Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

We have no midfield and the back three isn't working. Herrera, Mkhitaryan are killing us with ball retention. Deserved lead for Chelsea, we never play well here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

Mkhitaryan needs to be hooked hard. As expected, were being destroyed in midfield.

That's game over for us now I'd say. Chelsea will kill us in the counter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

How do you give morata that much space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,173 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Where was Smalling? Back 3 doesnt suit us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

Wtf is wrong with Bailly, he's been strolling around for about 5 mins before the goal, thought he picked up an injury but just looks not interested at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

They don’t know how to play with three at the back. That’s twice at least there’s been a huge gap through the the middle. Not sure how that happens when there’s supposed to be a central one of three.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Where was Smalling? Back 3 doesnt suit us.

Smalling rightly followed the runner down the side. Jones was out of position and nobody covered from midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Jones was dragged out into midfield. Probably chasing hazard around.

Lovely finish it had to be said.

We do need Ibra back. No more than Mkhitaryan, if its complacency or fatigue having Ibra to rotate with Lukaku might invigorate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Not blaming players for this (although Mkhitaryan is piss and I want him gone from United, nevermind the starting 11).

This is all on Mourinho and this 3 at the back shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

Mkhitaryan should be out the door in January. Not good enough to play for us.

Herrera has been found out this season too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

J. Marston wrote: »
    Not blaming players for this (although Mkhitaryan is piss and I want him gone from United, nevermind the starting 11).

This is all on Mourinho and this 3 at the back shíte.

No winning, is there. 3 at the back, in theory, is a more open attacking tactic, which is what everyone wanted. No bus today.

Write off Mkhitaryan before his value plummets recall Andreas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Mokuba wrote: »
    Mkhitaryan should be out the door in January. Not good enough to play for us.

Herrera has been found out this season too.

Herrera has been awful for games, and his attitude and constant diving annoys me. At least if he was playing well, I could overlook it a bit, but he really makes it hard to like him with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Can’t wait for Chelsea to move into their new stadium.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Lord TSC wrote: »
    No winning, is there. 3 at the back, in theory, is a more open attacking tactic, which is what everyone wanted. No bus today.

Not much attacking intent either. Started on the front foot then retreated and lost control.

Maybe but when have looked solid with 3 at the back? We arent Liverpool we dont mindlessly attack without solid defence. We dont have a proper Bonucci-esque defender to control a back 3.

How many chances does Bakayoko get? 4 fouls now since he's been booked.

United players need to get on to the ref about Bakayoko. About 3 fouls since his yellow card.

Fellaini tees up Rashford straight away. Cant let him leave. Renew his dwal

Maybe but when have looked solid with 3 at the back? We arent Liverpool we dont mindlessly attack without solid defence. We dont have a proper Bonucci-esque defender to control a back 3.

My own take is you can have a back two, three or nine and Smalling will never look solid in games like this...

In theory? Yeah sure.

In reality, it's clear the team is not comfortable with 3 at the back.

Everyone wants attacking football? That's totally possible with the normal back four that has been very solid this season.

No winning indeed.

Why are we so bad at corners?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Makes it worse that we have lots of tall players

My own take is you can have a back two, three or nine and Smalling will never look solid in games like this...

Well thats true but a back 3 with Lindelöf over Smalling isnt any more solid. Maybe Rojo can be the third but until then we cant play it

Hococop wrote: »
    Makes it worse that we have lots of tall players

I think we have the tallest PL squad in history.

Because for some mental reason Rashford takes them over Young.

Get McTominay on for Herrera. Complete land of the giants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Rashford has this odd technique that's not a million miles away from his be takes a direct free kick.

Can be lethal when he executes it perfectly but it seems like something that is much more difficult to pull off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Islander13

City played these off the park here. No hope of a title for United this year

Chelsea looking for a 2nd and we haven't started looking for a first yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Write off Mkhitaryan before his value plummets recall Andreas.

Another assist yesterday from the right wing position for Pereira.

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Another assist yesterday from the right wing position for Pereira.

We need him. Mhiki has played himself away from the club.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

We need him. Mhiki has played himself away from the club.

He can whip in a good corner aswell

Fellaini has been awful.

This second half performance is something else.

So fúcking bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Fellaini has been awful.

First game back after a few weeks injured I'll give him a pass

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

The amount of work Kante has put in to allow Hazard andFabregas all that freedom cannot b underestimated. Chelsea are a completely different animal without him

That coupled with Mourinhos poor decision to start Mkhitaryan has screwed us from the start in this game.

Fellaini has been awful.

He has a reason to be rusty. I doubt hes fully fit but was rushed to be ready for this.

Maybe that's why Chelsea let Matic go.

Kante can do the work of two men.

Disappointing. I hate losin to Chelsea even if it's the Bridge.. Know the usual suspects will be along soon enough to say the sky is falling though.

It's a character problem on the field. You see the likes of Mkhi not trying, Herrera having another dreadful game, defence leaving massive gaps in the first half.

Our midfield is such a disaster zone at the moment...

8 points behind now.

Us, Chelsea, Spurs, Arsenal and Liverpool duking it out for 3 of the 4 remaining top 4 spots.

Disappointing. I hate losin to Chelsea even if it's the Bridge.. Know the usual suspects will be along soon enough to say the sky is falling though.

It's a character problem on the field. You see the likes of Mkhi not trying, Herrera having another dreadful game, defence leaving massive gaps in the first half.

Our midfield is such a disaster zone at the moment...

Did Mkhitaryan, Herrera and the defence pick themselves today? This one is on Mourinho in my opinion.

So, what? Throw Lingard and McTomminey in for the first two, and we do better?

People wanted us to "go for it", he picked a tactic to try and it didn't work. After weeks of people moaning about bus parking, I'd have thought there'd be at least some appreciation that Jose tried a more offensive tactic.

Doesn't you think another manager gets this group playing better stuff?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

No desire to try and win this game from the get go. Have to question the mindset in the buildup to this game. Comprehensively beaten all over the park today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭limnam

You don't like getting 3 points playing more defensively.

Now you're giving out when we open up and get beat.

Make up your mind lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Well that 2nd half was dissapointing chelsea were good tho. Ander and especially miki need to be dropped.

For such a big team we take the worst corners to capitalise on our height

So, what? Throw Lingard and McTomminey in for the first two, and we do better?

People wanted us to "go for it", he picked a tactic to try and it didn't work. After weeks of people moaning about bus parking, I'd have thought there'd be at least some appreciation that Jose tried a more offensive tactic.
    Nah. Its all Joses fault. There will be people saying we should get a #JoseOut plane soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Oh Pogba where are ya.....

Midfield so bad we don't stand chance against most big teams.

Lukaku had no support again either. Didn't come back into it till last few mins.

Think league is done. It's so early but city 8 points is huge.