Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Season 7 Episode 4 "The Spoils of War" - "Non book readers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

It's annoying when an episode is so brilliant that there are still a few things bothering you. Like no-one wearing any helmets (I know they cover up the actors but you could at least have some kind of cap, Dany had no protection at all and an arrow could have hit her easily). Or Bronn not coughing with all the smoke. Or no-one manning the dragon-shooting weapon in case the dragon shows up. And then apparently no-one thought of it until long after the battle began.

And Jaime taking an age to attack Daenerys (and why didn't he throw the lance?)
    With the episode called "The Spoils of War", I would imagine the capture of Jamie is the spoils.

The Tyrell gold is the spoils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Maybe it's nothing but as Little finger is standing looking down on the courtyard you could clearly hear a raven.Will it be one carrying word from Jon or was it just a random bird?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Anyone else think that Danny on the back of Drogon was a bit too cheesy? She'd make a good jockey

424559.jpg

Up there with the best episodes IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,805 ✭✭✭Evade

If Daenerys is going to participate in more battles she should probably invest in some armour.

How much can dragons lift? Could we see Drogon in a dragon sized breastplate soon?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Great episode.

Good to see Jaime in a battle, even with only one hand, he was still able to handle himself against the Dothraki. He tried to stab Dany in the back, just like he did with her father. Old habits dying hard?

Next week should be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

goose2005 wrote: »

The Tyrell gold is the spoils
    cause he's a leftie!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I really wish Bronn had been fried at that point, it would have been an epic moment and send off. I really liked Bronn like everyone else, but his day is over and he doesn't do anything anymore or have any purpose*, better to go out in a blaze of glory!

*Anyone could have taken Jaime off the horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

eeguy wrote: »
    Behind the scenes here https://youtu.be/pE2wcBeyNdk

Those stuntmen are mental.

Also, thank God GoT splashes out on CGI. Imagine Drogon done by the same people who did that deer on The Walking Dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Phew! Once again I have to say I'm pretty satisfied with this weeks offering of Game of Thrones.

Satisfied? Oh my! - How could I be anything but satisfied with that finale? Satisfied doesn't even wholly do it justice - awestruck would be more apt. Whatever gigantic onscreen carnage may occur in the future from the show I'd be willing to bet that this weeks combustive climax will go down in perpetuity as one of the top three or four jaw-dropping sequences in the entire run of seventy odd episodes - a run that's already included at least a handful or so of dazzlingly realized battles of similar scale: absolute rip-roarers of shit-kicking action that have utterly redefined what constitutes "epic" on the small screen.

All issues notwithstanding: when the chips are down no show can blow your mind and incinerate your cranium like Game of Thrones. Thank God it exists. It fills a need.

The irony is of course that up until that final symphony of death I actually didn't think the rest of the episode was notably outstanding. I mean, it was good - but whereas last week was a particularly solid episode from start to finish, this week, initially, didn't feel as similarly stuffed with quality and, truth be told, some of it felt just a little bit stupid and even slightly forced. But more about that anon...

Bron. Jaime. Two men: busting balls. In a field. It was good to have the chuckle brothers back again. They're the Yin to the Yang personified in Jon and Davos. Jon and Davos are all earnest lovable seriousness, but good old B an’ J are endless cynical wisecracks and the constant sound of chops being bust, which - as we all know - is super secret tough guy bro code for “I care for you very deeply indeed”. Bron is possibly the most incorrigible smack talker that the show has to offer, which is truly saying something. He reminds me of guys you meet who just don’t let up with the shit-talk for even one single solitary second and make you initially bear ill will towards them - “Jesus, give it a rest buddy” - but then, after a while, they grow on you and you can’t summon that former easy hate towards them anymore - And you congratulate yourself for being so magnanimous! That’s Bron. You should hate him, but you can’t, so then you don’t - and that makes you feel good.

