Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FAI Cup 2017

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I don't think so, if Dundalk win the cup and Rovers finish fourth, Rovers get the European spot I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Yep it's my understanding that UEFA told the national associations a couple of years back that cup runners up would not be allowed qualify. Wouldn't want some plucky lower league team playing in Europe now would you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

dfx- wrote: »
    isn't there usually one of the semifinals on the saturday or sunday late afternoon...

Double header on Sunday. Just realised it's tonight.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Scrappy game and Limerick played well but getting to the final is what it's about. Our defence played well and Limerick will maybe feel disappointed they didn't create that many chances. Hery played well against us again.

Has he played that consistently good all season for Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Will take that. Wrap up league asap now and then full tilt at Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,695 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Corholio wrote: »
    Has he played that consistently good all season for Limerick?

He was played out of position at the start and didn't look great, but since he's been central he has been brilliant. Best player on the pitch most of the time. We really need to hang on to him for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭kksaints

Entertaining first half in Oriel Park. Dundalk 1 up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

Goal goal too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Poor second half from Dundalk and they've paid for it.

Fairly typical Rovers stuff there. Red card was the obvious bet for this match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

That was a red card

Desperate tackle by McAllister, just after Rovers got back in. Deserved to be sent off, but should have been a straight red rather than second yellow.

Scumbag challenge. Bradley needs to control his yobs.

Neil Doyle referee means a red card usually and a penalty to complete the bingo card..

Nothing to do with the referee, who's been quite good.

Replay Tuesday week.

justshane wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the referee, who's been quite good.

goes beyond this game or this squad. Not always against Rovers either, he gave a 'mystery' handball against Bohs in Tallaght for a penalty.

Going back to the Croly era at least, Neil Doyle gives a red or penalty in a lot of Rovers games.

Either way, a well earned draw.:)

Wonder which cup final would draw the biggest crowd. City going for double v arch rivals Dundalk who would desperately want one of the 2 big trophies, or City going for double v Rovers who haven't been to a final in 7 years. Each has its attractions for the neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Rovers deserved their draw today.
    Dundalk played with no intensity in the second half. Some of them looked disinterested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭house45

Rovers deserved their draw today.
    Dundalk played with no intensity in the second half. Some of them looked disinterested.

Just home from the game there , few points of note , firstly absolutely horrendous tackle on shields , it’s tackles like that can end carrers. Should of being a straight red !!!, Dundalk never got into it in the second half and to be honest I could see the rovers goal comming personally I taught Steven o donnell was best player on the pitch . Overall a fair result, would be confident of Dundalk getting a result in the replay . On a side note any idea of how many cards where handed out by the referee ???

• Registered Users Posts: 6,254 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Was at the match. Dundalk didn't show in the 2nd half. Thought Shields for Connolly a strange sub.
    Rovers were worth the draw
    It was a straight red. Terrible tackle on Shields.

Ref had a fair match, tried to let the match flow.

That's Rovers 8 red card this season.

Should be fined - not for the flares as such, but throwing them into the pitch - a rubber surface. Mindless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Seriously it was a disgusting tackle that has put Shields out for the season. It was a straight red and Doyle only giving a second yellow will mean McAllistar could be back for the replay. I thought Doyle was poor overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Thought Doyle was actually ok this evening. He missed a couple of things but in general wasn't bad. Obviously the decision not to give McAllister a straight red was awful but bar a blatant handball by one of the Rovers players I can't think of too much else that annoyed me.

We played well for about half an hour in the first half but were poor thereafter. We would have been a bit lucky to hang on for a 1-0 win. Hoare's long ball clearances were dreadful throughout the second half although he did put in one huge goal saving tackle near the end in fairness to him. Our attacking players were all quiet today. Connolly played the best of the them but all his best work came in that good spell in the first half. I think McEleney, Duffy and Connolly will find more space in the replay with the onus more on Rovers to attack.

Two more side notes. Finn motm? Strange decision. Thought O'Donnell was the best player on the pitch. Also scummy behaviour from Rovers fan to burn our pitch but how slow were the Dundalk stewarts to react? It was on the pitch burning for at least a minute and was only tended to when it went up in a big flame. Anyway bring on Tallaght. Fancy us to get the job done up there.

After a few drinks, can't think of the Dundalk player who received the McAllister tackle, but in slo mo replays he was very lucky 'cos it looked like his bones bent under the force of it. I'd say in many cases it would be a leg breaker. Glad to see Rovers get the draw, and it was a good equaliser...but that was horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

After a few drinks, can't think of the Dundalk player who received the McAllister tackle, but in slo mo replays he was very lucky 'cos it looked like his bones bent under the force of it. I'd say in many cases it would be a leg breaker. Glad to see Rovers get the draw, and it was a good equaliser...but that was horrible.

