Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

best dog breed for small family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Knine wrote: »
    No sorry you are wrong. How many show dogs have you bred?

Obviously absolutely none. I don't want to be part of the problem.
    Dogs bred for the show ring are bred to be fit for function & have the correct temperament for their breed.

That's partially true. But ridiculous breed faults like hair colour further limit the gene pool. Furthermore, it's ambiguous to say the least, for example, the modern British Bulldog is a basdardisation of the original. An unhealthy suffering breed with dreadful problems in dealing with the most simple issues like breathing and eating. Plenty more breeds suffer the same problem from humans vanity and "idea" of what a certain dog should look like.
    If no reputable breeders bred their dogs then what would happen some of the critically endangered breeds? Some of these being native Irish Breeds. What about guide dogs, assistance dogs, drug, Cadaver, search & rescue, working sheep dogs, gundogs & terriers? I'm sorry but in most cases your rescues & crossbreeds won't measure up to the breed attributes needed for these jobs.

Crossbreeds make very good drug dogs, assistance dogs, police dogs, cadaver dogs and search & rescues. And, if we are to breed dogs for these purposes undershot jaws, too much of a certain colour and ears that are to big won't be a problem.

This is important. People don't care if the dog that's rescuing them, minding them, comforting them or finding their deceased has a white patch on them that's too big for the breed standard or if their tails are the wrong shape.
    Yes there is still work to be done but let me finish off by saying that I watched breed judging last week for the GSD & the winners were lovely dogs with good hocks & no humped backs. So improvements are being made. How many shows have you attended?

My attendance of shows won't change the problem. At least you admit that there's work to be done and improvements are being made, but the fact remains. As long as dogs are being bred to simply "show" that's all they'll be good for. Abominations of what they were originally bred for. There's certainly work to be done, there's certainly improvements to be made and those improvements are to discontinue breeding certain breeds that are bred to be unhealthy, in pain and uncomfortable for they're lives.
    Oh by the way I am an FCI group 7 judge & I can assure you that when judging I only award very sound dogs that are capable of a days work. Many of the breeds I judge having both field & show awards.

Oh by the way, you're part of the problem.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Oh by the way, you're part of the problem.

Okay John_Rambo, that's enough. I hovered over the keyboard much earlier today to warn you against your rescue soapboxing, but with comments such as above, you've leapt far beyond the line of acceptability.
    Please do not post in this thread again.
    Thanks.
    DBB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Gerry T

I have a cockapoo, he's just over 1 now. I think there a perfect dog for young kids, he's so gentle with zero aggression. Their non shed and love to play. He does need a good walk each day, preferably 2 walks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭sillysmiles

Has the OP come back with any information as to what he can offer a dog, and what he is hoping and how much work they are prepared to put into the dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

hi folks sorry just been ill the last few days so wasn't paying much attention to boards... just wow great number of posts thank you all for help.

so my kids are young and very active, walking wouldn't be an issue myself and the wife run regularly so we are generally quite active. wife is home all day, I'm in college all days and work 3/4 nights a week but apart from that its family time.

the only thing we have in our heads is we would like a small dog rather than a big dog.

just on greyhounds/lurchers I have been attacked twice by greyhounds/lurchers whilst working in the athy area of Kildare and they are the only ever time I have genuinely felt nervous around dogs big and small. no offense to any owners but I wouldn't be willing to have one around my kids.

friend of mine breeds show French bulldogs and I was considering that although huge money for the breed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    I would never, ever, EVER recommend a collie for a house with a child as young as 2, and that's coming from someone who HAS a collie with a child as young as 2. They are canine Einsteins on crack, need 24/7 constant mental stimulation, shed monstrously (I could actually attach a rather hilarious photo of the dog I made out of my old boys loose hair after a groom), and they most certainly do like to "herd" children. They are not patient dogs, not by a long shot. And they are extremely noise-sensitive. Not, by any means, the breed I would suggest a first-timer to get around children.

I agree with this a lot, coming from an Australian Shepherd owner, they are basically the more stubborn princess version of collies.
    Mine is great with all kids, but I have the slight suspicion that she's not as smart as everyone says.
    The herding thing is real, even though mine is really gentle.
    Still, with kids I'd never go for a dog again that's really smart, never mind a puppy of these. They are absolute nuts.
    If I ever get one again a rescue Lurcher. OP, go for a Lurcher, they are good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

friend of mine breeds show French bulldogs and I was considering that although huge money for the breed

I know a few French bulldog owners and all of them have certain health problems. They tend to have weak spines, breathing problems and can have very bossy personalities. Would probably settle on a Maltese or so before a frenchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭alroley

I have a maltese and I would not recommend them for a family with small kids. They are a wonderful breed, and have so many positives, but in my experience they are not suitable for living with very young kids. Something more sturdy but still small would be a bichon or a shih tzu maybe? Loads of families I know seem to be getting bichon mixes, but nothing wrong with a pure bred bichon from a good breeder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

In our shelter we would use a rubber hand to test the temperament of the dog and touch it while eating or playing with a bone, if it growled, bared teeth or bit the hand it didn't go onto the adoption floor.

