Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Dubliners really Insufferable?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

jcorr wrote: »
    I'm not sure if it's been discussed in this thread. But one thing I always hear Dubliners going on about is the northside versus southside thing. I can never understand it.

But i think that happens in most cities. Can't really judge Dublin people on that.

My experience of some Dubliners when I lived there...they're very proud and think Dublin is the centre of the universe. Which is fair enough. It's their home county. I feel much the same way about my county.

I dunno about the term culchie. I can never figure if they mean we're unsophisticated or just from the bog lol.

We don't think Dublin is the centre of the universe, it is the centre of the universe. Which is why the rest of yous are scrambling all over yourselves trying to get in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Greatest band ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭mistersifter

khaldrogo wrote: »
    I always find it funny when people try to slate Dublin and /or Dubliners.

There are at least 5 different socioeconomic groups in the greater Dublin area. Dublin and its people are not just the junkies nor are they just the D4s.

The people in Darndale are absolutely different to say Knocklyon. The people in Jobstown are different to Raheny. They speak different, act different, have different outlooks in life and different values. Largely.

To write off a whole county based on your interactions with one or two subsets is ridiculous. IMO.

agree with your point that dubliners are diverse in themselves but I wouldnt even say that people in Darndale are different to people in wherever else, as if people in Darndale are the same.

The Southside/Northside thing is rubbish too and makes out that southsiders are all snobs or something.

Also, snobbish upper-middle class types or "D4 heads" as they might be called are not just confined to Dublin. This is a nationwide phenomenon unfortunately. I hear girls from Cork, Galway, Kildare , etc. speaking with an American twang on a regular basis.

Stupid, stupid article written by someone with a serious chip on the shoulder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

From this day forth I will be having my dinner at 1pm, I will only enter a house through the back door and only drive Toyota Avensis.

A Skoda Octavia is acceptable too, as long as it's diesel and has a hitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

ligerdub wrote: »
    My understanding of the word culchies is that it's derived from the word agriculture, in that a large population of the rest of Ireland were employed or reliant on income from agri-'culch'-ure. If so then by definition you are a typical culchie amigo :D

You have a point but it's only one of many possible etymologies, and if you're basing the origin of the term on the 'culch' stem then the hypothesis espoused in the following link has a lot more weight: link

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

We are flummoxed by Dublin GAA fans’s karaoke appropriation of English soccer supporter culture,

What does this even mean? Do they appropriate the karaoke of English soccer supporters, or is "karaoke-appropriation" a thing? Assuming the former, are Dublin GAA fans and English soccer supporters noted for their love of karaoke? Do other county supporters not like karaoke?
    stumped as to why the bric-a-brac skyline has not been consigned to history and modern skyscrapers allowed take its place.

While I think Dublin will have to build up because we can no longer realistically build out, I quite like Dublin's lack of skyscrapers. They are boring and unless done very carefully create a sterile streetscape. It's a bit mad criticising Dublin for not having sky scrapers when no other county has them either. I mean, if you find a lack of high rise boring you can criticise Dublin sure, but you must also criticise the rest of Ireland too!
    When we interact with natives we find them not quite like the rest of us – Irish but with an asterisk.

Since Dublin is about 1/3rd of the country, we have a greater claim to Irishness than any other county. Anyone who thinks that people outside of Dublin are a homogenous group is also serious deluded. A guy from Donegal has more in common with someone from Dublin as he does someone from Cork.
    I have to say as a culchie who works in Dublin, I thought it was a bit harsh, but with an element of truth.

I don't understand the current fashion of looking down on Dubs. It's a little silly to be honest.
    Though in my experience, northside Dubs tend to be far less self conscious about their "Irishness" than southsiders, and tend to not have the same parochialism.

Are you talking about the Conor McGregor tricolours and stuff? It can be a bit annoying but sure so what?
    The company I work in is in the northside, and staffed overwhelmingly by northsiders, and I never get any of the culchie hatred that I notice among a certain cohort of southsiders, especially those who are a bit precious about how terribly middle class they are.

Doesn't sound like you've ever met any middle class people or southsiders so much as you have invented an idea of what they would think of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I've no problem calling myself a culchie, you can only throw your wellies on to go get the turf so many times before you have to accept it like :p Some Dubs do tend to weaponise the word a bit, but fcuk it who cares about people like that, I like being a culchie.