Gold. Money. Riches. That seemed to be a preoccupation the opening scene and it was also a preoccupation when we made our way back to King’s Landing for our weekly catch up with how The Ice Queen is getting on. A bit quieter this week. Well, much quieter. I suppose she was all sadistic crueltied out after the last day out with the two from Dorne - no doubt she relished it at the time, but, sure, that kind of craic would take it out of anyone. One can’t be flexing those malevolence muscles all the time, plus Cersei definitely doesn’t need anymore gainz in those areas. This week it was all about the wheeling and dealing in the nitty gritty of financial footing of waging war. Mark Gattis had his performance set to maximum oiliness, which was entertaining, but, overall I think it’s a shame how we didn’t get just a pinch more of Lena Headley chewing the scenery this week. Whenever there is a scene pertaining to finance in GoT, my brain just kind of glosses over. Much like in boring real life I know all this stuff about banks, bonds and backwardation is awfully important, but I’ll be damned if I’m really all that interested. I’m a simple man, keep it simple for me - are we or aren’t we goosed money wise or not? Well Cersei seems to be, potentially, kinda, could be; depending on how things go. She could also be potentially quids in; depending on how things go. Awful like real life really. Ah well. See ya next week Cersei, when you’ll hopefully be stringing some poor fcker up for a crime he didn’t commit. We'll have a laugh!

Elsewhere - In Winterfell the Stark family get-together continued apace. Most of the band is back together by now. But first we got a scene of Bran and Littlefinger having a chat together, gas men altogether. It was an interesting contrast in styles. The man who knows everything vs the man who thinks he knows everything. Bizarre “I am dead inside and therefore cannot emote” type acting vs inescapably wooden yet also cringe worthy hammy acting - a style I can only call “The Gillen”. Though he didn’t do his best to ruin the scene this time, which was nice of him. The final reaction shot of that close up on his face actually was quite effective - there was a lot of subtlety and interpretation there. Has Littlefinger met his match? Has he truly changed? Who knows. Well Bran knows, obviously - hopefully he can bring himself to give a sht. He’d be a mighty man for a table quiz team that Bran, but he could also ruin your buzz entirely completely by saying things like - “I forseee that this will be a rubbish quiz; you won’t win anything in the raffle, which will go on for ages - not even a crappy box of Black Magic chocolates” - before you’ve even asked him to go in the first place. Littlefinger could be feeling that Bran buzz burn fairly sharpish I reckon.

Arya making it back to home was great from a storytelling perspective: It felt good. But some of the Arya stuff in the episode stank of fan service to me. The reunions with Sansa and Bran felt real and nicely underplayed, but I could have really done without the scene of her dealing with the two boyos on the door at The Castle. I get it: she’s a badass. I felt like we didn’t need a comedic out-take from a foul mouthed version of Coronation Street to show us the case anymore. And there was the fight with Brienne...

I know a lot of people probably enjoyed the spectacle of the two of them going at it, but I didn’t buy it really. I think if it was a fair fight, there’s no question that Brienne would have kicked her hole asunder. She sent Arya sprawling at one point with an angry donkey kick and I’m sure in reality she would have been in quick as a flash to finish the job while her teeny weeny opponent was still gathering her bearings in the dirt. Yes, it was nicely put together and there was some nifty moves on display, but I thought the whole concept of the scrap was dumb and unnecessary. Arya is good at her thing. Brienne is good at hers. Let’s just leave it at that? I don’t want my credulousness about Arya’s mystical ninja warrior ability to be stretched beyond breaking point - and it’s been fair stretched at times . Though there was some Grade A stink eye from from her towards Littlefinger at close of the scene and I did wonder just how many times in “training” has Padraig(?) had his arse remorselessly handed to him. Poor lad must be bruised like a prune.

On Dragonstone Seanin Sneachta brought Deanerys for a long purposeful walk on the beach in order to show her his glistening man-cave - and the remarkably detailed pre-historic carvings contained within. One could almost be forgiven for thinking that Jon himself was the author of these figures of wonder, because they sure made for a remarkably convenient and persuasive power point presentation. But questions like this didn’t trouble Deanerys, who, while being agreeable, still seemed fixated and hell-bent on getting our favourite bastid son’s knee bent. Give over woman - What's with your obsession with the position of the man’s patella relative to the angle of the ground? There is fcking ice zombies - slowly - on the way! Oh, Jon, maybe sometimes you’ve got to just let them win I suppose....

