From what I've been told the pre 05 models were built in Thailand to a much better standard then the 05 onwards models which I think were built in Japan/China I can't exactly remember which.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

422904.jpg

My Jalopy. I bought it two years ago for slightly more than it was probably worth, but it had only 90k miles, was owned by a local man from almost new, had a history of being serviced every 3k miles and is spotless inside and out.

Have the same model. With 205k on it.. pulls like a train..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

mf240 wrote: »
    Have the same model. With 205k on it.. pulls like a train..

Have the same with 301k on the clock now, still doesn't burn a drop of oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Who2 wrote: »
    i just dont feel comfortable driving it, plus any jeep, you should be able to hop in and out of dirty. I couldnt be getting in and out of 60k's worth of a jeep covered in dirt and not feel bad about it.

Jayus that's what I love about the jeep. Have a 162 car for family trips but I wipe me boots getting out of the jeep, and she's going like a train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭cute geoge

What year's is that landcruiser model ye have from???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭arctictree

Have an '05 SWB LC here. Going great, use if for the farm and going to work, domestic runs etc. I put 50% of expenses for it in the farm accounts. Had to spend 800 euro this year to get some new bits etc but shouldn't have to spend anything except a service next year. Hopefully I'll be driving this for another 10 years. I just cant see the value in buying a new Jeep for 50K to be getting basically the same service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Mooooo wrote: »
    Would a change of tyres help that?

Don't know if all the SUVs are the same but there's a lot of road noise and I'd imagine that grippier tyre would make even more noise......To be honest I'm abit disappointed with the noise...probably won't keep it too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,104 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I've only 160k km on my 06 landcruiser.

rangler1 wrote: »
    Don't know if all the SUVs are the same but there's a lot of road noise and I'd imagine that grippier tyre would make even more noise......To be honest I'm abit disappointed with the noise...probably won't keep it too long

I went to mayo a couple weeks ago in a Honda ,(not sure is it a hrv or CRV but it is an SUV anyhow ) and I couldn't believe the noise in it for a newish yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

bought a clean 2007 L200 crewcab the other day. 161Km clean and high spec . €5000

bought a 2007 L200 in Feb 2016 with 237km for €5200 and sold it Wednesday for €5500 with 251km lower spec

had a pajero sport for 8 years. bought it at 2 year old €20k 57km and sold a few months ago for €1500 with 240km. not one issue with it. was out of test and needed 2 new inner CV boots. I needed extra seats for young lads car seat is all

L200 doing 8l per 100km at 100km average speed without box which isn't bad. She isn't bad with cattle trailer either and loads of grunt for 2.5l 5 speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

They should really do second hand jeep reviews in the journal.

One thing that annoys me about the motoring reviews they do of new yokes is that they never give the tow rating. Like wtf would that not be an important thing for a farmer to know??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Muckit wrote: »
    They should really do second hand jeep reviews in the journal.

One thing that annoys me about the motoring reviews they do of new yokes is that they never give the tow rating. Like wtf would that not be an important thing for a farmer to know??

Very good idea there Muckit. A "warts and all" review of 5 to 10 year old vehicles, in the vein of Honest John in the UK.

But that might not please the paying advertisers, especially if tales of sensors/injectors/turbo's / dual mass flywheel problems are common to a model.

The Journal rarely ever find any fault in any vehicle they review. Its more an "advertorial" than an investigative bit of journalism ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Peter90

Looks like no1 can recommend a 5-10 year old jeep...guess work in what I'll be buying I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Ah now, you've had Pajero Sports, DMax's and Land Cruisers recommended to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Bought a 98 trooper, 1500 clean. Really are a tough jeep!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Peter90 wrote: »
    Looks like no1 can recommend a 5-10 year old jeep...guess work in what I'll be buying I think

You are really limited in the smaller jeeps taht are legal to pull 2T. It really boils down to a kuga or a rav4. For a while I taught the Kuga's might be an answer but I am hearing stories about the independent suspension at the back wearing tyres and of sensor and DPF issues.