It was Shields and he's not so lucky. He's out for the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Medial knee ligament injury for Shields.

The replay will be a hard game to call but I would favour Dundalk especially if Massey is back so Vemmulund is at CB. Hoare has been poor this season.

Fortuntley for Dundalk bar Vemmelund I think they will keep most of there squad next season.
    McEleney scores wonder goals but goes missing at times.

I can't see Trevor Clarke being at Rovers next year but Rovers should get a very good fee for him. Great talent.

in the 5 matches that Rovers played against Dundalk this year they have 4 players sent off.

joeysoap wrote: »
    in the 5 matches that Rovers played against Dundalk this year they have 4 players sent off.

one of those was the last kick or moreso 'fall' of the game. They've been very even games, two wins each and a draw. Early goals in most of them.

Don't know why Kenny persists with Vemmelund at full back. He did it at Tallaght in the league too. Reminds me of him inexplicably playing McCormack back there in 2012. Does he not consider it a specialist position?

one of those was the last kick or moreso 'fall' of the game. They've been very even games, two wins each and a draw. Early goals in most of them.

Don't know why Kenny persists with Vemmelund at full back. He did it at Tallaght in the league too. Reminds me of him inexplicably playing McCormack back there in 2012. Does he not consider it a specialist position?
    Massey injured. It was either Vemmelund or Grimes. Much of a muchness really. Personally probably would have picked Grimes given his good showing in Tallaght recently but wasn't too bothered to see he'd picked Vemmelund yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,518 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Pighead wrote: »
    Thought Doyle was actually ok this evening. He missed a couple of things but in general wasn't bad. Obviously the decision not to give McAllister a straight red was awful but bar a blatant handball by one of the Rovers players I can't think of too much else that annoyed me.

He missed a clear elbow from Gartland in the second half that was a straight red offence pretty much everywhere the game is played. Any opinion on that?
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

DvB wrote: »
    He missed a clear elbow from Gartland in the second half that was a straight red offence pretty much everywhere the game is played. Any opinion on that?
    I honestly didn't see that one. Who did he elbow?

Finn.

Pretty clear cut on TV to be fair, was amazed more wasn't made of it afterwards.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

DvB wrote: »
    Finn.

Pretty clear cut on TV to be fair, was amazed more wasn't made of it afterwards.
    I saw Finn and O'Donnell niggling at each other throughout the game but missed that altogether. Did Finn make a big deal of it to the ref? Maybe Soccer Republic will highlight it later. I haven't seen the game back on TV yet. Actually now that I think of it, why was the Dundalk goal disallowed near the end. My view was restricted. I'm guessing a foul in the box?

Yep, foul in the box.
    One of the Dundalk lads was jumping up on Maddens back to win the ball, hard to argue, they're an easy decision for the ref to make.

Dundalk owners think the FAI should pay for repair of the pitch. They argued (as did the Gardai) that the match should have an earlier kick off. And the FAI being the FAI ignored the request.

I would include it and the other damage caused to the away end (we know - it's an awful away end)into match expenses. Out of curiosity do the FAI take their 20% before or after expenses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

If the pitch was damaged due to the actions of away fans, I think it's pretty obvious who should foot the bill for any repairs.

Honestly it's a real shame that the game tonight's not on tv. Should be a cracker and would prob make good tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Not on ! i think you mean.

yes absolute disgrace not one channel covering it .

Dundalk allocated 600 tickets - the same number Rovers were allocated in Oriel. Tallaght is a lot bigger (and better) than Oriel.

Sounds like a cracker in Tallaght!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,370 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

justshane wrote: »
    Sounds like a cracker in Tallaght!

Doesn't have to just sound like it. There's live streams available from the betting sites. :)

goatdee

^^^

Shields is on the bench, must be made of iron. MCEleney big loss.

joeysoap wrote: »
    Shields is on the bench, must be made of iron. MCEleney big loss.

Did he get injured in the warm up?

Don't know, I thought he was out for the rest of the season?

What happened to McEleaney?

2-1 Dundalk

Bollox

2 all. five mins left.

ET, Dundalk look wrecked, maybe the harps bog is taking its toll?

Yeeessssss C'mon the Town 3 - 2. :D:pac::D

Make that 4 -2