Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PW Boards Fantasy League Tournament 2017 - Now Open!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,759 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Transfers OUT:
    Alexa Bliss
    Dean Ambrose

Transfers IN:
    Samoa Joe
    Jey Uso

Main Event Tier: Samoa Joe
    Main Event Tier: AJ Styles
    Main Event Tier: Asuka

Upper Tier: Kane
    Upper Tier: Jey Uso
    Upper Tier: Jason Jordan

Lower Tier: Enzo Amore

Captain: Asuka

I choose number 4 please MNG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    I choose number 4 please MNG.

We have our first captaincy determined and you are the captain of Team Blue.

The captain will have a role to play in determining who faces who during the week of Survivor Series. I'll explain this more when we get through this gameweek.

Updated teams:

Team Red

lycan238
    Necrominus
    Lord TSC
    Kankan14
    Cheese Wagstaff

Team Blue

Mr. Guappa (captain)
    montyrebel
    beakerjoe
    daithi1989
    paulie21

Remaining numbers in play:

5, 6, 9, 14, 15, 16

Main Event Tier - Asuka
    Main Event Tier - AJ Styles
    Main Event Tier - Bobby Roode Samoa Joe in

Upper Tier - The Brian Kendrick Jey Uso in
    Upper Tier - Dean Ambrose
    Upper Tier - Cesaro

Lower Tier - Enzo Amore

My captain: Jey Uso

*****Deadline Extension*****

Some players have yet to submit teams for the week and I fear they may be caught out by the fact that Raw and Smackdown are taped this week, and so the deadline is earlier than normal.

I will therefore extend the deadline for this gameweek to noon on Monday giving players another 12 hours to get their teams in.

I'll also randomly assign any remaining players to the Survivor Series teams when the deadline is up if that becomes necessary. I may have to randomly assign the captaincy for the red team too if that spot remains unfilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Gaw_

Main
    Seth Rollins Samoa Joe
    AJ Styles Baron Corbin
    Asuka

Upper
    Dean Ambrose
    Jey Uso
    Kane

Lower
    Enzo Amore

Captain
    Dean Ambrose

I'll go with number 16

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,823 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Edit:If this is too late no problem ill go with the original lineup and captain prob won't see the show for 24hrs from now anyway

Main Event Tier 1: Asuka
    Main Event Tier 2: AJ Styles
    Main Event Tier 3: Bobby Roode Samoa Joe

Top Tier 1: Chad Gable Jimmy Uso
    Top Tier 2: Dean Ambrose
    Top Tier 3: Elias

Captain: Jimmy Uso

No.5

I have added the past two submitted teams from Gaw_ and BH and the deadline is now officially shut. Let's see the confirmed line-ups...

Gaw_ wrote: »
    I'll go with number 16

You have joined the ranks of Team Red.

No.5

We finally have the last captaincy number chosen as you become the captain of Team Red.

That left us with seven members for Team Red and five for Team Blue. Four players needed to be added to the teams so that we had an even split of eight each.

That worked out as follows:

KayJay86 - Team Red
    Lithium_93 - Team Blue
    Mr.Nice Guy - Team Blue
    Ruat Caelum - Team Blue

So the final confirmed line-ups for the teams looks as follows:

Team Red

Bounty Hunter (captain)
    lycan238
    Necrominus
    Lord TSC
    Kankan14
    Cheese Wagstaff
    Gaw_
    KayJay86

Team Blue

Mr. Guappa (captain)
    montyrebel
    beakerjoe
    daithi1989
    paulie21
    Lithium_93
    Mr.Nice Guy
    Ruat Caelum

This week was all about finalising the teams. Next week we will begin the fun part of pairing players off against one another. The captains of the two teams will have a role to play in this. I hope to explain this further on Wednesday once we get this gameweek out of the way.

In the meantime if Mr. Guappa or Bounty Hunter want to give their team a better name than Blue or Red then they are welcome to do so. Maybe other players have some suggestions for a name they think is good and want to share it...

With the deadline closed, here are the most popular picks for the week ahead...

