Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray Darcy on 400,000 a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

Allinall wrote: »
    Truth hurts, eh?

Poster is absolutely right.

Your reaction would lead one the believe they may have hit close to home.

Au Contraire.

Never squatted in my life.

Pay for all my vices with my own money earned through gainful employment.

Thanks for your input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The money in RTE is mad.
    These are the same people who discussed and sometimes suggested that people's wages should be cut during the recession and they earning money like this for feck all.
    Imagine two-day Finucane and Precious O'Callaghan on 300 K a year ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Arsey D'arcy wouldn't get a job in hospital radio in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Cienciano wrote: »
    You have never heard a person change a subject as quick as Joe Duffy when someone brings up RTE salaries or the licence fee

Has anyone actually mentioned salaries or licences when on his show? I imagine the producers warn any guests not to mention it.

Back to the OP, its sinful for D'arcy to be on that much considering he has absolutely no interviewing skills whatsoever. He just laughs at his guests to paper over his lack of talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

Arsey D'arcy wouldn't get a job in hospital radio in the UK.

And neither would you! What's your point. It is Irish Radio!!!

Has anyone actually mentioned salaries or licences when on his show? I imagine the producers warn any guests not to mention it.

Back to the OP, its sinful for D'arcy to be on that much considering he has absolutely no interviewing skills whatsoever. He just laughs at his guests to paper over his lack of talent.

You sound like a regular listener.. Is the dial on your radio broken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

Dampsquid wrote: »
    See above. A prick i ain't

It seems more self diagnosis may be needed.... just so you really can get to know yourself.

And neither would you! What's your point. It is Irish Radio!!!

Do you REALLY not get my point? Incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Marian finucane, jaysus thats a wind up. Disgrace.

Rte needs to be wound up lively. A waste of tax payers money. Money be best off put into health and education rather than paying for evelyns bottles of sherries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Ray to the D to D'dArcy on 400 poppa smacka roonies! Well holy janie mack, mack a rooney! Gee willickers! Gosh a holy shmollie rollie babba ding dang dronie! Kripes above and beyond the testimony of all that's holy!

sword1 wrote: »
    Can't believe he is still in the country, on many occasions he promised he would leave if enda kenny was taoiseach

Then he realised it was a great little country where a talent-less goof like him can earn 400k per annum for fúck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

rafatoni wrote: »
    rather than paying for evelyns bottles of sherries.

I'm nearly certain that Met Eireann pay for that.:D

Rte needs to be wound up lively. A waste of tax payers money. Money be best off put into health and education rather than paying for evelyns bottles of sherries.

Yes wind up RTE and we would be left with TV3 as our main source of Irish TV content. I could not imagine a better Ireland. If anything, RTE should stop spending on buying foreign TV productions and spend more on local content (Irish TV personalities....)(Imagine - Ray on TV - 7 days a week)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Yes wind up RTE and we would be left with TV3 as our main source of Irish TV content. I could not imagine a better Ireland. If anything, RTE should stop spending on buying foreign TV productions and spend more on local content (Irish TV personalities....)(Imagine - Ray on TV - 7 days a week)

If they weren't paying all the presenters an absolute fortune

They'd have plenty to make proper local content programmeS? ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

And those same loyal people pay their TV license... I don't see the problem.

Most young people move out these days, they don't have a TV, don't need a TV license, but are most vocal in there objection to Ray earning 400k per year because they seen a viral video of him on YouTube being a pleb on TV.

The problem is that people are forced into paying a TV licence, and money being used for the likes of Ray Darcy's inflated salary is a complete waste.

I'm all for public service TV and Radio but most of what is on RTE doesn't fulfill that brief.

jbt123 wrote: »
    It seems more self diagnosis may be needed.... just so you really can get to know yourself.

Go back to Art college... so you can draw the dole!

I think Dampsquid is either Ray D'Arcy himself or his publicist/agent.

The problem is that people are forced into paying a TV licence, and money being used for the likes of Ray Darcy's inflated salary is a complete waste.

I'm all for public service TV and Radio but most of what is on RTE doesn't fulfill that brief.

Forced - yes buy that damn 55" TV...

Are they mutually exclusive?

Forced - yes buy that damn 55" TV...

You do know you can get sent down for not paying tv licence? ?

It's essentially a tax to line ray D'Arcy pocket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭SilverSideUp

You have to hand it to D'Arcy and Co. They have completely fleeced the taxpayer and gotten away with it. Most people here though would give their right hand to be able to rake in 400k so I don't blame him. We are the fools to allow it. Only solution I can see is to do away with public service broadcasting. Otherwise this gravy train is gonna just rumble on.

You do know you can get sent down for not paying tv licence? ?

It's essentially a tax to line ray D'Arcy pocket?

If you have a TV. That's the country we live in. Just like VRT for car's - i don't celebrate it, but i dont blame my car for it.

Heaven forbid people should wish to improve the country and expose corruption/obvious flaws

The licence fee is used to fund RTE mainly .

In real terms it has nothing whatsoever to do with the right to own a TV.

The licence fee is used to fund RTE mainly .

