Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kevin Myers, jew've just been erased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Red_Wake wrote: »
    It's worth remembering Kevin has written a slew of articles criticising SF and the provos, and Fuaranach here is our premier IRA lover, so he has a vested interest in silencing the likes of Kevin Myers.

You're a bit (!) obsessed with the whole Sinn F and IRA thing, aren't you. For clarification, I think Myers is a rank hypocrite for one single reason: for decades he has demonised all generations of Irish people who have used violence to achieve the political aim of Irish freedom, while lauding Irish-born people who have used violence to fight for the political aims of the British Empire/state. That.

Claiming that this makes somebody an "IRA lover" is a bit touched even for a far right ideologue like yourself, or at best displays a lamentably impoverished understanding of remedial English. Moreover, while Myers's hypocrisy clearly corresponds to your own political preferences, you, Myers and your fellow travellers are delusional if you think we'll accept your lectures on the immorality of political violence as being sincere. Expecting that you can label us "IRA lovers" (and its variants) because we refuse to rehabilitate the thugs of your Empire is so Sunday Independentesque in about 1993.

As for "silencing Myers", in case you haven't noticed - and clearly you haven't - Myers, Harris, Gregg, Caden, Fanning, The Cruiser, John A. Murphy, Ruth Dudley-Edwards and all the rest of them have been redundant since at least the 31st August 1994. They managed the successful transition from marginalised to redundant overnight by their implacable opposition to the Peace Process. Their bigotry and opposition to republicans would have condemned our society to decades more conflict. And their repeated demonisation of, and attacks on, John Hume between 1988 and 1994 for pushing the Peace Process should never, ever be forgotten when it comes to assessing Myers and his ilk in the Sunday Independent.

Myers is a thug who has only picked on groups that can't fight back - no doubt you think his attack on "bastard children" was just "free speech". That he has been given a platform for his prejudices for so long when there are far more thoughtful and sincere people with fresh, engaging ideas available speaks volumes. The irony clearly eludes you that while you claim that he is being denied "free speech", in reality over the past 40 years Kevin Myers has been granted infinitely more "free speech" by the media than the vast majority of Irish people have ever been granted.
    It would seem I've touched a nerve.

Red_Wake wrote: »
    It would seem I've touched a nerve.

Devastatingly original response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

It is, actually. Do you really think, for instance, these stereotypes of the Irish were a harmless bit of craic and had no powerful role in denying advancement, dehumanising, redefining and excluding Irish people from power? Or that phrases in English designed to portray the Irish as stupid - "that's a bit Irish", for example - were also just harmless to an Irish person who had to prove himself twice as hard to overcome the prejudice of that stereotype? Likewise with the huge stereotypes which women face and have to overcome - stereotypes are, in all these cases, barriers designed by a powerful group to keep the less powerful down.

As is very clear, what Myers did was use a deeply, poisonously pernicious negative Christian stereotype of Jewish people as mean that goes back well over a thousand years. He applied it, with a seemingly positive twist, to two women in 2017 who happened to be Jewish as a way to explain their financial success. The sheer stupidity right there to define workers/professionals as prisoners of their religion is gobsmacking. That's before even getting to defining them by a stereotype of their religion.

This ostensibly "positive" twist of "Look, more evidence that the Jews are shrewd with money and fair play to them", rings very hollow indeed, given the centuries upon centuries of murder, pogroms and so much more which have been visited upon Jews specifically for their alleged relationship with "being good with money". Stereotypes do not exist outside reality in some harmless fantasy land. In the specific stereotype Myers utilised they have had real potency and have inflicted real harm. Under the guise of "freedom of speech" he has been making a career out of stereotyping minority groups (never, ever conservative English and pro-British Empire groups, of course) for a long time in his attempt to "provoke" (offend).Never having the courage to take on that conservative establishment. This has been the basis of his journalism business model. Finally, and by accident, he picked on a minority which had the coherence and organisation to fight back.

Do you do a box set?

Also because he was very careful to pick on people who were weaker than him.

You mean Sinn Fein and the likes.../

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

southstar wrote: »
    You mean Sinn Fein and the likes.../

you dont think it is difficult to criticise sinn fein?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭goochy

as I have said before a journalist like Myers is paid to give his opinion - he cant be wrong no more then any of us can be wrong to have an opinion.
    It might not be the same opinion as yours and it might even offend you - buts its an opinion and an opinion should not be silenced or ridiculed because its not your opinion / pc correct.

