Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Season 7 Episode 5 "Eastwatch" - "Non book readers"

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

DeadHand wrote: »
    Was he looking for a ladder?

Or some red drapes for his knocking shop?:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭GTTDI GOD

I was just asked, could Cersei be Gendry's mother? We know that Cersei had a son with Robert and that he 'died'. And with the prophecy that 3 children would die, could it be that she gave her first born away, because she didn't want a son of Robert's on the throne, and told him that he died?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

GTTDI GOD wrote: »
    I was just asked, could Cersei be Gendry's mother? We know that Cersei had a son with Robert and that he 'died'. And with the prophecy that 3 children would die, could it be that she gave her first born away, because she didn't want a son of Robert's on the throne, and told him that he died?

Prophecy had nothing to do with being on the throne. Myrcella wasn't on the throne when she died. Myrcella, Joffrey and Tommen make 3...

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭Daledge

Jon to be crowned in ruins of Red Keep in couple of episodes' time after marrying Dany, defeating the Nights King and everybody celebrating after Jamie kills Cersei, and Theon kills Euron. Also Sam marries Gilly and claims the Reach as the heir to both Tyrell and Tarly lands.

Some men take their writing more seriously than others

Oh btw, that's not spoilers, just my predictions, but I wouldn't be at all surprised if that's how it plays out. Yuck.

There's a speculation thread for this stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭GTTDI GOD

Prophecy had nothing to do with being on the throne. Myrcella wasn't on the throne when she died. Myrcella, Joffrey and Tommen make 3...

I know the prophecy had nothing to do with the throne, sorry it's probably the way I asked, but she had a child with Robert before Joffrey, and that would make 4 children dead and not 3. I am wondering, could she have gotten rid of the first child as she didn't want Baratheon blood on the throne, rather have children with Jaime so that it would be Lannisters on te throne. If she gave the child away, it means that the prophecy was right that 3 of her children would die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

I know the prophecy had nothing to do with the throne, sorry it's probably the way I asked, but she had a child with Robert before Joffrey, and that would make 4 children dead and not 3. I am wondering, could she have gotten rid of the first child as she didn't want Baratheon blood on the throne, rather have children with Jaime so that it would be Lannisters on te throne. If she gave the child away, it means that the prophecy was right that 3 of her children would die.
    No, the prophecy said she would have three children. Not four. So this pregnancy will not end well either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Maybe the baby will be a dwarf.

J. Marston wrote: »
    Maybe the baby will be a dwarf.

Karma is a bitch.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

At the rate the storyline is progressing, Cersei will give birth in the next episode and the whitewalkers will still be going around in circles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭FionnK86

All the while that little twerp Robin is still playing with his birdy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

naughto wrote: »
    Do these idiots not know how to reduce an image for the web? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

naughto wrote: »

That was a great recap! And he used the phrase "yonks ago" I haven't heard that for yonks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Bran is a bit of a tosser isn't he?
    He can see a lot (everything) and what has he done with it?

Told his sister she looked great the night she was raped
    Mocked little finger over the 'Chaos'
    Ousted Arya and her list

He's a right aul bollix, you think he'd just spill the beans and help them all.

The white walkers.... the longest march in history. My guess is they are waiting long enough for global warming to melt the wall!
    They'd wanna pick up the pace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I like the theory, but I don't think it fits the known facts. Not least that Cersei would have had Gendry killed as soon as Joffrey was born.
    She already ordered a purge of all of Robert's bastards, so it seems unlikely that she would just assume Gendry was caught up in that rather than have him hunted down specifically - he would be the only person with a complete claim to the throne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,294 ✭✭✭✭Penn

seamus wrote: »
    I like the theory, but I don't think it fits the known facts. Not least that Cersei would have had Gendry killed as soon as Joffrey was born.
    She already ordered a purge of all of Robert's bastards, so it seems unlikely that she would just assume Gendry was caught up in that rather than have him hunted down specifically - he would be the only person with a complete claim to the throne.

I think it was Joffrey who ordered the purge, no?