In other news: Dany also chewed Tyrion out of it after it transpired that all his best laid plans were a load of shite. Davos was a cheeky chappy and Jon was merciful towards Theon, because he saved Sansa, but, I suspect that really it was because he’d heard the news that the poor ejit had no lad and, sure, he knew Theon was mad for riding back in the day. No point adding salt to the wound in the groin.

But that - all of that - is mere preamble. We all know what blew our minds this week:

When we returned again to the further adventures with B an’ J at first I thought to myself, those features in the background make the setting look very Monument Valleyesque: imagine if some Indians attacked. It never occurred to me that it might actually happen. And much more besides.

I’ve watched the battle sequence twice now and found different things that have impressed me. One of them is the slow, but inevitable build up. Bron notices something is off, The music changes slightly. And then the camera focuses off into the horizon, where nothing appears for what feels like ages - but then something does...and they are making a fierce racket.

I was gearing myself up for a serious dust-up, just the thought of Dothraki on horseback facing off against an opposing force was sure to be some show. But I hadn’t foreseen a Dragon letting rip. Honestly, up until this point I’ve always been slightly on the fence about the whole concept of Dragons. I know, I know. Yes, they are an important part of this fictional world, but I’m not really drawn to it first and foremost because of its fantastical elements. Mainly, I like GoT’s blood and guts and political machinations. If I’m ever talking to one of them poor deluded fools who happens to not watch the show I always try to underplay how important Dragons are to the narrative and how prevalent they are onscreen, because, nine times out of ten, people will say - “Dragons? Those yokes that fly and shoot fire? Sounds, like a childish waste of my precious time!” - some lamebrains can just not get past it. But I care about some of those lamebrains - I don’t want them to miss out brilliant life enriching TV, so, I always assure them you can watch the show and be decidedly ambivalent about the presence of silly mystical creatures, just like me. It’s like I’m ashamed.

Well, after this week, I feel ashamed for feeling ashamed. I’m done living a lie. I want to shout it from the roof-tops, I don’t care who knows it:

Yes, the show has Dragons... and I...and I...and I think...

AND I THINK THEY ARE FUCKING AWESOME.

It’s hard to pinpoint the exact moment when my higher brain function exited the picture and I just became a gibbering adrenaline mess of pleasure centres firing off all at once. I think it was basically when the music cue changed from anticipatory to a choral backing, that conveyed a sense of awe and unfathomable power. This was it, no messing. And then...whoosh. The flames filling the screen. The melting manflesh and destruction - What a glorious way to die! Such an inferno loosed: feel it.

I’d regained my composure a tiny bit by the time we were treated to a long shot of the convoy being carpet bombed by dragonsbreath. By then, I was just shaking my head in dumbfounded admiration at the sheer scale of the action and how it was all being pulled off with such panache. Holy Hell. This show.

You know, I understand and have even agreed with the point of view that Game of Thrones has become in recent seasons more about spectacle than story, but, you know what: who cares. Spectacle driven? Absolutely, but what spectacle! I’ve watched heaps of television series from beginning to end that were excellent in their own right, but that finale alone in this episode of Game of Thrones was better than anything many - if not most -have to offer in their entirety. Holy Fhuck, did you see that dragon? Someone was saying something about pacing? Pacing? What? Pfft...Did you see that Dragon?

And not just that. What was equally outstanding about the battle was that you felt what it was like to wield power, but also to be on the receiving end of it. You got a dragon’s eye view, while simultaneously following our intrepid anti-heroes of Jaime and Bron as they rushed about, amidst the slit-throat mayhem of flambed footsoliders on the ground; The editing and parallel storytelling was top-notch.

I found it amazing how much the ebb and flow of the battle onscreen toyed with my emotions - I wanted Deanerys to succeed, I wanted to see everything torched. But yet I also sort of wanted Bron to succeed. And even if in some ways Jaime was representative of the “bad” side of the two fighting forces it was hard not to feel a sense of admiration for his near suicidal heroism as he charged towards Deanerys and likely death. Some of the longer shots of him galloping towards what had to be doom, with a vista of endless wreck and smoldering fire off to his left were probably my favourite visuals of the entire battle.