I'm a very middle class, very educated culchie. Who's currently eating a quinoa salad while cheering Tyrone on, on principle!

It is amusing just how much effort a few people are putting in to expressing their irritation at that article while stressing that the author is a stupid poo head and nobody cares what he thinks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Vita nova wrote: »
    You have a point but it's only one of many possible etymologies, and if you're basing the origin of the term on the 'culch' stem then the hypothesis espoused in the following link has a lot more weight: link

Seems legitimate. Interesting read, thanks for sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well if they weren't already, they will be after todays All Ireland Semi Final.

:(

:p

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I get amused at those who think Dublin is some sort of mega metropolis. It's a medium-sized city that utterly dominates a tiny parochial country.

Being a Dub, I have no problem with those from other parts of the country but as others opined Dublin, even though it's not huge, is pretty diverse. A middle class person from Castleknock or Stillorgan would have more in common with another middle class person from Mayo than they would with someone from Darndale or Jobstown.

How many Dubs anyway are even more than a generation or 2 from the city? I wasn't even born in Dublin myself (Belfast) and my family are from the North originally. Most of the lads I grew up with in suburban Dublin had at least one parent from the country.

This Dublin/culchie divide thing is over hyped by the media and that tool of a "journalist." We are all Irish at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

I am from Mayo and only have things in common with farm animals and muck.

Doesn't sound like you've ever met any middle class people or southsiders so much as you have invented an idea of what they would think of you.

Nope, never met one. I've heard they exist, but, like unicorns, ghosts, and alien abductions, I'll hold off until I experience one first hand :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Well, in the words of the drunken aul lad who "heckled" Pat Kenny on the Late Late, "You and Gay Byrne are insufferable a*******s, you a*******, you piece of s***."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Most people in Dublin are nice people. It's not the countryside where everyone is friendly and helpful. It's a city where there are too many people for that. I don't think that there is anyway Dublin is a big city like some people in Dublin make it out to be. There's certainly a prevailing attitude among some that Dublin make them better in a sense that they live in a cool happening place. Which it is, to a degree within an Irish context. Go live in a big European city and Dublin seems like a small town. So it's pretty laughable at times when I hear nonsense like "there's Dubin and then there's the rest of Ireland". Woulda shut up and give over. We're not some advanced cosmopolitan city and don't delude yourself into thinking the 2-4 miles in inner city Dublin constitute this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

If it's good enough for them to live and work in then they should suck it up.

Most Dublin people don't think Dublin is "cool" or "happening" and certainly not when you have to travel on the luas red line every day and meet the f*cking dregs of society out of their minds on whatever they've spent their mickey money on this month.

What I cant stand is the "Ireland v Dublin" mentality. I really don't get why there are so many haters. Is it because you think we think we are cool? Cause mostly we just don't think about it! I work with people who will publicly announce support for any team that might be playing against Dublin - a woman actually said to me one day when I asked her why she was supporting X team even though she was from Y - "oh you know, anyone but Dublin" :rolleyes: Childish carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Most people in Dublin are nice people. It's not the countryside where everyone is friendly and helpful. It's a city where there are too many people for that. I don't think that there is anyway Dublin is a big city like some people in Dublin make it out to be. There's certainly a prevailing attitude among some that Dublin make them better in a sense that they live in a cool happening place. Which it is, to a degree within an Irish context. Go live in a big European city and Dublin seems like a small town. So it's pretty laughable at times when I hear nonsense like "there's Dubin and then there's the rest of Ireland". Woulda shut up and give over. We're not some advanced cosmopolitan city and don't delude yourself into thinking the 2-4 miles in inner city Dublin constitute this.

Well, that's just not true. There's many an insufferable arsehole here in the sticks too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

The one thing I can't stand is the smell of coddle of the Dubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I hope they get the 3-in-a-row.

The indignation is always entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

A Dublin criminal serving sentences for violent disorder and threatening to kill a garda has been given an extra two months in jail for having a phone hidden in a prison cell.

When told Leroy Dumberell had already been transferred from Mountjoy to Cork Prison as a punishment, Judge Alan Mitchell remarked: “Some people would like to move to Cork but Dubs tend not to”.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/dublin-criminal-moved-to-cork-as-punishment-for-cell-phone-1.3201101

lol. Also... Dumberell.

tumblr_n91ps1YYQR1rpfnrio2_540.png

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

J Mysterio wrote: »
    A Dublin criminal serving sentences for violent disorder and threatening to kill a garda has been given an extra two months in jail for having a phone hidden in a prison cell.

