Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Survivor: Heroes vs Healers vs Hustlers (US)-[**SPOILERS**]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

kingtut wrote: »
    Ha ha :D I certainly have some unusual items in my Survivor collection but don't plan on adding a plate to it :D ... you never know what will go up for auction at the end of the season though ;)

Ok, I need to know more!
    What do you have??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

pooch90 wrote: »
    Ok, I need to know more!
    What do you have??

Oh I have a ton of stuff and every year I say I need to produce a full list! ... A few of my items are here:

https://www.yourprops.com/view_items.php?user_name=irishalanl

This is probably only a fifth of what I have. Earliest item I have is from Season 2 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

TBH the vote out at tribal was very predictable as Cole hardly featured pre his gallant effort at the IC.Hopefully he can make beautiful little babies with Jessica.:)

Totally shouting for the two underdogs... Doctor Mike and Joe.

Bit foolhardy of Ryan to go around blabbering about his HII.

The mooning episode was pretty funny in an otherwise underwhelming episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

What was Dr Mike doing with his voting? Playing the idol for Cole or Joe was the move to make but if he decided to try to get votes on himself and then play the idol then why vote for Cole? Surely trying to take Ben or someone else from the main alliance made much more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Without hearing Dr. Mikes side of the story it comes across as a shocking move, as bad as any I've seen. He was in a decent position if he could have kept his idol in his pocket. And how the hell did he not figure out the missing vote from last week?

It's looking like a Devon win to me at the moment. Also think Lauren is doing well.

I'm usually all for shouting on the underdog but not this season.

Foxtrol wrote: »
    What was Dr Mike doing with his voting? Playing the idol for Cole or Joe was the move to make but if he decided to try to get votes on himself and then play the idol then why vote for Cole? Surely trying to take Ben or someone else from the main alliance made much more sense.

I was sure he was going to play the HII for Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Yeah I went online to see what I was missing straight after the ep but Reddit and Survivorsucks were just as confused, that has to be one of the biggest wastes of an idol we've seen in later seasons, combined with his stupid "Give me your tired, your sick and your hungry" speech and smug walk? Is he just an idiot or did they edit out a load of stuff we missed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭kaji

I totally got his idol play. There were 7 versus 3 and they split the votes. Whoever from the 3 that he would use his idol on, the other person would have gone home. So if he used it on Joe, Cole would have gone home. If he used it on Cole, Dr. Mike would have gone home. He was in a no win situation. The alliance of 7 is too big.

I probably would have used it on myself at that point too, no use going home with an idol in my pocket. The longer he can stay in, the more the 7 will crack.

But he was in that exact same situation in the previous episode when the numbers were slightly more in his favour and he was happy to keep it in his pocket that night. He rightly didn't use it on himself as he was in no danger. Just like he was in no danger going into this week's TC.

The only rationale I can see for it is if he really wanted to keep Joe ahead of Cole for some reason. But he's painted quite the target on his back in doing so.

kaji wrote: »
    I totally got his idol play. There were 7 versus 3 and they split the votes. Whoever from the 3 that he would use his idol on, the other person would have gone home. So if he used it on Joe, Cole would have gone home. If he used it on Cole, Dr. Mike would have gone home. He was in a no win situation. The alliance of 7 is too big.

I probably would have used it on myself at that point too, no use going home with an idol in my pocket. The longer he can stay in, the more the 7 will crack.

I would have understood him just playing his idol on himself out of fear of going.

What he instead did was purposefully, and painfully, attempt draw votes on himself but then vote for one of the two he was trying to take the heat away from. Only two of the main alliance voted for Mike so if he, Cole & Joe all voted for Ben then he would have gone.

The only possible reason I can think for what he did is that he is extremely tight with Joe and wanted to do all he could to save him without actually giving him his idol, while also not wanting to upset the main alliance by voting out one of theirs so he threw Cole under the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Mike is clearly playing underwater 4D Go, all hail his genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭noveltea

Enjoyed tonight's show. The look on Chrissy and Ryan's face priceless. Think I would of taken out Ryan instead of JP. Jp was the lowest person in that 3 some so it made no sense.
    I also would of taken out Ben. By taking out Joe, Mike could easily go back and a line with Chrissy and Ryan, as Mike feel used or something and Ben could easily flip back to Chrissy and Ryan.