Popular trends - G.W. 12

Most popular Main Event Tier picks

1. Asuka 12

2. Samoa Joe 8

3. AJ Styles 7

Most popular Upper Tier picks

1. Dean Ambrose 10

2. Jey Uso 9

3. Kane 8

Most popular Lower Tier picks

1. Enzo Amore 14

2. Others 1

In the Main Event Tier, Asuka remains the most popular choice but Samoa Joe has seen a big spike in ownership following his return.

In the Upper Tier, Dean Ambrose continues to lead the way but Jey Uso has had a raft of transfers ahead of his tag team match on Smackdown this week. (Brother Jimmy has just the two owners)

In the Lower Tier, Enzo remains way out in front as the most popular pick in his category and the game overall.

As for the captaincy choices, Kane and Jey Uso are the two joint most popular selections with three players backing each man to deliver wins.

Good luck for the week ahead everyone.

375px-WWE_Raw_2016_Logo.png

Raw has finished and that means we're halfway through our gameweek. Below I will reveal how everyone fared for last night's Raw, the latest in the first leg of the Cup Semi-Final matches, and finally what the scores mean for our league table. Read on for all the latest...

*Note - Raw spoilers below. Do not read further if you do not want news of Raw.*

Monday Night Raw scores

beakerjoe..................................16 pts
    Lord TSC...................................16 pts
    KayJay86...................................15 pts
    Mr. Guappa................................15 pts
    Mr.Nice Guy................................12 pts
    LeeJM........................................11 pts
    Ruat Caelum...............................10 pts
    Bounty Hunter...............................8 pts
    Gaw_...........................................8 pts
    Cheese Wagstaff............................7 pts
    daithi1989....................................7 pts
    lycan238......................................7 pts
    Necrominus..................................7 pts
    paulie21.......................................7 pts
    Kankan14.....................................6 pts
    montyrebel...................................6 pts
    Lithium_93...................................3 pts

Raw Fallout

It's beakerjoe and Lord TSC who get the best scores for last night's Raw with a strong score of sixteen. beakerjoe achieved his points via wins for his captain Asuka and Jason Jordan, plus appearances from Samoa Joe, Dean Ambrose and Enzo; Lord TSC achieved his points via wins for his captain Jason Jordan and Asuka, plus appearance points for Ambrose and Enzo.

The average score for Raw this week was quite low by normal Raw standards at 9 points.

Now let us see how the Cup ties are doing...

Fantasy Cup Semi-Finals - 1st Leg (Latest Scores)

330px-1928_Sam_Maguire_cup%2C_GAA_museum.jpg

Kankan14 6 - 15 Mr. Guappa

Bounty Hunter 8 - 7 Cheese Wagstaff

Cup Fallout

It's still very early days but Mr. Guappa has had the best start so far, leaving Kankan with some catching up to do. The other tie is looking very close.

Finally let us see how our league table looks after Raw...

Gameweek 12 Standings (Post-Raw)

1. Mr. Guappa........................................................................356 points

2. beakerjoe..........................................................................336 points

3. Gaw_................................................................................325 points

4. daithi1989.........................................................................319 points

5. Bounty Hunter....................................................................312 points

6. Mr. Nice Guy.......................................................................310 points

7. Cheese Wagstaff.................................................................298 points

8. paulie21............................................................................296 points

9. Lord TSC............................................................................290 points

10. Kankan14.........................................................................278 points

11. Necrominus......................................................................261 points

12. lycan238..........................................................................226 points

13. KayJay86.........................................................................214 points

14. montyrebel.......................................................................191 points

15. Ruat Caelum.....................................................................172 points

16. Lithium_93.......................................................................160 points

17. LeeJM..............................................................................126 points

Fantasy League Fallout

Well done to Mr. Guappa who maintains a strong lead at the top, although beakerjoe has eaten into it by a point.

There's not much else to report with positions as they were.

Raw results

Jason Jordan defeated Elias in a guitar-on-a-pole match.

Asuka defeated Stacy Coates.