Well, not quite death. He was conveniently - and improbably - saved by everyone’s favourite asshole with a heart of Gold. And no doubt he’ll be fished out of the murky depths next week, alive and kicking. It will make things interesting. Who knows how that will affect things. Well, Bran knows, obviously

I don’t know really what else to add. I’ve said way, way too much already and my brain is very tired. I suppose I’d just like to thank Game of Thrones: You’re the best. I don’t know what you have in store for us but, the thing is, it’s not impossible that despite this week blowing my mind, that there’s probably more to come. Some show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

With the episode called "The Spoils of War", I would imagine the capture of Jamie is the spoils.

I took it that the spoils of war were the gold that the Lannisters had taken from Highgarden and were escorting back.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I really wish Bronn had been fried at that point, it would have been an epic moment and send off. I really liked Bronn like everyone else, but his day is over and he doesn't do anything anymore or have any purpose*, better to go out in a blaze of glory!

*Anyone could have taken Jaime off the horse

Re-watching it noticed some things others have probably mentioned.

One of which was Bronn talking to Jaime at the beginning slagging him for looking down, he said to him "Is all your new found wealth weighing you down?". Maybe I am looking too much into it but what I found noticeable was that Jaime was wearing big heavy fancy armour while Bronn was wearing some light jacket, I couldn't see any armour at all really.

In the final scene after Bronn knocks Jaime out of the way of the fire, we know it is Bronn as the horse is the one he was looking at taking just before it cut to Jaime. When Jaime hit the water he is sinking, I reckon Bronn who isn't being weighed down will save him by removing his armour, possibly his hand which was mentioned earlier between the two.

Now it could go either of two ways when/if he survives, he is captured by Dany or himself and Bronn escape. Personally like the idea of himself and Bronn somehow sneaking away, and for Dany and the gang to find only his gold hand, assuming he has perished with the rest. Be interesting for her to see how Tyrion would react. Obviously if he is captured that will be interesting too.

On Bronn, I firmly believe he won't die until himself and Tyrion have an exchange again, they have gone through quite a bit and I can't imagine Bronn being killed off while they are this close to meeting each-other again, until they have a proper exchange. As for his purpose it seems to be protecting/supporting Lannisters to be far. Tyrion first and then Jaime after Jaime lost his hand. I do hope when his time does end he's giving a good send off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Anyone else think that Danny on the back of Drogon was a bit too cheesy? She'd make a good jockey

Nah.Everyone knows that in order to get some order out of a dragon you need someone on it's back guiding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,545 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

goose2005 wrote: »
    It's annoying when an episode is so brilliant that there are still a few things bothering you. Like no-one wearing any helmets (I know they cover up the actors but you could at least have some kind of cap, Dany had no protection at all and an arrow could have hit her easily). Or Bronn not coughing with all the smoke. Or no-one manning the dragon-shooting weapon in case the dragon shows up. And then apparently no-one thought of it until long after the battle began.

I really don't get why people get wrapped up on tiny issues like this.

This is not a reality show, it's an entertainment TV spectacle and you're going to find things like this all the time.

Just forget about it and enjoy.

The worst thing last night was the very handy cave drawings but you just have to let it go and realise that the writers are moving the story along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Lemlin wrote: »
    I took it that the spoils of war were the gold that the Lannisters had taken from Highgarden and were escorting back.

the gold was already back in Kings Landing by the time of the battle. Tarly Snr confirmed this in dialogue. It was the rear of the lannister army that was attacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,329 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

the gold was already back in Kings Landing by the time of the battle. Tarly Snr confirmed this in dialogue. It was the rear of the lannister army that was attacked.

given how much a role the gold played in the early part of the episode I was surprised the attack didn't take the gold out - though I suppose taking the gold and the army at that point would have arguably killed off the Lannister threat completely, and where would the story go then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

given how much a role the gold played in the early part of the episode I was surprised the attack didn't take the gold out - though I suppose taking the gold and the army at that point would have arguably killed off the Lannister threat completely, and where would the story go then.

