Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Common Application System - Secondary schools

• 22-08-2017 1:30pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭

Hi All - I am just beginning to research this as our oldest is starting in 6th class this year and I am completely clueless on the intricacies and 'gotchas' involved.

For instance I have no clue re. deadlines and heard also that if you pick an over subscribed 1st choice and do not get it you are left in some sort of limbo/lottery/random allocation (not sure how true this is?)

I did find a previous thread on here but I think its very out of date now.

Could someone kindly advise how I may properly get up to speed here, thinking of boards threads, official websites or anything else at all including personal thoughts or your own family's experience - any help would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭juneg

Boy or a girl and are you in the catchment area for any school?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Every school is legally obliged to have a detailed admissions policy. Make sure you read it that way no surprises. If not on website request a copy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Generally speaking, every Secondary School has an entry & enrollment policy, usually if an applicant falls into one of the following categories they will get their first choice

If they have a sibling currently attending or a sibling who previously attended the school

If your family is a permanent resident of the same Parish as the school