If I was buying a smaller 4WD in this bracket I think I be getting a RAV 2.2 D the 2008 model. I think I buya low milage car version and get it converted to a van

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,045 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Pajero/shogun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Raised Eyebrow

I had a 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara 1.9 diesel that I used to tow a horse box with 1 horse. It never gave trouble and was fairly economical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

For a while I taught the Kuga's might be an answer but I am hearing stories about the independent suspension at the back wearing tyres and of sensor and DPF issues.

n

Unfortunately dpf issues are widespread in most cars since 2008 ish onwards. Sometimes older is better

John_Rambo wrote: »

Freelander would be an option but I imagine taht a rav would be more economical and you would have less to put into it over the years.
    kay 9 wrote: »
    Pajero/shogun.

I jsu get the impresssion that the OP is doing a nice bit of milage other than farming. Really is a big issue trying to balance this. For ages taught the kuga and it doing 40mpg ( over 14 km/L) would provide a good balance between towing capibility and economy but maintenance is becoming an issue.
    I had a 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara 1.9 diesel that I used to tow a horse box with 1 horse. It never gave trouble and was fairly economical

Towinfg capibility si quite low on Vitara I think below 1.5T

Slava Ukrainii

ill nail my flag to the L200 crewcab. commercial tax don't give may issues. got my old one through test the other day with new pads on front, new shoes on back, 2 bulbs and 2 new tyres. that's all maintenance parts at 251km

Toyota family car for last 11 years here but could never justify there commercial prices. Happy Mitsubishi commercial jeep owner since 2007

My L200 is mainly pulling 3t digger or 12ft cattle trailer or 14ft ifor flat bed. and is relatively comfortable by crewcab standards for driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭annubis

bought a clean old 98 pajero last year, thought i could leave it at home for farm work and use a car for day to day driving to work..i got some land when i went to insure it, it was fully up to date test wise but i think the cheapest quote i could get was nearly 2 grand for 3rd party fire and theft.. once they heard the year they didnt want to know, more crazy stuff from irish insurers because if a vehicle has its tests done that should be it surely??..anyway sold it again, it wasnt worth the price of the insurance

annubis wrote: »
    bought a clean old 98 pajero last year, thought i could leave it at home for farm work and use a car for day to day driving to work..i got some land when i went to insure it, it was fully up to date test wise but i think the cheapest quote i could get was nearly 2 grand for 3rd party fire and theft.. once they heard the year they didnt want to know, more crazy stuff from irish insurers because if a vehicle has its tests done that should be it surely??..anyway sold it again, it wasnt worth the price of the insurance

€720 im giving for the L200. full ncb and no claims or points (except 1 windscreen about 5 years ago) open drive and no claims protected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭josephsoap

Would a 2.0 tdi Golf suits the OP needs ?, the newer Golfs having a towing capacity of 1600 kg.

josephsoap wrote: »
    Would a 2.0 tdi Golf suits the OP needs ?, the newer Golfs having a towing capacity of 1600 kg.

OP has a 10X5 box. Not sure of the weight but it would be a minimum of 500kgs. 1600 kgs would leave him with a pay load of about 1 ton. That is 3-4 weanlings 2-3 stores or 2 very lioght finished cattle. 2T is really the minimum you would want when towing even a small box

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Insurance is 400 euro third party on the trooper

OP has a 10X5 box. Not sure of the weight but it would be a minimum of 500kgs. 1600 kgs would leave him with a pay load of about 1 ton. That is 3-4 weanlings 2-3 stores or 2 very lioght finished cattle. 2T is really the minimum you would want when towing even a small box

Depending on make 10 x5 box would be about 850kg, empty.

Going nowhere with an 1600kg towing capacity so. At present the authorities have not raelly homed in on it. But down the line it will be a real issue. Lads that have larger boxes 12'&14' with towing capacity and hitches limited to 3500kgs will have half empty boxes all the time. You see lads carrying 5-6 finished cattle in them mabe weighing 4000kgs alone. The hitch will make it illegal anyway. I would consider 2000kgs the minimum even for an 8X5 box

Slava Ukrainii

Your spot on there bass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

The new Landcruiser can only tow 3000 kg. Thats 500 kg down on the earlier models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Any value up north for crewcabs? Vrt is 13% I think for commercials

Mooooo wrote: »
    Any value up north for crewcabs? Vrt is 13% I think for commercials

Local sheep and suckler lad has a LWB rear wheel transit pulling a 12ft porter trailer with sheep decks. he is Full time farming.

Not the worst idea if you don't have field work . If you ply lined van its a mobile workspace for everything you might need.

This particular lad would see it more as extra transprt space . :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Peter90

Looking like can't go away from the rav-4 really, a lot of talk of savings in U.K. Or up the north...