Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heavyweight Boxing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭Morrison J

It's definitely one of the best undercards Hearn has put on. He's probably covering himself for the strong possibility that the main event results in a farce.

Ward - Tennyson
    Ryder - Cox
    Butler - Rodriguez

All really good competitive matchups. Looking forward to seeing Joe Joyce again too.

Absolutely not a prayer will I be handing Hearn over my money and paying for it though. Streaming all the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭squinn2912

Same injury? He was gone from the second round. Con man is right. Lots of options now for bellew.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,756 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Just watched this online did anyone notice in commentary one of the sky lads said , Haye was over in German during the week at a specialist for his ankle , No one replied and it was never mentioned again ,
    Total con job ,
    His pre fight warm up in the dressing room it showed him doing the ladders for quick feet and my nan would have been quicker it was pain full to watch,

Yea it was a total farcical conjob. I don’t know how injured he was but he had zero speed. He didn’t look to have a game plan based on his historical strengths either and Bellew battered him. Quite pathetic really.
    I see Whyte has been calling him out which is lousy enough too

squinn2912 wrote: »
    Yea it was a total farcical conjob. I don’t know how injured he was but he had zero speed. He didn’t look to have a game plan based on his historical strengths either and Bellew battered him. Quite pathetic really.
    I see Whyte has been calling him out which is lousy enough too
    Ye anyone calling Haye out needs a long look at themselves he is finished,
    On another note I can't see Bellew beating nay decent heavy weight or even any decent cruiser weight,
    Him calling out Fury is madness although I did notice he said he'#d only fight him in his comeback fight and not later in the year,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Haye can only retire. Who is ever going to buy a ticket to watch him fight again after that? What could he ever hope to achieve in the sport if he's getting annihilated by Bellew?

I think so too. Retirement is the only thing to do. I've seen a fair bit of all hail king tony since online as well and I don't buy that either. I think he's 1-2 fights away from a brutal ko as well. Retiring might be the most sensible option for him too and he can earn a living by shooting his mouth off a la Froch. he might be able to secure one more big fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Rumours of Haye being skint alright but does anyone else think the board of boxing should be looking at his purse?
    Considering this was a big Sky pay per view event, loads of people bought tickets and all involved makes money.
    Haye and his people knew he was finished, injured or whatever before this fight yet went ahead and walked off into the sunset with their pockets lined. At best he is very unprofessional, at worst he's a bit of a thief.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭liamoreilly

Rumours of Haye being skint alright but does anyone else think the board of boxing should be looking at his purse?
    Considering this was a big Sky pay per view event, loads of people bought tickets and all involved makes money.
    Haye and his people knew he was finished, injured or whatever before this fight yet went ahead and walked off into the sunset with their pockets lined. At best he is very unprofessional, at worst he's a bit of a thief.
    ...Do professional boxers need to go through a medical of some sort before each fight, or is it just assumed that they are fit and healthy to fight?... Honestly no idea...

I understand the point but that would be very difficult to enforce. By that logic every underperforming boxer could be stripped of his purse. I’m sure a large percentage go into fights with niggles or old injuries that could potentially flare up

Yeah theres no chance of Haye being sanctioned in any way, but if hes stupid enough to fight again they should really consider whether they license him to do so

So where is Hughie Fury in the pecking order now? Who would you put him up against? I’d love to see him in with Price, Whyte or Joyce

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Joyce would be me choice for him next. Would be an interesting match up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Johner wrote: »
    Joyce would be me choice for him next. Would be an interesting match up.

I seen Peter Fury came out this week and said theyve no interest in fighting Joyce as Hughie gains nothing from beating him.

Id tend to agree with him.

For fans a fight with Joyce would be brilliant but risky and for little extra gain

Neither fighter really gains form the Joyce v Fury fight at this stage, Id leave it for a couple of years,
    I think Fury should fight Chisora , Its a fight he should win but its a step up from Sexton and then look at guys like Whyte ,
    Price should retire no one needs to see him get ko'd again ,

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

thebull85 wrote: »
    I seen Peter Fury came out this week and said theyve no interest in fighting Joyce as Hughie gains nothing from beating him.

Id tend to agree with him.

He'd win the commonwealth title and Joyce would be a good scalp, but you're right it's too much of a risk fighting Joyce at this stage because he'd more than likely lose and where would he go from there.