In real terms it has nothing whatsoever to do with the right to own a TV.

Lol, try arguing that in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

An RTE shill anyway. Nobody could believe the drivel he/she is spouting without having a vested interest of some sort.

The solution is simple, abolish the licence fee and make RTE a subscription service. If you want to use it, pay for the pleasure. If you don't wish to use it why the hell should you be forced - under threat of jail - to pay for it.

A sh1t service altogether.

Double post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

You have to hand it to D'Arcy and Co. They have completely fleeced the taxpayer and gotten away with it. Most people here though would give their right hand to be able to rake in 400k so I don't blame him. We are the fools to allow it. Only solution I can see is to do away with public service broadcasting. Otherwise this gravy train is gonna just rumble on.

I have no problem admitting i don't pay the licence fee. Couldn't care less tbh if im called a scronger etc.. I'll be going to Mountjoy before i contribute a cent to the RTE gravy train scam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Can't believe D'Arcy is paid so much! It would have been more justified back when he was doing the Den and Blackboard Jungle. He's intolerably awful these days. As for Joe well, he doesn't even present half the shows during the year so that's mad money. Same for Marian Finucane. I also can't believe Nicky Byrne is up there!

I'd be happier to see John Creedon and Mary Kennedy up there. But the figures are too high across the board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

An RTE shill anyway. Nobody could believe the drivel he/she is spouting without having a vested interest of some sort..

Agreed.

2 posts in 2017 then BAM! RTE thread.....suddenly interested in posting.

Defo RTE head

An RTE shill anyway. Nobody could believe the drivel he/she is spouting without having a vested interest of some sort.

The solution is simple, abolish the licence fee and make RTE a subscription service. If you want to use it, pay for the pleasure. If you don't wish to use it why the hell should you be forced - under threat of jail - to pay for it.

David, i have no invested interest in RTE or Ray.

I hate paying the license too, only last week i paid it. It is just a tax, i have a TV. I think RTE have some good programs, i would hate to think that only TV3 would cover news, elections, football, soccer, hurling, olympics in ireland. Imagine 30 years ago, most people didn't have SKY or UK TV/radio. What the f**k would you have done then?

When should we have ended the TV license?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

To that poster who said go out and get a 400k job. What planet are you on?

Go out any try get a 40k job without having to give the first born. 400k. The great unwashed will never see that type of pay, yet we are expect to pay for all this. Cap them at 100k and that's been ****ing generous, if they don't like it go somewhere else, like everyone else has to do.

It might even clear out the crap at RTE and freshen the place up. But they wouldn't leave cause there be no one to take em on them mental wages.

The big question is if they are wasting that much money on presenters, how much are they wasting else where on staff. How much is that Fair City non sense costing RTE? What else do we not know is my real concern. There budget must be at least 100s of millions into the billion mark, yet they want the licence fee increased.

What are they spending it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Seriously people need to make it clear to RTÉ that these salaries are completely unacceptable.

Obscene waste of public money being paid out to has beens, chancers, useless laughing all the way to the bank.

All the while RTÉ is drowning in huge debts.

Agreed.

Defo RTE head

LOL - I've been on boards longer than your fancy 2 years.

Agree all you want, you are wrong (in more ways than you can imagine)

Agreed.

Defo RTE head

I dunno lads, there is also the possibility that he just really is that stupid!

RTE may be paying Ray 400k. But what about those presenters more cunning as a fox who's just received a degree from the University of Cunning who's set up a company who bills RTE for there time, presenting or other wise. They are paid as a supplier of RTE and may not show up on their top 10 list of paid celebrities.

far as I know darcy is a contractor. Lot of the top earners share an agent also.

David, i have no invested interest in RTE or Ray.

I hate paying the license too, only last week i paid it. It is just a tax, i have a TV. I think RTE have some good programs, i would hate to think that only TV3 would cover news, elections, football, soccer, hurling, olympics in ireland. Imagine 30 years ago, most people didn't have SKY or UK TV/radio. What the f**k would you have done then?

When should we have ended the TV license?
    As I said, those of you who wish to avail of the service are very welcome to continue to pay for it via a subscription service. I do not use the services of RTE in any form whatsoever, yet I am forced to pay for the wages of its long, long list of spoofers and chancers under threat of jail.

The licence fee should certainly have been abolished when digital tv/sky etc. became so widely available. The age of the internet has made RTE's current model utterly obsolete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

What's really boiling my p!ss is the fact that these salaries are from 2015. Guaranteed most, if not all have received a raise since then. Nicky Byrne earning €200,000 a year for what he does is quite frankly embarrassing. Two years ago the country was in a much worse state financially and a lot of us were struggling to pay bills, RTE's 'stars' must be been p!ssing themselves laughing in the canteen. What a pack of muppets we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Seriously people need to make it clear to RTÉ that these salaries are completely unacceptable.

Obscene waste of public money being paid out to has beens, chancers, useless laughing all the way to the bank.

All the while RTÉ is drowning in huge debts.

