Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kevin Myers, jew've just been erased

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Nothing story. Why does everyone get so offended these days about everything. Did he not just say Jews are good business people?

Irish eat lots of spuds
    Irish drink a lot

I'm not offended by these stereotypes. I don't know why Jews would be about what he said either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Is it not a but funny that there's countless articles saying that people are paid more because of their gender and that's fine, but then suggesting that people being paid more because of their religion is unacceptable? I don't fully see the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Shameful that it took the English to notice how much of a bigoted scumbag Myers is before something was finally done about it. If that column had never gone up online, he'd still be in a job.

He'll be on whinging about it all with George Hook tomorrow no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

tomofson wrote: »
    He insults Irish people everyday and..... nothing.

He has one little pop at the chosen people and of course, out on he's ear in minutes...

I don't like him one bit but that double standard is disgusting.

Not even "one little pop". Even mentioning Jews or Jewishness in any context is seen as suspect. Even when the media never stop talking about certain demographic groups having too much power or influence or money, there's one demographic group that never gets mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

blue note wrote: »
    Is it not a but funny that there's countless articles saying that people are paid more because of their gender and that's fine, but then suggesting that people being paid more because of their religion is unacceptable? I don't fully see the difference.

Are there really countless articles saying that it's fine that people are paid more because of their gender? I would have assumed that those articles are in the minority, and are the target of criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Are there really countless articles saying that it's fine that people are paid more because of their gender? I would have assumed that those articles are in the minority, and are the target of criticism.

No, the articles say that men are paid more than women because they are men. And those articles being written and published is fine. But saying that Jews are paid more than non jews (inferring that it's because of their religion) is a sackable offence apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

I doubt it, it's all factually correct

He didn't deny the mass murder. It was a play on words.

blue note wrote: »
    No, the articles say that men are paid more than women because they are men. And those articles being written and published is fine. But saying that Jews are paid more than non jews (inferring that it's because of their religion) is a sackable offence apparently.

I see what you mean now. However, I think anyone who said that men are getting paid more because they're better at negotiating their worth would be the target of criticism. Not as much criticism, in fairness, as Myers saying the same thing about Jewish people, because there's an assumption in the second case that he's paying a back-handed compliment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Poor old my arse! Hung up on jews!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

He didn't deny the mass murder. It was a play on words.

And the BBC never said he did either. He was being very pedantic in the article and that level of pedantry should let the BBC off too

People defending his opinion, people objecting to his opinion, people saying his opinion isn't the point he has no inherent right to a job giving it and a platform in the media and all along I'm saying, grand, grand, look, grand but cmere

Isn't the real problem that he's a stupid man with nothing but stupid opinions and really if you have to be trolled by an article every week why dear god why can't they find more thoughtful, intelligent people than indulged precious brats like this clown, or John waters, or Breda o'brien, or Una voce or whoever.

Like, clickbait, fine, whatever. Jesus Christ and fúck me pink there must be higher standard trolls than these shower of pathetic wasters out there.

What is wrong with the troll supply chain in modern print media!

It's interesting that the gender bias in the BBC continues to engage the female 1%.

The reason this article was noticed was Myers' attack on the gender politics attacks on the BBC. That's what enraged the female upper crust feminist.

The fact that he could be accused of anti Semitism if you read a backhanded compliment in a certain way is largely irrelevant. If he was taking about something that didn't mention the "mainland" it would not have been an issue.

People defending his opinion, people objecting to his opinion, people saying his opinion isn't the point he has no inherent right to a job giving it and a platform in the media and all along I'm saying, grand, grand, look, grand but cmere

Isn't the real problem that he's a stupid man with nothing but stupid opinions and really if you have to be trolled by an article every week why dear god why can't they find more thoughtful, intelligent people than indulged precious brats like this clown, or John waters, or Breda o'brien, or Una voce or whoever.

Like, clickbait, fine, whatever. Jesus Christ and fúck me pink there must be higher standard trolls than these shower of pathetic wasters out there.

What is wrong with the troll supply chain in modern print media!

He's clearly a good writer - although less so when trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Well there's a significant pay gap between Kevin Myers today and yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Does anyone know what the 2 mentioned women do earn per year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Does anyone know what the 2 mentioned women do earn per year?

https://www.theguardian.com/media/2017/jul/19/who-earns-what-among-bbcs-top-talent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭goochy

Hope Myers takes the Times to the cleaners , his editor approved it then fires him cause article got bad reception.
    political correctness gone mad , your allowed write an article as long as everyone likes it.- how boring . North Korea here we come !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

So what happens to the editor who ok'ed it and published the piece?

He/She gets off scot free?

So what happens to the editor who ok'ed it and published the piece?

He/She gets off scot free?