Also Lauren, some woman,some strength could easily see her be screwed over by the two surfers.

Is it a final two or three this season?

A pretty enjoyable double episode with some great blindsides! Still fed up with the amount of immunity idols / advantages this season. Seems like they are practically tripping over them.

Love to see an old school season with 'new school' players and see what they make of having to fight to stay in the game.

Post-merge this season is great!! Oh and it's a final 3 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Lauren could have just won herself the game there if she can keep it together and use here double vote at the right time.

Although I'd love to see Mike win it myself.

Yikes that was a cracking episode,that was one of the most enjoyable blindsides ever.Perplexing why they did'nt take out Ryan with the HII in his possession.

Edit and smarts of Chrissy pointed to her come from behind win in the IC,the others do not appear the brightest.Never so disappointed with an IC win.Devon's edit as a self proclaimed puppetmaster is beyond laughable.

Lauren was the standout player,ultimately believe she'll be betrayed by the other core members of the alliance.

Can't for the life of me understand why they did'nt avail of the opportunity to take out the double agent Ben,he really is hamming it up.

noveltea wrote: »
    Enjoyed tonight's show. The look on Chrissy and Ryan's face priceless. Think I would of taken out Ryan instead of JP. Jp was the lowest person in that 3 some so it made no sense.
    I also would of taken out Ben. By taking out Joe, Mike could easily go back and a line with Chrissy and Ryan, as Mike feel used or something and Ben could easily flip back to Chrissy and Ryan.

Also Lauren, some woman,some strength could easily see her be screwed over by the two surfers.

Is it a final two or three this season?

Final three.

Good double episode, missed opportunity to get rid of Ben and Bellhop and idols, Mike has it wrapped up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

I'd like the fisher woman to win, which is funny because i disliked her at the start
    I really dislike Chrissy and Ryan

I think it's great that everyone who's left is playing pretty hard. Don't think there's any real goats to be brought to the final.

Obviously some are playing better than others.

I've liked this season. Think they've got a good cast and are doing a good job with the edit so far.

Well played Ben!

Surely a temporary stay of execution?Can't for the life of me understand why the four did'nt stay strong and vote Chrissy,Ryan and Doctor Mike irrespective of their fear re the strength of Ben's game.The chit chat at the water station triggered a massively unnecessary fallout.

This is a truly unpredictable season,Devon and Doctor Mike are the ultimate goats.Crazy stuff with idols taken out of play and extra votes wasted.Lauren was in a strong position and playing an impressive game.

Where do the alliances lie now?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Classic Tribal. I'd love to see Mike, Ben, and either Chrissy or Ryan in the final 3 - it would make for an interesting Tribal Council.

Awesome play by Ben!! How stupid of Lauren to give away half the immunity idol! Speaking of which when I saw her pick up the shell I was thinking "That can't be it, you will look like an idiot at tribal".

Had they put the two parts together it would have looked like any old necklace lol.

Post merge definitely way better than pre merge this season.

seligehgit wrote: »
    This is a truly unpredictable season,Devon and Doctor Mike are the ultimate goats.Crazy stuff with idols taken out of play and extra votes wasted.Lauren was in a strong position and playing an impressive game.

Where do the alliances lie now?:)
    I don't really see any goats in the game tbh.

That episode was some mess. I'm not sure anyone came out of it looking good. Chrissy is probably the only one as she actually set the whole thing in motion by planting seeds in Ashley's head.

Ben should have zero chance in making final 3 at this stage, more than likely going next week.

Lauren completely threw her entire game away.

Dr. Mike was all over the shop at tribal.

Good episode but I'm not really invested, still hope Mike wins of course.

Australian Survivor has been far more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Great episode, getting interesting now.