I have no doubt theres a lot of pc people on here who only want to hear people saying lovely things all the time and everything being all nicey nice but that's not the real world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

If he didn't bring up Jews in the way he did then no one would have cared. 
    major pc overreaction imo. he is a provocative journalist for sure.... he ain't Dr. Evil.

Major idiotic response, imo. It's silly, to put it mildly, to claim that employing stereotypes is not a "big deal", and then respond, when the power of  stereotypes to hurt people is shown, that it's "pc" to oppose stereotypes. No engagement. Just a little script of set soundbites like "pc" "nanny state" and the like. Furthermore, nobody in this thread had claimed, or implied, that Myers is "Dr Evil", so get back in your box with your tabloidesque strawman.
    Sure  you use stereotypes all the time.

goochy wrote: »
    as I have said before a journalist like Myers is paid to give his opinion - he cant be wrong no more then any of us can be wrong to have an opinion.
    It might not be the same opinion as yours and it might even offend you - buts its an opinion and an opinion should not be silenced or ridiculed because its not your opinion / pc correct.

I have no doubt theres a lot of pc people on here who only want to hear people saying lovely things all the time and everything being all nicey nice but that's not the real world.

nobody gives a monkey what his opinion is. Once you start using crude stereotypes then you are going to get called on it. For a man who is supposed to be very intelligent he sure does some stupid things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Round and round and round we go. You seem to be saying that just because he's PAID for his opinion he can say whatever the hell he wants. If someone PAID me to spread falsehoods about you is that OK?

I'm not paid for my opinion and I'm presuming neither are you. KM earned the privilege of column inches and a salary by adhering to the editorial standards of the Times. It's more than alarming how far things have come that so many people on here don't think the slur he used warranted dismissal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭goochy

Well I do give a monkey's what he says so stop doing what youre criticising him for and generalising and stop thinking that because you are offended that most people are . Pc people don't make up the majority of society from my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Pc people don't make up the majority of society from my experience

Although I don't think I'm a member of this delicate race of "PC people", the assertion above might be more of a reflection of the company you keep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

This, so much.

I miss the days when one's recourse to being offended was "either retaliate giving as good as you got, or f*ck off". The world will become a boring place without any banter at all if the no platform train (heh) is allowed to gather any more steam. Honestly, instead of getting Myers fired why didn't they just write an article attacking him as a malodorous fart of a man whose "diary" is honestly less gripping than an average teenager's?

When I see censorship, I see a wasted opportunity for a slanging match, digital or otherwise. Sad times we live in.

Ah come on now. The Irish can be some of the most sensitive if something is said about us. e.g. Outrage over things Aus, US, UK media have said/published in the past.
    We can take a joke, but...

Well I do give a monkey's what he says so stop doing what youre criticising him for and generalising and stop thinking that because you are offended that most people are . Pc people don't make up the majority of society from my experience

perhaps you need to experience better society?

you dont think it is difficult to criticise sinn fein?

Hardly shrinking violets..or indeed were the the paramilitaries who he roundly mocked.. during the during the troubles particularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I think he got away with the articles for so long because he was pretty much completely irrelevant to public debate in Ireland and no one really bothered reading his screeds anymore. He's had zero influence in this country.

Why do you think he was paid so much by various newspapers "for years"? He very much was a relevant, widely-read columnist. To say otherwise is just simple incorrect.

Oooof, can't wait for the inevitable backlash from all those who hounded Kevin Myers out of a job on this one... surely this Jim Browne's days are numbered...

https://countrysquire.co.uk/2017/08/10/get-stuffed-eire/

Get Stuffed, Eire

BY JIM BROWNE

The Republic of Ireland has a population less than twice the size of Manchester. It has a history of seeing “England’s difficulty as Ireland’s Opportunity” (At the outbreak of the First World War in August 1914, the slogan ‘England’s difficulty is Ireland’s opportunity’ became synonymous among Irish nationalists and became the driving force behind physical force nationalism in Ireland during the first half of the twentieth century). Just like its Irish-blooded compatriots in Glasgow who form the basis for the bothersome SNP – Irish navvies who went over to Scotland to build the infrastructure the local population needed. The Irish Taoiseach, Éamon de Valera, formally offered his condolences to the German Minister in Dublin on the death of Adolf Hitler in 1945. The southern Irish – just like their northern friends Sinn Fein – can be trusted about as far as one can throw them. Nothing has changed.