Remains to be seen, I'd say, but if he's going to be sacked or made to resign, they can't do it as quickly as they can to a columnist, I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Collie D wrote: »

John McEnroes pay is ridculous. The BBC broadcast 4 weeks of tennis per year and that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

timthumbni wrote: »
    I realise that the term doesn't refer to ni unionists. Hence why I asked what term the poster would refer to ni unionists as.

I have heard the term west Brit on here many times and without fail each time it has been a poster who I would describe as having very pro Ira sympathies. (And I'm basing that on their other posts on numerous threads.)

As for thinking NI as a backwater compared to you lot grow up. Youse will blow hard about the prices of your houses again for a while and then next thing you will be able to buy 2 for 10k euro... plus the brits (not west brits btw) will have to lend you a few bob to keep your lights on......

That's the thing about a loan though, it's paid back with interest which is a good thing for the lender.

The British Government gives you lot north of the border over £10 billion a year and it will be even more after Brexit, and apart from that the average Londoner has a lot more in common with us here in the South than the pallet and flag burning lads and lassies who call themselves British.

I'm assuming that you do know the Brits would cut NI loose in the morning if they could.

He's clearly a good writer - although less so when trolling.

Arguable. I call on the side of not.

And besides, I would submit that in his role he ought to be a good thinker (and exhibit same) as well as a good writer, which is what I was lamenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

Honestly, I'm not only shocked that they printed this particular column. I'm shocked that they didn't fire this guy a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

We all knew Myers was a racist right wing unionist troll, yet our 2 main newspapers and national broadcaster swooned over and constantly gave him a platform.

They all indulged his West Brit anti-Irish nonsense.

The British media in fact regularly give the same treatment to cultural and ethnic groups that Myers gave to the Jews.
    Irish are this.
    Arabs are that, etc.

Delighted he's been fired.

Boycott anywhere that hires him.

Funny according to the Brits "Leicester born" Myers is "Irish" now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,751 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Academic wrote: »
    Honestly, I'm not only shocked that they printed this particular column. I'm shocked that they didn't fire this guy a long time ago.

He was hired to be controversial.

This time he simply messed with wrong group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

He's been in the cross hairs of the fascist liberal elite for a long time now, so no real surprise at what's occurred but we need more of his ilk though, not less.

His column was often an abattoir to many a sacred cow of course and for that he can only be commended. Not immune for being wrong of course but he's hit more nails squarely on the head than any other Irish journalist I can think of and even if not always appreciated for his views in the moment, time often retrospectively shows that his thinking had the foresight which his detractors sorely lacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

All traces of Kevin Myers being expunged from the Sunday Times after he wrote an article for their Irish edition on the women's pay gap with a bit of antisemitism thrown in for good measure.

Now while we might all just roll our eyes and say, 'Oh Kevin', it seems to be kicking up a bit of a **** storm as the Brits are not familiar with him and it's forced to paper to delete any online traces and issue an apology

link

Oh and in other news it's Arnie's 70th birthday today, movie marathon coming up

Wait, what?! Arnie is 70 today?! :eek:

Where has the time gone?!

Oh and Sly is 71!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

timthumbni wrote: »
    As for thinking NI as a backwater compared to you lot grow up.

The north is one of the poorest, most deprived, regions in all of the the EU. Nine of the 10 poorest regions in Northern Europe are in the UK.

18477-6rv6cn.jpg

The same EU that that gob****e Ian Paisley Jnr demands Britain leave the customs union of which might save the north from becoming even more deprived. It's well known that the HM's Treasury see the north as nothing but a financial sinkhole.
    plus the brits (not west brits btw) will have to lend you a few bob to keep your lights on......

They should be very thankful we didn't refuse to pay unsecured bondholders or they'd have stood to lose far more than they 'loaned' us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 jackseptember

How much advertising revenue did the article pull?

Did nobody edit the article?

Another one for the RTE blooper reel

How much advertising revenue did the article pull?

Did nobody edit the article?

Another one for the RTE blooper reel

RTE???

Aineoil wrote: »
    Well there's a significant pay gap between Kevin Myers today and yesterday.

Hehe.

The cause of Myers' problem, and Myers' destruction, is ridiculously obvious: for decades his media profile has depended upon creating offence/controversy. Article by article, year by year he has alienated more and more groups to the extent that he has had to become more extreme to get the traction he got 10 or 20 years ago. Like so many other similar shitehawks in medialand - Donald Trump being the most obvious - this career trajectory has a limited lifespan.

While Myers is indisputably an incorrigibly anti-Irish apologist for the crimes of the British Empire, I don't believe he is an anti-Semite. But being desperate enough for attention to word his article on this topic as he did is justifiably ending his career. All the people he has intentionally hurt and groups he has alienated will now pounce. He sailed far too close to the wind one last time. All his lives are used up. Slán a Chaoimhín beo; ní bheidh do leithéid arís ann, buíochas le Dia.