Laurens first line in her interview during the credits: "What happened tonight was a classic blindside...". Errr no dumbass, you threw it all away for no reason whatsoever, its not a blindside when everyone spends an hour discussing it out in the open beforehand.

Even more so when you are told you are a target on the beach before you get to TC.

Horrific mistakes.

Why didn't she just walk over to the fire and try retrieve the shell?

And Mike throwing someones immunity idol away and then not writing their name down was just as bad a move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I have an extra vote AND an immunity Idol.

I know! I'll leave the extra vote at camp and give away my Idol!

Jesus christ. Mike is right. That was THE dumbest move ever. Dumber than going home with two idols in your pocket. Dumber than giving your immunity necklace to four girls who want you gone. It was the worst.

Ben did it again!

Seemed like pure laziness that they didn't follow him around when he was looking for an idol.

I wonder what they left out of the edit that led them all to vote for Ashley. Ben was pointing at Mike at one stage but also ended up going for her.

Really hoping he can do it,he's really up against it but he's played the best game.He has become more likeable now that his back is against the wall.

Yeah, and how was Ashley so confident that Devon turned on her with only 5 votes read?

Did she realise who wrote down "Ash" or some crucial info didn't make it into the edit.

I've really enjoyed the past merge but got a feeling the end result is going to be a little underwhelming.

Is Ben having to hide a tattoo on his shoulder with that plaster?

If I'd to put a bet on it at this stage I think Chrissy will become the sole survivor.

That's what I presumed and I've been wondering what it could be.

Presume it would have to be some form of nudity or curse. Doubt they'd have someone on who had something extremely objectionable like nazi tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

It was bugging me so I checked it up, apparently it's a John Deere logo!

Yup

Finale and reunion tonight! Woohoo!

Can't wait to see what is on offer in the auction :)

Goodbye Dr. Mike! :D Final 4 woohoo!
    Ben will so win this if he makes final 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭noveltea

some final. my heart. the upside down u the fire challenge. fair play to him. the right winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Delighted Ben won - he really deserved. Thought it was looking like Chrissy had it in the bag for most of the episode, but I was still hoping Ben would manage to pull it off, and he did. Props to Chrissy too though - on any other recent season she probably would've won, because she really was a really strong player.

The most deserving winner in a long time he played the game so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Techniques07

I thought after the final tribal council that Chrissy might take the win. What she was saying seemed to be going down well with the jury, she had a very strong social game. I was getting flashbacks of how well russell hantz played the game twice and lost because of the social element. Glad to see Ben get the votes and the million :)

I was routing against Ben for the majority of that finale. I guess it's because it took some drama away from the final TC as it would have taken a momentous cock up for him throw it away while in front of the jury.

What do we think of the fire making twist? While they couldn't have planned it any better if they tried I wasn't too happy when Jeff said we would be seeing it again next season. Maybe it'll add some new dynamic to the show where you now have to bring a goat and a fire maker with you to the final 4 to help shape your final 3. Unfortunately, I feel like it'll be another reason to get strong physical threats out of the game even earlier.

Without doubt that was one of the greatest Survivor finales ever.I was never so emotionally involved in the outcome,rooting for Ben.He showed remarkable resilience to find those HIIs,epic when he used same..the benbomb!:D The look on their faces.Hard to believe how complacent they became in facilitating his lone search for the HIIs.

Thought he was a goner after the upside down U,gut wrenching.Delighted he got a second chance at making the final three.Devon was pathetic at the fire making challenge

So it came to pass that by far the weakest players left at 5 and 4.Smart move by Devon to throw his vote Doctor Mike's way,kudos to him.

Chrissy played an amazing game,four IC wins was amazing.Although many played to her great strength in puzzle solving.The mother theme was overplayed for me as she is very much an alpha female and high achiever as a now unfortunately unemployed financial analyst.:( I am sure she will have ample job offers if she wants to return to the workplace.

What can be said about Ben?A very worthy winner,experienced all the range of emotions as top dog in the majority and in the latter part of the season incredible resilience as a lone wolf.His quest to win the million bucks for his family was truly touching and the battles with PTSD/social integration was a positive learning experience.He appeared to need the cash a touch more than his very worthy adversary.