Could go back to the white walkers who must have stopped for a rake of pints on their way to the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Cymini Sectores

pah wrote: »
    I'm struggling a bit with Aryas skill level.

She barely beat the waif last season but now she's a fully fledged 16 yr old ninja assassin. Deflecting heavy blows from Brianne with needle. A stretch too far imo.

Stretch?
    Arya can change faces. How about that?? She changed face to Walder Frey and killed him.

I believe with a Valerian steel in hand, Arya is on her way to killing white walkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

There were a couple of shots of carriages aflame been dragged by horses away,Jamie focused on it in particular. May be something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Bronn noticing the sound of the Dothraki horde coming over the hill and the Lannister army filing into formation was amazing TV. You knew that the attacking Dothraki were probably going to destroy the Lannister rear guard, as Tyrion mentioned in a different episode, they are willing to die for their queen, couple that with Drogon coming out of the sky too made me jump out of seat for a second, it was an amazing piece of TV.

There was a few shots of the Lannister army trembling as they stood wiating to be either cut down by the Dothraki or burned to ash by dragon fire, which when we seen bodies in ash, made it even more terrifying. If any man survives that and can relay news back to Kings Landing, they'll have genuine reason to fear Dany. If I was Euron, I'd be sailing my ships as far away as possible from Dany and the dragons.

There was a scene that focused on Jamie too and he was surveying the battlefield, men turned to ash, others on fire, others with melting skin and you could see the carnage and that he knew from that moment that it was all over for the Lannisters, if Dany wants to, she'll stroll into Kings Landing and take it.

That battle sequence was amazing, Tyrion telling Jamie he was a f**king idiot too before the charge was good to watch.

I think if Bronn and Jamie are fished out from the deepest edge of the water lake/river/moat I've seen, Dany wont kill Jamie at least, a prisoner of his value is too precious to feed to the dragons, I cant say the same for Bronn, unfortunately. :o

While I've no great love for Dany in the show, I am a big fan of the dragons so I'm hoping that if they do kill off a dragin, it isnt Drogon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Stretch?
    Arya can change faces. How about that?? She changed face to Walder Frey and killed him.

I believe with a Valerian steel in hand, Arya is on her way to killing white walkers
    Also, I don't think she ever actually blocked Brienne's blade. Just deflected it slightly and moved out of its way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Arya's training has been very detailed.

The water dance training that she has learned from Syrio (the best teacher there is) and practised constantly for seven seasons. The Bravosi fighter in the pit took out most of the other fighters bar Jorah in a previous season, the fighting style is effective and many in Westoros are unfamiliar with it and have difficulty dealing with it (Syrio took out 3-4 Lannisters with a wooden sword).

But also look how she dodged the swings of Brienne's sword, she did this day in day out with the waif when fighting with those sticks and fighting blind. She also studies her opponent, she watches Brienne for awhile before attacking. She attacks the exposed and weak parts of her armour, hands, back of the knee and neck.

Arya also spent some quality time with the hound, so she knows a little about fighting dirty, killing and taking a hit.
    She's has been moulded into a killing machine ever since Jon Snow handed her Needle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Also, I don't think she ever actually blocked Brienne's blade. Just deflected it slightly and moved out of its way.

This thread on Reddit has some interesting information about Arya's fighting style. It says that both women use styles that are sort of incompatible with each other - Brienne is much stronger and Arya is much faster, giving them both advantages and disadvantages against each other. I found it a good read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

There were a couple of shots of carriages aflame been dragged by horses away,Jamie focused on it in particular. May be something
    Thats the food that was meant to feed Kings landing in the siege that they are expecting to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Arya's training has been very detailed.

The water dance training that she has learned from Syrio (the best teacher there is) and practised constantly for seven seasons. The Bravosi fighter in the pit took out most of the other fighters bar Jorah in a previous season, the fighting style is effective and many in Westoros are unfamiliar with it and have difficulty dealing with it (Syrio took out 3-4 Lannisters with a wooden sword).