Vote with your wallet. Refuse to pay the RTE scam tax and they will be forced to close it down or make it a subs service. They can't send everyone to jail and even at the moment it's a two hour stint inside Mountjoy and then back out.

far as I know darcy is a contractor. Lot of the top earners share an agent also.

Lol - i wish i was as cunning as that agent.....

American dream - we just don't do it over here. You can't make it cos your Dad or Uncle didnt make it. Inferiority complex - its an Irish thing.
    We don't have 'the American dream' because we don't believe that abandoning the unemployed, forcing people to die at home if they don't have health insurance, and a massive income inequality is "a dream".

We have very high income equality, after taxes and welfare transfers, and we're among the happiest people on the planet, whilst also managing to have exceptionally high economic freedom.

This thread has nothing to do with begrudgery. It's about the prudent deployment of public money.

I'm not defending MF's salary, just want to make two points.

Firstly, it isn't as simple as airtime. Her show reaches approximately the same number of weekly listeners as Ronan Collins, but she reaches an economic (ABC1) and age demographic that is more desirable to advertisers. So even though she has less airtime than R Collins, she brings in more revenue, and she presumably has more prep work than Collins.

It's the same principle why Raidio na Gaeltachta presenters aren't paid at the same rate as their Radio 1 counterparts.

Secondly, you must remember that Finucane's fees don't entitle her to an RTE pension. If she lives to be 100 and retires at 70, it's probable that she'd be better off to take a much lower salary and work as an employee.

I think Finucane is overpaid, but it's not as dramatic as has been stated, for the above reasons. Nor his her salary quite as OTT as Darcy's or Duffy' s.

As I said, those of you who wish to avail of the service are very welcome to continue to pay for it via a subscription service. I do not use the services of RTE in any form whatsoever, yet I am forced to pay for the wages of its long, long list of spoofers and chancers under threat of jail.

The licence fee should certainly have been abolished when digital tv/sky etc. became so widely available. The age of the internet has made RTE utterly obsolete.

I don't use social welfare, or the hospitals. Should my taxes not pay for them. Should the poor be forced to die as i live in full health.

Should the poor who can't afford SKY +, never see a champions league game, or all Ireland final, or the Six One news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

A real waste of money for his limited talent. Same with the rest of them. Can't imagine ratings for RTE are that high nowadays.

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Vote with your wallet. Refuse to pay the RTE scam tax and they will be forced to close it down or make it a subs service. They can't send everyone to jail and even at the moment it's a two hour stint inside Mountjoy and then back out.

I'm thinking more of a national movement similar to the water protests. Something like that would have to take place for RTÉ to actually cop the fcuk on.

They don't seem to care about wasting public money -your taxes and mine- on these absolutely crazy pay outs to very very mediocre "talent". All the while RTÉ is drowning in debt. Debt that the taxpayer will have to sort out eventually.

Let's be honest It's a massive gravy train in Montrose and RTÉ has no intention of changing unless forced to - through legislation ultimately - and that means a mass protest movement to get the politicians to actually wake up and do something about it.

The licence fee should certainly have been abolished when digital tv/sky etc. became so widely available. The age of the internet has made RTE utterly obsolete.

I don't use social welfare, or the hospitals. Should my taxes not pay for them. Should the poor be forced to die as i live in full health.

Should the poor who can't afford SKY +, never see a champions league game, or all Ireland final, or the Six One news?
    Strawman argument. False equivalence and deflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

redshoes15 wrote: »
    What's really boiling my p!ss is the fact that these salaries are from 2015. Guaranteed most, if not all have received a raise since then. Nicky Byrne earning €200,000 a year for what he does is quite frankly embarrassing. Two years ago the country was in a much worse state financially and a lot of us were struggling to pay bills, RTE's 'stars' must be been p!ssing themselves laughing in the canteen. What a pack of muppets we are.

That "who the fook is nicky byrne?" Is the one that pisses me right off. Like, just, aarrrggghhhh

My hard earned cash then I pay more than 50% in tax that pays this useless gits salary aarrggghhh x 2

I'm thinking more of a national movement similar to the water protests. Something like that would have to take place for RTÉ to actually cop the fcuk on.

They don't seem to care about wasting public money -your taxes and mine- on these absolutely crazy pay outs to very very mediocre "talent". All the while RTÉ is drowning in debt. Debt that the taxpayer will have to sort out eventually.

Let's be honest It's a massive gravy train in Montrose and RTÉ has no intention of changing unless forced to - through legislation ultimately - and that means a mass protest movement to get the politicians to actually wake up and do something about it.

Yes, lets protest against everything you don't agree with.

95% of the population might be happy with something/or not really care either way- but if 5% come out and protest - they they should be the majority. You will never see a protest for water charges, or for RTE. Those people are too busy working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I don't listen to him but i don't hate him for earning a very attractive salary. I'd take that wage if all i had to do was talk, think and take some online abuse from boardsies.

My taxes pay the wages of lots of overpaid, under-performing people so i wouldn't single ray out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

eviltwin wrote: »
    Rays not worth even 5% of that, smug, arrogant bastard.

He completely lacks curiosity, which is a terrible trait in an interviewer. Gay Byrne, for all his faults, had it in spades.