Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World's 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 10,458 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Daroxtar wrote: »
    That tackle!!!!! :D:D

I thought someone was wearing white shorts again !!!!!! :D:D:pac:

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

That Norwegian Policeman is obviously a fan of Mayo's Donal Vaughan and his tackling technique :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

we,ll need a poll for best police tackle of the year before the seasons out.

https://twitter.com/ronnyjowe/status/910535076068384769

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

MPFGLB wrote: »
    Great ride by Nico ...he is not a TT specialist

He gave it everything and that is all you can do

Such a pity he is so much an all rounder as he definitely throws himself into everything...

Agreed a very good performance from Nico. Just wondering did BMC miss a trick in not including him in the TTT considering he was so close to Dennis and finished ahead of Kung and TJ or was it his decision not to do the TTT and remain fresh for the ITT.

Should Roche focus a bit more on the shorter one week tours.
    I think Poland, California and Britain could suit him better but obviously these all coincide with the grand tours. He has already shown well in the GC at Abu Dhabi and Route du Sud.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    Of course, but surely yesterday was her biggest win of the year/since Rio, or would you refute that? It seemed to mean a lot to her. She is a world champion now and she was not one earlier in the year.

Oh I agree totally.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Sorry, I could watch that tackle on repeat all day!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

cunavalos wrote: »
    Agreed a very good performance from Nico. Just wondering did BMC miss a trick in not including him in the TTT considering he was so close to Dennis and finished ahead of Kung and TJ or was it his decision not to do the TTT and remain fresh for the ITT.

I think Poland, California and Britain could suit him better but obviously these all coincide with the grand tours. He has already shown well in the GC at Abu Dhabi and Route du Sud.

And the tour of Britain last year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

Absolutely agree about Roche switching to week-long stage races. Of those you mention, California would suit him the least, with its long draggy climbs.

He is 33 now, with very few wins for a rider of his calibre. Two Vuelta stages is scant reward for his talent.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    I think Tony Martin will be in a foul mood this evening.

He's been in a foul mood all week anyway!

What a great photo, definitely one for his wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

cunavalos wrote: »

BMC did not include him in the TTT as they said they wanted to go with the team of previous years....definitely missed a trick because BMC (and SKY) underestimated the impact of the climb....Sunweb won it on the climb and SKY definitely lost it on the climb
    BMC included Quinziato, Oss and Scotson in the team ...Quinziato bowed out when he saw the climb and Oss is fair enough as he is so strong on the flat ....but Nico was a better bet in the TTT than Scotson & TJ ...Roche lead them on the climb in the Vuelta (hence KOM jersey) and he would have been better on that climb imo...I think he was disappointed becasue he loves TTTs

But never mind he wont be too knackerd for the RR
    I think he and Martin will have to decide on the tactic on who follows Gilbert/Wellens and who stays with GVA

As for week races ...it depends on BMC giving him freedom...he is Porte's right hand man ....I think he wants to target a few one day races/shorter races

Theres a few this race will suit on Sunday isn't there. I'm struggling to nail my colours to the mast at the minute let alone part with money to back them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Theres a few this race will suit on Sunday isn't there. I'm struggling to nail my colours to the mast at the minute let alone part with money to back them.

Everyone are going for riders like Matthews and Trentin but I think the race will be made hard for these riders further out ...again some maybe underestimating the climbing in the race

Sagan and Kwaito are very strong but the Belgians will have to try and shake them off

That is why it hard to see past Belgium as they have a fantastic team. But a lone rider could sneak it .....a late attack or a small group if in the correct move....

The Belgians have been close to the business end of things the past few years but have yet to get another win since Gilbert in, what? 2011? Seems to be their story the past while, like Quickstep. Too many cooks.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,451 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I actually think it's the classics Nico should focus on. Short sharp climbs seem to suit him - too late for him to get to grip with the bergs of Flanders? Won't be at BMC, because of their line up, and the specific role they signed him for. Although may be scope for him to at least ride them in support of GVA?

I was off yesterday, and thought the ITT was great. Definitely hooked me in more than a bog standard flattish TT, or a mountain TT. I think the "will they/ won't they" switch to a road bike really added to it too. For all the moaning, the TTers you'd expect to be up there on a traditional course were generally top 10 - Martin, Kiryienka and Dennis.

Briefly jumping ahead to 2018... the courses have been revealed for Innsbruck-Tirol.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/innsbruck-tirol-2018-worlds-courses-revealed/

The Elite Men's RR will be 265 km in length with 4,670 metres of elevation gain! :eek:

Meanwhile Tony Martin is probably already throwing the toys out of the pram as there is a climb in the ITT course!

Link to the profiles here

• Registered Users Posts: 10,458 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Briefly jumping ahead to 2018... the courses have been revealed for Innsbruck-Tirol.

The Elite Men's RR will be 265 km in length with 4,670 metres of elevation gain! :eek:

Meanwhile Tony Martin is probably already throwing the toys out of the pram as there is a climb in the ITT course!

Link to the Profile isnt working ?

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

The 2018 TT course is nasty. With the climb somewhere in the middle, will they be doing a double bike change, or will UCI shut that down?

greenspurs wrote: »
    Link to the Profile isnt working ?

Works for me so not sure what's going on.

Try this:
    http://forum.cyclingnews.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=33633

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

In a meeting at the world's in bergen. Brian Cookson has failed to get reelected as president of the uci

Lappartient won 37 votes to 8

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

That RR route is nuts, includes 7 ascents of a 7km climb. Surely a day for climbers only?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

Not surprising he did feck all

What a great place to cycle! Love it there. Might have to take a trip over to this one.

Enjoying the junior womens race here, italian up the road shouting at the camera bike for the time gap. Love to see her do it. She's going for it for sure.

4 km to go

20 second gap for Peroni , famous double on for her here. Come on !!!! Very entertaining race.

She's gonna do it...