Finn Balor vs Samoa Joe ended in a double count-out.

Sasha Banks and Bayley defeated Alicia Fox and Nia Jax.

Braun Strowman defeated The Miz via D.Q.

Pete Dunne defeated Enzo Amore.

Cesaro and Sheamus defeated Seth Rollins and Dean Ambrose to win the Raw Tag Team Titles

255px-Asuka_Arnold_classic_2016.jpg

While it was a disappointing night for the most popular Lower and Upper Tier options Enzo and Dean Ambrose, the most popular Main Event Tier option Asuka delivered a win for her owners.

Want to join in?

The game may be under way but new players are always welcome. Places for the cup tournaments are now closed but the league is still open; sign up now to get involved.

That is it for the Raw update. On to Smackdown to finish off the week and then we can get down to setting up some Survivor Series matches.

375px-WWE_SmackDown_Live_2016_logo.png

Smackdown is complete for the week and so we reach the end of our gameweek. We can now say we are 2/3 of the way through the contest and approaching the final stretch. Below you will find the scores for last night's show, what they mean for the Cup Semi-Finals, and finally our league table.

I'll then preview the tag tournament coming up next week which will have a double elimination, plus we'll get into the process of pairing players up against one another for the Survivor Series Challenge. Read on for all the latest...

*Note - Smackdown spoilers below. Do not read further if you do not want news of Smackdown.*

Smackdown scores

Bounty Hunter...............................6 pts
    Mr.Nice Guy...................................6 pts
    Necrominus...................................6 pts
    paulie21........................................6 pts
    beakerjoe......................................5 pts
    Kankan14......................................5 pts
    Lord TSC.......................................5 pts
    Mr. Guappa....................................5 pts
    Ruat Caelum..................................5 pts
    daithi1989.....................................2 pts
    Cheese Wagstaff.............................1 pt
    Gaw_............................................1 pt
    LeeJM............................................1 pt
    lycan238........................................1 pt
    montyrebel.....................................1 pt
    KayJay86........................................0 pts
    Lithium_93.....................................0 pts

Smackdown Fallout

Four players share the highest score for Smackdown which was 6 points. They are: Bounty Hunter, myself, Necrominus and paulie21. All players had an Uso as captain, who lost, plus AJ Styles, who won.

The average score for Smackdown was just 3 points.

Now let's see what way the Fantasy Cup Semi-Finals look like at the end of the first leg...

Fantasy Cup Semi-Finals - 1st Leg (Results)

330px-1928_Sam_Maguire_cup%2C_GAA_museum.jpg

Kankan14 11 - 20 Mr. Guappa

Bounty Hunter 14 - 8 Cheese Wagstaff

Cup Fallout

It's effectively half-time in the ties and as you can see it is Mr. Guappa and Bounty Hunter who have the advantage so far. Both ties though remain very much alive.

The second leg of the Semi-Finals will take place on Gameweek 14.

Now let's take a look at the league table at the end of the week...

Gameweek 12 Standings

1. Mr. Guappa........................................................................361 points

2. beakerjoe..........................................................................341 points

3. Gaw_................................................................................326 points

4. daithi1989.........................................................................321 points

5. Bounty Hunter....................................................................318 points

6. Mr. Nice Guy.......................................................................316 points

7. paulie21............................................................................302 points

8. Cheese Wagstaff.................................................................299 points

9. Lord TSC............................................................................295 points

10. Kankan14.........................................................................283 points

11. Necrominus......................................................................267 points

12. lycan238..........................................................................227 points

13. KayJay86.........................................................................214 points

14. montyrebel.......................................................................192 points

15. Ruat Caelum.....................................................................177 points

16. Lithium_93.......................................................................160 points

17. LeeJM..............................................................................127 points

Fantasy League Fallout

Well done to Mr. Guappa who sees out the week still on top with a margin of twenty points over nearest challenger beakerjoe.

paulie21 meanwhile has risen up to seventh place following Smackdown, but that proves the only change.

Smackdown results

Kofi Kingston defeated Sami Zayn.

