Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you drink?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It depends on what's going on with my social life at any given time. I could drink absolutely nothing for two or three weeks, if there's no opportunity to go out. But then I could have two or three events or nights out close to together and could end up drinking a dozen pints or more over a couple of days. Most nights I go out I try to take it a bit easy - it's great fun being drunk and I do enjoy getting properly plastered sometimes - but the recovery period afterwards gets worse and worse every year. Might have the odd pint here and there if out having a meal, but generally unless I'm "out" for the night I can avoid boozing.

I'm thirty now and I still know some people who drink herculean amounts of alcohol. They haven't felt any noticeable ill health effects yet, but I do wonder what the future holds for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

On a weekly basis it's mixed,
    Often went weeks/months with no drink and then could go out maybe 3 or 4 nights over the space of a week

But rarely have more than 3 or 4 pints (have found a really nice cider I like),then usually a few spirits/shots....this has left me a lightweight,

but I'm not a messy/angry drunk so it's not too bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Booze blocks people off spiritually. Ever notice after a skinful all the worst traits in people abound. Look at any city at 2am when pubs shut. It's a crap drug. I spent a fortune on it back in the day.

Lot here drinking 10 or more pints in one go. That's pretty heavy going, know alcoholics who wouldn't have drank that much in one go. Although it's well known that heavy drinkers can often drink more than alcoholics.

Obviously everybody that drinks alcohol does so in this fashion.

QED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Would only have a few beers of the weekend but the problem was that I couldn't drink those without stuffing my face full of snacks to go with it.

Decided to knock it on the head for a while and have lost a couple of pounds in just the few weeks since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

A creamy pint of Guinness....

Beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

A lot of non-drinkers on Boards - fair play to ye.

I think it's more that the drinkers aren't commenting. I'm not noticing very few heavy drinkers actually say how I they drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Couple of glasses of wine at the weekend. The odd whiskey or cider from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I think it's more that the drinkers aren't commenting. I'm not noticing very few heavy drinkers actually say how I they drink.

Yeah I feel like this thread is going to attract more non-drinkers than people who neck 10+ pints a couple of times a week. Kinda like the hygiene threads around here attract people who shower five times a day and change their bed sheets every time they lie down in them.

Maybe it's hard to admit to being a heavy drinker on threads like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

I'm not pushed on drinking right now. At one stage was having 2 bottles of wine every Friday night at home but stopped. If I drink cans it's maybe 2. If I'm out, I'd have maybe 6 pints, a few cocktails and depending on what I'm doing some shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Bottle of wine on a Friday night which I would drink over about four hours.

Maybe four or five bottles (330ml) of Bulmers on a Saturday. That's every week.

We'll go to the pub maybe once every three weeks. I'd have about six pints of Bulmers.

I drink a little, drank a bit as a teenager but after that didn't drink till I was thirty, come from a family who don't drink a lot except for one of my brothers. I do think a lot of it is to do with your family environment, my father did not drink and both my first husband and my second husband are none drinkers and it not because either of them have any issues with alcohol they just grew out of drinking and are not bothered at all.

It a funny thing but in Ireland being a none drinker is associated with having had a problem with alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I've never drank in my whole life, and people do indeed think you're a bit odd if you don't drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Let me save everyone time :)

Under 30: Loads.
    Over 30: Ugh, hungover. So less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Booze blocks people off spiritually. Ever notice after a skinful all the worst traits in people abound. Look at any city at 2am when pubs shut. It's a crap drug. I spent a fortune on it back in the day.

Lot here drinking 10 or more pints in one go. That's pretty heavy going, know alcoholics who wouldn't have drank that much in one go. Although it's well known that heavy drinkers can often drink more than alcoholics.

As an ex-drunk (but still an addict) I'd say I've seen people who can outdrink me, hardcore, on a night out or so, but they will falter if it is a second day. The drunk is the one who has no off-day and that's where you see the tolerance. Some drunks might 'just' drink 4-6 cans a night, but they have to, it's not optional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Just a few pints per year and the odd whiskey at home.

Alcohol make me agressive if I drink too much so I do everything i can to make sure that doesn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I feel like a functioning alcoholic after reading this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭alberto67

Only drink water; sparkling as a treat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Enough to keep the cider company ticking over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Eh, I'll go for a night out once a fortnight or so. I'll have 6 or 7 pints, maybe a small whiskey. That's enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

very little. a few jamesons every few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fart wrote: »
    I feel like a functioning alcoholic after reading this thread.

swap the words weeks and months with days and we would all be on the same page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Bambi985 wrote: »
    Yeah I feel like this thread is going to attract more non-drinkers than people who neck 10+ pints a couple of times a week. Kinda like the hygiene threads around here attract people who shower five times a day and change their bed sheets every time they lie down in them.

Maybe it's hard to admit to being a heavy drinker on threads like these.

Yis are all whimps. Too bottles of whiskey a nite at least. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

3-4 Kopparberg
    8-10 vodkas/southern comforts
    3-4 jagerbombs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Average 4-6 pints a night when i do drink. Sometimes more, never less. Would drink 2 nights a week, twice a month.
    Can't go for one or two pints. I go drinking or i don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

alberto67 wrote: »
    Only drink water; sparkling as a treat.
    Well, howdy-doodilly neighbourino. You sound Flantastic fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So I'm interest in a general poll.
    But, but, there is no poll in this thread..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Average 4-6 pints a night when i do drink. Sometimes more, never less. Would drink 2 nights a week, twice a month.
    Can't go for one or two pints. I go drinking or i don't.