But also look how she dodged the swings of Brienne's sword, she did this day in day out with the waif when fighting with those sticks and fighting blind. She also studies her opponent, she watches Brienne for awhile before attacking. She attacks the exposed and weak parts of her armour, hands, back of the knee and neck.

Arya also spent some quality time with the hound, so she knows a little about fighting dirty, killing and taking a hit.
    She's has been moulded into a killing machine ever since Jon Snow handed her Needle.

and even he was only beaten because he was stabbed in the back while about to kill jorah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,294 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Akrasia wrote: »
    Thats the food that was meant to feed Kings landing in the siege that they are expecting to come.

And Bronn told Tyrion a few seasons ago that in times of siege, food becomes more valuable than gold.

I don't think that was Dany's plan though. They couldn't have seen which carriages had gold or food from that far back before they attacked. I think she and the Dothraki simply attacked when they got there and it didn't matter if they destroyed the gold or the food. The point was to hit back and hit back hard. Given her early losses, she needed a show of strength.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Penn wrote: »
    And Bronn told Tyrion a few seasons ago that in times of siege, food becomes more valuable than gold.

I don't think that was Dany's plan though. They couldn't have seen which carriages had gold or food from that far back before they attacked. I think she and the Dothraki simply attacked when they got there and it didn't matter if they destroyed the gold or the food. The point was to hit back and hit back hard. Given her early losses, she needed a show of strength.

Tyrion said they should continue with the plan to blockade Kings Landing, Dany wanted to attack the Lannisters and her enemy's (in Red Keep), John cautioned against burning cities.

The attack suited both the blockade (reduce supplied going to KL) and the attack on enemies (Jamie), it was in an open field away from civilians. Looked like the right strike back as it mixed together all three people's thoughts.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Imagine the entire battlefield covered in popcorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Epic episode. Highest praise about this season is that even though I've loved GoT since the start, I rarely re-watched episodes. Now I find myself wanting to re-watch scenes and then re-watch the episode in full. Just too much epicness on show!

I don't think that will be the end for Jaime. He's been on a sort of redemption path for years and very episode now hints at how his conscience isn't clear about following his sister. In last week's it was the talk with Oleanna where he knew she was right about Cercei. This week it was not following Tarly's suggestion of whipping stragglers in the convoy. It's just constant little reminders that he is good at heart. I'm hoping that he will wake up in a tent with Tyrion who will talk him around to seeing the light and switching his allegiances. Tyrion's old pal Bronn will go along with whoever will give him a castle anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

GavRedKing wrote: »

While I've no great love for Dany in the show, I am a big fan of the dragons so I'm hoping that if they do kill off a dragin, it isnt Drogon.

Same but I have little faith all the dragons aren't killed off in some lame way like the direwolves.

We already got the Jamie is 'captured' storyline so a re-run of that I don't really want to see too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

They must have smashed every record in the book for setting people on fire. :P

Literally true apparently.
    Regarding that epic battle, 20 stuntmen were lit on fire for one particular shot, that's a record for any TV show.

https://www.joe.ie/movies-tv/17-things-you-may-have-missed-from-that-superb-game-of-thrones-episode-597567

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,553 ✭✭✭✭Varik

The Gold and the grain from High garden was all loaded up and sent at the same time, Bronn got sent off with the Tarlys to collect the grain still with the farmers/lords and in the fields or wherever.

So the grain that got burnt would have been that, and Highgardens stores along with the gold is safe in Kingslanding.

So the lannisters have all of Highgardens food, and Drogon burnt what was left in the reach so it's Dany's army that is going to suffer a lack of food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Another cameo,not into Baseball so don't know him.Better than Ed Sheeran though.

https://twitter.com/metsciti/status/894377907841380352

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Excellent background to the battle from episode 4...

http://screenrant.com/game-thrones-spoils-war-battle-video/

enjoy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Speaking of cameos, people say the two guys behind Grey Worm are Mac and Charlie from It's Always Sunny...

cqxu69a5kwdz.jpg

Might be, looks a bit like Mac on the left. Plus the GoT writers have cameoed in IASIP and wrote an episode so it probably is.