Britain is far and away Ireland’s biggest trading partner, accounting for 50 per cent of exports from the Republic. Ireland is virtually entirely dependent upon its larger neighbour for energy, importing 90 per cent of its oil and more than 90 per cent of its gas from the UK.

One estimate says a Brexit could see trade between the two countries reduced by 20 per cent or more, while trade barriers would jack up prices of Irish imports from the UK. The effect on the Republic could be devastating.

Who cares?

The Irish Government under its latest lippy Taoiseach, Leo Varadkar, continues the Irish tradition of being bloody difficult and is used like de Valera by the Germans. Varadkar sees Brexit as an opportunity to be a pain in the situpon. He has said the country will not “design a border for the Brexiteers” as his foreign minister said there was no proposal to make the Irish Sea the new frontier with the UK after withdrawal.

Let’s take stock for a moment.

Eire is the land of puppy farms, rain-soaked holidays, dingy bars, drugs mule celebs, verbal diarrhoea and squeaky fiddles – that fool Bob Geldof comes from there. A “country” where the burglars from Britain with surnames like Kettle and Rafferty – return to build eyesore “palaces” in ratholes like Rathkeale (a small Irish town swollen by the proceeds of crime). Eire is bankrupt yet replete with EU white elephants (many unfinished as the money dried up to complete motorways and other infrastructure) – the destination for lots of British money via the EU unelected overlords in recent decades. The country’s banking history is a joke – wasted away on a property boom and buying in furniture restoring old British castles for narcissistic Irish “entrepreneurs”.

There are two rates of corporation tax in the Republic of Ireland: 12.5% for trading income, 25% for non-trading income – Eire cannot generate enough business for itself without attracting offshore business and depends upon dressing itself up as the BVI with Guinness. Eire’s history is basically British – before that it was a bunch of warring families and a corrupt church involved in an incessant spiral of gob****eing and slaying – certainly not a nation. The best things in Eire are all British – amongst them Cadbury’s chocolate, Jack Charlton and the English breakfast. Even their much-heralded patron Saint was a Brit and they had to kidnap the poor fellow – at the age of sixteen Patrick was captured by a group of Irish pirates who brought him to Ireland where he was enslaved and held captive for several years (one wonders if the plastic Paddies in Boston and Chicago who dye their rivers green know this?).

Want to see some Irish loyalty? During the Falklands Crisis even Guinness considered turning itself into an English company and was prepared to drop all associations with Ireland .

The British Government should pay as much attention to whining Varadkar as it does now to the punctured gasbag Sturgeon. The Irish trading corporation tax rate should be undercut by a post Brexit UK economy and just sit back, Britons, and watch the rush of business that will both return from Eire and emerge from the rest of the world, especially Trump’s America and in the form of flight capital from China and the East. London as a financial haven independent of the EU and its upcoming financial travails (just look at Deutsche Bank and the EU’s dependency on corporate bonds in basket cases like Siemens) will flourish even more.

Eire’s dairy can get lost – as Britain’s farmers get supported post Brexit by British consumers for once, and delicious Welsh lamb, British beef and the wonderful dairy products of Northern Ireland and Scotland grace our kitchen tables. The border with Eire should be set up however the UK wants it – however much Eire and the EU whine. If the IRA kick up a fuss, just carry on as things were in 1998 – crack down on the cowards to the point where they have nowhere to go except surrender or negotiate. They will be seen worldwide in the same light as Al Qaeda.

Dublin parrots the claim that Eire is the fifth-largest market for UK goods and the largest for the North’s exports – the need to reach an agreement that safeguards both the UK and Irish interests is essential.

Don’t listen to that rot.