Hughie is a strange one, he's obviously above British level but would have no chance against the champions. Maybe a shot at the belt Charr has but I don't think he's rated by the WBA.

I think Price will fight on at British level and if he can win that belt then he will retire. It's not as though some journeyman KO'd him Povetkin is a real operator and I wouldn't be surprised if he was actually still on the juice. Not a murmur from him to engineer a big fight against Wilder or AJ. 
    I'd rate Hughie/Joyce 50-50. I don't know if I'd expect Joyce to beat Parker but Hughie was comfortable in with him. But yea it's a big risk. But if he's really going to step it up then it will have to be a risky fight.

There was talk of Hughie fighting someone like Andy Ruiz Jr a while back, but that seems to have all gone quiet. Someone like Takam would be a good test, but Hughie / Hennessy brings no money to the table for an opponent of their choosing, and it's not likely a big name chooses him due to his style. I expect them to stay on the path a lot of british fighters do - stay busy against nobodies and wait for rankings boosts through sheer activity.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,672 ✭✭✭✭walshb

The win sure is getting a bit of talk. He beat a has-been nobody...

On the world scene, Hugie is at best a tune up..

You think? At 23 I think that’s a bit pessimistic. He gave as good as he got against Parker. If Tyson becomes more relevant then so will he

• Registered Users Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭megadodge

I'm quite confident Hughie Fury would beat Joe Joyce. Joyce would struggle with his movement and jab all night long. I don't even think it would be close, except that Joyce will keep coming. But it wouldn't be enough. He'd really struggle to land punches.

Hughie beat Parker in my eyes. Which surely means he is capable of mixing it with the rest at the top. There aren't really too many better than Parker, if you look closely at the top 10.

I also think Hughie is a nightmare for Wilder. Wilder cannot possibly outbox him (or anyone half decent for that matter) and getting close to him and getting around that jab would be very difficult. Wilder prefers guys coming to him where eventually they get careless and walk onto a wild swing. Hughie will be circling and moving and double-jabbing. Wilder won't have a clue what to do to be honest and could end up looking even worse than normal, but may get rounds by default because of Hughie looking negative.

I think he may actually be too negative to beat Joshua. He'll take some tracking down, but eventually I think AJ gets to him.

I think you estimate him a little higher than I do but there’s a lot of logic in what you say. I don’t think he could keep wilder at bay but he’d give him plenty of problems, as he would AJ too. If he’d thrown more shots v Parker he had the beating of him

• Registered Users Posts: 55,672 ✭✭✭✭walshb

You think? At 23 I think that’s a bit pessimistic. He gave as good as he got against Parker. If Tyson becomes more relevant then so will he

I see your point. I just can’t see anything with him to let me be any way positive on his future elite potential..

Some of the names rated at HW ahead of him are very ordinary. The division has the elites and then a crop of very average talents. Hughie, so far has not even cracked this lot..

He fought desperately negative vs. Parker, and he lost...

Ok, he is probably every bit as good as some of these names rated ahead of him. But look at these names...

Not sure if that would be the case . Himself and Tyson don't speak , so I can't see him being on an under card or anything like that ,

• Registered Users Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Not sure if that would be the case . Himself and Tyson don't speak , so I can't see him being on an under card or anything like that ,

Is this anything to do with his father not training Tyson anymore?

I'm not sure,  Tyson had said he never had a falling out with Peter and needed a change to get motivated, and has always thanked Peter for everything and said he is forever grateful to hi
    It could very well be had an argument with Hughy and felt it made working with Peter more difficult again that's speculation as know one has ever said exactly what the issue is

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭dougm1970

I'm not sure,  Tyson had said he never had a falling out with Peter and needed a change to get motivated, and has always thanked Peter for everything and said he is forever grateful to hi
    It could very well be had an argument with Hughy and felt it made working with Peter more difficult again that's speculation as know one has ever said exactly what the issue is

i was expecting tyson to be in the crowd at the sexton fight...its the sort of thing he would never have missed before

We'll not hear exactly what happened for some time. Family fall out - it a common one. I'm not sure it's served to do Hughie any good really, I think they were better off together. Tyson always talked about vacating one belt for Hughie to go for. In another world the blockbuster fight would have been him and Wilder and he would have won. Hughie keeping up his end of the deal is less straight forward. Will be interesting to see how Tyson goes in a couple of weeks without Peter.

I think Peter was huge for Tyson , I think it will be a big big miss for him not being there,
    Peter knows the sport inside out