I don't get this !!!

Would it not make more sense to teach people not to handle a dog thats eating ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Knine

hi folks sorry just been ill the last few days so wasn't paying much attention to boards... just wow great number of posts thank you all for help.

so my kids are young and very active, walking wouldn't be an issue myself and the wife run regularly so we are generally quite active. wife is home all day, I'm in college all days and work 3/4 nights a week but apart from that its family time.

the only thing we have in our heads is we would like a small dog rather than a big dog.

just on greyhounds/lurchers I have been attacked twice by greyhounds/lurchers whilst working in the athy area of Kildare and they are the only ever time I have genuinely felt nervous around dogs big and small. no offense to any owners but I wouldn't be willing to have one around my kids.

French Bulldogs are not really great for an active families, especially in warm weather & if you like swimming with your dog.

I have Border Terriers, big dog in a small body from 5 to 10kg. Most shed very little. They are great with children & are more suited to a lively family. You won't tire one out too easy. They can go running once mature. They do have a strong hunting instinct but can be let off lead once there is no traffic. There is a waiting list for puppies though. They often live to their late teens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

I have Border Terriers, big dog in a small body from 5 to 10kg. Most shed very little. They are great with children & are more suited to a lively family. You won't tire one out too easy. They can go running once mature.

I'll second the above. The only time I ever tired mine out and he needed a carry was after climbing Ben Nevis. He's on the go non-stop. Solid and confident, but independent. Mine only stops and refuses to run with me if we're passing a good smell. :rolleyes:

He's still a terrier and can be a little bit sharp if anyone annoys him, but he LOVES kids (as long as you make sure they're well behaved ;)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Huge health problems with the Frenchie, unfortunately.

Given that ye are an active family I'd be inclined to go for one of the (not cavalier) spaniel breeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,611 ✭✭✭muddypaws

In our shelter we would use a rubber hand to test the temperament of the dog and touch it while eating or playing with a bone, if it growled, bared teeth or bit the hand it didn't go onto the adoption floor.

Can I ask how long ago that was? I would really hope that nobody is still using rubber hands, it may look realistic to us, but to a dog, it doesn't smell or feel like a human hand so is really no help at all in determining a dog's temperament. Are you saying that if a dog was a resource guarder in those circumstances that it was killed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

muddypaws wrote: »
    Can I ask how long ago that was? I would really hope that nobody is still using rubber hands, it may look realistic to us, but to a dog, it doesn't smell or feel like a human hand so is really no help at all in determining a dog's temperament. Are you saying that if a dog was a resource guarder in those circumstances that it was killed?

I didn't even think that was done in Ireland, used to see it on really old RSPCA shows! And besides, I have absolutely no idea why resource guarding would be a good enough reason to prevent a dog from being adopted! Our Opie was a fierce resource guarder when we got him (it was kept a secret and we didn't find out until he was settled in) but with hard work and a kind hand, we've got it about 90% under control now, and we can manage it with two small kids in the house as well! That plus the rather odd comment about collies has me wondering if they really worked with an SPCA at all tbh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭rachaelf750

I have a mittle Spitz, zeta  she is 14 now,grew up in a young family, great temperament, never barks, doesn't loose hair,never sick and a small breed. If I ever get another dog it will be a mittle Spitz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

I have a mittle Spitz, zeta  she is 14 now,grew up in a young family, great temperament, never barks, doesn't loose hair,never sick and a small breed. If I ever get another dog it will be a mittle Spitz.

German Spitz generally do shed quite a bit, as well as blowing the coat twice a year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I just have t-shirts now that say 'dog hair don't care' :pac: I really don't lol!!

ShaShaBear wrote:
    German Spitz generally do shed quite a bit, as well as blowing the coat twice a year!

True, but there's no constant shedding to put up with or hair all over the place.
    Cute, cuddly, fluffy happy breed.

Oh the ones I know leave hairballs around, shed huge amounts several times a year, bark a lot & many Spitz breeds can be fairly sharp with children. They are healthy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭floraldream

I second the Bichon recommendations. I have one from a rescue and he loves children, he is very patient and just loves to be a part of the action. He would be energetic enough but he will relax and snooze if we don't go out. They need regular grooming though, and can be slow to house train. My fella is about 8 years old and still acts like a puppy, full of energy and mad to play.
    Forgot to add they don't like being left alone so that's something to consider.

Knine wrote:
    Oh the ones I know leave hairballs around, shed huge amounts several times a year, bark a lot & many Spitz breeds can be fairly sharp with children. They are healthy though.

Knine wrote:

Every dog is different. Its all to do with the family training the dog(to be a dog). the posts about bichon dogs saying there great ,I would have the exact opposite opinion and wouldn't entertain one round my children.
    Whatever you pick OP enjoy the relationship, it may be a long one. :)

Every dog is different. Its all to do with the family training the dog(to be a dog). the posts about bichon dogs saying there great ,I would have the exact opposite opinion and wouldn't entertain one round my children.

