Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After Hours 1992

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,716 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Oops69 wrote: »
    ah come on now , that would have been very backward in 1992 , are u sure you donT mean 1982 ?, my bedsit in rathmines had a color tv and a washing machine in 1992 and before that .

Call it backwards if you want but that's the way it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

Call it backwards if you want but that's the way it was.

That was quite backward in all fairness for 92' :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Ah leave it out. He's from Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

We had no phone in 1992, had a black and white TV and got our first washing machine that year, my mother did all the clothes washing by hand up to then.

Different times.
    We got our first automatic washing machine that year, twin tub before that.
    No vcr until 93

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

We had no phone in 1992, had a black and white TV and got our first washing machine that year, my mother did all the clothes washing by hand up to then.

Different times.
    Jaysus ye were backward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Oops69 wrote: »
    ah come on now , that would have been very backward in 1992 , are u sure you donT mean 1982 ?, my bedsit in rathmines had a color tv and a washing machine in 1992 and before that .
    1972 more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭rednik

Anyone going to Guns N Roses? Will the phone lines be busy on ticketmaster for Slane, will it sell out?. What buses can I get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

rednik wrote: »
    Anyone going to Guns N Roses? Will the phone lines be busy on ticketmaster for Slane, will it sell out?. What buses can I get?
    Tickets? Are you mad? Just swim over the river and hop the fence like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Trying to get through to hotline with a dial phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

When are RTE showing the Simpsons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,716 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Jaysus ye were backward.

Yeah whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

This fecking bank strike means I can't lodge my Confirmation money!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

snowflaker wrote: »
    This fecking bank strike means I can't lodge my Confirmation money!!!!
    Nothing changes about Cavan people no matter what the decade ...or millennium .

branie2 wrote: »
    When are RTE showing the Simpsons?

Can only see that lasting another two years, three max.

Clare may have lost the football semi-final, but I have a feeling they will be triumphant in hurling in a couple of years time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

What will be the big changes, good and bad, now that Ireland has now fully signed into the Maastricht Treaty. Will we remain neutral and retain our sovereignty, or will we become pawns in a much bigger plan.
    Will open borders be good for us, who any why would anyone want to come here anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Clare may have lost the football semi-final, but I have a feeling they will be triumphant in hurling in a couple of years time
    Clare winning an all Ireland? Don't be ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

This young buck down in Kilkenny, DJ Carey, seems a bit of a flash harry to me and will be found out this year or at worst, next year!!

I think we should go back to the £1 note!

Ronan Collins has shaved off his moustache, I notice

Sarah Ferguson is causing a scandal at the moment

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

snowflaker wrote: »
    I think we should go back to the £1 note!

Rumour has it that a European single currency is on the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Not much on TV tonight. I wonder if 'TV3' will ever come to fruition. Can't be worse than what we've already got. Anyway, I'm off to watch Bibi Baskin's new show on RTE 1. Wish it was possible to post on Boards and watch television at the same time, lol.

423261.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

mzungu wrote: »
    Rumour has it that a European single currency is on the way.

Can't wait. It'll be great to be able to get the Sealink or B&I ferry to England without having to buy Sterling first.

I have just read a book called the Prophecies of Nostradamus - he predicts World War III will occur this month in seven years time

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Which towns are hosting 2FM's Beat On The Street?

Well, I'm off to Fibbers for a mosh and slosh session!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

For old time sake I got me biro out and made me selections for the night.

Could have sworn Minder would be on, but anyway......................

tvg77.png

News and Glenroe would be because me Dad would be hogging the sitting room Lounge..... and BB Baskin and the late night Channel 4 movie would be for fapping purposes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Moving to cork city and finding sir henrys .... 90s where class time to be young and free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Moving to cork city and finding sir henrys .... 90s where class time to be young and free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

BrylF2ICQAAd5E4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

RayM wrote: »
    Not much on TV tonight. I wonder if 'TV3' will ever come to fruition. Can't be worse than what we've already got. Anyway, I'm off to watch Bibi Baskin's new show on RTE 1. Wish it was possible to post on Boards and watch television at the same time, lol.

423261.jpg

Just looking at that line-up, I could cry. Bergerac. Urgh. Bibi Baskin. Double urrrrgh!! Sons And Daughters. And - of course - The Sullivans, where the war ran for about 15 years longer than it did in real life.
    Hold me close, 2017. Never again will I complain about the endless repeats of Come Dine With Me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

In 1992 we would be debating why this foreign show was stereotyping us in such a predictable fashion. We'd also be wondering about this fairly new airline called Ryanair treating us with so much care and costing a fraction of AL or BA.

Worth a watch.:D

Do you think we could have a film about Michael Collins in the next few years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I love aladdin the genie is the best disney character ever, I'm getting a Saint Bernard dog Beethoven is the best dog ever. The woman is a man in the crying game, the video man sold my ma the White Men can't jump video for £10. I can't wait for the premier league to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,492 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Do you think we could have a film about Michael Collins in the next few years?

Sure why would we need that; was he not portrayed brilliantly on TV by Brendan Gleeson innThe Treaty. How could you improve on his portrayal? If the yanks made a movie, they'd have some striopach play Kitty Kiernan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Jeju

Climbing lane hoggers on the N8. A Toyota Carina plods along in the overtaking lanes the whole way from Mitchelstown to Fermoy. I did flash him once to move over but my headlight is full of water for over a year now so he wouldn't have noticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The Hammer Horrors on a Friday night used to be great craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,118 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

JupiterKid wrote: »
    So imagine being in a time warp back 25 years (is it really that long??!!) to 1992. What would have been the threads on AH if Boards had been around back then?

Here's a few that I think might have been around...

Will there ever be peace up North?

Italia '90 - A one-off or have we joined the big lads?

Should gay sex be legal?

Bishop Eamonn Casey - The Biggest scandal to hit the church?

What type of home computer do you have?

Will Ireland ever be a rich country?

Why are our major roads so crap?

Are you thinking of emigrating?

Is Bono the greatest Irish rock star ever? :D

Why cant we have divorce and condoms in Ireland ffs? And why cant women legally travel for abortions

Dick Spring should have killed off FF/FG for good

Ms X. Cant believe how Ireland treats its young people so callously

Haughey.... what a c... thought he would never go

That Clinton fella. Hope he beats Bush

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Harp Bar, O'Connell Bridge, good times.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

Ah for jaysus sake, Ma got the pipe cut off. Stuck with bloody RTE now.

Wish Cablelink wasn't so expensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

This young buck down in Kilkenny, DJ Carey, seems a bit of a flash harry to me and will be found out this year or at worst, next year!!

Do not speak ill of DJ Carey. He's from the same village as me. Absolute legend so he is. I was 11 in 1992 so my question would be what's your favourite Aertel page?

A recent Sunday Press had an interesting article on the Fergie scandal

Still gutted over Freddie Mercury's death a couple of weeks ago :(

Damn 1992
    *shakes fist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

Olympics start today.... g'wan the boxers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Sick of people holding their empty hands up in the air at gigs

dan1895 wrote: »
    Damn 1992
    *shakes fist

(November 91, hence the few weeks ago)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Erik Shin

(November 91, hence the few weeks ago)

8 months ago tbf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

My dad had just bought me this and I couldn't WAIT to get home from town and read it.

2419126-whizzer_and_chips_annual_v1969_1992__1992__pagecover.jpg