Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pension plan tax benefits.

• 16-08-2017 7:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭

Hi all!

I'm a recent graduate and I've only been working for less than a year. I've got my fingers in different investment pies already just for my own personal savings but I'm wondering how to plan my pension going forward.

I work in an industry which will see me probably working all over the world. I'm 24 and I've already worked and paid taxes in two different countries. My long term plan is to try and settle down in Canada but it's clear that a significant portion of my career will also be in Ireland (I'm in Australia at the moment too just to confuse things).

I have a broad understanding of the tax benefits of a PRSA and the Canadian equivalent (RRSP). What I want to know is how do I sort out my pension pot in such a way that I can still avail of tax benefits? 

For example, I'm moving back to Ireland in a few weeks where I plan to work for two years until I move to Canada. In those two years, I'll want to start putting money into a pension pot. But when I move to Canada, what happens? Do I have to start a new pension pot there? Can I move my PRSA over to a RRSP? Can I still contribute to my PRSA? Do I lose tax benefits?

Are PRSAs and their equivalent poorly equipped for someone like me who will move around a lot or is there a way around it?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

First off a pension fund isn't necessarily a prsa. Don't assume you need a prsa if you want a pension of the fees are higher.