Either way it doesn't fit. Cersei had quite emotional conversations with Catlyn and Robert about how she lost her first-born. And before she started fully down the path of madness she seems to be on, you could tell that her children meant everything to her. That would have included a child she'd had with Robert, even if she didn't love Robert himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

With Sam headed off North again, what will happen if he meets up with Jon (and Danaerys) then finds out she killed his father and brother.For all the perception of his dimness,he's had his moments.....Could he have another?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Pugzilla wrote: »
    Are people actually watching it on TV?
    Everyone I know has been torrenting it.

The only scheduled tv I watch these days is live sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭benny79

zerks wrote: »
    With Sam headed off North again, what will happen if he meets up with Jon (and Danaerys) then finds out she killed his father and brother.For all the perception of his dimness,he's had his moments.....Could he have another?

I dont think he'd be that bothered sure his dad treated him like ****.. Plus Jon is his BFF :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

On another note, Eastwatch by the sea sounds like a coastal village in England where you'd get some terrific fish and chips. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

GavRedKing wrote: »
    On another note, Eastwatch by the sea sounds like a coastal village in England where you'd get some terrific fish and chips. :o
    Fish and chips, ****ty amusements, slot-machines aplenty.

Like the Bundoran of Westeros :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

I thought that was the point though. It was a smuggler's route well known to certain (all?) guards for which a price was set to turn a blind eye. If you tried to land an army there, that's a different story. But rowboats with a couple of smugglers bringing viagra to the city is a protection racket.

Fair point, but while it'd make sense if he was make sense if he was just smuggling something relatively innocuous, was never going to work for two of the Lannister's most wanted. For a guy renowned for sneaking into harbours at night seemed a bit odd. But there's a lot of people saying/doing stuff that doesn't fit with their character.
    Adamocovic wrote: »
    It doesn't sound like watching the show is bringing you any joy whatsoever haha
    Meh, parts of it are still decent. And even the more cringe-inducing bits are entertaining, just not in the way it used to be (Arya stalking Littlefinger was hilarious.)
    Plus I've invested long enough in it, I'll watch it until the end when Ned Stark wakes up after a bad dream.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

EDIT: NVM

MOH wrote: »
    Fair point, but while it'd make sense if he was make sense if he was just smuggling something relatively innocuous, was never going to work for two of the Lannister's most wanted. For a guy renowned for sneaking into harbours at night seemed a bit odd. But there's a lot of people saying/doing stuff that doesn't fit with their character.
    At least they acknowledged that. Davos warned Tyrion and said he himself wouldn't be recognised because "nothing fúcks you like time". :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I'm enjoying the season overall so far but the quality of writing has gone downhill a lot, I think, and the pacing has swung completely from beyond snail-like to the show barely able to catch its own breath.

It just seems so blatantly dumbed down in every aspect now and the characters are almost like shadows of their former selves in most cases, if not actually at odds with their former selves - the pacing has been radically accelerated at the expense of the slow-burning complexity, political wrangling, character development and just soul that made the show so utterly brilliant to begin with.

Doesn't mean it's still not very enjoyable, but I'm just slightly disappointed with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

I'm enjoying the season overall so far but the quality of writing has gone downhill a lot
    It just seems so blatantly dumbed down in every aspect now and the characters are almost like shadows of their former selves

Doesn't mean it's still not very enjoyable, but I'm just slightly disappointed with it.

Agreed with all you said.

I'm enjoying this, but it is like a 'days of our lives' type soap opera now.
    What limited script there is is now just a prelude to the next 'long lost brother/amnesia' type of soap-opera reveal or event.

We all know that both HBO and the "Double D's" have more or less checked out knowing that the end of the show is around the corner.
    There was nothing stopping either having more episodes to give this saga the room it needs to finish better.

WRT the show itself, it baffles me that there are people out there who think that Danny is somehow the good guy!

She quite literally offers servitude or death.
    The tyranical inbred daughter of an inbred tyrant father, backed by monsters and armies of barbarian rapists and pillager.

#TeamCersei

murpho999 wrote: »

For example I would guess 90% of viewers would not have got the joke with Davos's "fewer" content last week. Was very funny but most people will simply not remember every conversation.

Was that a line from Stannis and Davos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

What's the reasoning behind the shorter final two series when there is obviously plenty of scope to have two 10 episode seasons which aren't going at breakneck pace?

