Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Media: Bank of Ireland pull ludicrous twitter add after furious backlash

• Registered Users Posts: 16,564 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Jeez that Collette Browne must be one of the most permanently offended people in Ireland, she's always whinging about something.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

storm in a teacup.

Can't see why so many people are getting their knickers in a knot over it. It is the reality for many young couples saving for a home.

I find the AIB ad suggesting you can borrow thousands to build a treehouse much more distasteful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

My own opinion- is that its much ado about nothing.

Exactly. It's just like the ad they ran with the couple who had paid off their mortgage eventually. Whatever way they had done the make-up was making them look over-the-top wrinkly. I was like... jesus, are they 107, because I want to have mine paid off a lot bloody sooner than these people! And I don't give two tosses if their kids got orthodontics.

It's the advertising company, ads are now "personal stories" that we all buy into to build brand awareness and brand loyalty, rather than actually selling up something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭f@steddie

I wonder is this a Ryanair-esque advertisement? Brand awareness through controversy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Are people offended that they need to save to get a deposit or that saving often involves doing without stuff you would like to have?

And by people I means the professionally offended aka journalists with column inches to invent.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,933 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Is it fair though for adult children to be going back to live with their parents?
    The parents have done their bit by raising and educating them. Now it's their turn to enjoy their final years in peace in their own homes.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Is it fair though for adult children to be going back to live with their parents?
    The parents have done their bit by raising and educating them. Now it's their turn to enjoy their final years in peace in their own homes.

True.
    Most parents will happily do whatever they possibly can do- for their children- but having additional grown adults living together- is a stresser for all involved. Regardless of the fact that they are grown adults- you're always going to have Mummies and Daddies- trying to impose groundrules on living together- some of which are fair and reasonable- others of which have no cognisance whatsoever for the fact that their children are grown adults.

The saving grace in all of this- is that the parents can see light at the end of the tunnel- that is, as their children save their deposits- the date when they move out to their own homes, comes ever closer.

Its a new norm in society- its what a lot of people have to do- it may be unpalatable for many- but its just a fact of life.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I found it patronising, "if ye are good little kiddies and save really, REALLY hard, you might just get the overpriced hovel of your dreams."

But not much different to the other patronising ads banks put out; the 'perfect' nuclear family, the 'happy' retired(?) couple who finally paid off their mortgage and now seem destined for the nursing home, etc, etc. Because many people are under pressure now, this unsurprisingly sticks in a lot of craws. It could be shrugged off only the possibility of being homeless is not just an abstract thing that happens to winos and drug abusers, it's happening to people that have jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

I found it patronising, "if ye are good little kiddies and save really, REALLY hard, you might just get the overpriced hovel of your dreams."

It's only an overpriced hovel though if you try to live beyond your means.

People brand new to the market should not be able to buy a forever home right from the start of adulthood in prime real estate (read dublin anywhere).

There are plenty of places to go within easy commuting distance that far easier to afford for first-timers.
    My generation needs to stop being so precious with its wailing on not being able to live where they like for a pittance.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

That's annoying- I guess most people bare it through gritted teeth- in the knowledge that its only temporary.

The perfect nuclear family- the retired couple who are on the last day of their mortgage etc- are different financial institutions- however- it is a definite trend to preach these messages at us (particularly by financial institutions and insurance companies).........

I suppose most of us, in order to preserve our sanity- simply tune out and let these advertisements etc- wash over us- and promptly go to comparison websites etc- if we actually want to a feel for what our best options actually are?

People going mad when a bank offer some good advise. There really are some monumental idiots in this county (and they are on Twitter too it appears).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

The only problem I see with this ad is that it suggests to young people that their only alternative in life is to get a mortgage.

If I was to have my time back I would have NEVER got a mortgage. It has tied me to this country for years now, it's a noose around your neck in times of recession like nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

When I was trying to buy my first home, I wasn’t buying smashed avocado for
    $19 and four coffees at $4 each,” he said. “We’re at a
    point now where the expectations of younger people are very, very high.”

I think the add reflects reality to be perfectly honest - rents are sky high and deposits are hard enough to come by without being fleeced all the time you're trying to get one together.

Also aren't avocados something like a quid each in lidl - the missus is always trying to coerce the baby into eating them - the baby has enough sense to refuse them generally speaking! I don't see the appeal of god damn avocados, I think a quid is too much to be perfectly honest!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I have to wonder if the whingers are the same folks who are buying 7 euro pints and PCP'ing a new car every 3 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

This definitely would not have been an option for me! I'm out of home since before 17.

There is a real class divide emerging here. The kids with the best platform are those from Dublin or Cork, can live in Dublin or Cork, work in Dublin or Cork, no kids, have familial wealth, get a gift.

I'm not saying it is the only measure needed, but there seriously needs to be a revision of CAT, especially as that familial wealth emerged from direct government intervention and not personal effort. We need to give as fair a shake to those kids not from Dublin but still paying off the loans of the baby boomers, and paying rent to the baby boomers directly or indirectly (pensions), paying for their lump sums etc (public service).

myshirt wrote: »
    This definitely would not have been an option for me! I'm out of home since before 17.