Agree with this. I'd rather go out on the lash completely or not drink at all than have 2-3 drinks. It's the worst of both worlds; you're not really commiting to making a session of it, but after a couple of pints, even if I'm nowhere near drunk, I'm not really in the mood for doing like watching TV or reading a book afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

I drink more than the recommended amount.

Last week, I had 5 pints and a few glasses of wine, the next day was a write off completely.

This really bugged me as did the amount of money that I waste on drink.

I'm definitely going to cut back for health and financial reasons. Tis a mug's game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Half bottle of wine most weekends. The hangover after a heavy session isn't worth it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

More than I should.

I usually have a beer during the evenings every night and sometimes with lunch.

I go out once or twice every weekend. I probably have about eight pints on average when I go out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Definition of a binge drinker here. Cannot do the whole glass of wine/few bottles/quiet pint in the evening after work. Maybe I'm still too young. When I turned 18 and throughout college I was half convinced I had a drink problem but realised it just goes with the territory. I have found my sweet spot so I can get pissed yet still be respectable, pull, get the ride and be somewhat functioning the following morning. Still have the occasional proper blowout, where I'd drink enough alcohol to disinfect an entire hospital but they're getting rarer and rarer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Maybe 4 pints every 2 months. Post-30 hangovers are not worth the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

mdwexford wrote: »
    3-4 Kopparberg
    8-10 vodkas/southern comforts
    3-4 jagerbombs

God bless your stomach , I'd be so sick

Normal week would have at least one evening/night with 8-10 pints (and often spirits) sometimes two and the there would be a few cans at home or few pints in the pub here and there but it varies a lot.

Then there are heavier weeks like the last one where I've have at least 45 pints in the last 7 days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 375 ✭✭Tylerdurex

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Life is short and im here to enjoy it. We seem to have an industry built up by health guru's and do gooder fitness freaks telling us booze is bad for you, well guess what im sure if you booze 3 glasses of wine a day and then go on a binge every weekend it is but there is no problem with going out and getting pissed every now and then and letting your hair down (if you are lucky enough to still have some left). I'd say over the course of a year i drink about an average of 4 pints a week. Everything in moderation is fine it's the people who can't control it that are the problem.

One of the most deluded ignorant posts I've read in a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Tylerdurex wrote: »
    One of the most deluded ignorant posts I've read in a long time

Why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

wally1990 wrote: »
    God bless your stomach , I'd be so sick

Don't worry, I pay for it the next day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Normal week would have at least one evening/night with 8-10 pints (and often spirits) sometimes two and the there would be a few cans at home or few pints in the pub here and there but it varies a lot.

Then there are heavier weeks like the last one where I've have at least 45 pints in the last 7 days.

I hover around the same quota as yourself,and have the odd really heavy week. I went away for a few days recently and drank about 15 pints of cheap Spanish beer everyday and hit the whiskey when it got dark. I was eating like a king at the same time it has to be said so I never actually got that drunk and more importantly,didn't act the pr1ck. Drink,like everything else just doesn't agree with some people. It has to be treated with respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Not a whole lot anymore. I pay for it if I over-indulge. I seem to have an allergy and I get completely congested in my sinuses and feel so so sick the next day if I have anything more than maybe 3 glasses of wine.
    My husband and i might share 2 bottles of wine over a 3-day weekend but that'd be it..
    I can't drink dark spirits without being ill.

I'm a bit a of a lightweight nowadays lol! Usen't always be the case....

....... wrote: »

Alcohol abuse? Not in the slightest, enjoying some time off work.

The coming week is going to be even heavier with a week away for a wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Don't drink alcohol anymore. Tried cutting down and it didn't work.
    LIfe is a breeze without the hangover. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Seriously Nox that's a scary level of binge drinking. Obviously it's your life and you're free to do as you please but you're deluded if you think you can drink that volume of alcohol on a regular basis and not cause your body serious damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Gave up drinking a couple of years ago, mainly for mental health reasons, but the older I get, the more I realise how much of a problem it is in this country. Be safe folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Used to be at least one bottle every evening. Had to give up drinking for nearly a year and couldnt get back into the same rythem. I'd have maybe one or two drinks during the week, a bottle of wine the odd Saturday night. Don't really go out anymore. Have no interest

Seriously Nox that's a scary level of binge drinking. Obviously it's your life and you're free to do as you please but you're deluded if you think you can drink that volume of alcohol on a regular basis and not cause your body serious damage.

It was actually fairly conservative compared to this week in previous years, think the most I had on any one day was 8 or 9 pints. Next coming week could be a different story though.

Also if you read my post that not a normal week, these are big weeks that occur a few times a year a normal week is as I described it in my first post. A normal week is probably 10 to 20 pints.
    ....... wrote: »

Talk about over reacting! Nearly my entire group of friends (both from home and work) would be spending their days in the doctors surgery if they were prone to this type of overreacting.