Is it simply the dragon CGI budget and the salary of the main actors as others have said? In a world where every successful tv series is so packed with filler and dragged out to hell, it seems strange that they aren't milking this for all it's worth, especially when it could easily have no adverse affect on quality.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

Agricola wrote: »
    What's the reasoning behind the shorter final two series when there is obviously plenty of scope to have two 10 episode seasons which aren't going at breakneck pace?

Is it simply the dragon CGI budget and the salary of the main actors as others have said? In a world where every successful tv series is so packed with filler and dragged out to hell, it seems strange that they aren't milking this for all it's worth, especially when it could easily have no adverse affect on quality.

I don't understand it either. They don't need big CGI scenes to make more episodes. Just more dialogue and build up, plenty of long awaited reunions were glossed over. Crazy that we have only one more episode left until possibly 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Pugzilla wrote: »
    I don't understand it either. They don't need big CGI scenes to make more episodes. Just more dialogue and buildup, plenty of long awaited reunions were glossed over. Crazy that we have only one more episode left until possibly 2019.

Exactly. The reason the payoffs and callbacks to earlier seasons are so good is because we've waited so long and so much character development has been done since 2011. They're destroying the impact of some of these payoffs/reunions/callbacks by giving them so little time to breath.

Thinking back to S6, the reunion of Sansa and Jon was very well done. These characters weren't bosom buddies in S1 but the writers understood that considering all that's befell them, they would now have a warmer relationship and at least have a nostalgic fireside chat talking about their childhood and whats happened since BEFORE they got down to the business of dealing with the Boltons. Compare that to the return of Bran and Arya..... just no real oomph to it, it's all "must move plot along, quickly now...."

Just odd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭stooge

i think the ploy by Cersei to 'handle Daeny like Tywin would have done' might lead to Daeny's demise at the end of this series. One possible plot is that Cersei kills Daeny, one of her dragons and Tyrion. Jamie kills Cersei because she killed Tyrion. Jon takes over the remaining dragons and conquers the night king. Gendry and Jon fight it out to be king.

This whole 'capture a wight' plot is absolutely ridiculous as previously mentioned. It has really put a downer on the whole series and show for me.

stooge wrote: »
    i think the ploy by Cersei to 'handle Daeny like Tywin would have done' might lead to Daeny's demise at the end of this series. One possible plot is that Cersei kills Daeny, one of her dragons and Tyrion. Jamie kills Cersei because she killed Tyrion. Jon takes over the remaining dragons and conquers the night king. Gendry and Jon fight it out to be king.

This whole 'capture a wight' plot is absolutely ridiculous as previously mentioned. It has really put a downer on the whole series and show for me.

best scene of all seasons so far,

The guys in eastwatch castle Food hall, " Thormund "how many men did you bring", "Not enough"
    " The big Woman?" he asks, not trying to smile!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,537 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Episode 6 Conversation split off to separate thread and locked. Please use the official episode 6 threads to talk about that episode.

This thread is for Episode 5 ONLY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

J. Marston wrote: »
    I've been one of the biggest defenders of the fast travel but I think there was a little too much in that episode. Pace needs to pick up since we're approaching the end but there is such a thing as going too fast.

Tyrion, for instance, went from the Reach to Dragonstone to King's Landing and back to Dragonstone in that episode.
    It wouldn't be so bad except the army of the undead are supposed to be marching towards the wall during this whole time. That is one slow army.

For those of us waiting until Monday to watch Ep6 - what do people reckon is the state of the Lannister forces by the end of Ep5?

What was wiped out in battle only looked to be a section of the army that marched on Highgarden - maybe the scale just wasn't represented well, and it was truly meant to be the bulk of the army, but it looked more like a rearguard than the whole Lannister army.

Even Battle of the Bastards showed Ramsey Bolton commanding an army that looked far bigger than the section Jamie was commanding in Ep4.

I know they specifically talked about mercenaries but unsure if that's to mean they need mercenaries to prop up an army so it's strong enough to fight.....or they literally have almost no army left to speak of and need to recruit one from scratch.

Also, for such a big deal made of the potential of the 'AA' weapon it didn't amount to much....I can't help but feel it will surely have to come back into play on a much bigger scale at some point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

For those of us waiting until Monday to watch Ep6 -

*tumbleweed*

https://media.giphy.com/media/Az1CJ2MEjmsp2/giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

For those of us waiting until Monday to watch Ep6 - what do people reckon is the state of the Lannister forces by the end of Ep5?