Randy Orton defeated Rusev.

Becky Lynch defeated James Ellsworth.

Shelton Benjamin and Chad Gable defeated The Usos via count-out.

AJ Styles defeated Jinder Mahal to win the WWE Championship

330px-Shakedown_06_%2831650240352%29_crop.jpg

AJ has been great value lately and that was his third straight win on Smackdown. Elsewhere, defeat for The Usos left a lot of players disappointed.

On to Gameweek #13 (Tag Team Tournament returns, plus more on the Survivor Series Challenge)...

Tag Team Tournament Standings

260px-WWE_SmackDown_Tag_Titles.jpeg

1. -1989 (Necrominus and daithi1989) - 73

2. JoeMonty (beakerjoe and montyrebel) - 66

3. Team Smackdown (Lord TSC and Ruat Caelum) - 59

4. GBH (Mr. Guappa and Bounty Hunter) - 58

5. paulie21 and Gaw_ - 52

6. O-Kay Guys (KayJay86 and Mr.Nice Guy) - 48

Last time we lost the tag team of LYCAN YOU DIG IT....SUCKAAAA?? (lycan238 and Cheese Wagstaff) and this week not one but TWO teams will join them as we will see the bottom two teams on the ladder eliminated at the end of the week.

The final four teams left standing will then advance to the semi-finals with the top ranked team playing the fourth team in one tie, while the second and third-placed teams will play each other in the remaining tie.

It should make this a very exciting week. Which pair of teams will we be saying goodbye to?

Survivor Series Challenge - Determing the Matches

250px-WWESSLOGO2014.png

This past week we arranged the line-ups of the two teams for the Survivor Series Challenge. They are:

Team Red

Bounty Hunter (captain)
    lycan238
    Necrominus
    Lord TSC
    Kankan14
    Cheese Wagstaff
    Gaw_
    KayJay86

Team Blue

Mr. Guappa (captain)
    montyrebel
    beakerjoe
    daithi1989
    paulie21
    Lithium_93
    Mr.Nice Guy
    Ruat Caelum

During the week of Survivor Series, each player will take on an opponent assigned from the opposite team; the team with the most wins at the end of the PPV week will be victorious - and as a prize they will each earn the right to make one extra transfer the following week.

How will we determine the match-ups?

It will be the team captains - Bounty Hunter and Mr. Guappa - who will determine the matches by nominating a member of their team to take on one presented to them from the opposing side.

Thanks to a coin toss, Bounty Hunter will go first and so I ask him now to choose a member of his team that he wants to face Mr. Guappa. (If he wishes, Bounty Hunter can nominate himself to face Mr. Guappa - it's his call).

Once Bounty Hunter makes his decision, I will then ask Mr. Guappa to select a member of his Team Blue to face Bounty Hunter (unless Bounty Hunter chooses to face Mr. Guappa himself, in which case I'll present another player to Mr. Guappa).

After we have sorted out the captain's opponents, I will randomly present the remaining players and the captains will decide in turn who they face.

Other players can volunteer to face someone on the opposing team if they wish, and may make suggestions for opponents they would like. But it will be the captain that will have the final say.

It may seem complicated at first but once we get going it is pretty straightforward and we should have the teams sorted before too long hopefully.

What happens if the Survivor Series Challenge ends 4-4?

If we end up with a tie at the end of the week then to break the deadlock we will add up the combined overall points of each team and the team with the highest tally will go through.

In the unlikely event this fails to give us a winner, then the captain that performs the best over the week will break the deadlock.

In summary...

Bounty Hunter will kick things off by choosing which of the 8 names on his team he wants to face Mr. Guappa. Then I will present other names to the captains in turn and we will go back and forth until all of the ties are sorted.

Deadline

Raw is live once again so the deadline for Gameweek 13 will be before the start of Monday Night Raw.

Transfers and Captaincy

You can now make up to 2 transfers to your squad if you wish. These must be from the same tier. For example, a Main Event Tier performer for a Main Event Tier performer; an Upper Tier performer for an Upper Tier performer.

