Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Computer that has a good chance of lasting 4 or 5 years?

Options
  • 23-07-2017 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭

A Dell Lap-top is dying at less than a year, due to insufficient internal memory largely. What should I look for in terms of memory? I'm not a professional, not even a student, but I want 'enough', I don't want it to be a problem next year or the year after. Are Desktops generally a better bet in terms of 'longevity'?. I sort of have a budget, E500 but could pay a bit more if I felt it would 'last longer'.

Can anyone offer suggestions?

Thanks
    S

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Spirogyra wrote: »
    A Dell Lap-top is dying at less than a year, due to insufficient internal memory largely. What should I look for in terms of memory? I'm not a professional, not even a student, but I want 'enough', I don't want it to be a problem next year or the year after. Are Desktops generally a better bet in terms of 'longevity'?. I sort of have a budget, E500 but could pay a bit more if I felt it would 'last longer'.

Can anyone offer suggestions?

Thanks
    S
    What is the exact error? Are you sure it is not just the harddrive is full? What laptop is it as you can probably expand the ram if that is what is the issue?

A new harddrive or a stick of ram will be a little t cheaper than replacing the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 StevenE

I will get blasted for this no doubt, but just 5 short years ago I gave up on Windows and bought an Apple MacBook.