Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vuelta 2017, Stage 1: Nîmes - Nîmes 13,7 km (TTT)

• 18-08-2017 6:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭

Vuelta Time

Stage 1 of a lumpy race kicking off just across the border in the French town of Nimes for a 13km team trial. Apparently they pass through a Roman amphitheater along the way and the route is pan flat but some very twisty parts.

CARTE.jpg
    Starting times:
    1 Manzana Postobon 17:30:00
    2 Lotto-Soudal 17:34:00
    3 Dimension Data 17:38:00
    4 Cannondale-Drapac 17:42:00
    5 Aqua Blue Sport 17:46:00
    6 FDJ 17:50:00
    7 Bora-Hansgrohe 17:54:00
    8 Cofidis 17:58:00
    9 UAE Team Emirates 18:02:00
    10 Caja Rural 18:06:00
    11 Team Sunweb 18:10:00
    12 Katusha-Alpecin 18:14:00
    13 Astana 18:18:00
    14 QuickStep-Floors 18:22:00
    15 Bahrain-Merida 18:26:00
    16 LottoNL-Jumbo 18:30:00
    17 BMC 18:34:00
    18 AG2R La Mondiale 18:38:00
    19 Orica-Scott 18:42:00
    20 Movistar 18:46:00
    21 Team Sky 18:50:00
    22 Trek-Segafredo 18:54:00

PROFIL.png

TV Times
    Eurosport: 1625-1830
    Eursport highlights: 2000 - 2100
    ITV: highlights: 2200 - 2305

https://twitter.com/ImlachHair/status/898498691329404928

• Registered Users Posts: 30,518 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Go BMC Racing!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Nimes looks beautiful

This TTT will not have big time gaps except where there will be spills and looks like there may be a few as bendquite technical

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I have to be honest, I was expecting more from the Imlach link.

Really hyped for the start of the Vuelta though. Recently moved house, going to follow this from start/finish from my rollers for the craic.

I love watching bike races and besides the racing it never ceases to amaze me the places I'd have otherwise never heard of that I add to a list of places I'd like to visit one day.

Some of the scenery and towns they visited in the Vuelta a Burgos recently were unreal, and I've visited northern Spain a few times and thought I'd seen the best of it , how wrong I was.

Nîmes in France just made the list.

I have to be honest, I was expecting more from the Imlach link.

Really hyped for the start of the Vuelta though. Recently moved house, going to follow this from start/finish from my rollers for the craic.

Might need a bucket and a good aim if you're planning on staying in the saddle for the duration and weeing like the pro's :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Might need a bucket and a good aim if you're planning on staying in the saddle for the duration and weeing like the pro's :D

I have commitment and a large bucket :D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

Jaysus they're very pink

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

Aqua Blue Sport in at 16'36" - good for second so far behind Lotto Soudal. A good run for them.

UAE Team Emirates taking out two riders at the start ramp. Both up and running quick enough, but their train is long gone.

Do the whole team get the same time as the 1st 5 or do 6-9 get times wherever they come in

neris wrote: »
    Do the whole team get the same time as the 1st 5 or do 6-9 get times wherever they come in

AFAIK, if a rider is in the train, they get the team time. If they cross the line by themselves having been dropped, they get the individual time.

Not sure about Dan Martin at UAE....better at Quickstep for TTTs, positioning, cross winds, protection imo

I know he didnt have help in the mountains but Mas, Verona , Jungels are good help to come...and anyway most mountains stuff is man o man

• Registered Users Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Lotto jumbo :eek:

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Lotto jumbo :eek:

That was a very weird and quite spectacular off they had. I couldn't see what caused it though.

Movistar rider gone now aswell.

The course isn't taking any prisoners anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Who was first across the line for BMC? Ronan Dennis?

Carlton and Sean having a debate about where nico lives. You couldn't make half the **** on eurosport up

Who was first across the line for BMC? Ronan Dennis?

Think so nico was 2nd

Looking good for BMC

neris wrote: »
    Carlton and Sean having a debate about where nico lives. You couldn't make half the **** on eurosport up

Kirby keeps saying Roche lives in Spain

besides not having a clue about his living arrangments Kirby will make Nico who lives in Monocco for tax purposes liable for tax in Spain

Kelly was right to correct him

Kirby having a go at people not liking Sky - DRINK!!

And at some stage he,ll slate movistar for not being a very media friendly team

Kirby seesmto have adopted Pozzo this Vuelta ...must have money on him

poor Pozzo

Good performance by Aqua Blue. 13th overall. They beat 6 WT teams. The other 3 Pro-Conti teams were the slowest three teams

Dennis, De Marchi and then Nico I think.

What the feck is juan antonio saying about chain rings

We laughed here when Nico couldn't find the word and settled for "lap" :D