Beautifully put!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

snowflaker wrote: »
    He did, in the indo, a few years ago. They only deleted the article today

Nope. Belfast Telegraph

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I wonder will Kevin go to see Dunkirk.

I can just see him singing Horst Wessel and crying as he leaves the Cinema.

Danzy wrote: »
    I wonder will Kevin go to see Dunkirk.

I can just see him singing Horst Wessel and crying as he leaves the Cinema.

He's pretty much pro British.

Dunkirk was, but the way, a loss by Britain. They turned something that should be ignoble into a moral victory.

Nope. Belfast Telegraph

It was an Indo article- they own both, BT deleted after II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Any reaction from Myarse? He's never had a twitter account ?

He's been in the cross hairs of the fascist liberal elite for a long time now, so no real surprise at what's occurred but we need more of his ilk though, not less.

His column was often an abattoir to many a sacred cow of course and for that he can only be commended. Not immune for being wrong of course but he's hit more nails squarely on the head than any other Irish journalist I can think of and even if not always appreciated for his views in the moment, time often retrospectively shows that his thinking had the foresight which his detractors sorely lacked.

Please, he's a trollish little twerp.

It's a feeding frenzy now with chunks of the article being taken out of context so that the usual suspects can paint themselves as second class citizens.

https://twitter.com/jk_rowling/status/891740914103853056

The article in full:

Presentation1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Randle P. McMurphy

Whatever one thought of his political views he was one of the few writers not afraid to call a spade a spade. It's a shame he's been silenced in this way, but once he came on the CAA radar he was dead meat.

Samaris wrote: »
    ...What even in the? His opinions read like absolute drivel, and that's even before one gets to the Holocaust-denial (I did have to laugh when I saw someone saying it was taken out of context and he didn't mean it, they've presumably not read the quote!) that rather makes me go "oh, right, okay, he can't help being an idiot".

Not even "offended", just bemused at someone being that much of a tool.

Samaris wrote: »
    He easily could have made his point that punishing word-crimes, or punishing bloody idiots for being bloody idiots is wrong in a liberal society.

But it's impossible for any literate person to come away from that Holocaust article believing that it was all about denying the Holocaust. Myers probably doesn't care about the etymology of holocaust. He was being intentionally pedantic to illustrate the very point you say he should have made: that you shouldn't be punishing "word crimes", i.e. utterly pedantic literal facts.

I again emphasise my own personal allergy to Kevin Myers, but there are people out there who believe that article was about the Holocaust having been fabricated, when no sensible person could have believed so, had they actually read the thing. Of course he believes the Holocaust happened, he was merely engaging in pedantry to prove a point.

It serves us no purpose to inflate and exaggerate the criticism that Myers deserves, because it only enlarges his undoubted sense of victimhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Whatever one thought of his political views he was one of the few writers not afraid to call a spade a spade. It's a shame he's been silenced in this way, but once he came on the CAA radar he was dead meat.
    CAA? The Civil Aviation Authority? True though, they do know a lot about radar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭torqtorq

Collie D wrote: »
    Hardly surprising. He hates everyone so the Jews were probably due to get his ire one day.

Didn't he post here once upon a time?

Right wing, misogynyst, unionist, snob and all round arsehole.

You left out catholic and catholic educated!

Please, he's a trollish little twerp.

Great retort of my points. I hadn't thought about it like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

torqtorq wrote: »
    You left out catholic and catholic educated!

??

This is a tautology. A false tautology if that's possible!

I'm not terrifically invested but I'll take a moment to register a line of protest to the notion that just because someone is willing to offend people or disregard any outside input or feedback arising from their published ouevre that there is inherent value in such an approach.

You've to be right, or interesting, or clever to get such credit. If it's your contention that he was any of those things then that's another matter.

Not everybody agrees on what a spade is, unless you are literally pointing at a spade and asking for enlightenment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

He's pretty much pro British.

Disgraceful.

He's even worse than we thought.

Great retort of my points. I hadn't thought about it like that.

Your points were that you like Myers and agree with him and that he is the victim of a liberal conspiracy.

Two of that formidable set aren't really arguable, enjoy yr opinions and good luck. The last is....yeah look...maybe someone else wants to engage with you on that but it doesn't seem a promising avenue tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

He's been in the cross hairs of the fascist liberal...

Fascist or liberal, which is it?

On Myers, just one word sums him up: supercilious.

Your points were that you like Myers and agree with him and that he is the victim of a liberal conspiracy.

Two of that formidable set aren't really arguable, enjoy yr opinions and good luck. The last is....yeah look...maybe someone else wants to engage with you on that but it doesn't seem a promising avenue tbh

I's save your breath for cooling your porridge