+ If it's a pup where it's come from and how it was socialised!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

tk123 wrote:
    + If it's a pup where it's come from and how it was socialised!

And further positive interactions with kids once the pup is in its new home. We kind of slipped up in this one. When we visited our pup each time before we brought her home, she was well used to being around children and clearly enjoyed their company. We don't have kids. My younger cousins come to visit from time to time but she was a little wary around them. She would stand away from them getting excited when they were playing but didn't have the confidence to approach them. It was our own fault and took some work but she's more content around them now.

While individual dogs may differ, Breed characteristics come into play. Dogs are a huge hobby of mine. I am in the very fortunate position of getting to meet & interact with a huge range of breeds & so I am giving a general opinion of my experiences with a large quantity of the same breed & their owners rather then an owner who may own one example.

So for example no matter how well the family train the terrier, he is still going to act like a terrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

Golden retriever are a very friendly breed with kids but do shed a little. I have a pom terrier cross and she's small and excellent with kids- cutie too :D

I have two retrievers and they're polar opposites having come from different backgrounds so you really really need to choose a breeder wisely. One is nervy and one is relaxed..she actually hates young kids - to be fair she didn't have much socialisation around very young kids so my fault. She loves older kids especially boys as the breeder had 3 boys of different ages. I always want to shout over to parents who are lifting their kids to safety from my two lions - 'it's ok they've already eaten and she HATES kids... especially babies':pac:

I've been told on many occasions the nervy one would have been surrendered/pts by another owner - this is not the type of dog for a family or inexperienced/impatient owner so again I can't stress enough a REPUTABLE breeder is a must. Retrievers can resource guard - you don't want this around young kids. If they're in pain from bad breeding they might lash out - again not good with kids in the mix.

The other one could have a bomb go off beside her and at best might open one eye then go back asleep!! Retriever number 3 will be from the same lines when the time comes.

If you want a dog that will be sutiable for running with you, avoid any of the squeshy faced dogs/ dogs with known breathing difficulties
    No advice there, as my personal preference and experience is larger dogs (though I'd consider them medium sized) as I have found smaller dogs tend to be a bit snappier and less chilled - but within that there is always a spectrum and the experience and socialisation of the dog.
    As others have said - not dog that is generally problem free!

My general thought on it is if you are not really into dogs and essentially just want a pet and a dog to take on a walk (rather than working/show dog) then ask yourself how much you are willing to pay, and if you are thinking a €200 ish for a dog then you should be thinking of talking to you local rescue and seeing what they would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

One of the reasons small dogs can be much snappier is because the world is genuinely more frightening for small dogs. I've a little fluffy dog. One thing I would do in your situation is not let her around the kids unsupervised, ever, and not let other people's children around her at all unless you know the child well.

The things people- children and adults- will do to a small dog is unbelievable. Go up to her when she's asleep, pull the tail, pour water on her, pull hair, kick her, bark at her, throw things at her, try to examine her teeth (little toddler that), people will let their toddler go up to my dog while she's sitting asleep under a table without asking, they'll swoop the baby down on her from above right into the dog's face, they'll smack the dog 'in play' (an adult smacked the dog using their very small child's hand, who they were holding!). Kids threw those things that made loud bangs at her, while walking down the street.

It takes a LOT of work and careful training with a variety of kids I trust to not be rotters, to keep her good with children. All it takes is one bad experience and the dog can sometimes just decide that they're safer off biting the child than putting themselves at risk. And it seems like some parents and some children are almost going out of their way to make dogs bad with kids.

Do not ever trust a child around dogs- or a dog around children. Sure, it could be grand 99 times out of 100 but it's just a good habit to get into to ward off the 1 in 100 cases.

And don't let your children get into habits of doing these things just because your dog is good- then they'll just get bitten by a stranger's dog if they try the same thing. The dog shouldn't be punished for being good; the reward for being good should be that the kids also respect the dog. If all the dog gets for being good is to have to endure more, it's not a great deal from the dog's perspective.

Ya i totally understand why small dogs can snappy. The other thing i've noticed is that some owners of small dogs don't expect them to behave and don't train them to sit stay etc as you would a larger dog because they can pick them up if they start misbehaving .

*not all small dogs and small dog owners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭EIREAROEIRE

forget all those breeds I have kids 7 and 14 and have had rottweillers last 15 years they are most placid dogs ever forget what u see in the movies that's not what they are they are very clever so if u train them to kill they will be good at it if u spend enough time with them and your kids u wont have to train them they just become part of the family kids love to be able to push and pull around big chubby puppys and they love it too when my kids were babies if the cried they howled to til u calmed baby down get from a registered breeder also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭painauchocolat

forget all those breeds I have kids 7 and 14 and have had rottweillers last 15 years ...
    when my kids were babies if the cried they howled too

I'm not sure I'd put that in the "Pro" column...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭EIREAROEIRE

they howled to alert us they would be out the back and hear them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭painauchocolat

they howled to alert us they would be out the back and hear them

Aaahhh! Sorry - misunderstood ;)