There is a real class divide emerging here. The kids with the best platform are those from Dublin or Cork, can live in Dublin or Cork, work in Dublin or Cork, no kids, have familial wealth, get a gift.

I'm not saying it is the only measure needed, but there seriously needs to be a revision of CAT, especially as that familial wealth emerged from direct government intervention and not personal effort. We need to give as fair a shake to those kids not from Dublin but still paying off the loans of the baby boomers, and paying rent to the baby boomers directly or indirectly (pensions), paying for their lump sums etc (public service).

I agree with you on the class divide. Banks tend to cater for the stereotypical family where Mammy and Daddy still live in the 4/5 bedroom family palace taking no cognaisance of the fact that the family home may indeed have been re-possessed or sold because the parents were broke or separated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

myshirt wrote: »

This is nonsense.
    A huge feeling of entitlement pervades the current moaning generation.
    Save for your own house like I did.
    Save for your own pension like I do.
    Stop wasting money.

Now that life is some perceived as being uniquely difficult for the milennials you want to tax people who have a bit to spare?
    Think back 40 and 50 years when the Irish were treated appallingly abroad but still they worked and saved.

They werent out every night in town the pub.

Cop on and take responsibility for your own futures.

Anyone who thinks Irish politicians will tax PPRs us living a fantasy.

f@steddie wrote: »
    I wonder is this a Ryanair-esque advertisement? Brand awareness through controversy.

Ryanair don't usually pull their controversial ads.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭Villa05

It's not the bank's fault that there aren't enough houses out there. And the nature of a mortgage is a financial agreement, not a parasite living off a host. You agree to borrow money and to pay it back at a certain rate. In return for this you get a home. Alright, sometimes the rates are bad but that's often outside the control of the bank's. But the point is no one forces you to make this arrangement.

Banks charge extortionate rates to fund property development thus killing the supply tap.
    This drives up prices and rents resulting in bidding wars for homes. This benefits banks as they are over exposed to property.
    They also warehouse homes through their own practices and through governments NAMA policies

The ad is a clear sign of a bubble in the housing market and we all know who will pick up the tab for that when it bursts again

PARASITE

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Pkiernan, it's absolutely not nonsense. If I follow your line of economics then a man from the back arse of Timbuktu can become a millionaire purely through nothing but personal effort, self efficacy, discipline, and prudence. It's just not true.

I'm not a socialist, but the recent history of Ireland is such that we need higher CAT rates, and lower thresholds. The only things I wouldn't touch are entrepreneurs relief, retirement relief etc. I would cut into Agricultural Relief aswell. I'm not buying it from the farmers.

On entitlement culture, if anything I love hiring kids who turn out to mainly from the North Side. They are hard workers. They are grafters. They persevere in the face of challenge. It can be the kids from the more traditionally affluent areas that do not know a hard day's work.

• Administrators Posts: 53,837 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

IMO it's not offensive but it's out of touch with reality in many, if not most cases.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

awec wrote: »
    IMO it's not offensive but it's out of touch with reality in many, if not most cases.

It's not though, there's a significant number of couple for whom this is the exact reality.

I know many couples who have/are/will be moving back in with the parents while saving for a deposit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

The parents are the victims here. The assumption that the kids can just waltz back any time they like is offensive to me. When my two leave they are never get back in :rolleyes:

Although if the parents have extra space they should probably trade down allowing the market to function better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

I think why people are giving out is because it's not a possible solution for a lot of people, it's only suitable if you are working close to where your parents live. The thing is these people always had an advantage, some children never rent and just stay at home until they're in a position to buy their own place. The ad isn't telling everyone to do this, it's just giving one example, an example that would be suitable to a certain group of people.

Wombatman wrote: »
    The parents are the victims here. The assumption that the kids can just waltz back any time they like is offensive to me. When my two leave they are never get back in :rolleyes:

Although if the parents have extra space they should probably trade down allowing the market to function better.

Let's just say it's an unpalatable option for both parties.

Wombatman wrote: »

So hard to trade down in this country though, especially in Dublin, older people don't usually want to live in apartment blocks for obvious reasons and there's a severe shortage of other alternatives like bungalows. Those that are available are sometimes more expensive than your average semi.

• Administrators Posts: 53,837 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Pkiernan wrote: »
    This is nonsense.
    A huge feeling of entitlement pervades the current moaning generation.
    Save for your own house like I did.
    Save for your own pension like I do.
    Stop wasting money.

Now that life is some perceived as being uniquely difficult for the milennials you want to tax people who have a bit to spare?
    Think back 40 and 50 years when the Irish were treated appallingly abroad but still they worked and saved.

They werent out every night in town the pub.

Cop on and take responsibility for your own futures.

Anyone who thinks Irish politicians will tax PPRs us living a fantasy.

Just to be clear, you are complaining about a supposed sense of entitlement and lack of responsibility, while at the same time advocating that adults move back in to live with mummy and daddy?