Also, the guy who directed this week's episode has done about 40 episodes of Sunny.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Wow, "Charlie work" has really plumbed new depths. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Invading a Castle to find it deserted, bounty less and have your exit cut off is fairly Always Sunny kind of plot line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Same but I have little faith all the dragons aren't killed off in some lame way like the direwolves.

We already got the Jamie is 'captured' storyline so a re-run of that I don't really want to see too much.

I said it in the Season 7 specualtion thread that one of the dragons have to be killed to balance the power but then Euron captured and destroyed most of Danys fleet and surronded Greyworm at Casterly rock so Dany was weak, this week then she went with her most powerful weapn, the Dothraki and a dragon.

I still think they'll kill off oneof the the smaller dragons, Drogon was wounded by the ballista and hes a much tougher and bigger dragon than th other two, so a shot in the right area might take down one of the other dragons but as Jon and Tyrion both said, burning cities with 3 dragons might not be an option if she wants to win over the people.

I assumed that befor the battle scene last night, we'd see the Dothraki attack the Lannisters and have a scene where Dany turns up and burns the majority of Eurons fleet at Casterly rock to even the sides up a bit but now the Lannisters and allies know how powerful she is but the dragons can be hit and injured, if she was a better rider, she'd have straffed the majprity of them in one go but that wouldnt have made it an epic battle scene and on that, to take Drogon into battle again, she has to be a lot more careful in her approach to targets but I think for a plot point they will kill off either , Rhaegal or Viserion in battle. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

if she was a better rider, she'd have straffed the majprity of them in one go but that wouldnt have made it an epic battle scene

Yeah, she's by far the worst dragon rider in the whole series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

I think if Bronn and Jamie are fished out from the deepest edge of the water lake/river/moat I've seen, Dany wont kill Jamie at least, a prisoner of his value is too precious to feed to the dragons, I cant say the same for Bronn, unfortunately. :o
    There's two ways of thinking on it. She may force them to bend the knee to survive, which i can't see Jaime doing too easily whereas Bronn is a sellsword and wouldn't have a problem with rendering his services for Dany i would think.

I do think that at least one of the dragons will die before we get near the end. They have been built up as such a formidable force for years now, a dragon death will be used to demonstrate the power of another character/villain. Maybe Euron, maybe the Night King, but I think at least one of them will be sacrificed to elevate another character.

Its also possible that all 3 dragons could die in one epic battle that completely changes the tide of the war in favour of the Night King.

I think it's safe to assume, THAT definitely won't happen :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

why didn't she bring the 3 dragons with her?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

CGI budget

Does she have to be on a dragon's back for it to be targeted militarily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Does she have to be on a dragon's back for it to be targeted militarily?

Yeah never thought of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

One of the things I'm most curious about is how they are going to resolve the two main antagonist plot lines - Cersei and the white walkers.

Assuming Cersei will be defeated, either she will be defeated at the end of this season freeing up next season for the white walkers, or the two plots will continue to run together in the final season.

I'm going to predict that the massive battle at the end of this season will be white walkers attacking Winterfell. If Jon convinces Dany to help with her dragons, that would be an awesome episode. Can't wait to see dragons vs white walkers.

It's a shame they don't do cinema screenings for some episodes with these massive battles because they are wonderfully cinematic. Films are sent to cinemas digitally now so no technical reason why not. I'm sure they'd made a lot of revenue.

Yeah never thought of that.

If so, I wonder might she consider training up Miss Andy or some other trusted ally to fly one of her babies, if they were put to the pin of their collar militarily...

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Well you'd have to assume that without someone on their back, the dragons would just blaze everything and everyone they see, Dothraki included. She was obviously controlling when Drogon shot the flames with the "dracarys" command.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Cina wrote: »
    Well you'd have to assume that without someone on their back, the dragons would just blaze everything and everyone they see, Dothraki included. She was obviously controlling when Drogon shot the flames with the "dracarys" command.
    All three of them attacked the slave master's fleet in Meereen.