What was wiped out in battle only looked to be a section of the army that marched on Highgarden - maybe the scale just wasn't represented well, and it was truly meant to be the bulk of the army, but it looked more like a rearguard than the whole Lannister army.

Yeah, at the start it was mentioned that the gold had been safely delivered, presumably the bulk of the army would have been guarding that so would make sense if this was just the rearguard.

Of course now that she has the gold, Cersei might be able to get funding from the Iron Bank to supplement it with mercenaries. Where they'd come from and whether they'd arrive in time to have any effect probably depends on the exact locations of the teleportation portals around Westeros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

What's the craic with the remainder of the Baratheon bannermen from the Stormlands that didn't side with Stannis? I notice on the opening credits that Kings Landing still has a Stag sigil so technically in Baratheon control. Were they just subsumed into the Lannister army or did they side with Highgarden due to the Ser Loras connection? Could a legitimised Gendry swoop in and claim them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

What's the craic with the remainder of the Baratheon bannermen from the Stormlands that didn't side with Stannis? I notice on the opening credits that Kings Landing still has a Stag sigil so technically in Baratheon control. Were they just subsumed into the Lannister army or did they side with Highgarden due to the Ser Loras connection? Could a legitimised Gendry swoop in and claim them?

I think the remaining kingdoms have simply been omitted out of the show.

Dorn remains the only remaining kingdom whose army has not fought in the time of the show.

As for the Stormlands, they might as well no longer exist.
    Their sigil remains on Kings Landing simply because the show runners haven't bothered to remove it.
    Cersei is ruling under the Lannister name.

I think if Gendry lives (unlikely) he may be given a line at the end where he takes up the stewardship of the Stormlands.
    Otherwise, I doubt we'll here of the country's existence again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Even Battle of the Bastards showed Ramsey Bolton commanding an army that looked far bigger than the section Jamie was commanding in Ep4.

I know they specifically talked about mercenaries but unsure if that's to mean they need mercenaries to prop up an army so it's strong enough to fight.....or they literally have almost no army left to speak of and need to recruit one from scratch.

Also, for such a big deal made of the potential of the 'AA' weapon it didn't amount to much....I can't help but feel it will surely have to come back into play on a much bigger scale at some point.

It didn't seem like much but i think Jaime said that a thousand wagons were destroyed. The dialogue was a bit rushed and Cersei didn't seem interested in the report of her star General. If many wagons were lost, many troops should be lost too and C only says that more can be bought.

The formations that were briefly shown at Olenna's didn't suggest a massive army to begin with. That said, Tarly wanted to encourage stragglers to catch up and i can't imagine Commanders being at the tail of the force.

Long and short, i don't know 'cos they haven't clearly said.

It didn't seem like much but i think Jaime said that a thousand wagons were destroyed. The dialogue was a bit rushed and Cersei didn't seem interested in the report of her star General. If many wagons were lost, many troops should be lost too and C only says that more can be bought.

The formations that were briefly shown at Olenna's didn't suggest a massive army to begin with. That said, Tarly wanted to encourage stragglers to catch up and i can't imagine Commanders being at the tail of the force.

Long and short, i don't know 'cos they haven't clearly said.

Yeah, it just irritates me because Twyin had something like 80,000 men when he went to war with Robb Stark....and we're supposed to believe that the Lannister army was decapitated at the Reach because a few thousand men were lost?

Everything between Jamie and Cersei suggests that the Lannister army has been somehow dealt a death blow by that battle which just doesn't sit right with me...even if Cersei does bolster the ranks with mercenary armies.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Yeah, it just irritates me because Twyin had something like 80,000 men when he went to war with Robb Stark....and we're supposed to believe that the Lannister army was decapitated at the Reach because a few thousand men were lost?

Everything between Jamie and Cersei suggests that the Lannister army has been somehow dealt a death blow by that battle which just doesn't sit right with me...even if Cersei does bolster the ranks with mercenary armies.

I think it was more how they saw the dragon in action that was the major blow for them. They now realise that khaleesi will always have a more powerful army. They probably didn't realise before that.