When told Leroy Dumberell had already been transferred from Mountjoy to Cork Prison as a punishment, Judge Alan Mitchell remarked: “Some people would like to move to Cork but Dubs tend not to”.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/dublin-criminal-moved-to-cork-as-punishment-for-cell-phone-1.3201101

lol. Also... Dumberell.

tumblr_n91ps1YYQR1rpfnrio2_540.png
    Jaysus...sometimes you wonder why people don't just change their name . Dumberells for ya.....

Can you imagine letting your kids outa the house with a name like that........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Seems apt.

The real sin of this piece is how terrifically badly it's written.

If you must print nothing but your opinion, and hey we all gotta eat I know, get some style, get some wit, make it sing, make it punch.

This was a bad idea badly carried out.

In answer to question, dubs are different to culchies. Not worse. The rougher dubs are rougher, the prettier dubs aren't as pretty. It evens out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Wanderlust91

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Clearly the Dubs can't be that insufferable, or we wouldn't be swamped by so many non-Dubs in our own county?

Time to deploy full Dub mode... all restaurants have to serve coddle for the rest of the year.
    All school uniforms of Dublin schools replaced by Dublin GAA gear.

No alternatives or exceptions. If you don't like it, that's what all the motorways out of the city are for.

A the relocation Dubs, the ones who definitely move by choice :D But in all regards, there are minority's in every county who think they are higher than everyone else. Dublin is the capital so its a got a bigger chance of having these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

6541 wrote: »
    I am from Mayo and only have things in common with farm animals and muck.
    Sure, you can't beat the hang sangwidge and the cup of tay, consumed out of the saucer, of course!

Of course the jackeens are insufferable; it's part of their charm. Am I right Anto?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭zmgakt7uw2dvfs

Video going viral on Facebook of some Dubs in a van verbally abusing a Garda. Typical foul-mouth wuurkin class Dub language (ya filty animal, durty B*stard, etc). Irish with an asterisk describes such types quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Video going viral on Facebook of some Dubs in a van verbally abusing a Garda. Typical foul-mouth wuurkin class Dub language (ya filty animal, durty B*stard, etc). Irish with an asterisk describes such types quite well.

Ah yeah cause no one from the bog ever said a bad word!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Like everywhere most are A1, unfortunately there's gob****es everywhere. Dated a girl from a very upmarket place for a good while and her, her family and mates were all bang on.

I have to say and this is probably a generalization but it's hard to beat the wit from the ould Dubs.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Thats crazy. Im pretty sure most people in Dublin are mature enough to not really give much of a **** about what part of the country you happened to be born in

The only time its ever mentioned in my social circles is in a very harmless way taking the piss out of somebody for being a culchie/farmer whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Wanderlust91

Ah yeah cause no one from the bog ever said a bad word!
    How does one come from the Bog ?. Be born in a Bog ? :)

Well when a mammy bogger and daddy bogger love each other very much ........

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Well when a mammy bogger and daddy bogger love each other very much ........
    when the stork leaves the baby in the cabbage patch in the bog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭OEP

I've lived in Dublin for 9 years now, and get along great with them, but there is one common theme among the Dublin people I have met, worked with etc. and it is their lack of knowledge of anywhere outside of Dublin - it might stretch to Kildare and Wicklow. The amount of Dublin people I have encountered that have to ask what province a county is in or have never been to many counties around the country is incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

How about south Dubliners?

branie2 wrote: »
    How about south Dubliners?

Everyone knows they're not real Dubs, just Wicklow refugees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Roysh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

byronbay2 wrote: »
    The only real difference I have noticed (and always notice) between Dubs and non-Dubs is how tightly they are wound. They always seem to be arguing (not violently or anything) with each other and generally seem to have very short fuses. It's like they are always looking for a reason to be pissed off and can always find one easily

I assume this is because they are always around other people and, as Sartre informed us, "Hell is other people".

I think we're onto something here.

I find it difficult to get a social event wrong outside of Dublin. Even the most half assed attempt at a drink filled night / day out is good fun.

The opposite is the case in Dublin. It's like you're just waiting to get a bollocking off someone, for it to cost a small fortune or for something to be over-subscribed so as to make things difficult e.g. taxis.

