Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tina Satchwell News updates MOD NOTE POST ONE

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭tara73

The only one propagating this theory of her going to the UK is her convicted fraudster husband. No-one else is suggesting or believing it.

...and her very close (Phantom) friend which she met everyday at the same place near Fermoy, but they didn't have their phone numbers...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Smythz

RS had said that he had promised to do one more interview with i think it was Cork 96fm. Did this happen?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Smythz wrote: »
    RS had said that he had promised to do one more interview with i think it was Cork 96fm. Did this happen?

No it was for a new programme on Today FM he said, don't know if it happened yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭RockDesk

Don't know if this has been posted already.

https://youtu.be/PIxCI3IadFI

Basically people don't know them, don't care about them and aren't happy that Youghal is being seen negatively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Renewed Missing Person - Tina Satchwell (45) Midleton, Cork - last seen on the 24/4/17

Gardaí in Middleton have renewed their appeal for information on tracing the whereabouts of 45 year old Tina Satchwell who is missing from her home on Grattan Street, Youghal, Co Cork since Monday 20th March 2017.

https://www.garda.ie/en/About-Us/Our-Departments/Office-of-Corporate-Communications/Press-Releases/2017/June/Renewed-Missing-Person-Tina-Satchwell-45-Midleton-Cork-last-seen-on-the-24-4-17.html

I think someone might have posted about these dates being wrong on the Garda website?

In any event it looks like they first sought the publics help in the middle of May 2017?

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/gardai-seek-help-tracing-missing-cork-woman-789699.html

Was there anything before that to indicate it was being taken seriously?

That's a fair gap to elapse.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,596 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Mod Note They are a few posters who might be trying to derail this thread and name call/etc. Also, don't reply to them and just report the posts.

Tina Satchwell has been missing from her Cork home for over seven weeks http://jrnl.ie/3389790

Nearly 2 months had passed before the public was alerted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

Has anyone from the car boot sales talked to the media? Have the media tried to talk to any of them?

Lashes28 wrote: »
    Has anyone from the car boot sales talked to the media? Have the media tried to talk to any of them?

Nobody to the best of my knowledge.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,708 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

RockDesk wrote: »
    According to Paschal Sheehy, nothing of significance was found. That's why I feel it was a waste.

Unfortunately, searching for missing people involves searching.

http://www.thejournal.ie/missing-persons-ireland-statistics-facts-numbers-2015-2450180-Nov2015/

This puts what the guards are faced with in some perspective.

AN AVERAGE OF one person is reported missing every hour of every day in Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Did anyone listen to NP this morning? Paul Byrne from TV3 was on and says the Gardai were very happy with the search and have various new leads.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

pilly wrote: »
    Did anyone listen to NP this morning? Paul Byrne from TV3 was on and says the Gardai were very happy with the search and have various new leads.

That could mean something and nothing.

We don't know what is going on behind the scenes and it is becoming frustrating. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Iggleypiggley

Public services card was first introduced in 2011 according to the social welfare site.

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

Monumental wrote: »
    First time poster ,but there is something bothering me. If RS's behaviour during interviews are being attributed to his meds. how is it safe for him to drive all over the country. He arrived at a TV3 interview at 5am and then returned to cork and appeared in Castlemartyr that same evening . He claims he has little or no sleep ,so is a danger to himself and other road users ,is he exempt from drug driving laws ?

Welcome . .Good first post. Good point too . .I just don't believe a word he says . .He may be a little sleep deprived but am not sure he is taking anti depressants. We only have his word for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,085 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

First time poster ,but there is something bothering me. If RS's behaviour during interviews are being attributed to his meds. how is it safe for him to drive all over the country. He arrived at a TV3 interview at 5am and then returned to cork and appeared in Castlemartyr that same evening . He claims he has little or no sleep ,so is a danger to himself and other road users ,is he exempt from drug driving laws ?

Tv3 could have arranged his transportation.

Hang on, was the interview done in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

fin12 wrote: »
    She didn’t have a driving license either so what form of identification would she have used?

Valid passport
    Driver’s licence with photo
    International student card
    National ID card/government issued photo ID cards
    Health insurance cards with photo/social security cards with photo
    Bus pass with photo
    Work ID with photo

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Monumental

Tv3 could have arranged his transportation.

Hang on, was the interview done in Dublin?

He was on the couch in TV3 studio for his interview and later appeared looking through the fence in Castlemartyr

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

foxyladyxx wrote: »
    That was my impression too . .but I also found it odd that he said she would be with him in his van when he was doing deliveries because they didn't like spending time apart. .That is my recollection of what he said. Correct me if I am wrong.