Eire will be one of the most economically damaged EU countries post-Brexit if the right deal for Britain – what the BBC calls a Hard Brexit – is made. Already as sterling has weakened, the Economist reports, exports to Britain have become less competitive, and imports from Britain cheaper. Britain takes two-fifths of Irish-owned firms’ exports, and a similar share of all agricultural exports. Beef and dairy farmers are struggling, and several of Ireland’s mushroom farms, which export four-fifths of their produce to Britain, have already closed. Once Britain actually leaves the EU, Irish firms will face further difficulties. Those thinking of exporting generally start with Britain. And many Irish workers gain experience and training across the Irish Sea. Post-Brexit, Irish firms will struggle to break out of their small domestic market and will recruit from a shallower talent pool. Distribution and supply chains criss-cross both islands. If customs checks and tariffs were reintroduced, those links would have to be broken. Trade would fall further as rules on everything from food labelling to environmental standards diverged.

If Britain wants to it can run Eire into the ground where there are no consolations – its spotty youths will brain drain again to the US and Britain and its economy will crumble. In a decade, after some bumps in the road, Britain and the North of Ireland will flourish. Varadkar will be on the political scrapheap like Sturgeon. The squeals of puppies trapped in car boots will be long gone. Britain’s farms will be booming. The EU will be without Italy and the vacuous Macron experiment will be a distant memory, as will Merkel who won’t dare show herself in public after a fatwa has been put on her by the Muslim Mayor of Cologne.

Maybe then prodigal Eire will seek membership of the UK. Unlikely. Unless they somehow – miraculously – developed loyalty, we’d not actually want them or their hurdy-gurdy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Why do you think he was paid so much by various newspapers "for years"? He very much was a relevant, widely-read columnist. To say otherwise is just simple incorrect.

He might have had a bit of traction when he was writing the Irishman's Diary for the Irish Times but that must be well over a decade ago and as far as I can tell it must be over 4 years since he's written for the Independent. I'll be honest, until this all happened I was in blissful ignorance of the fact that he was still being employed to write his condescending pap.

Well, many, many... many people were not... I rarely read him, personally, but his column was hugely popular and very widely read.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Oooof, can't wait for the inevitable backlash from all those who hounded Kevin Myers out of a job on this one... surely this Jim Browne's days are numbered...

That's hilarious, that guy is so salty over this whole Brexit thing :pac: I wasn't a fun of Varadkar when he first came in but his brexit/DUP trolling game is winning me over

It's my favourite part of Leo V too :D

you can imagine him foaming at the mouth as the writes it. hilarious article.

I picture him looking like a cross between Alan Partridge and all of the guys from Last of the Summer Wine...

I thought for a second maybe it was some sort of British Waterford Whispers website but judging from their other articles it doesn't look like it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Just a relevant bump ;) The BAI find RTE's Morning Ireland guilty of over-egging their description of Kevin Myres as a Holocaust denier

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/media-and-marketing/morning-ireland-unfair-to-call-kevin-myers-a-holocaust-denier-bai-rules-1.3378157
    Morning Ireland’s description of Kevin Myers as a Holocaust denier misrepresented his views and lacked fairness, the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland has ruled. The authority is therefore upholding a complaint made against the RTÉ show, the country’s most listened-to radio programme, after its presenter Audrey Carville said on July 31st, 2017, that the journalist had “previously written a column in which he denied the Holocaust”.

It is understood that the BAI’s ruling, which has yet to be published, will be read out on air in the coming days

Fair play. Refreshing moment of sanity in a crazy world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭cfuserkildare

Fair play. Refreshing moment of sanity in a crazy world.

Not providing an opinion,
    Just asking,
    But What If He Is Correct???
    Would his dismissal be legal if he was actually telling the truth?

It must be a year now since Myers committed harakiri on his own career as the latest BBC salaries have just been published:

Best paid BBC presenters 3018

Myers to sue RTÉ (24 June)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Wow, I'd forgotten all about this.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

One of my proudest threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

He thought it was goodbye Jews but it was goodbye Kevin.

Just to bump up the brilliant thread title!

Kevin Myers is suing the Sunday Business Post (16 July 2019)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 yaguhu cloud

What was said in the article?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Did you read the last sentence of that article? "Comments are closed for legal reasons."

One of my proudest titles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Mr Myers sued RTE after it described him as a 'Holocaust denier' during a broadcast on 'Morning Ireland' in July 2017. As part of the undisclosed settlement, newsreader Bryan Dobson read out the apology on the show.

Jesus what kind of world do we live in?! He literally said:

There was no Holocaust: Kevin Myers

As the title of an opinion article in a national paper less than ten years ago.

https://archive.is/20170730122019/http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/there-was-no-holocaust-kevin-myers-28473646.html

He even said in the text:
    It hasn't. I'm a holocaust denier; but

The man is a Holocaust denier.