Case example: concerts. The one in Dublin was fine but supposedly I was a bit embarrassing in my form of enjoying the event - maybe I didn't look cool enough. The one in Cork ended with a bus load of people singing the album en route back to town. The one in Dublin was trendier but the one in Cork ultimately more fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

OEP wrote: »
    I've lived in Dublin for 9 years now, and get along great with them, but there is one common theme among the Dublin people I have met, worked with etc. and it is their lack of knowledge of anywhere outside of Dublin - it might stretch to Kildare and Wicklow. The amount of Dublin people I have encountered that have to ask what province a county is in or have never been to many counties around the country is incredible.

Maybe you're just working with ignorant, uncultured people. Ireland's not that feckin big - most Irish people know their geography and are well travelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I have lived in Dublin for many many years and never met people like that . Anyone I know or work with are certainly not that ignorant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭marcus001

Those people are just airheads who didn't pay attention in primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,019 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Unless you are interested in GAA the whole province\county thing makes no material difference though... If Waterford happened to be in Leinster what difference would it make to a non-GAA Dub?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Unless you are interested in GAA the whole province\county thing makes no material difference though... If Waterford happened to be in Leinster what difference would it make to a non-GAA Dub?

What if you are into hurling though, then the whole province thing is even more confusing seeing as there are only three provinces! :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

What if you are into hurling though, then the whole province thing is even more confusing seeing as there are only three provinces!

And Galway used to be in Connaught, then Munster, but is now in Leinster.

Ain't no Dub got time for working that out.

osarusan wrote: »
    And Galway used to be in Munster but is now in Leinster.

Ain't no Dub got time for working that out.

And of course don't forget that Kerry is also part of Leinster despite there being a munster provincial championship. :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

I think, speaking as a Dub, is the lack of knowledge of anywhere INSIDE Dublin :D

By that I mean street names and the like. I'm more likely to find my way to a certain spot if you tell me which shop/pub or the like that it's near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Ridiculous article. Not related as such but I dislike all forms of the Dublin accent itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

Ridiculous article. Not related as such but I dislike all forms of the Dublin accent itself.

Apparently the same flat Dublin accent exists in Denmark, which figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 BerMacLovin

Went to a local Cork beach today, a very beautiful and tranquil beach, for a peaceful swim. Had to endure listening to a conversation between three Dubliners....people who seem to think themselves quite posh...mocking a local boy they'd met who had a strong rural accent and sounded like "an old man". I'm sure the same people mock the more working-class Dubs as well. Can't say I enjoyed hearing my own accent being mocked over and over and I was sore tempted to scratch their 181 mercedes on my way back up to hill (kidding). I tend to encounter a lot of these types in my daily life and find them mercantile, entitled, rude, and vulgar. They seem to be halfway to America in their own accents and have no respect for local culture and only care about money, executive cars, and drink. Of course, there must be more pleasant people too who aren't so annoyingly obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Strabanimal

Me and my gf were pissing ourselves laughing at some Dublin's bloke accent in Victoria square, Belfast today. Absolutely comical, not just the accent, but the way he was getting on whilst on the phone.

I also seen an elderly "posh acting" Dub guy talk down to presumably his Asian gf in Queen's University Student Union a while back. Never have I seen such an utter lack of respect for human life happen so blatantly in the public eye.

I don't find them that insufferable outside of that however. I have met plenty of Dubs and have given them stick in Belfast for being British as they're from the 'pale' (right back at ya joke they can't seem to take but love to hand out to us when we go visit down there, and if we can't take it then seemingly we just can't handle their insane bantz), none have dared to mock my accent and I get a feeling when talking to them that they are scared of me.

I find their city to be quite **** but still better than Belfast which is not hard in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

I don't find them that insufferable outside of that however. I have met plenty of Dubs and have given them stick in Belfast for being British as they're from the 'pale' (right back at ya joke they can't seem to take but love to hand out to us when we go visit down there, and if we can't take it then seemingly we just can't handle their insane bantz), none have dared to mock my accent and I get a feeling when talking to them that they are scared of me.

We are crying into our cornflakes that you don't like us. You're mean.......but we won't tell you you're mean because your sooo scary, apparently.

>rolls eyes<

Bambi wrote: »
    Dublin three in a row on the horizon..it makes the boggers act weird

May complete 4 in a row in a few weeks. If it happens they’ll be acting weird in Kerry this winter from insomnia and recurring nightmares in plotting how to stop a potential drive for five.