Ya but then he said to Niall prendeville when he was questioned keeping such a large amount of money in the house, Richard said well there would always be somebody in the house apart from the times we would go to the car boot sales so there again contradicting himself.

He was on the couch in TV3 studio for his interview and later appeared looking through the fence in Castlemartyr

Airline travel, about 20 minutes each way.

Where did they park their car? There doesn't seem to be any on street parking.

Was there any posters/ photos of Tina put on lampposts around the area, like there was with Trevor Deely?.. I know they were 'blow-in' and wouldn't get much support from the locals. Country people are very suspicious of new arrivals, you have to be there for generations to be accepted.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

dense wrote: »
    There is always the possibility that being innocent, as he is, he never thought he'd be viewed by people as a suspect, and is now legitimately trying not to alter the sparse facts he originally outlined.

Why do you say he is innocent? We all surmising about what we believe happened but none of us are stating facts like this. None of us are saying he is definitely guilty or innocent because none of us knows what happened....and before you say 'innocent until proven guilty', this isn't a court of law.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

From c103
    Gardaí investigating the disappearance of Tina Satchwell have completed their search operation at the site in Castlemartyr, Co. Cork. An Garda Síochána wish to thank the public for their patience during the operation and thank the Defence forces, and other specialist services who assisted in the search.

A number of items recovered during the course of this search will now be examined to establish whether they are related to the disappearance of Tina. Gardaí would also like to thank members of the public who have come forward with new information which will now be investigated.

The site remains closed to the public until further notice.

Gardaí have renewed their appeal for anyone who may have information in relation to Tina’s disappearance to contact the incident room at Midleton Garda Station at 021 4621550 or the Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800 666111.

Note to editor – Gardaí will not be facilitating any interview requests in relation to this investigation at this time.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Was there any posters/ photos of Tina put on lampposts around the area, like there was with Trevor Deely?.. I know they were 'blow-in' and wouldn't get much support from the locals. Country people are very suspicious of new arrivals, you have to be there for generations to be accepted.

No idea about Youghal but I remember I was in Fermoy last June and July and nothing popped out at me from what I remember. I think I might have only seen her missing post once shared by somebody else on facebook.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Missing Tina Satchwell’s husband tells of relief after gardai complete search of Cork woodlands and says he believes she’s still alive.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2320995/missing-tina-satchwells-husband-tells-of-relief-after-gardai-complete-search-of-cork-woodlands-and-says-he-believes-shes-still-alive/

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

From the garda website:

https://www.garda.ie/en/Crime-Prevention/Crimecall-on-RTE/Crimecall-Episodes/2017/June-26/Missing-Person-Tina-Satchwell-last-seen-on-the-20-3-17.html
    The Gardaí at Middleton Garda Station were appealing for information in relation to the whereabouts of missing person, Tina Satchwell, (DOB)  30/11/1971 who is missing from her home on Grattan Street, Youghal, Co. Cork since Monday 20th March 2017.

Tina’s was last seen on the Monday morning when her husband Richard made the two of them a cup of tea. He then went to Aldi in Dungarvan at about 10.30am, while Tina remained at home. When he returned shortly after 12pm, there was no sign of Tina. Her house keys were on the floor in the hallway near the front door and her mobile phone was in the kitchen. There were two suitcases missing from the house.

Tina was a keen follower of fashion and had two dogs that she often walked. Tina is described as five foot seven inches in height with blonde hair and blue eyes. She previously lived in Fermoy. Tina’s Husband, her aunt and cousin made an appeal on Crimecall for help and information on the current whereabouts of Tina. Her family, the Gardaí and the community in Youghal are extremely concerned for Tina’s safety and well being.

There has been no sighting of Tina since Monday 20th March 2017

Quite incredible - most missing persons notices give a detailed description of what the person was last seen wearing

We know Tina had "a cup if tea" wtf? The above account is straight out of RSs story and he can remember she "had a cup of tea" BUT not what his wife was wearing ffs ....:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Dannythedog

gozunda wrote: »
    From the garda website:

https://www.garda.ie/en/Crime-Prevention/Crimecall-on-RTE/Crimecall-Episodes/2017/June-26/Missing-Person-Tina-Satchwell-last-seen-on-the-20-3-17.html

Quite incredible - most missing persons notices give a detailed description of what the person was last seen wearing

We know Tina had "a cup if tea" wtf? The above account is straight out of RSs story and he can remember she "had a cup of tea" BUT not what his wife was wearing ffs ....:mad:

he did state she was wearing her dressing gown when he last saw her.
    Possibly he was the person who usually cooked the breakfast/ toast.. etc..

The link to that shred has been posted in past few days here..