No feedback on whither any romance developed between Cole and Jessica.

Next season looks interesting,I thought initially some of our legendary players for all the wrong reasons,James and Erik were returning.

Can somebody tell me how much a million bucks has deflated over the course of the last seventeen years?:D I could'nt be bothered doing the calculations myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Delighted Ben won, Chrissy was just terrible. Such a smug vile person, the definition of Stepford wife
    She didnt have a great social game, she remembered random facts which she was harvesting thats not a great social game. She was horrible to people, Ben may have fell out with people but it wasnt in a condescending way
    Anytime something didnt go her way she acted like everyone was a idiot
    Constantly tried to play people like a idiot
    I honestly think Ryan had a better social game

irishman86 wrote: »
    Delighted Ben won, Chrissy was just terrible. Such a smug vile person, the definition of Stepford wife
    She didnt have a great social game, she remembered random facts which she was harvesting thats not a great social game. She was horrible to people, Ben may have fell out with people but it wasnt in a condescending way
    Anytime something didnt go her way she acted like everyone was a idiot
    Constantly tried to play people like a idiot
    I honestly think Ryan had a better social game

One hundred percent agree,she threw out random facts about people she didn't truly care about.Extremely passive aggressive,Ben was far more genuine with a great story to tell of truly overcoming real adversity.

Only just managed to finish the final episode last night as well as the reunion (reunion kinda sucked, he only spoke to the final 4?!?!)

Anyone hear about the controversy regarding Chrissy and her winning the final challenge?

That was such a nail biting final four challenge and I felt so bad for Ben and the upside down U !! Loved the final twist and so happy Ben won (and by a long shot). He so deserved it and proved he was ultimately the most deserving. Ryan had no place in the final 3 and is probably the worst 'super fan' to ever play the game. Chrissy was impressive with all of her wins but spouting off random stuff about players? Don't think anyone was impressed by that ...

Overall a crap season pre-merge but pretty decent post-merge. Looking forward to the next season. Was definitely thinking it was returning players but obviously not.

Now to head to ebay for a look at some goodies :D

kingtut wrote: »
    Anyone hear about the controversy regarding Chrissy and her winning the final challenge?
    What's this? I've only heard the angry voices claiming that production had a strong hand in getting Ben to the FTC?

Think the negativity towards Chrissy is OTT. A vile person? Stepford wife? G'way out of that. Did she have a great social game? Clearly she didn't make great bonds with everyone as she wouldn't have to explain herself had she done so. Her throwing out of facts was a little desperate but I think it gained her some credit.

She got pretty screwed over by this 'advantage' and I would have preferred the drama of Ben losing a million over an upside down U as opposed to being offered a second chance.

Ben was no angel too and was very prickly at times towards certain people.

S.M.B. wrote: »
    What's this? I've only heard the angry voices claiming that production had a strong hand in getting Ben to the FTC?

Think the negativity towards Chrissy is OTT. A vile person? Stepford wife? G'way out of that. Did she have a great social game? Clearly she didn't make great bonds with everyone as she wouldn't have to explain herself had she done so. Her throwing out of facts was a little desperate but I think it gained her some credit.

She got pretty screwed over by this 'advantage' and I would have preferred the drama of Ben losing a million over an upside down U as opposed to being offered a second chance.

Ben was no angel too and was very prickly at times towards certain people.

Apparently one of her Ss in the challenge was upside? LOL :D

25532112_10215487547811646_8867743796938057087_o.jpg?oh=6fddf6729ca046ac3e7b4ca7647d4ae3&oe=5AFEC34A

Don't see how that matters anyway!

I don't think production had a hand in it at all and those twists are there from the start. Sure had Ben not put an upside down U then he would have won and got the advantage, probably would have picked Ryan and got the other two to do a fire making challenge. Had that been the case then perhaps Chrissy might have one.

In fairness Chrissy doesn't seem to be bitter about it and to me Ben won fair and square.