Please outline who you are transferring out and transferring in when posting your squads to make it easier for me to follow.

Once a team has been posted that team will be final and no edits will be allowed (unless there are exceptional circumstance, i.e. a wrestler gets legit hurt, or they are suspended).

Don't forget to choose a captain who will score you double points.

Want to join in?

The game may be under way but new players are always welcome. Places for the cup tournaments are now closed but the league is still open; sign up now to get involved.

That concludes the update. Good luck for this exciting week ahead. Gameweek #13 is now open for business.

And Bounty Hunter, have a think about which of the 8 members of your team will be facing Mr. Guappa and let us know as soon as you've decided...

This is a tag team week and my opposing captain is also my tag team partner... I want him to put up a big score but also to lose his SS match hmm.... That's it Captain vs Captain, tag partner vs Tag Partner. If your going to beat me this week at least your score will go towards our team!

and as we are team Red but not neccesarily Team Raw, ummm (off the top of my head... and thinking I should check which team the lads who captained Kane are on)... The Big Red Machines!

Our first Survivor Series Challenge match has been determined and what a clash it is as Bounty Hunter elects to take on his opposition captain Mr. Guappa - who is also his tag team partner for the week ahead.

I do like BH's logic that if he loses at least it likely means their tag team will benefit. (Edit - Actually I just remembered the tag tournament won't be running the week of Survivor Series since it skips a week. There may not be an upside after all!)

We also have a nice team name for the red side in The Big Red Machines.

Now we turn our attention to Mr. Guappa. Since we now know that Bounty Hunter will be playing yourself, we present one of the other 7 remaining members of The Big Red Machines whose fate you will determine and the name chosen at random was...Kankan14.

You are currently taking him on in your Fantasy Cup Semi-Final but now you must pick someone else from your team to be his opponent. Who do you choose?

Have a think and let us know when you've decided. Also if you want to think up a team name instead of Team Blue feel free to do so.

Kankan14 has been handed a tough assignment. He will square off with the man currently in second place on the league table... beakerjoe!

As for a team name, my thought process went as follows:
    Team Blue -> Blue Movie -> Rated R -> The Rated R Superstars

Also, to clarify, these matches are not taking place this coming week, but the week of Survivor Series?

Yep, that's right.

This week (Gameweek 13) is all about establishing the matches. The actual ties will take place during the Survivor Series PPV week which will be Gameweek 14.

We now have both team names sorted as the blue side becomes The Rated R Superstars.

And we also have our second tie sorted and it's another tasty one as it pits a tag team from last year's game (BeakerKan14) who also interestingly met in last year's Survivor Series Challenge. Last year it was beakerjoe who won the tie 44-35. This year Kankan14 will have a chance for revenge!

Now we turn back to Bounty Hunter and the next name chosen at random is paulie21. Choose someone from The Big Red Machines team who you think would be a worthy opponent for him.

BH, have you a name from your team to face paulie? Need to get these matches sorted before too long.

My team for the week ahead...

Main Event Tier - Asuka
    Main Event Tier - AJ Styles Baron Corbin in
    Main Event Tier - Samoa Joe

Upper Tier - Jey Uso
    Upper Tier - Cesaro Natalya in

Lower Tier - Enzo Amore

My captain: Natalya

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Main Event Tier - AJ StylesCorbin
    Main Event Tier - Auska
    Main Event Tier - Bobby Roode Charlotte

Upper Tier - Rusev
    Upper Tier - Jason Jordon

Lower Tier - Enzo Amore

My captain: Charlotte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭lycan238

MAIN EVENT TIER – Roman Reigns
    MAIN EVENT TIER – Asuka
    MAIN EVENT TIER – Seth Rollins

UPPER TIER – Big E
    UPPER TIER – Kane
    UPPER TIER - Dean Ambrose

LOWER TIER – Enzo

Your captain: Asuka

Transfers Out: Kevin Owens and Sami Zayn
    Transfers in: Roman Reigns and Big E