The world's gone crazy. Did RTE not have a solicitor that pointed that out?

did you read the archived article you just linked?

He was making a, perhaps pedantic, reflection on the literal meaning of the word holocaust. He was not denying that millions of Jews were subjected to a prolonged campaign of genocidal murder.

Writers have to be allowed to write.

did you read the archived article you just linked?

He was making a, perhaps pedantic, reflection on the literal meaning of the word holocaust. He was not denying that millions of Jews were subjected to a prolonged campaign of genocidal murder.

Writers have to be allowed to write.

He said he was a holocaust denier. There was nothing pedantic about that. He's a holocaust denier, he said it himself.

What you're arguing is that "he's not really bad like those other holocaust deniers" but that doesn't change the fact that it's quite correct to refer to him as a holocaust denier.

Did he even apologise for and retract the article? Because he's done that for a lot of articles. If he apologised for and retracted it then maybe RTE should offer some apology which at the same time mentioning that he had claimed to be a Holocaust denier only a few years ago.

Why would you even come up with this post?

He said he was a holocaust denier. There was nothing pedantic about that. He's a holocaust denier, he said it himself.

What you're arguing is that "he's not really bad like those other holocaust deniers" but that doesn't change the fact that it's quite correct to refer to him as a holocaust denier.

Did he even apologise for and retract the article? Because he's done that for a lot of articles. If he apologised for and retracted it then maybe RTE should offer some apology which at the same time mentioning that he had claimed to be a Holocaust denier only a few years ago.

Why would you even come up with this post?
    if i say i am a snow leopard, am i a snow leopard?

Shut up.

I sometimes can't believe how dumb some people online are, like I try to be reasonable and have patience and get this ****ing ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Shut up.

I sometimes can't believe how dumb some people online are, like I try to be reasonable and have patience and get this ****ing ****.

Ok, Boomer.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Shut up.

6%20NEWS%20PL9613671Journ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Shut up.

You ok pal? You seem a bit angsty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

He takes pleasure in debating semantics and dancing on the head of a pin, but gets mightly offended when anyone might supposedly misinterpret his deliberately provocative yet purposely ambiguous guff. An awful man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Arghus wrote: »
    He takes pleasure in debating semantics and dancing on the head of a pin, but gets mightly offended when anyone might supposedly misinterpret his deliberately provocative yet purposely ambiguous guff. An awful man.

I remember the article, it was basically "I deny the holocaust because holocaust means to burn a sacrifice completely and the Jews were not all burned, some were shot or bludgeoned". What a point to split hairs over. Edgy.

offended? defamed according to the judge

strandroad wrote: »
    I remember the article, it was basically "I deny the holocaust because holocaust means to burn a sacrifice completely and the Jews were not all burned, some were shot or bludgeoned". What a point to split hairs over. Edgy.
    all the best art is edgy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

offended? defamed according to the judge

I'd need to know more about the case, was the article from the Belfast Telegraph related to why he was referred to as a Holocaust Denier on RTÉ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

all the best art is edgy

It's hardly creative or original to go after the holocaust is it. Imagine having a weekly column with massive readership and of all the possible topics you could come up with to educate or entertain your audience this is the pearl of wisdom you choose to share: that the metaphor of ritual burning is to be denied because not everyone of the millions who died was literally burned.

strandroad wrote: »
    It's hardly creative or original to go after the holocaust is it. Imagine having a weekly column with massive readership and of all the possible topics you could come up with to educate or entertain your audience this is the pearl of wisdom you choose to share: that the metaphor of ritual burning is to be denied because not everyone of the millions who died was literally burned.
    that's all just a matter of taste though, isnt it? Not your cup of tea, mine neither but he should be able to write it without people sh1tting the bed.

Here's what the Jewish Council of Ireland said

“More than any other Irish journalist,” said the council in a statement, “he has written columns about details of the Holocaust over the last three decades that would not otherwise have been known by a substantial Irish audience.

“The knee-jerk responses from those outside Ireland appear to care little for facts and pass on (along with some media outlets) falsehoods about his previous writings without verification. This has been exacerbated by a thoroughly misleading headline being sent around the world that is wholly unrepresentative of the article to which it refers.”