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

MAIN EVENT TIER - Brawn Strowman
    MAIN EVENT TIER - Samoa Joe
    MAIN EVENT TIER - Charlotte

UPPER TIER - The Miz
    UPPER TIER - Kane

LOWER TIER - Enzo Amore

My captain: Charlotte

Switching out AJ and Jimmy Uso, putting captaincy on Charlotte. Risky but why not :)

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭daithi1989

Kane Out Ambrose In
    Elias Out Miz In

Main Event: Joe Asuka Naks
    Upper: Miz Jey Ambrose
    Lower: Enzo

Capt; Asuka

Again, just repeat something I (and others) have said before! Fair play MNG for all the work and effort you put into running this comp! It is very enjoyable!

For Paulie... why not keep the trend going ? I'm going to face him off against his tag partner Gaw

It's another tasty tie established as tag partners collide once more: Gaw_ will take on on paulie21.

Now we turn back to Mr. Guappa. The player whose fate you must next decide is that of Lord TSC. Choose someone from The Rated R Superstars team to face him.

It's another tasty tie established as tag partners collide once more: Gaw_ will take on on paulie21.

Now we turn back to Mr. Guappa. The player whose fate you must next decide is that of Lord TSC. Choose someone from The Rated R Superstars team to face him.

Lord TSC will face one of the basement dwellers.. Lithium_93. Can the underdog overcome seemingly insurmountable odds?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Kankan14

Main
    Asuka
    Alexa out for Charlotte
    Bobby Roode

Upper
    Elias
    Shelton Benjamin
    Kane

Lower
    Enzo Amore

Captain: Charlotte

We have our fourth tie established as Mr. Guappa places his faith in Lith to take out Lord TSC. We have half the ties sorted at the moment.

Now we turn back to Bounty Hunter. It is me in the spotlight this time and it's time to find an opponent for myself. Choose someone from The Big Red Machines to face me.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

After weeks of painfully neglecting the game, time to refocus my attention..

MAIN EVENT TIER - Roman Reigns
    MAIN EVENT TIER - Braun Strowman
    MAIN EVENT TIER - Seth Rollins

UPPER TIER - Kane
    UPPER TIER - Big E

LOWER TIER - Enzo Amore

Captain - Roman Reigns

In
    Kane, Braun Strowman

Out
    Alexa Bliss & Jeff Hardy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

MAIN EVENT TIER - Finn Balor
    MAIN EVENT TIER - Roman Reigns (replacing Alexa Bliss)
    MAIN EVENT TIER - Asuka

UPPER TIER - Kane
    UPPER TIER - Natalya
    UPPER TIER - Rusev (replacing Jey Uso)

LOWER TIER - Kalisto

CAPTAIN - Roman Reigns

Why stop my trend now... MNG you got your tag partner KayJay86

Main Event Tier 1: Asuka
    Main Event Tier 2: AJ Styles Baron Corbin
    Main Event Tier 3: Samoa Joe Seth Rollins

Top Tier 1: Jimmy Uso
    Top Tier 2: Dean Ambrose
    Top Tier 3: Elias

Captain: Asuka

The fifth tie is sorted and it pits me up against my silent partner KayJay86. May the best man win. We have just three ties to sort out now.

We turn back to Mr. Guappa. This time you must decide the opponent for Necrominus, the man you got the better of in your Fantasy Cup quarter-final tie.

Choose someone from The Rated R Superstars to face Necrominus. The available names left are: montyrebel, daithi1989 and Ruat Caelum.

The fifth tie is sorted and it pits me up against my silent partner KayJay86. May the best man win. We have just three ties to sort out now.

We turn back to Mr. Guappa. This time you must decide the opponent for Necrominus, the man you got the better of in your Fantasy Cup quarter-final tie.

Choose someone from The Rated R Superstars to face Necrominus. The available names left are: montyrebel, daithi1989 and Ruat Caelum.

Necrominus will be going up against the defending champion daithi1989.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Necrominus will be going up against the defending champion daithi1989.

:(:(

I had a feeling this would happen.